check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Star Decker

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

UNIQUE, AFFORDABLE, MAGICAL FOREST HIDEAWAY HOME!

86 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Caspar House Rental Photos and Description

Quaint Home, 1 Bedroom , 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3) 700 sq.ft.

Our nightly rate of $175 includes taxes and cleaning. NO hidden fees!

Our vacation rental home is a lovely Craftsman style that is uniquely decorated with special attention to cleanliness and comfort. This is a FRAGRANCE FREE home! We use all scent free, environmentally friendly cleaning products. Guests are asked to NOT wear perfume or cologne while staying at our cottage. Note our rates page for more information.

ROCK LEGEND Gene Parsons and his wife, Star, also live on this 2 acre property in a separate home and will be your hosts. Meetings with Gene and a tour of his custom shop are provided for those guests who are interested in his inventions and special projects, which include a world famous unique guitar invention and a real, hand machined steam train.

LOCATION: We are located in Caspar, just 6 minutes to both Mendocino Village or Fort Bragg. Beaches are 1 mile away and National Forest is right out the door for those who like to hike or bring their bikes along.

AFFORDABLE comfort in our well appointed and warm cottage. Lovely, large and conveniently stocked kitchen for those who love to cook. An open floor plan gives a spacious feeling in this small, modest home.

QUIET and private garden surroundings on our South deck offer a restful retreat, especially during times of the year when flowers are abundant.

COMFORTABLE furnishings and a quality bed. ALL bedding is completely laundered and often line dried in the sun between guests. We pride ourselves on fresh and clean.

HIKE/BIKE for miles of forest trails right out of our front door.

SHOP/DINE in local Mendocino Village and Fort Bragg, both within 6 minutes of our property.

WIFI IS PROVIDED IN THE COTTAGE. CELL SERVICE IS SPOTTY. THERE IS NO LAND LINE EXCEPT NEXT DOOR IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY.

WE ARE AN 'ADULTS ONLY' ACCOMMODATION.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Star Decker (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Star Decker

Gene Parsons has a wide variety of skills which he puts to good use operating his current business as well as maintaining the StringBender Cottage property. Moving to Caspar in 1970, Gene teamed up with local friends and carpenters to build his custom machine shop, his own home and the cottage. As far back as the late 60’s and into the late 80’s, Gene had a full-time career as a musician and recording artist. As a multi-talented singer, songwriter and instrumentalist, he toured with such bands as the Byrds and the Flying Burrito Brothers. His talents were also used in the recording studio with such greats as Randy Newman, Arlo Guthrie, The Everly Brothers and The Rolling Stones. Currently Gene is happiest working in his custom shop where he manufactures and installs the StringBender mechanism in client guitars as well as other artistic projects. One of those pet projects is the building of a 1/8th scale, real live steam locomotive, part by part!

Star Decker is a native of Mendocino County with strong roots in local culture and history. Raised on ranches she has trained horses, gardened, landscaped and run family businesses. An adventurer, she has traveled throughout the U.S. and Europe sometimes by herself or accompanied by her horse and dog. Other interests include; community volunteer work, playing music, reading and various art projects. Today she is happiest at home creating the beautiful garden and landscape of the property and providing a lovely and warm atmosphere for the guests at StringBender Cottage. Both Gene and Star have a long history in the local coastal areas as well as the county. They are always willing to share their 'insider' knowledge and stories with guests.

Star Decker purchased this house in 1975

Why Star Decker chose North Coast California

We chose to live here for the ocean, the weather and a small, rural community with a LOT of culture, art, music, events, good restaurants, and so much more.

What makes this house unique

The forest setting, wildlife such as deer, fox and wild turkeys, beautiful organic garden, excellent hiking/biking/horseback riding trails, interesting owners that honor and respect privacy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Star~ The cottage was amazing. We definitely enjoyed our stay in Caspar. We did the waterfall hike at Russian Gulch and we got to walk around Fort Bragg and downtown Mendocino. We'd definitely like to come back and stay someday. Thanks again for coordinating and making our stay smooth and comfortable. Take care.

Larry
Apr 2015
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.9
based on 86 traveler reviews

UNIQUE, AFFORDABLE, MAGICAL FOREST HIDEAWAY HOME!
average rating of 4.9418607 based on 89 reviews
Santa Rosa, California
5

A great romantic getaway

  • 5 of 5

We returned for our first wedding anniversary and greatly enjoyed our stay. Star and Gene are great hosts and we felt very much at home in the cottage. We like the convenient location between the charming town of Mendocino and Ft. Bragg. The comfortable feel of the cottage makes for very relaxing times there. The location is very quiet and the grounds are very peaceful. We enjoy taking in local activities and happened to be there on a weekend when the local community of Caspar was having a fund-raising breakfast where we met several local folks and some who had come from almost an hour away. It is truly a popular breakfast and the menu was wonderful. Thank you Star for the invitation. We highly recommend this cottage for a peaceful and romantic getaway and look forward to more visits.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This was the perfect location for our stay. We loved it!

  • 5 of 5

The property is exactly as it shows in the pictures. Even prettier. The house was very clean and has everything available for a comfortable stay. The decor was eclectic and tasteful.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

"Beautiful and quiet--the perfect home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent two nights at the cottage, and we could not have been more pleased. The peace and quiet and the beautiful gardens were just what we needed. We were close to so many wonderful things and activities. We did not get to meet Star and Gene, but we are already looking forward to our next visit. The cottage is so well stocked and eclectically decorated. We so enjoyed waking up and sitting on the deck--me with coffee! Thanks for such a great place to stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

This is the third time that we have stayed at Stringbender Cottage. We continue to return for the beautiful, peaceful atmosphere. Everything that we need for a relaxing getaway is provided. We will certainly return next time we are in the area!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Rosa, CA
5

Lovely, peaceful homey cottage

  • 5 of 5

We loved our three nights at Stringbender Cottage and only wished we were staying longer. This was the best vacation rental I've experienced - lovely inside and out, very homey and beautifully decorated. We ate dinners in and really appreciated the well equipped kitchen. It is perfectly located for trips to Fort Bragg and Mendocino, with the ocean beaches nearby but nicely protected from wind in it's forest setting. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the patios listening to birds and the gentle breeze in the trees. We are looking forward to another visit one day. Michele & Deborah

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michelle and Deb made a good point about our weather at the cottage being, generally, more comfortable because it is not located right near the ocean. We don't get the wind in our forested location and often it is sunny here when it's foggy at the coast.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Great Week on the Coast!

  • 5 of 5

Stringbender Cottage exuded peace and calm which was just what we needed - coffee and tea on the deck in the mornings was fabulous. So close to Fort Bragg and Mendocino, yet we could relax when we wanted to in our private garden among the pines. Forrest, beach and shopping all just a few minutes away.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
150 Miles
San Francisco International or Oakland Inter.
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Dicks in Mendocino
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Little River Golf Course
Nearest Train
7 Miles
Skunk Train/ tourist excursion
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Coastal Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Mendocino or Fort Bragg
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Caspar or Jughandle Beach
Car: necessary

Botanical Gardens, Music Festival, Film Festival, Live Music, Skunk Train, Spa Services, Whale watching, Wine tasting and more. See Mendocino Coast Chamber of Commerce and Local radio station KOZT for more information on Current events.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Caspar House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Feb 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$155
$950
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150

FRAGRANCE FREE COTTAGE!!! Guests are urged to NOT wear perfume and cologne while staying at our cottage. This rule will be enforced as we will charge up to $100 for extra cleaning. We suggest you choose another accommodation if you cannot adhere to this policy. Thank you.

We do not book our cottage for long term beyond 10 days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Caspar House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • SHOWER ONLY. NO BATHTUB.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Bed (1) VERY COMFORTABLE BED! Fresh linens, Down comforter, Down pillows.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Please inquire with owners for further information.

Partner Offers