check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Linda Davis

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Huge Game Room! Great getaway for all ages!

13 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 8 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Spencer Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 6-8

Our lake home is a quaint cottage directly on a small lake in Spencer, Massachusetts. The lake (Sugden Reservoir) is small but fully recreational. We have a small sandy beach with gradual entry into the water that is perfect for children, and the older kids love the swim raft. Kayaking is one of our favorite activities - we have one double, four single and one kid-sized kayak.

The house is relaxed and comfortable, not fancy but nicely decorated and it has most amenities you would find at your own house. Downstairs the kitchen, dining room and living room are all one open space in an L shape. The kitchen and downstairs bath are newly remodeled. The dining table seats 8 to 10 people comfortably. The living room is spacious and includes a large flat screen TV with VCR and Blueray DVD player, and a remote control gas 'wood stove'.

Upstairs the three bedrooms include a king bed and two queen beds. There is also a twin-over-full bunk bed in the game room.

Property Details: There is a full bath upstairs, and a huge game room with ping pong, Foosball, full size air hockey table, bumper pool, dart board, board games, flat screen TV with DVD player, puzzles, toys and more. Great for those rainy days, or when you need a break from the sun!

We have wireless high speed internet at the house, but you need to bring your own computer, and there is no phone service at the house, so you will also need to bring your cell phone. I have Verizon and my husband has Sprint, and the service signal (for those two providers at least) is excellent - full bar coverage.

There's always something to do here - in the house, on the lake or at nearby attractions such as Old Sturbridge Village or Moore State Park. It is a very rural area, but we are also very close to Worcester, where you will find an art museum, fine arts theatre, shopping and more.

Nearby Attractions: We are also only 20 miles from the Brimfield Antiques fair. We are 40 minutes from Wachusett Mountain Ski Area, and also 35 minutes from Davis' Farmland and MegaMaze. A snowmobile trail goes right by our house across the lake. It is a great place for a fun and relaxing getaway any time of the year!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Linda Davis (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Linda Davis

I am a former teacher turned stay-at-home mom. My kids are ages 15 and 18, and my husband is a farmer. We have had many enjoyable times at our lake house and we're very excited to share it with other families.

Linda Davis purchased this cottage in 2004

Why Linda Davis chose Central Massachusetts

We bought our lake house because it is only 20 miles from our permanent home, but far enough away so that we can 'get away' from the farm.

What makes this cottage unique

We think the most unique things about our home are the wonderful game room, the big lawn overlooking the lake, and the coziness of the home - it is a very relaxing getaway any time of year!

Reviews

4.8
based on 13 traveler reviews

Huge Game Room! Great getaway for all ages!
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
4

Great Easter Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Lovely location, house well equipped - thought of everthing !

Even thou early in the year still managed to make use of the lake.

Ammenities nearby - shops, restaurants and bowling. Enjoyed The Castle Restaurant.

House was as listing described, clean and tidy

Owner met us at the house even thou we we're a couple of hours late !

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just perfect!

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough good about this house! My mom, my 2 boys, and I all came up for a week of visiting family. This house was absolutely perfect. It was homey, so cozy, clean, comfortable, and just excellent for our needs. The kitchen was full stocked, previous tenants had left TONS of non perishable items for us to use (so be sure to check the kitchen before you go shopping!), there was even a basket of toiletries and full sized shampoo, conditioner, etc. We left some of ours as well, so if you use the "Orange You Smart" children's shampoo, that was from us! :) The little fireplace in the living room is great, push a button and get warm in a hurry! The views were wonderful, the reservoir is just beautiful, and the kids loved the paddle boat. The game room was a LIFE SAVER, my kids spent HOURS in that room, and we left a bucket of toy soldiers for the next family to play with as well. Linda was awesome to deal with, great communication, she even met us at the house to show us around the day we got there. The house itself was relatively close to tons of places, we visited Maine, Sturbridge, CT, there are tons of nearby places for groceries, food, etc. And we even went Trick or Treating at The Commons! It was such a fun week for all of us, we were sad to leave! We're already talking about coming back next year, and we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to hear you had a great stay at our lakehouse - sounds like you all had a fantastic vacation! I'm glad to hear the trick or treating went well :) We look forward to seeing you all again next year - thanks for being fantastic renters! -Linda
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Longwood, Florida
4

A welcome respite in traveling!

  • 4 of 5

During our family's 7 week road trip up and down The East Coast, we were lucky to book this home for 3.5 weeks. We picked it for it's central location to New England and the beautiful lake view.

All communication with the owner was good. She was able to accommodate us for the dates we needed and accommodate a few of our other needs.

We were in text communication with the owner until we arrived and she toured us through the home. She explained the "interesting" water situation and care of the home. She also said she would pick up the trash later in the week.

We really loved the view of the lake, even though it was winter, it was lovely there. The game room was a hit with the kids in the family as they found countless games to play and I was able to shut the door for peace and quiet. I enjoyed curling up in the living room near the fire and big windows. The home had plenty of books to read.

The kitchen is fabulously stocked with everything I needed to cook. There was plenty of appliances, spices, and sundry items available. I did miss my dishwasher, but it was awesome in every other aspect.

The bathrooms were well stocked with towels and any toiletries you might have forgotten. It was a little cramped only having one shower in the home, but the additional half bath helped out (loved the heated floors in the half bath!).

The location was a bit far from a lot of places. Everywhere took over 20 minutes to get to, up to an hour. The Walmart and grocery store are nearby though.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. I would love to be able to swim in that lake!!!

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the house. Good luck with the rest of your travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NEW HAVEN
5

amazing and family friendly house

  • 5 of 5

This house is amazing, quiet, with a nice backyard and all the equipment you will need ( except a dishwasher). The lake is really nice and you will have access to boat and a lot of games for outdoor and indoor.

REALLY FAMILY FRIENDLY, we went with babies and a 4 years old child, that was a paradise for them, and also for the adults with a nice game room, full of surprises.

  • Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed the house and had a great stay. Thanks so much for such a wonderful review!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ocala, FL

  • 5 of 5

The only place we've rented that I didn't have to spend the first 3 days cleaning! It's all that is promised and more. Though it's snowy and cold outside it's lovely and comfortable inside.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you like the house - hope your stay is absolutely wonderful!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Conway, SC
5

Relaxing, comfortable location!

  • 5 of 5

The lake house was a great week. My co-workers and I stayed in this lake house while working in Worcester. The host, Linda, provided us with alternate directions to travel to/from work. The amenities were great and the location was very relaxing and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the game room and outdoor space.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words - we're so glad you had a great week!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Subway
Village Pizza
"Great pizza, and very convenient!"
Chef SAU Restaurant
"Good, basic chinese food"
Car: necessary

Other Activities: boating, downhill/alpine skiing, wildlife viewing, basketball court, kayaking, snowboarding, shopping, cross country skiing, snowmobiling

Ski: We are 30 Minutes from Wachusett Mountain

Photos

Rates & Availability

Spencer Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 31 2016
4 night minimum stay
$210
$1,300
 
 
Winter 2016-17
Nov 1 2016 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,150
 
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 30 2016
8 night minimum stay
$1,300
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.7%

Holidays and vacation weeks are charged at a different rate and have a different minimum stay requirement - please call or email for details.
Summer weeks usually book at least a year in advance.
We will rent for two nights in the Winter season (non-holiday or vacation times only), but booking will be at the 3 night rate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Spencer Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Half 1 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Game Room - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , This is a twin over full bunkbed
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Binoculars
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Pedal Boat
  • Raft
  • Small Cooler
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 5 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Minimum Age Limit for Renters: Responsible adult must be at least 25, any kids under 18 must be supervised at all times. 5 Kayaks, rowboat, paddle boat, private dock, swim raft, badminton set, basketball in paved driveway. Ice fishing, snowshoeing, x-country skiing, Candlepin bowling 5 min, antiquing (Brimfield only 20 miles away), on snowmobile corridor. Cable/Satellite TV (3) : Expanded basic cable (75 channels)in living room, master bedroom and game room. Air Hockey, foosball, ping pong and other games in game room.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties