check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Picturesque Lake House Near Tanglewood and Otis Reservoir

6 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Otis House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT RENT NOVEMBER, JANUARY FEBRUARY AND MARCH

White Lily Pond is a 60 acre, well maintained, spring fed (35 feet at the deepest point) lake tucked away in a beautiful, quiet, wooded area that is sparsely populated. This house was specially designed as an artists' getaway, complete with a wall of windows that provide great views of the beautiful White Lily Pond and back yard, creating a continually bright and colorful atmosphere from the cathedral ceilinged main floor great room and dining room. The expansive deck in the back, and screened porch provide lots of space to enjoy dining, games and quiet conversation while enjoying the clean, fresh mountain air. The master bedroom, master bath and kitchen also are on the main floor. A spiral staircase connects the main living area to both the ground floor lounge, bedroom and full bath and the upstairs (third floor) bedrooms and full bath. A straight staircase leads from the main level deck to the garden and lake.

The bedrooms are on three floors. The top (third) floor consists of two bedrooms and a full bath. The bathroom, and each bedroom are entered from a central landing. One bedroom has two single beds (which can be converted to a king-size bed). The second bedroom has a queen size bed. Each bedroom has a large closet and large window.

The main floor consists of the great room, kitchen, dining room, screened porch, master bedroom and full bath. This floor accesses the deck through sliding glass doors. The master bedroom is a corner room. It has two large windows, a queen size bed and a double closet. There is an entry to the bathroom from the hall leading to the kitchen, great room and bedroom and a second entry to the bathroom directly from the master bedroom.

The lower floor consists of a bedroom, den, full bath and utility/laundry room. This floor accesses the back garden through a regular door and a sliding glass door, which opens onto the garden patio. The bedroom has a large window, a large closet, a single bed and a trundle (pop-up) bed. The bathroom and bedroom each enter into the den.

A spiral staircase connects all three floors.

It is an incredibly peaceful and quiet area, but also one that offers a variety of activities. White Lily Pond is a 60 acre, spring fed lake that is 35 feet deep at its deepest point. No power boats or jet skis are allowed on the lake. Since the property includes both a dock on the lake and a rowboat, you can swim, fish, row, or sunbathe at your leisure. Additionally, the private sand beach and community tennis courts are only a thirty second walk away. Combined, the house, lake, and spectacular sunsets, make for the perfect escape.

Keywords: Lake house, Berkshire house, Peaceful getaway, Beautiful views

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful time on White Lily Pond. We had nearly perfect weather - thunderstorms rolled through one evening after dark. We loved exploring the pond in our kayaks and your row boat. The expanded swimming area in front of the dock was perfect for our 5 and 8 year old grandchildren. We caught, cleaned, and cooked good size bass, perch, and chain pickerel as well as huge bluegills and sunfish.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.8
based on 6 traveler reviews

Picturesque Lake House Near Tanglewood and Otis Reservoir
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 7 reviews
Queens, NY
5

Yearly Group Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Our group had a wonderful week here. The home is lovely with stunning views of the lake and the layout is ideal. Big open main floor living space so we could all easily interact and if wanted, plenty of places to go off on your own. The ten and twelve year olds were rarely out of the lake, except when fishing with their homemade traps off the dock. The sunsets were stunning and we had the added bonus of sighting the beavers as they swam by at the end of each day. As other reviewers have mentioned, the house was clean, well maintained and well stocked. Sarah was very helpful showing us the ropes upon arrival and I felt confident that she would have been able to quickly handle any issue that may have come up (none did!).

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We're always pleased to learn that our guests had a good experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newton, Massachusetts
5

Great spot for family with children

  • 5 of 5

This house is beautiful in an idyllic setting but it is rustic enough (cedar walls, floor) that it is a relaxing place to have children. We had a four, seven and twelve year old with us. The lawn was great for whiffle ball. The water was shallow enough so we didn't panic when kids were near the water. Also, there is a great recreation room on the first floor with a TV, a place for legos etc, so the kids could be downstairs and the adults could enjoy the living room, view and deck.

We used the row boat, brought kayaks. Great pond for paddling. The kitchen is stocked with spices and has everything you need and is well organized. We had a very HOT week and did bring a few extra fans which we needed, even though there are fans in each room. We had to leave our labradoodle home; wish pets were allowed.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great for a family get together!

  • 5 of 5

Had a small family get together here in late October- the time of the infamous early blizzard that left a great deal of New England without power! What a beautiful place to get snowed in! We actully cut our visit a little short because of the weather but wish we had braved it and stayed on. The home was very comfortable an well stocked- a perfect place to relax, eat, drink and be lazy. It was amazing watching the snow come down through the huge picture windows facing the lake while the fire crackled away in the woodstove. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bayside, NY
4

family vacation time

  • 4 of 5

The setting of the house on the lake makes it special. Facing west the view of sunsets is spectacular. The house was clean and well maintained; photos accurately reflected the rooms and view. There was one very hot week in July this summer and the upstairs bedrooms didn't cool enough even with two fans. Weather is beyond anyone's control. We loved the nearby towns, the boys went fishing in the lake and we played board games in the evening. Also went to Tanglewood and many restaurants in Great Barrington and Lee. All in all a great house!

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

a week in late August

  • 5 of 5

We, parents and grandparents, took our children and grandchildren for a late summer week to this wonderful spot. There was something for everybody to do and yet it was very restful. The tennis court and tiny sandy beach next door was practically ours alone. We loved just sitting on the deck looking down on a lovely garden and the lake at any time of the day. With some luck you will be treated to a spectacular thunderstorm and could meet quite a bit of wildlife. The listing description is very accurate, the house has anything you might need and is well maintained. The whole Berkshire region is known for its abundance of cultural venues.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Israel
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this house for one week and enjoyed every day. The house is very well equipped and ideally maintained. The bedrooms (which are not shown on the pictures) are very pretty just as the rest of the rooms.

We crossed the pond many times on a boat and if we come next time - we will definitely go fishing. There seems to be a lot of fish! Kids also went to the beach next to the house and enjoyed a warm August water. A tennis court is perfect for work out and we seemed the only people using it during that week.

On the evenings we were watching a gorgeous sunset over the pond and if we were lucky - we could see beavers in it.

We were expecially interested in the Tanglewood (only about 25-30 minutes of driving) and Jacobs Pillow - 5-10 minutes. We also tried and really liked few hikes which were within 7 miles from the property (found in http://www.thetrustees.org/).

Would recommend the house to all our friends. Out of all houses we rented in Berkshires - this is the best one.

Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Car: necessary

10 minute drive to Jacob'sPillow Dance, 10 minute drive to Otis reservoir, 20 minute drive to Outlet Store Mall, 30 minute drive to Tanglewood Music Center (Lenox, MA), and a 40 minute drive to Barrington Stage Company (Pittsfield, MA)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Otis House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 12 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Refundable damage deposit $1,000

Week begins Sunday at 4:00 pm and ends following Sunday at 10:00 am.

50% to confirm reservation; Remainder 6 weeks before start of rental period.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Otis House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Tennis court and private beach (Property Owners' Association) short walk

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties