Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxurious Oceanfront Penthouse Condo Air Conditioned.

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-5)

Steps away from Kona Magic Sands Beach

Comfort- No hot humid nights- New modern Air conditioning from the roof top, controls one in the kitchen and one in the bedroom.

This luxurious, absolute ocean-front corner unit is perfect for your special romantic occasions; however, it will sleep five.This is not a studio unit, Most of Condos in Kona Magic Sands are 400 sg ft, This large 3rd floor corner wide open unit is 660 sq ft. Privacy, security & sunset views are all yours for your vacation on the Big Island of Hawaii. The unit has a fully equipped view oriented kitchen, living room, and a lanai with sliding glass doors that open to the ocean - where Whales, Dolphins, Green Turtles and a myriad of colorful fish can be seen most days. The bath has a spa-tub & shower. Floor-to-ceiling mirrors invite the outside in, creating a spectacular indoor environment.

The kitchen has been completely re - done with new and modern cabinets.Featuring a large refrigerator/freezer,the oven is a convection/microwave,the stove has 2 burners and a new dishwasher.

Common areas of Kona Magic Sands Condos are well maintained and clean;pool; BBQ (propane) , grounds, individual parking space, Laundry room has 2 washers and 2 dryers. Machines take quarters, 4 quaters per load.

Keauhou Shopping Center is 3 miles south on Alli Drive. There is a Kita Grocery Store, Pizza Parlor, Longs Drugstore etc.

Kona Magic Sands 314 is more like a Penthouse. It is truly Magic

State of Hawaii Transient Accommodation Tax Reg 61893217-01

Keywords: Penthouse, Top Floor, Kona Hawaii Oceanfront Vacation Rentals, oceanfront condos, Kona vacation rentals, Kailua-Kona vacation rentals

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2018

About The Owner

Aloha Ted & Darlene Carson

We are true Islanders from growing up in Victoria B.C.on Vancouver Island . We love the ocean, we have a water front home in Nanaimo and a condo on the beach .We are from west coast marine climate, we love the fact that Kona only gets 8 to 10 inches of rain annually. If we get home sick we can always go to the hills behind Hilo.We also like the average temperatures 81 to 87 unlike the desert extremes 67 January to 107 July. Love the trade winds and walks along Alii drive. We look forward to being your HOSTS. Mahalo Ted & Darlene

The Owner purchased this condo in 2010

Why The Owner chose Kailua-Kona

The unit 314 has been tastefully updated with antique furniture. It's 3 miles South of the main Kona strip which I regard as a good thing. But it is still on Alii Drive for nice morning or evening peaceful walks. Yet you are only minutes away from town.It has a great location right next to the ocean. You couldn't be closer without being in it. The view on this total glass corner unit really makes it and allows for fabulous sunset views. This unit has a large WOW factor.

What makes this condo unique

The size of the condo. Most of the condos at Kona Magic Sands are 400 sq ft ours is 660 sq ft. The Lani's is enclosed, so you can sit at your table with the glass doors open and see and hear the waves. You also wake up in the morning and sit up in bed and see the ocean. It's amazing.Dophins and Whales are often seen right out in the ocean from your unit.

It's right on Magic Sands Beach, which is a great beach. There aren't a ton of swimming beaches right in Kona and this one is one of the best. Some of the best boogie boarding and snorkeling on the Island. 314 is on the 3rd floor with extra great views and no street noise. It is air conditioned ,has a spa tub and numbered parking. Separate Wifi with network cable ports,road runner Time Warner Cable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • The floors are done in tiles. Foot wear is required as being a beach front unit, sand tends to be dragged in from day one. No bare feet or socks.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Queen Size Bed (1), Queen Sofa Bed (1) and a Roll Away Cot.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(76 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
25% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Luxurious Oceanfront Penthouse Condo Air Conditioned.
average rating of 4.6842103 based on 76 reviews
5

Magic Sands 314

  • 5 of 5

Magic Sands continues to be the premier 'on the ocean' condominium. Stayed here many times and #314 is the best unit, period.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredible

  • 5 of 5

The view is to die for. The ocean is literally at your feet and we could see yellow tangs in the water. The sound of the surf almost shook the room at times. Very relaxing. Close to magic sands beach and Kahaluu if you like to snorkel. Kahaluu second only to 2 step to snorkel. This is our 4th trip to Kona and it is my favorite place to date. The only place we have stayed that I could just hang around and enjoy. The extra view from the glass side made it seem like you could see forever in multiple directions. Condo is well cared for and enough wind that there were no mosquitos. Used the air a few times during the day but much preferred having the doors open. Fans in every room helped to keep it cool. Air not really needed at nite but nice to have the option. We were so content we didn’t even go out to eat. The only thing it was lacking was an oven. Perhaps a toaster oven for people like us? Some noise from town but enough away from the downtown that you are not getting much traffic noise. Am looking forward to coming next year but will stay longer. We are generally fairly active people but being able to relax here after a couple hours of snorkeling was absolutely perfect. Close to shopping and Ali marketplace as well as farmers market but away from the craziness of where the cruise ships dock.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: A toaster oven will be on it's way. Please return. Ted
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect place, nice property

  • 4 of 5

Liked the property, clean and modern, very nice location, beach is next door. The only issue we had in the day of arrival: it was not accessible because of toilet problem. However the management was very helpful and they moved us to the different unit for 1 night. Had to make few phone calls to get new access code etc., would be nice if someone could come over to help us after long flight.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

great spot, bad management.

  • 2 of 5

Loved the view and sound of pounding waves just outside our sliding doors. No lanai but still feels like you are outside. However. upon arrival we found a unit that had not been serviced. Dirty sheets and towels in shower. The previous tenants had kindly done a great job of straightening up, but it had not been cleaned or serviced. I had spoken to someone earlier in the day to get the key lockbox code, so they knew we were coming. We tried calling the management numbers but only got voicemail. Having no linen, we drove to Walmart and purchased sets as it was after 10pm and we needed to sleep. At 12:15am, one of the people called us back and offered to put us up in another unit. As it was so late, and the other 2 people in the party were sleeping, I declined. She also told me management would repay the cost of our linen purchase and that someone would be by with towels and linen and to clean at 8am.

The next morning at 8:30 I called management to see where the unit cleaner an linen were. The man I spoke to told me that "we had a prior obligation" and would not be there until. 9:30. At 9:45 they showed up and did do a great job of cleaning. Dirty linen was removed and enough towels were supplied for the day. Clean linen was later brought in.

I also showed the manager the inside handle of the screen door was broken off, not allowing my 87yo, arthritic mother egress from the unit in case she was there alone. He did bring a pair of vise grip pliers at my suggestion.

Having lived in Kona in the 80s, I knew this was an older complex. But did not expect this poor maintenance or management.

If you want oceanfront, this has it. Luxurious, it is definitely not. The two stars are for location and view only.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guests Response. Ted,your response is much appreciated and more than generous. I would be happy to rent from you again. I have notified VRBO, and would happily amend my review to include your response.You have reacted honestly and responsibly. One assumes you were the lucky recipient of great Parents and a firm spine.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA
4

Great location! It's a studio

  • 4 of 5

The good: The ocean is right outside the window! The unit is fairly well updated and had everything we needed, including beach chairs and boogie boards. There is a small beach (Magic Sands beach) on one side, and a park on the other. There is A/C. Tons of natural light from all the windows.

The less good: I didn't pick up on the fact it was a studio from the photos, and it was listed as a 1 bedroom. We were sharing w/ another couple and I didn't expect to be quite so close to them. The sofa bed was not-so-great; also, the unit was not particularly clean. I am not super picky, but our feet were filthy after walking around barefoot for a few minutes, and I actually took paper towels to wipe down at least the high traffic areas.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The main thing to note it is clearly advertised as one bedroom. All the units in Kona Magic Sands other than 314 are studio condos. Studio Condos are defined as having only one main room. 314 is an open design ,but unlike the other units in Kona Magic Sands it has two main rooms. The floors can be a problem. We had carpets, but everything was dragged in from the beaches, they appeared clean, but in reality are really filthy. Sand,dirt,wine and beer spills,food spills ,etc.Tile is more hygienic ,but it does require some form of foot wear, flip flops, slippers or shoes. Thank for the heads up on the Sofa Bed it will be replaced. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beachside dream!

  • 5 of 5

This unit is everything we wanted for our stay. Nestled on the top level and in the corner an unpretentious unit block, the renovated apartment had the most spectacular views of the sunset. We loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves. It was far enough out of downtown Kailua-Kona to be able to retreat from the madness and just enjoy the best of the simplicity of life on the Big Island. We loved the apartment and will definitely be staying here next time we are in town.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please return. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kona Airport
Nearest Beach
Kona Magic Sands

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

One Time Cleaning $93 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

A one time cleaning fee of $93.00

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties