check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

John and Deidre Stephenson

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

The Enchanted Forest!! Now doing long term rentals!!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pittsburg House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-12)

Welcome to 'The Enchanted Forest!"

Come enjoy Lake Bob Sandlin, the pine trees, unparalleled views and serenity in this wonderful waterfront lake house! You have excellent views of the lake from the living room, the master bedroom, and of course from the wrap around deck. You can supervise your children swimming while you sunbathe or grill steaks on the deck!

We are located only minutes from Mount Vernon and Mount Pleasant where you can find shopping, restaurants and a movie theater. You are close enough to Canton and First Monday Trade Days if you’d like to spend a day there! We are just around the corner from Vaughan’s Catfish Cabin (all you can eat of course!) and from Lake Bob Sandlin State Park. Other attractions include: Old Train Depot Museum , Franklin County Historical Society Museum, Majors-Parchman House Museum, Franklin County Arts Alliance Museum/Gallery, Franklin County Farmers Market, Cypress Springs Berry/Tree Farm and a driving tour of 50 historical homes/buildings.

This lake home is only minutes away from Bob Sandlin State Park where you can find a boat ramp. You can even fish off your own private pier in our back yard! (The boat house belongs to the neighbor so please stay away from that.) We also have a fire pit by the lake if you’d like to sit around the campfire and roast marshmallows in the evening. Please note this is not a constant level lake. During periods of little or no rain, the lake waters may recede substantially.

This home comfortably sleeps 12. Arrangements include one bedroom down with one queen bed, one twin bed and one single over double bunk bed. There is one bedroom upstairs with one queen bed, one double bed and one futon that makes into a double bed. There is one bathroom upstairs and one bathroom downstairs.

The kitchen is fully equipped with pots and pans and cooking utensils. It has an electric stove with a range and oven, a dishwasher, microwave and all the comforts of home! Central A/C and ceiling fans throughout. The living room has a large screen TV, DVD player and a fireplace.

Linens provided but please bring your own towels for the lake.

Cable service can be unreliable. We are sorry that we will be unable to guarantee that these amenities will be working during your stay and are unable to offer refunds for disruption of these services.

Rates may not be loaded for future years at any given time. Please contact owner for a quote.

Be sure to check out our Galveston Beach House for rent on VRBO #227918!!

We also have an ocean front beach house in Galveston (Jamaica Beach) for rent on VRBO #558739!!

And another ocean front beach house in Galveston (Bermuda Beach) for rent on VRBO #508219!!

Plus a new Canal front home in Galveston (Sea Isle) on VRBO #472258!

And our latest ocean front beach home in Galveston (Terramar Beach) for rent on VRBO #503387!!

Plus a home in a retirement community in the Rio Grande Valley (Weslaco) on VRBO #750559!!

The 'Enchanted Forest' reserves the right to refuse service to anyone. Rates are subject to change without notice.

Keywords: Cabin, Lakehouse, Lake, Fishing, Retreat, Bob Sandlin

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
John and Deidre Stephenson (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)
The Enchanted Forest!! Now doing long term rentals!!
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
5

Quiet, relaxing getaway

  • 5 of 5

The cabin provided everything we needed, with a nice deck and spacious backyard. The breeze from the lake made for a pleasant evening sitting around the fire pit. There was a leak from the air conditioner, and the owner was quick to respond. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Bittersweet

  • 3 of 5

Very nice and quite. Enjoyed our stay however, Upon arrival I had to clean the deck and table. Hasn't been cleaned in some time. The ad stated that the kiddos could be supervised from deck while swimming. This ad was the selling point of the property unfortunately, we had to go to state park and pay an extra 48.00 for access to the park so the kids could swim. The property actually sits on the edge of the lake and even with high tide there is too much growth around pier to swim or fish. I suggest google earth the property before renting. I didn't but if I had I would not have rented it.

The house was in excellent condition. Very clean with everything you need to enjoy your stay with exception of what is stated in the ad. If you don't mind paying extra to swim, I would recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We clean the deck and the table frequently, however they are outside so one night can make them look dirty again. We have a current picture of the lake posted on our website. The lake changes frequently and there is currently a growth of some kind of vines around our dock. We pull up whatever we can reach every time we are there but they are very aggressive in growing back! Thank you for your comments and we will continue to do what we can to get the lake swimmable again. We are very fortunate that the state park is only three minutes away.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing and enjoyable weekend

  • 4 of 5

Our family recently stayed at this lovely lake home over Memorial weekend. We had a great experience. The home owners were helpful in advance and prepared for our arrival. This home is a short five minute drive from the state park. We went every day and had no difficulty going back and forth. We did not have a boat but used our kayaks all weekend on the lake. Lake access from the house would be difficult with a boat but we had no problems with the kayaks. We had plenty of space for all eight of us. The kids loved playing on the large yard. It was just the weekend we needed!

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Myrtle Beach, SC
5

Quiet peaceful living

  • 5 of 5

I am a travel therapist and travel with my husband and my Yellow Lab. We stayed here for six months while I was contracted in the area. This is a wonderful place to stay. It is so quiet and peaceful. I loved having the cattle pasture next to us. Although the lake level was down, we could still see the lake, which was absolutely beautiful. The neighbors were very friendly. It was a great place to come home to after a long day at work!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
dallas, tx
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the end of July with 10 people total. Everyone was comfortable and love the cabin. It was too hot during the day to be outside but the AC inside kept us all super cool. At night, a light breeze off the lake made it enjoyable to be outside.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
mineola
5

Great Experience

  • 5 of 5

Good folks to deal with,nice private feel.Would be happy to deal with them again!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Fishing Guides, Canoe/Pontoon/Ski Boat Rentals

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pittsburg House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Summer Special!
Aug 24 2016 - Sep 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
$115
From
$150
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Autumn
Sep 5 2016 - Nov 17 2016
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$150
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2016 - Nov 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$125
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas Holidays
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas Holidays
Dec 26 2016 - Dec 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
New Year's Eve
Dec 30 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Jan 1 2017 - Mar 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$125
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring Break
Mar 10 2017 - Mar 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
Mar 26 2017 - May 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$125
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Summer
May 5 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$175
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Summer
May 29 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
 
 
Independence Day
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Summer
Jul 6 2017 - Aug 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 20 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$200
Fri,Sat
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Late Summer
Sep 4 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$175
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Autumn
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$150
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 17 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Autumn
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$150
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas
Dec 15 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
New Year's
Dec 26 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
From
$200
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $95 + Tax
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

At any point in time, rates may not be loaded for future years. Please contact the owner for a quote.
Prices are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pittsburg House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , The bunk bed has a futon underneath and sleeps 3.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Private pier, private fire pit, boat ramp at nearby State Park

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties