check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Doug Kaye

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

'Best of the Whaler' Award-Winning Oceanview Studio

51 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kaanapali Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

FRAUD ALERT! We do not advertise on Craigslist. If someone on Craigslist advertises a condo rental and refers you to this webpage, it's a fraud. Never wire money to these people. We only accept payment via VRBO.

We have completely remodeled our studio apartment. It is now *the* showcase studio at The Whaler. (Read the glowing reviews from our guests below.) The work was done by Scott Williamson, known as the #1 remodel contractor on Ka'anapali Beach. Some of our pictures were taken by Scott's photographer.

If you know the Whaler, then you know that #1015 is in a great location. It's on the 10th floor on the south side of the north tower, so you're overlooking the courtyard with a terrific view of the ocean and beach. From our private 10th-floor lanai you've got terrific views of the ocean including all of the island of Lanai. Look in the other direction and you've got a great view of the mountains. (There are 12 floors in the building.)

If you don't know the Whaler, you're in for a treat. The Whaler is in the best location on Ka'anapali Beach. Walk out of the building and you're just a few steps away from the beach. (Closer than any other property on Ka'anapali Beach.) Directly next to the property is Whaler's Village with dozens of shops and three excellent beachside restaurants. And because you're staying at the Whaler, you don't have to drive home after dinner.

All linens are provided. Check-out cleaning is included free of charge. Additional cleaning during your stay can be arranged for a nominal fee.

A deposit of two nights’ rental is required with your reservation. The balance plus a $350 damage deposit, is due 60 days prior to arrival. The damage deposit is fully refundable upon satisfactory inspection of the unit's condition following your stay. A 60-day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations more than 60 days prior to the arrival date will be refunded in full. Cancellations within 60 days of the arrival date forfeit the full rent.

Transient Accommodations Tax ID: TA-158-542-4384-01

General Excise Tax ID: GE-158-542-4384-01

Keywords: condo,studio, Whaler, Maui,Kaanapali,whales, beach, ocean

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Doug Kaye (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Doug Kaye

Our mainland home is in beautiful Marin County, just north of San Francisco, but we try to spend as much time on Maui as we can. Our other apartment (#707 a 1BR/2BA) is our home-away-from-home and we often use #1015 for special guests. We visit 3-4 times every year and we spend most of our time making sure everything in both of our condos is just right for our family and guests.

Doug Kaye purchased this condo in 2006

Why Doug Kaye chose Maui

We first stayed at the Whaler on our 15th wedding anniversary. That was 27 years ago in 1986. To us, the Whaler is all about the location. We love that we can walk out of the building and immediately be on the beach. We love that we can sit on the lanai any time between January and April and watch whales. And we love that we can walk home from half a dozen great informal restaurants.

What makes this condo unique

The beach is literally 30 paces from the building. We walk on the beach and swim in the ocean every morning. We love walking down to Black Rock, coming back to the middle of the beach, getting free fresh towels, taking a swim, drying off lying on the sand, then heading back to the condo. Every day should begin this way! And every evening should include a Mai Tai made by Johnny at Leilani's, just down the path at Whalers Village.

Reviews

5
based on 51 traveler reviews

'Best of the Whaler' Award-Winning Oceanview Studio
average rating of 4.980392 based on 51 reviews
4

Nice condo in a great location.

  • 4 of 5

The last time I stayed at The Whaler was in 1980. The property has remained beautiful and they are updating everything. The condo we stayed in was beautiful. The kitchen well stocked with just about everything you need. The only thing I would add would be plastic "sippee" cups with lids for sodas to take with you to the pool or beach for keeping sand out of your drink. We used a cabana every day at the beach. The folks at the beach activities shack were very helpful and the price of the cabana very reasonable. The beach area is beautiful as well and is made for stand up paddle boarding, kayaking etc. The snorkeling there was okay, although I would suggest walking or driving just next door to the public beach area for a few more reefs to see fish and turtles. We did see a couple of turtles off our beach as well as a few larger reef fish, just not as many next door. The pool area is a little small, although we didn't really mind as we prefer to be out on the beach. One thing we would suggest is if you go out in the evening get back before 8 if you want to park underneath the building, out of the sun. It is a quick walk to the Whalers village where you can shop or eat at either The Hula Grill or Leilani's, both have good food and fresh fish every day. If you feel like driving, head out to Leoda's in the Olawalu area. We ate there three times. Great food & home made pies! Well worth the drive. We would definitely stay here again and suggest it to our friends too!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Stay

  • 5 of 5

We had an excellent experience at this property. We stayed 10 nights. The place was very well kept, clean and the view was amazing. Would highly recommend this place to anyone. The owners we responsive and ver accommodating to anything we needed.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nicely remodelled.

  • 5 of 5

Slightly smaller than the pictures show but comfortable for 2 people. Excellent remodel gives this studio a very modern look and its location was right outside the elevator lobby which made coming and going very convenient. We enjoyed our stay here and would look for its availability on future trips.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Auckland , NZ
5

Comfortable + upmarket

  • 5 of 5

Well appointed apartment with everything we could ask for. Bed was very comfortable and all amenities were well thought out. We really enjoyed our stay - it was our home away from home. . Thank you

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice Condo!

  • 5 of 5

Great Condo, well maintained with a very nice view of the mountains, beach and courtyard. It is in a great location, and is very close to stores, restaurants and all the beach activities, oh yes the beach is very nice.

The staff was very friendly, helpful and professional.

We would stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle
5

Really great place for our home base on Maui.

  • 5 of 5

The unit is very, very lovely. That kitchen is great, wish mine at home was that nice. Very workable for 2 people. Nicely remodeled kitchen and bath. The view from the lanai is terrific. We'd definitely stay with Doug again. The Whaler desk staff and the Beach shack staff service were spot on. If Kaanapali is where you want to stay this is a perfect spot for you.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Kahului, Maui
Car: recommended

If you don't know the Whaler, you're in for a treat. The Whaler is in the best location on Ka'anapali Beach. Walk out of the building and you're just a few steps away from the beach. Directly next to the property is Whaler's Village with dozens of shops and three excellent beach side restaurants. And because you're staying at the Whaler, you don't have to drive home after dinner.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kaanapali Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Lobby Renovation (Noise!)
Aug 15 2016 - Oct 14 2016
4 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
2016 Standard Rate
Oct 15 2016 - Dec 15 2016
4 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Holidays
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
$395
 
 
2017 Standard Rate
Jan 16 2017 - Dec 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
$375
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 13.42%

We may have issued other quotations for the same dates and will accept them on a first-come first-served basis. Rates are subject to change without notice. As of 4/1/16 there is a $16/day Resort Fee, payable to the front desk upon checkout. It increases to $17/day on 4/1/17.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kaanapali Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 10
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Studio Apartment: King size bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Housekeeper
  • Massage
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers