Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Quaint Lake Front Cottage with Dock

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

This charming stone home rests on 1.35 acres with 175 feet of lake frontage. You will enjoy the private dock, large shade trees and spacious green lawn for picnics, soccer and softball games. This cottage is located minutes from Red Arrow Marina and a public landing so boat ramp and water equipment rentals are all nearby. The towns of Ketchum, Grove, Langley and Vinita are all within a 15 to 30 minute drive for your enjoyment of golf, tennis, beaches, parks, theatres, shopping, sightseeing and dining out.

The home has 3,000 sq foot with 5 bedrooms and 3 full baths for your family and friends to share. Large picture windows and sliding glass doors allow for lake view from many rooms. There is a welcoming front porch and balcony that extends across the back of the home leading to a charming circular patio furnished with gas grill and outdoor furniture for your enjoyment.

The home is quite suitable for ‘gathering friends and family’ as there are 2 levels with comfortable living room and 3 bedrooms on each floor. The upstairs has full kitchen open to the dining and living area, the lower level has sink, refrigerator and microwave for quick meals and snacks. Both living areas have flat screen TV’s, wood burning stoves, and great views of the lake. The lower living area offers a pool table and game area as well.

Keywords: lakeside, cottage, cabin, vacation home, vacation rental

More Details

Owner
Janae Smucker
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About Janae Smucker

My husband and I hold full time jobs as well as parenting our large and busy family. We relish ‘getting away’ from our hectic life style to a place of peace and quiet to enjoy one another and the simple pleasures in life. The cottage offers our family a place where we can re-connect. That is why we have this lake home! We would like to share it with you for the same reasons and hope your time will be greatly enjoyed at The Gathering Cottage!

Janae Smucker purchased this house in 2009

Why Janae Smucker chose Oklahoma

We bought this lakeside stone cottage as it has been a charming place for our extended family to ‘come away’ for fun and refreshing for years. We have enjoyed fishing, boating, inter-tubing, canoeing, swimming from the dock and just relaxing with the lovely lake view. It has been a place of enjoyment, and ‘peace of mind’ for our family for some time. We are sure you will feel the same and are glad to share it with you!

What makes this house unique

Fall and Winter Updates: FISHING AND HUNTING ARE BIG THIS WINTER!!!!

Fishing

Black Bass-year round. Winter can be great if the lake is not muddy.

Crappie-October till June. Summer months are usually tough

White Bass-January thru November. We always catch the biggest ones in January and February, spawners in the river in March and April, great fishing in the main lake all summer, points in the fall.

Catfish-year round. Big Blue Cats over 30 lbs., November, December, and March

Spoonbill snagging- December, January in the lake; February, March, April in the river

Hunting

Deer hunting is one of the most popular pastimes for Sooner hunters. In fact, these days are golden if you hunt deer in our state; our deer numbers are exploding and the quality of our bucks gets better each season! A national deer-hunting publication recently rated Oklahoma as one of the Top 10 states for whitetail hunting.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We spent a week at the Gathering Cottage and it was AMAZING! We enjoyed the lake front view and lush greenery we were surrounded by. We were able to get in some swimming off the dock, enjoyed the pool table and it was spacious enough for our family of 11 to have their own bed! The yard was big in the front and back and we were able to set up a volleyball net in the front and enjoy smores in the firepit in the back. We were short a pool ball when we arrived but the owner was quick to get ahold of us and have someone come and replace it! We really enjoyed our time at Grand Lake and even got to Monkey Island where we were able to rent a pontoon boat and explore it more by water! Over all, this has been a great vacation spot for our family of 11! The Gathering Cottage is a great “home away from home”.
Aug 2017
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Afton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , private off master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , pull man bath between bedroom 2 and den/bedroom 6
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , pullman between bedroom 3 and 4
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Den, may double as bedroom - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (4), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quaint Lake Front Cottage with Dock
average rating of 4.927273 based on 58 reviews
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week at the Gathering Cottage and it was AMAZING! We enjoyed the lake front view and lush greenery we were surrounded by. We were able to get in some swimming off the dock, enjoyed the pool table and it was spacious enough for our family of 11 to have their own bed! The yard was big in the front and back and we were able to set up a volleyball net in the front and enjoy smores in the firepit in the back. We were short a pool ball when we arrived but the owner was quick to get ahold of us and have someone come and replace it! We really enjoyed our time at Grand Lake and even got to Monkey Island where we were able to rent a pontoon boat and explore it more by water! Over all, this has been a great vacation spot for our family of 11! The Gathering Cottage is a great “home away from home”.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Family of Eleven, So glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and the cottage worked well for your family. Thank you for leaving it so nicely when you checked out and for letting me know of the missing pool ball and lamp not working. It is so helpful when guests alert me of things so that I can quickly get them replaced or repaired. You were wonderful guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful views, spacious house, great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

The house was very clean and Janae was great to work with! We had a wonderful time and especially loved the outdoor space.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: And what a beautiful weekend you had to stay outside, the weather was perfect. Glad you had a wonderful time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

This rental works great 4 my family

  • 4 of 5

We went lake side and took family pictures and cooked snores. The grass really needed mowed

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear after storm guests, Thank you for writing your review, I am glad that the cottage works great for your family. We had spoken of the lawn man's inability to mow prior to your visit due to the storm and excess rain. Your family preferred to have the grass mowed after your visit. I am glad you were able to continue with family photos and summer fun.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great value.

  • 5 of 5

Great lake house. Lots of space great for large groups.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sand Springs, OK
5

Perfect place for ladies getaway

  • 5 of 5

This house is the perfect place for our group to gather for our annual lake stay. There is plenty of room, the access to the dock is fantastic, and Janae is absolutely the best property manager I have ever worked with. We love, love, love it!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing, accommodating, and FUN!!

  • 5 of 5

We love this part of the lake!!! This house was perfect for us. We had 3 separate families with children ranging from 4 to 15. It had something for all of us. The layout was perfect. It has space to spread out and space for us to gather together. We enjoyed swimming off of the dock, watching the beautiful sunset over the calm water, and of course s'mores from the fire pit! Which was a sweet surprise left for us from Janae. This is my second time renting from Janae and she has been very accommodating and very quick to respond. Thank you for a great family weekend!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear July Guests, Thank you for the kind thoughts and words! Your family has been a pleasure to work with and you are welcome again at any time! Janae
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $50
Damage Deposit $400

Pets allowed only by permission of owner.
No Summer 2 night weekend reservations taken, summer weekend reservation minimum is 3 nights.
Holiday visits are an additional $100/night for a 3 night minimum, including:
New Years, Easter, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties