Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Oceanside Condo: Kanaloa at Kona #3402 -ASK ABOUT LAST MIN. DISCOUNTS!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Space 1,016 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

1BR, 2BA, sleeps 5!. Enjoy the view from our oceanside lanai. Best Value in Kona

Watch the sun set over the Pacific ocean at this beautiful oceanfront resort!. Your vacation hideaway is a spacious one bedroom, two bath, first floor condo. The complex is beautifully landscaped, very well maintained, upscale and quiet. A large comfortable(really!) queen-size sofa bed in the living room plus a portacrib or fold-away bed helps the condominium easily accommodate two couples or one couple with up to 3 children. Rates are based on 1-4 persons; 5th person $10/night additional.

The delightful ocean breezes and ceiling fans throughout will keep you cool and content. Layout allows cross ventilation so it's very comfortable sleeping even with no ac. The condo has a bedroom lanai, as well as a spacious oceanside lanai off the living room with a wet bar and view of Heiea Bay.

This is our Hawaiian home-away-from-home which we offer as a vacation rental while back on the mainland. The Koa-wood kitchen is equipped with pots and pans, quality glassware and utensils, and all the usual small appliances, including the all-important coffee maker!. Parking is free, covered, and convenient. Also free WiFi in the condo and at the pools that can be used while looking out at the ocean and gardens.

And we have hair dryers in both bathrooms! (one of the more popular questions!)

Kanaloa is a gated community with a golf course (Kona CC), two top-notch tennis courts, 3 pools and spas. The complex is lovely; very well maintained, beautifully landscaped, and feels more like a village than a condo development. This is a truly tropical paradise right along the Pacific ocean.

Living Space: Over 1000 square feet of living space, plus a bedroom lanai and a spacious living area lanai (with wet bar).

Refund Policy: $200 cancellation fee >60 days before arrival; when a cancellation is less than 60 days prior to scheduled arrival, the refund is for the amount resold, less 20%.

Transient Accommodation Tax #W53352945-01 Contact # 808-326-9075

More Details

Owner
Jim and Debbie Spilman
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 21, 2017

About Jim and Debbie Spilman

We've been visiting Hawai'i since 2000,and fell in love with the Kona Coast - the snorkeling, the coffee, the sunsets and the near-infinite activity choices all within a few miles!

Jim and Debbie Spilman purchased this condo in 2014

Why Jim and Debbie Spilman chose Kona Coast

It seems like we looked at dozens of condos, from Keauhou Bay to downtown Kailua-Kona, Kanaloa at Kona 3402 was one of the first we saw, and became our benchmark. Spacious and comfortable, NIce ocean view from the lanai; steps to the clubhouse pool and tennis courts, and just a short 2 minute walk to the oceanfront pool. Away from the bustle of Kailua Village, but close enough to be convenient for restaurants, nightlife, etc.

What makes this condo unique

We think this is one of the best values in Kona - a roomy, comfortable condo, great view, quiet, well-kept complex with all the amenities, and minutes from any number of great beaches, snorkeling spots, restaurants and all kinds of island activities!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We are enjoying our stay at your Condo. It is very beautiful here and the apartment is soooo nice. Glad it worked out last minute. We loved the place, The space over all is great and we love the amenities of Kanaloa.
May 2014
  • 1 of 10

Amenities

Keauhou Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1016 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , hair dryer in drawer
    Guest Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Hair dryer in bathroom drawer
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib
  • Queen sofa sleeper in the living room fold-away bed if the kids don't want to share the sofabed, or if you have a third child.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis
  • Tennis Court
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The condo is filled with all the amenities that you’ll need for a little fun in the sun. This includes a boogie board, snorkeling equipment, tennis rackets, beach chairs and cooler. When you come in for the night the condo is also equipped with books, playing cards and other games, if you’re in the mood for a movie we’ve got that too or you can just sit on the lanai and listen to the waves.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

Spacious Oceanside Condo: Kanaloa at Kona #3402 -ASK ABOUT LAST MIN. DISCOUNTS!
average rating of 4.607143 based on 38 reviews
Delta, BC, Canada
4

Beautiful property; terrific unit

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in unit 3402 at Kanaloa at Kona. Jim and Debbie were very responsive and provided some very useful information for our stay, including restaurants, the best snorkeling beaches and some fun activities to try. The property is top-notch and beautifully maintained, from the gardens to the pools. The oceanfront pool was our favourite! The unit itself has everything you need for your stay. We were quite comfortable with our family of 3. It is quite roomy so a family of 4, or even 5 would fit quite well. We especially enjoyed our morning coffee and evening wine on the lanai, listening to and watching the waves. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this unit to others.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Great Complex

  • 4 of 5

This was our second long stay in this property. The condo is very well equipped. Modern appliances, lots of books, activity equipment and games for adults and children. Beautiful view of the bay from the lanai off the living/dining area. Shopping and dining facilities are within walking distance or a very short drive. The whole Kanaloa complex is very beautiful and well-kept. The only negative aspect of this condo is the proximity of the bedroom to the parking area. Being long term occupants, (6 weeks) our sleep was disrupted on several occasions by others arriving or departing during the night or very early in the morning, not realizing the sound of voices, car engines and horns can be very disturbing. Would we return? Most certainly.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Great condo, roomy, well supplied, clean, nice view. Highly recommend

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

very comfortable

  • 4 of 5

very nice general property. The unit itself was very clean and comfortable. We had no real problems, and had a nice vacation, thank you. The ceiling fans and the vertical blinds are both getting getting older and a bit tricky, and the end of one glass louvre in the bathroom is chipped and as a result slips around if you are not careful. We used and appreciated the available snorkel equipment. It would be especially nice if an adult boogie board was available? Unfortunately, the boards in the equipment closet are basically styrofoam and for kids, and in any event are already both cracked and probably should be replaced. Thanks again.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Adam, Thanks for your feedback. We replaced the vertical blinds in the bedroom in our last visit, but acknowledge the blinds and the ceiling fan in the living room need updating. We have that in the plan for our next visit later this spring. I'll also have maintenance look at the window louvers you mentioned. Good suggestion about an adult boogie board - we'll get on that as well. Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again during a future trip to the Big Island!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful Vacation

  • 5 of 5

It is a pleasure for us to write this review. This was the third island we have vacationed on for an extended stay and this was the best Hawaiian vacation we have had.

The facilities of the condo were extraordinary and clean. A full kitchen complement of anything needed to make meal preparation so easy, a very comfortable king sized bed, linens, towels, (beach and house ) and a great washer and dryer were also included. A library of information to assist guests with their explorations, as well as leisure reading. We enjoyed the flat screen TV as well as the available family games. The view from the lanai overlooking the cove and the hills, the weather, the flora and fauna all were part of a very memorable vacation in an extremely well-maintained complex.

A car rental is essential if one wishes to explore the island beyond walking, but there are good restaurants fairly close by as well as a very good shopping centre. However, it is not difficult to spend one's time on site as there are three swimming pools as well as tennis courts. The condo comes well equipped with a variety of sports and beach equipment. There is also a resident travel agent to arrange tours etc. for you.

The owners were great from the outset and were very accommodating for any questions or requests which we had. We would not hesitate to recommend this property to our friends ( as long as they did not want our dates.) We have already booked for next year.

Mahalo nui loa, Jim and Debbie, for sharing your home with us.

Andy and Glenna

Delta, British Columbia

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Andy and Glenna, Thanks so much for the wonderful review - you were wonderful guests and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Absolutely beautiful place, so warm & inviting- could spend the rest of our lives there!

  • 5 of 5

It felt like home the minute we walked through the door- very tastefully appointed and lots of space, with beautiful view.

Warm sunny lanai greeted us every morning, perfect coffee spot. Very spacious bedroom and bath, all rooms so comfortable to live in! We loved the community grill and enjoyed many dinners on lanai overlooking cove and listening to surf. Great to have laundry there, and snorkeling / beach provisions too.

We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. We try hard to ensure that our guests have a no-worries vacation, and are glad you took full advantage of our equipment closet and many amenities at Kanaloa .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Pu‘uhonua o Hōnaunau National Historical Park
"A peaceful and beautiful place. Great introduction to Hawai'ian history; hiking trails, and..."
Big Jakes Island B-B-Q
"Delicious local BBQ place - south of Kona"
Ho'Okena Beach Park
"A little off the beaten path, but a hidden gem all the same. Beautiful sandy beach, good sn..."
Quinn's Almost By The Sea
"Great local seafood restaurant and bar, across the street from the Cruise Pier in Kailua Vil..."
Kona Town Tavern
"Kona Brewing Company has gone national, but this is the original brewery - great selection o..."
Kilauea Volcano
"Volcano National Park is a must - Thurston Lava Tube, Volcano House, Numerous viewing locati..."
Kealakekua Bay Historical Park
"Panoramic views of the bay, and Captain Cook monument. Good snorkeling, but careful entering..."
Captain Cook Monument
"Great snorkeling, but you need to book an excursion, or get a rare state pass to kayak there..."
Annie's Island Fresh Burgers
"Great burgers(voted best in West Hawaii 2011, 2012, and 2013), cold beer, spacious screened ..."
Luana Inn
"If you can't stay at our condo - then try to get a room here. Pool and spa with great views..."
Huggo's On The Rocks
"Fun, open air, oceanfront bar and grill - live music, next to Royal Kona Resort, right on th..."
Rapanui Island Cafe -- CLOSED
"Hole-in-the-wall restaurant, tucked into a shopping arcade at the north end of Ali'i Drive. ..."
Snorkel Bob's
"Lots of places to rent snorkel gear, but we've always like Snorkel Bob's - decent prices, pa..."
Ka'aloa's Super J's
"Delicious authentic Hawaiian food - LauLau, Kailua Pork. Storefront is not much to look at,..."
Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.7 Miles
Sam Choy's - at Keauhou Shopping Center
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 11 and Kamehameha III
Nearest Restaurant
0.7 Miles
Sam Choy's - at Keauhou Shopping Center
Nearest Ski
70 Miles
Mauna Kea (REALLY!)
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Kahalu'u Beach Park
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Keauhou Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring 2017
Apr 2 2017 - Jun 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$139
$834
$3,150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
Jun 4 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$109
$654
$2,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2017
Oct 1 2017 - Dec 16 2017
4 night minimum stay
$139
$834
$3,150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season - 2018
Dec 17 2017 - Mar 31 2018
4 night minimum stay
$169
$1,015
$3,825
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 2018
Apr 1 2018 - Jun 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$139
$834
$3,150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2018
Jun 3 2018 - Sep 29 2018
3 night minimum stay
$109
$654
$2,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2018
Sep 30 2018 - Dec 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$139
$834
$3,150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$139
$834
$3,150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $146
Tax Rate 13.42%

Check in: 4 PM / Check Out: 10 AM

Cancellation Policy: Cancel greater than 60 days prior to arrival, refund of all monies paid minus $200 cancellation fee. Cancel inside 60 days from arrival, refund whatever can be resold/rebooked, minus 20%


Late flight home? Extended checkout time up to 8PM for 50% of daily rate. (subject to availablity)

Special rates do not include taxes or cleaning fees.

Email or call for special last minute rates; Up to 30% off when booking 10 days or less prior to arrival. (subject to calendar availability)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties