check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Michael Cordera

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Beautiful Lackawaxen River home - Spring/Summer Fishing with views and hot tub!

35 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Poconos House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2 baths, open kitchen and living room - Game Room - Great Views!

Watch eagles soar and trout jump from this one of kind 3,000 sq ft home on one of the Poconos' premier sporting rivers. This house has it all: sun-drenched great room with floor to ceiling windows; an open space floor plan made for family and friends to enjoy together; and an inviting kitchen with modern conveniences. Sit on the screened porch and watch the kids play in the protected backyard or go for a long walk/bike ride along the historic 'Tow Path' road. Within 20 minutes of the house you will find outfitters offering white water rafting, paintball and horse back riding. There is also incredible antique shopping in local towns such as Hawley, Honesdale and Narrowsburg. Skiing at Big Bear is only fifteen minutes away. In the evening, enjoy a meal together seated around a huge wooden table, retire to the entertainment room featuring a 52in high def TV, pool table, ping-pong and high-speed Internet access or relax in well maintained, six person outdoor hot tub.

Fishing Paradise: : This house features 150ft of riverbank property on the majestic Lackawaxen River, voted Pennsylvania's 'River of the Year' for 2010. This is truly a wildlife paradise. As described on fly fishing connection's website: 'Feeding into the Delaware River, the Lackawaxen ... is well known for its population of wild browns and rainbows. This large river consists of beautiful swift pools, followed by short runs, rifts, and pocket water. The good-sized boulders scattered throughout the river, the overhanging trees, and deep pools help provide trout with a comfortable home. This, in turn, provides anglers with a great place to fish. Many anglers are surprised at the number of fish in this river. Fish seem to be located in every rift, run, and pocket; due in part to the wild population and the thousands of fish that are stocked each year. Many people argue that with the exception of the upper Delaware, it is, or could be, the best tail-water in Pennsylvania.

Area Attractions: : In addition to water sports and fishing, there are numerous activities for the whole family, including Costas Family Fun Park; Lake Wallenpaupack; antiquing in nearby Hawley, Honesdale and Narrowsburg; the Zane Grey Museum; eagle watching, the Minisink Revolutionary War Battlegrounds. The slopes at Ski Big Bear resort are only fifteen minutes away. Give us a call and we can provide numerous links to local sights.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Michael Cordera (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

About Michael Cordera

We are New Jersey residents living in Randolph township.

Michael Cordera purchased this house in 2007

Why Michael Cordera chose Poconos

The poconos offer year round fun, fishing, hunting, hiking and skiing.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Michael,



I wanted to send you a short note to thank you and your wife for allowing us to spend a great holiday weekend in your home. We had great weather, plenty of food, fun, and beverage. The home and property were exactly what we hoping to find , spacious, quiet, and private. Needless to say, we all enjoyed our stay tremendously. Thank you both again... maybe we can do it again next year ?



Sincerely,



Jack, Karen and family
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4
based on 35 traveler reviews

Beautiful Lackawaxen River home - Spring/Summer Fishing with views and hot tub!
average rating of 4.0 based on 36 reviews
5

Lovely and very nicely maintained.

  • 5 of 5

We went with some friends for a golf, buddy weekend. Mr Cordera was extremely helpful, knowledgeable about the area and actually encouraged us to make a nice fire in the backyard and enjoy. The kitchen is great, has everything you want and it's right there in the thick of things so no missing out on the fun while cooking. The property is quite lovely and quiet, nice walks, or just sitting looking out over the river, saw at least 3 eagles (they might have all been the same one but saw it 3 times) and all in all had a great time and would absolutely go back.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great Stay On The River

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this rental home. The Living Room on the Main Floor is wide open with a fantastic view of the river. Lots of windows on that side let in all the natural light you'll need. (very cool 'bowling alley' table can sit 10-12 I'm guessing). Fishing is great and within a 2 minute walk from the front porch. Games room upstairs was great for our kids. Great value for the price of the rental. Michael was responsive and moreover very accommodating with anything we asked for. I'd give it 6 stars if I could.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing retreat and great fishing!

  • 5 of 5

A great place for the whole family. The house is big and has a beatiful view. Excellent value for the money. We found a very convenient, relaxing location, a house with all services needed, very clean and the landlord Michael always available and supportive. Just walking across the front door, the Lackawaxen river provides all the fun you want, great place for fishing or just floating around. Strongly recommend this place either if you are looking for going outdoors or simply relaxing with family and friends.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Sandusky, Ohio
1

Terrible Experience, Doesn't Even Deserve One Star

  • 1 of 5

The yard and driveway were littered with plastic and Styrofoam debris. We were not provided a house key but rather a code for an electronic lock. Once I saw the code pattern I didn’t feel secure. I asked but we were not allowed to change it. As we were carrying things inside my wife twisted her ankle on one of the loose boards outside the back porch. This proved to be an obstacle while entering and exiting the home.

Inside the house carpeting was stained and worn throughout. Most of the furniture was stained. Some furniture was covered up and even the furniture covers had stains. One of the bedroom doors upstairs looked like someone punched it. There was also damage to one of the walls in the game room.

Storage space for renters in this home is non-existent. The owners have their junk stored everywhere. The only closet with space was in the living room but it was littered with water balloons and had exposed electrical wires hanging in it.

Don’t leave food out as the ant traps are not working. We killed on average 12 ants a day and we were only awake and inside the home approximately 3 hours per day. I consider this an ant infestation. The owner disagrees.

The bathrooms were small and hot water was a hot commodity. If you're not 1st or 2nd in the shower you better like cold showers. I’m told the upstairs shower also had low water pressure. The bathroom vent downstairs had not been cleaned in a long time (if ever). The basement was a mess and someone left damp sheets in the dryer to mildew.

Cooking at the home is less than desirable. You must leave the burners on the gas grill on full blast to have any shot at cooking your food. The kitchen does have the basics provided, however, many of the pans are beat up or missing handles.

The owner did offer to send a cleaning service over but he wanted us to meet them during the day. Our schedule didn’t allow this. He used my unwillingness to take time away from family plans to justify how things were not really that bad. During the middle of the week I sent the owner a number of photos showing damage and filth. He claimed it was all “normal wear and tear”. He is in denial.

At the end of the trip the owner offered a refund if I would refrain from leaving a review. Sounds like bribery. Needless to say I didn’t accept it. Instead I’ve launched an official complaint with HomeAway and done my best to give you an honest assessment of this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This tenant was not satisfied with the advertised rate and attempted to renegotiate after arriving at the house with a series of complaints that were pretty ridiculous. I offered to refund him the entire rental amount if he was not happy with the house and wanted to leave or have our cleaning services stop by at any time and address his concerns. He was unwilling to accept either alternative and continued to try renegotiate a new price, which we refused. To be clear, the house is professionally cleaned after each tenant leaves and we have made a significant number of improvements to the property since we first began renting it in 2010. We will gladly provide an appropriate refund on the rare occasion that something material goes wrong. This was not one of those occasions, however, and it's unfortunate that this tenant felt the need to level an unwarranted (and dishonest) critique.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Filthy, filthy, filthy

  • 1 of 5

Do not be fooled by their response. When we saw 1 star reviews we have read their response and it was convincing. Well the truth is they don't fix problems. First of all, this is not a river front property. It is facing big road and river is barely seen from the house. From the minute you walk onto the porch you fill filthy. This place wasn't cleaned for years. Mold on walls, dirty broken down covers on furniture, broken tv, and tons of stuff in cabinets that do not belong there. It reminded me my college dormitory kitchen that no one wants to use. Closet filled with bunch of covers bundled up ( not sure if clean or dirty from people before). Pots and pans are broken, bitten up and scratched up so bad, we didn't want to cook with it, but had no choice. Refrigerator that smells. The only place u can use is a dining table with chair around it. Shower that bearly produce any stream to take a shower, and drain that doesn't drain. Downstairs bathroom smelled like urine. Outside playground was so dirty and moldy, my children wanted stay away.

Towels with holes and stains. Stains on furniture, the list can go on. Bottom line this property not worth a dime. Unless u are comfortable in filth of someone else, don't go there! It is your vaccation don't regret!

P.S we did contact the person and did receive no apologies no regrets. Truly he is not concerned that u waisted three days of ur precious vaccation time because of his false advertisement. We left one day earlier just because we could not stay in that filth anymore.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest asked for an exorbitant refund because the furniture on screened porch got a dusting of pollen between cleanings. I offered to refund the cleaning fee and to have our cleaning service stop by and address any concerns, but the tenant refused. We appreciate constructive criticism, but it's unfortunate when a disgruntled guest feels the need to leave an inaccurate review. To be clear, the house is professionally cleaned after each guest leaves, there are no odd smells and the kitchen is well appointed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful place to stay!

  • 4 of 5

8 guys on a fishing trip had a fantastic time here. The house has everything you need and the location is perfect. Walk to the end of the driveway, cross the road and you are ready to fish, exactly what we were looking for. Even with 8 guys in the house we never felt cramped and could easily spread out and relax. We will be back next year for sure!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hawley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 20 2016 - Sep 5 2016
4 night minimum stay
$275
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
$900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning $125
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Poconos House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • River
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties