check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Carol Thompson

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Cozy, Romantic Beachfront Cottage Near Jamestown-Williamsburg, Virginia

19 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Surry Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom-Queen-Bed, 1Full Bath+LR-Queen Sleep Sofa, -cottage Sleeps only 2

Jamestown-Williamsburg Area, Surry Va. A unique cozy Beachfront Cottage. Awaken to the sun rising over Jamestown Island--the birth of a nation. Sip coffee and walk the sandy beach. Enjoy the panoramic expanse of the James River. Retrace Pocahontas’s travel to Jamestown Island now enjoyed on a 20-minute ferry crossing with your car. Arrange a romantic dinner at the river prepared by a local chef or order a massage by a professional masseuse…just some of the possible pleasures at the 'Rivah' Cottage. Jamestown (3/4 miles), Colonial Williamsburg (5 mi), and Yorktown offer multiple days of enjoyment. In Surry, Smith’s Fort (2 mi), Bacon’s Castle, and the owner’s favorite, the beautiful 265-acre Chippokes State Park (a Plantation Home and working Farm) on the James River not to be missed. Even the Hampton Roads Vineyard & Winery welcomes guests in Surry County. The Seafood Co Restaurant and Marina on Grays's Creek is a mile down the road. Shopping delights, restaurants and golf courses are advertised in a book full of maps and experiences to help you plan your day…or not! Beach chairs, novels or yoga make relaxing alternatives.

Option #1: A local Chef, Jane, offers an array of sumptuous menus (emailed upon request). Services range from Breakfast-in-Bed, picnics to go, meals dropped off or cooked on site. Jane worked for many years for Fetzer Vineyards in California before opening her very own 'Dish Cafe and Wine Shop'. Since moving to Surry six years ago, she has worked at area restaurants in Williamsburg and for caterers providing meals for special events. Consider treating yourself to one of her many selections or custom order your own menu.

Option #2: Enjoy an afternoon being pampered and order a massage in the privacy of the cottage for $70/hr. Contact the Owner for arrangements.

Option #3: Enjoy a motorboat ride down the James River ending with a meal at a Seafood Company creek -marina restaurant.. Also, the State Park near the Cottage offers morning and evening canoeing, fishing providing bait and rods, fossil walks hunting for sharks' teeth, whale bone and the state fossil, Chesapecten Jeffersonian. There is also a guided River House tour by candlelight. New to Surry is the Hampton Roads Vineyard & Winery.

We supply hundreds of suggestions for filling your day to make your visit the first of many. You can never finish seeing and doing all that the Williamsburg area has to offer.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Carol Thompson (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Carol Thompson

We've traveled enough to know what it takes to feel elegant and have all you need. A toothbrush is optional. Being a former realtor, Carol knows about property appeal. She understands a lot about mental health and creating a feeling of wellness...an experience you will want to repeat.

Why Carol Thompson chose Tidewater & Hampton Roads

One of only a few Riverfront properties offered in the Williamsburg area. We want to share our breathtaking views with the world and pass on to you the inner peace you'll feel during your stay, with memories that will bring you back again. Weddings, Anniversaries and other special times, are our speciality.

What makes this cottage unique

Watch the eagles and osprey glide by at eye level, sometimes a pelican or two, all fishing. Be mesmerized by the motion of the river and the

sight of the ferries gliding across the historic River. Located on a quiet, short, dead-end road.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This cottage is about as close to heaven as I will ever get. I have had many wonderful weekends in my time but none as elegant as this one. Thanks for the memories.



Bill, Chatham, Va.
Oct 2009
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 19 traveler reviews

Cozy, Romantic Beachfront Cottage Near Jamestown-Williamsburg, Virginia
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
5

Romantic and Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5

There are no words to describe the beautiful way the sun peaks up to greet you in the morning. The owner has added so many small touches to this home that everyday we found ourselves finding something new to talk about. The collection of DVDs, the magazines, the champagne at our arrival, the fresh fruit and cereal she left us... just an amazing little waterfront home that felt like ours. I wanted to add that my husband and I were really hesitant about our stay, mostly because we're really active, love having things close by, and we love the DC city life because of that. But we had things planned everyday, the Go Ape Zip line adventures and Colonial Williamsburg. So everyday we came home really tired and as soon as we stepped in we felt peace overcome us. We played chess and watched some movies we had never seen from the movie stash (thank you Carol). We stopped by the local restaurant (Surry Seafood Co) and enjoyed some drinks close by. The ferry was a great experience but definitely wouldn't want to cross back and forth multiple times in one day. But we loved our slow days and we loved Carol's hospitality. We rarely say the words, "we want to go back" but Carol's home is definitely on our list. Thank you, for sharing your charming home. You made it feel like ours for three unforgettable, peaceful, and beautiful days away from the bustle of DC.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautifully decorated with many, many small touches.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much. The cottage was more than adequate in size for the two of us. Nicely decorated with many, many small touches. We enjoyed the expanse of glass on the river side , which made being indoors kinda' like being outside. The house is situated on a high bluff with a long flight of stairs to the beach below. We stayed mostly on top and watch the ferries cross back and forth. Sound boring? We thought it relaxing.

We used the property as a base for trips to Williamsburg/Jamestown and Virginia Beach. We also toured some of the nearby historic properties.

The one shortcoming was with the lack of restaurants in the immediate area. Basically, two. Anne's, a pizza/Italian place, which was OK and a new seafood restaurant, which we found disappointing.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Peterborough,Cambs,Uk
5

Just perfect in every way

  • 5 of 5

I am sat here looking over the The James River from the lounge . A perfect view for a perfect place .

We've watched Ospreys feeding chicks, Eagles nesting and many other birds float past the front .

The cottage is beautifully appointed with all you need and much more

Carol is so helpful and a perfect host

I will miss waking to the Sunrise , drinks in the garden watching the sun set and more than anything this special place on Earth

We return to the UK on Sunday not knowing what Brexit will mean but at least we have had a wonderful stay

Thank you Carol

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just What We Needed!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was perfect for celebrating my husband's birthday. We paddled up Gray's Creek one day and saw osprey and their nests, road bikes on the Jamestown Trail, visited historic Williamsburg, and ate at several wonderful restaurant - Food for Thought, Second Street, La Yaca. We loved the slower pace of using the ferry, which was right down the street from the cottage. It is in a perfect location - at the far end of the street which offers a lot of privacy, and the view is wonderful. The cottage was beautiful, and the owners provided amenities for anything and everything needed. Carol was immediately available when we had a question. Wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Riverview Paradise

  • 5 of 5

After a 10+ hour drive, I felt there was nothing that could put me in a better mood - until I pulled into the driveway of Carol's home. Secluded at the end of the road there was a welcoming sign outside of the front door. Upon entering, we were greeted with champagne and chocolates, a mess of CDs to play, a delicious breakfast of fresh fruits and muffins, and the decor of something out of a Martha Stewart catalog.

There is a little outdoor grill which we used for the majority of our meals, having driven the 30+ minutes to civilization for some fresh meats and veggies. Otherwise the only other "local" eatery was Anne's pizza, which closed early but was still very good.

The pictures do not do this place justice. The bed was immaculate as it offered the opportunity to wake up to one of the most spectacular sunrises I have ever witnessed. The home itself was large and comfortable.

I took advantage of ordering a mobile masseuse to visit us and it was well worth it (and affordable at 70$ per hour per person).

Overall an enchanted experience, although I didn't have the pleasure of meeting Carol in person the booking, stay, and check-out made me want to visit again as soon as possible.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rocky Mount, NC
5

Comfy and Convenient

  • 5 of 5

What a great respite from city life! This cottage gives you the remote location to enjoy each other and nature - but the convenience of taking a quick ferry ride across to Williamsburg for anything you would want to do! We have been going to the Surry area to see family for years, and it was so nice to have our own little get-away! I found myself taking pictures of the sunrise FROM THE BED and then going back to sleep!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Williamsburg-Newport News, Virginia
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Surry-The Seafood Co
Nearest Ferry
0.1 Miles
Jamestown-Scotland Ferry
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Williamsburg National Golf
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Williamsburg
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
State Route 10 and 31
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Surry-The Seafood Co (breakfast=-lunch-supper)
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
on River beach
Car: necessary

For the History Buff

• Historic Colonial Williamsburg

• Historic Jamestown Settlement

• Historic Yorktown and Victory Center

• Yorktown Battlefield

• The Mansion at Chippokes State Park in Surry (on the James River)

• Smith’s Fort in Surry County

• Bacon’s Castle

Museums

• Mariners’ Museum

• Muscarelle Museum of Art

• Virginia Living Museum

• Virginia Musical Museum

Out Door Lovers --options abound and include:

• Biking

• Canoeing and Kayaking

• St. Park and Hiking (you are 5 minutes from the Riverfront Chippokes State Park)

• Fishing

• Swimming & Beaches

[No need to Travel—walk outside your door to your own private beach)

Our State Park in Surry on the James River has miles of beach and an Olympic Size swimming pool. A Guest Pass to the Park is located at your Beach Cottage.

Gray's Creek Marina with the Seafood Co. Restaurant

• Boating and Tours

• Picnic Supplies are at the Beach Cottage. You also have an option for the Chef to supply the picnic meal.

Day Trips

• Smithfield (30 minutes)

• Richmond (1hr) and Charlottesvile beyond (1 additional hr. beyond)

• Norfolk (1hr)

• Virginia Beach (90 minutes)

Fine Dining

The possibilities are endless. At your Beach Cottage you

will find a large binder (as well as many small books) for your special interests. You also have an option for a local Chef to cater to, or cook on site for your very own private dining experience at the Beach Cottage. The Seafood Co. Marina Restaurant is a mile from the Cottage.

For Your Reading Pleasure

A library of more than 50 novels awaits you at the Cottage

And a Masseuse stands by

There are DVD movies to watch, CD music and Satellite TV

Photos

Rates & Availability

Surry Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

One-time Prof Cleaning $60

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Surry Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 1224 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Small, sunny with Plantation Shutters. Towels, guest soaps, shampoo, hair dryer, toothbrush and tooth paste.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Wake to the sun rising over Jamestown Island. River views of Jamestown from your Bed. A Queen bed and Lounge, Plantation Shutters, Ceiling Fan, Hardwood floors, reading light with a library of books, alarm clock and all linens, towels and Spa robes. Additional Queen Sleep Sofa in Living Room.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • 1 bicycles
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Champagne and chocolates upon arrival. First Breakfast Provided: Individual Cereal choices, bananas, grapes, 2% milk, pastries, coffee with half & half and tea. Kitchen has smooth-top stove. Dining Room has brick, wood-burning fireplace. Hardwood Floors in most rooms. Free Guest Pass to State River Park Plantation House and Working Farm. Wonderful walking/biking trails with river beach (5 miles from cottage). Olympic Size Swimming Pool at State river park-Chippokes-265 acres (pool charge additional to free Guest Pass). Chef, masseuse, photographer-resources available (by prior arrangement), daily maid service for additional cost.

Partner Offers