check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mike Millikin

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Secluded five bedroom riverfront home in a wooded, park-like setting

24 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pullman House Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 2 living areas, sleeps 12

Please see also my other secluded vacation rental properties located nearby: www.homeaway.com/4066808

www.homeaway.com/3855583

Located between the beach communities of South Haven and Saugatuck/Douglas, and the town of Fennville, 'Harvest Country' is home to wineries, art galleries, great dining, a ski area, bike trails, and multiple rivers and lakes for fishing and kayaking. Enjoy farmers markets, town festivals and the beach in the summer along with the gorgeous colors on display in the dense woods and rolling farmland in the fall.

Secluded Riverfront Getaway: Large 5 bedroom, 3 bath contemporary home in a park-like setting, perfect for families or groups.

At the end of a long, private tree-lined paved driveway, this riverfront property with tennis court and screened porch is located in the middle of 30 wooded acres, surrounded by large tracts of land on all sides. The 3800sf two-story home with 2-car garage has two large living areas plus an office, fireplace, three decks, beautiful views from all four large bedrooms (one, with bathroom, on the ground floor), and a 2000sf basement with pool table, ping pong table and extra bedroom. The large recently updated kitchen with granite countertops, side-by-side refrigerator and gas cooktop/double oven opens onto the family room and dining room. Satellite TV and wireless internet included.

Well-behaved dogs considered.

Summer Paradise: The screened porch includes a dining table for 6, patio furniture plus a comfortable outdoor living area. Enjoy the firepit and bird-watching in the back yard, horseshoes, volleyball, bocce and the hammock (all provided), and river views from the decks. Deer, turkeys and other wildlife roam the property.

1800 feet of river frontage. The designated trout stream also has steelhead and salmon running in the fall.

WIthin a 20 minute drive from the house are beaches, golf, the charming towns of South Haven and Saugatuck/Douglas, a winery, farmers markets and you-pick orchards, lakes with boat and kayak rentals, hike and bike trails, fine dining, art galleries and antique markets.

Winter Wonderland: Enjoy the views of the river and snow on the evergreen trees in the winter. The living room has a large wood burning fireplace; firewood provided. The house has two furnaces, one for each floor, and is quite cozy and warm in the winter.

The long driveway and the nearby Kal-Haven trail are great for cross country skiing.

A short drive away is the Bittersweet Ski area, where guests can downhill ski and snowboard; lessons, rentals and daily lift tickets available.

Downtown South Haven has an open-air ice skating rink, open daily - skate rentals available, as well as coffee and hot chocolate next door!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Mike Millikin (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 24 traveler reviews

Secluded five bedroom riverfront home in a wooded, park-like setting
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
Leawood, Kansas. USA
5

Amazing Property!

  • 5 of 5

There are so many wonderful things to say about this house that it is hard to know where to begin.

Our family stayed on this property for a family vacation and it exceeded our expectations. The house was large and spacious and even more beautiful than the pictures showed. It was well equipped with everything you would need including two dishwashers in the kitchen.

Whether we played tennis, ping pong, pool, ate meals on the screened in back porch, or just relaxed around the fire pit, we took advantage of all the amenities this home had to offer.

We loved being tucked away in this secluded wooded area. Everything was so peaceful and private, and yet we were just a short drive to the coastal towns of South Haven, Saugatuck, and Holland. The owner, Mike, was very accommodating and provided us with ideas for things to do during our visit.

We thouroughly enjoyed staying on this amazing property and hope to return again in the future!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A perfect setting with excellent amenities

  • 5 of 5

We had 11 people total (6 adults, 5 kids) from 3 different families, and this home was absolutely perfect for us. Everyone had plenty of space and privacy, but there was also plenty of common space for us to hang out together. We especially loved and used the big, gourmet kitchen, the tennis court, the firepit, the screened porch, and the grill area. Gorgeous grounds and woods surround the house, which is completely private from surrounding properties, and it's relatively easy proximity to all the cute beach towns, such as Southhaven, Saugatuck, and just a little farther to our favorite beach of all time in Holland (our favorite town, too!)

Mike, the owner, could not have been more helpful, friendly, and available to us if we needed anything or had questions. Working out the details of our stay with him was a pleasure.

If we decide to do a big multi-family trip to this area again, we will absolutely return to this home.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Menlo Park, California
5

Fabulous house and setting!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our time at this property. It is well appointed and very, very spacious both inside and outside. The grounds were lovely and quite large. We enjoyed our time around the fire pit for many evenings and the setting in the woods was lovely. We had a large family get together and found plenty of space to be together but also to be apart when that made sense - which happens over a week together! Mike was very responsive in making the arrangements and maintains the property quite well. We have done multiple VRBO and Airbnb vacations and this property and Mike rank in the top set of rentals for us.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome home, views, animals, amenities and MORE!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just got back from our stay at this beautiful property and we are longing to go back! The house is everything it claims to be and more! We enjoyed all of the amenities, especially the ping pong, pool table, fire pit, washer/dryer, amazing kitchen, comfortable beds, and BEAUTIFUL views! If you are looking for a peaceful retreat, this is your wooded paradise! We enjoyed breakfast each morning on the deck or in the large screened in porch. It was so relaxing to hear nothing but the birds (and chipmunks) chirping. The house is far removed from the hustle and bustle, but close to any of the great coastal towns! We visited Holland, South Haven, Fennville, St. Joe and Saugatuck/Douglas. All were just a short drive from the house. It was nice to get out and see the sites, but we always looked forward to coming back to the house in the evenings. If you think the pictures are pretty, just wait until you arrive at the property! It was better than we had even imagined!

We have rented several houses in Michigan over the years and this has, by far, been the best!! We would highly recommend it, even though selfishly we don't want to share this gem with others! :)

Even if you don't enjoy the great outdoors like we do, this is still a perfect house! You could seriously stay indoors the entire time and not get bored. Lots of TV channels, DVDs, Books, Games, etc. are provided and there are amazing views in every room.

We are looking forward to a return visit in the future!

Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful house!

The Ulerich's

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Berkeley, IL
5

Peaceful Vacation Haven!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this home for our family vacation last year. The house was beautiful. There was plenty of room for everyone. The kids loved the ping pong and pool tables. The screened-in back porch was our favorite place to hang out. We were able to eat all of our meals out there together. The kitchen and laundry facilities were state-of-the-art. The owner, Mike, was very accommodating and quick to answer any questions that we had. He recommended different restaurants and area attractions too. It was also a pet-friendly home and those are few and far between. We are looking forward to a return visit this summer.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, comfortable, clean, PERFECT.

  • 5 of 5

I don't think it is possible to say enough positive things about this property. My wife and I had as perfect of an experience as you could hope for. The house and property is beautiful with wonderful windows that make you feel like you are living in a tree house from some rooms. Everything worked as it should, the house was clean and well maintained and the owners are super nice and easy to deal with. We had wonderful snow while we were there and it was just perfect watching it though the windows, with a fire in the fireplace, logs in the boiler keeping the house warm. Far enough out of town to be private, but close enough to go for a nice dinner or ice skating. It is definitely on our list to return.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Grand Rapids / Kalamazoo
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Hawkshead
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Bangor (Amtrak)
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
I-196 / Exit 109
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Bittersweet
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
South Haven
Car: necessary

Located between the beach communities of South Haven and Saugatuck/Douglas, and the town of Fennville, 'Harvest Country' is home to wineries, art galleries, great dining, a ski area, bike trails, and multiple rivers and lakes for fishing and kayaking. Enjoy farmers markets, town festivals and the beach in the summer along with the gorgeous colors on display in the dense woods and rolling farmland in the fall.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pullman House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Fall
Aug 28 2016 - Sep 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$475
$2,500
 
 
Fall
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$475
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,500
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 21 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$2,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas & New Year
Dec 22 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$475
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 2017
May 1 2017 - Jun 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$450
Fri,Sat
$2,500
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 10 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
 
Later Summer 2017
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 25 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$475
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning $200
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 6.0%

Holidays have a minimum 3 night stay and are priced at the standard rate.

Check in time is 4:00pm. Check out time is 11:00am.

Credit card payments accepted.

$50 pet fee (per stay) to cover additional cleaning expense.

No high school or college age renters. There are minimal age requirements. This property is for families and groups of adults.

The property is unable to accommodate weddings and other events with groups larger than 12.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pullman House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • River
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Private
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd floor hall
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 1st floor
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , TV w Satellite
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Piano
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Binoculars
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • tennis

Partner Offers