check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Property Manager

Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Casa Mono - Stunning Three Bedroom Home with Loft

6 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


Bocas del Toro Province House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-9)

Welcome to Casa Mono at Paunch Beach, Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro, Panama.

We are located a few minutes from beautiful Paunch Beach on Isla Colon, the main island of the Bocas del Toro archipelago. Our gorgeous landscaped property is home to many beautiful birds & monkeys, yet only 10 minutes from the town and all of Bocas' restaurants & bars.

Some of Bocas' best surfing spots are here or just simply relax on the beach with stunning views of nearby Isla Carenero & Bastimentos. There is an outstanding swimming & snorkeling spot on the beach directly in front of the property.

Our home has been hand-crafted of the finest local woods and is beautifully rustic yet luxurious. This home has three large bedrooms, each with a custom Queen bed - one has a loft with three additional twin beds - perfect for a family group, three bathrooms with large rain showers, a very large comfortable open living space, fully-screened windows & high-efficiency ceiling fans. The open concept kitchen allows for a relaxed holiday experience.

When you arrive in Bocas, we will be there to greet you, help you to shop for supplies, and then help you get settled in your tropical home.

We supply you with a cellular telephone (you may purchase a phone card for any outgoing calls) & a directory of helpful numbers and maid service is provided weekly.

We will help you to arrange any of the wonderful activities that Bocas offers, from snorkeling trips to surfing lessons to the rental of Golf carts , ATV's or bicycles.

Our home can be rented with a minimum three night stay.

Special weekly rates are available. Holiday rates may apply.

Keywords: Beach House

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

From TripAdvisor................We absolutely loved the house! It's beautiful, well maintained and very clean. It has obviously been very well taken care of. The screens make you feel as though you are almost in the jungle. Lot's of space and very comfortable. Both the owner and the manager were extremely helpful. Would definitely recommend this house as a vacation rental!
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 8


based on 6 traveler reviews

Casa Mono - Stunning Three Bedroom Home with Loft
average rating of 4.0 based on 14 reviews
Minneapolis, MN

Wonderful house on an amazing island!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our four nights at Casa Mono. It was even better than the pictures show! The lush jungle setting of the house was beautiful and the layout of the house unique and perfect for our group of 4 adults and 2 kids. We loved feeling as though we were outdoors with the screened walls on three sides, but we also felt very safe.

The house was clean and bug free. The beds and pillows were comfortable with nice linens, and there were plenty of plush bath towels provided. All of the bedrooms had floor fans as well as ceiling fans, so everyone slept comfortably. Having a washer and dryer along with soap and dryer sheets available was very handy. The kitchen was adequately equipped for making meals, which we did each evening. The hammocks scattered throughout the decks provided plenty of opportunities for relaxing while listening to the surf close by. It was nice to be away from town, but yet just a quick taxi ride away. A short walk took us to a tidal pool for swimming (bring water shoes). We also walked up to Paki Point, a fun, casual bar where you can watch the surfers.

We met Ron, the rental manager, and Carlos, the home owner, both very nice guys. They were very helpful with tips on good taxi drivers, guides and places to go. William (taxi driver) and Roberto (boat guide) treated us right!

An added bonus was a troop of monkeys that came to visit us on our last evening and morning. They gave us a good show right outside of the house. I wish we could have stayed longer at Casa Mono!

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! It was a pleasure meeting you and we are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves. Ron
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Huntington Beach, CA

Overall a GREAT value!

  • 5 of 5

Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay at Casa Mono and our vacation at Bocas del Toro. The location is perfect, right across from the ocean and a short 10 minute drive ($2-$3 taxi ride) from downtown.

The house itself was clean, well-stocked with modern appliances and a great selection of DVDs, as well as running hot water, The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and we all loved being surrounded by jungle while hearing the crashing waves just across the street.

For my fellow surfers, it's a quick 10 minute walk to Tiger Tails surf spot and Paki Point bar/restaurant/lounge, a happening spot to people watch and grub after a surf, where kids and family can chill on the beach while papa surfs without a worry in the world either out front, or 400 yds down the beach at Paunch, a perfect reef A-frame.

I highly recommend this great place to anyone considering a vacation to Bocas del Toro, especially families, groups of up to 10 people, and surfers. You won't regret it!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Canon city colorado USA

Bad experience, Dirty

  • 1 of 5

This home was dirty infested with fleas plumbing backed up in showers sinks leaked, bar b que was rusted and broken. Kitchen stove only had 2 working burners, no salt or pepper or any spices. The expresso machine was crusty and dirty. Fans were not adequate in the hot humid jungle. The reviews listed for this property are not true. The manager was busy with his own lodge and not available or helpful. If you want comfort clean and luxury this place is not for you. It was disappointing and very expensive. I cannot recommend for any of my friends.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I must respond to some of your comments, which I take personal exception to. When you called me from the Panama City airport, to say that you had arrived an hour late for your flight and then found that all subsequent flights over the next two days were sold out; I then helped you to arrange a new flight to a different city - a driver to meet you at the airport, made phone calls to book a hotel for you, and I had a friend arrange a private driver to take your group the next day the 4 hours from the city of David to Bocas del Toro. I met with you after you arrived, where you pointed out the problem with the BBQ. We arranged a new BBQ to be shipped onto the island within a few days. You later reported to me the problem with the sink and the same day we had a plumber rectify this problem. Regarding your other concerns – today I inspected the home carefully and I found that the 4 burner stove works perfectly. There are large, variable speed overhead fans in each bedroom and in the living room, as well as floor fans throughout the home. All are in perfect working order. During your stay, I received a call from your group that the ATM in the local bank was not working and that I needed to do something to solve this problem for you. I called you the next day and offered a personal cash advance. On a subsequent day, I invited your group to my other property to spend the afternoon and enjoy the pool, which some of you did. At no time was any mention made of your unhappiness with the property or of any problems. One member of your group arrived two weeks after a hip transplant and sought my help in obtaining drugs. I called a local medical practitioner and forwarded that advice to your friend. This is a beautiful home rental with many features and I am not sure what you expected when you rented the home. The cleaning staff visited the home regularly during your stay. This property does not have fleas, but perhaps, when you were on the nearby beach, you were bitten by sand flies. In the past we have had many wonderful compliments from our guests and repeat guests – as well as excellent and honest reviews. We carefully check the home regularly and our staff has worked for us for many years. Our goal is to make our clients happy and to ensure that their expectations are exceeded.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 3

Wonderful place for our family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 8 (6 adults and 2 grandchildren) had a great vacation while staying at Casa Mono. The house suited us well with the 3 bedrooms (each with its own bathroom) and the loft adjoining the upper bedroom. Each couple had their own privacy. We also liked the open kitchen, dining, living area that is screened in and everything that was provided with the rental. The living area on the second floor made us feel that we were living in the trees. It was nice to have beach access just a short walk form the house. Our granddaughters are still trying to get the sand out of their swimsuits.

There was plenty to do. We enjoyed walking to Coralina Restaurant, swimming and snorkeling near Casa Mono and at Starfish Beach. Doing the zip-line at Isla Bastimentos and relaxing at Red Frog beach were highlights of our vacation.

Ron Dennis was there whenever we needed him (which wasn't very often).

While it is not a requirement to be conversant in Spanish, it does help.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Fantastic Family Vacation at Casa Mono

  • 4 of 5

We recently stayed at Casa Mono over the Christmas holiday. The house was everything it was advertised to be. We really liked the semi-remote location in Big Creek. Just enough out of town to be secluded, yet near enough to be able to bike or taxi in for supplies and dinner. Our group of 7, including 2 kids, found the house comfortable and functional. The open air screening really makes a difference in the main living area. You could always see and hear the jungle life as well as the nearby beach surf. There's enough vegetation surrounding the house to shelter you from your neighbors. The plumbing and other utilities were functional and kept up with us. Ron was a good host and was accessible if you needed him (we didn't for the most part). The property is gated and there is a local family on property to watch over the place (he's also a bit of a jungle guide). We were always alert while watching our 2 year old because of the elevation of the living area and the lack of any real support should she veer near the screen or the uncovered stair areas. She was also off limits up in the loft areas and porches. This wasn't the fault of the property owners, but if you have small kids you should be aware that it's not toddler safe (Ron was nice enough to attach some lattice work to the outside stairs so that we were a little less concerned. The only slight criticisms would be directed at our neighbors. There are a few other houses on property and nearby and on more than one occasion we had to suffer through loud, drunken partiers returning to their houses nearby and wanting to keep the party going. We were more early risers and had to ask them to pipe down. Not the property's fault, but something to be aware of. We would glad stay here again if we come in great numbers.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Seattle, Washington US

If you're looking for a quiet spot...

  • 4 of 5

This is a nice home in a lovely setting and we enjoyed the hammocks on the decks. It is spacious and 2 of the 3 bedrooms feel especially private. There is plenty of room for everyone to be together but it is also easy to find a quiet place to be alone. However, it is very warm and extremely humid in this area. We come from a cooler climate and would not return without staying someplace that had air conditioning. Almost anything you might want to do here involves going to town which often meant two trips a day to town - one for whatever daytime activity you wanted to do and then another for dinner. We were however given the name of a very reliable driver, although we did have trouble finding him at the airport initially and he had more people to pick up than he could accommodate. The manager of this property was very helpful in answering questions and making recommendations, although we did not get help or advice about where to get groceries when we arrived - we found a better store at the end of our stay. I think if you want a relaxing quiet place to stay this place is great but if there are a lot of things you want to do and see here you will be taking a lot of taxi rides!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Bocas del Toro Province House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Low Fall Season 2016
Sep 4 2016 - Oct 29 2016
3 night minimum stay
High Season 2016
Oct 30 2016 - Dec 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
Christmas Season 2016
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
High Winter Season 2017
Jan 8 2017 - Apr 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
Spring Season 2017
May 1 2017 - Jun 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
Summer Season 2017
Jun 16 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
Fall Season 2017
Sep 4 2017 - Oct 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
High Season
Oct 30 2017 - Dec 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
Christmas Season 2017
Dec 16 2017 - Jan 7 2018
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 10.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Bocas del Toro Province House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , glass block rainshower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , glass block rainshower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , glass block rainshower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Loft - 3 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (3)
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties