check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Affordable Western View Cottage Free 4 Seater Golfcart 2 Kayak 2 bicycles 1sup

20 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Spanish Wells Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Western View Cottage is a one minute walk from the beautiful mile and a half long beach and crystal turquoise waters. This cottage is 1700 sq feet which is fully air condition with three bedrooms (1 king,2 queen, 1 full and 2 twin size beds also an extra king size mattress) and two full baths, full kitchen, living room, laundry and computer room with wi fi Internet and vonage for free phone calls. There is cable TV in the three bedrooms and living room. The back yard has a picnic table and a BBQ grill where you can cook all your fresh caught lobster or fish! This cottage also comes with a FREE 4 Seater Golf Cart and a ocean kayak so you can enjoy the relaxed island life! I'm sure you will enjoy this wonderful spacious cottage.

Home Description

Western View Cottage located on 32nd street, last street on Spanish Wells, west end of the island. Three bed, two bath sleeps 8-10 people. Just a minute walk to the mile and a half white sandy beach with crystal clear water. Watch the beautiful sun sets.

Island Description

Spanish Wells is a unique place with a rich history dating back to the 1600's with ties to England. The island has a beautiful 1 mile long white beach on the north side of the island. Short walk to shopping and dining. Lobster fishing is the main industry on the island. You will find three churches on the island and no bars. A bike ride around the island will be about four miles. It is a peaceful place to get away from city life and enjoy island living. You can relax all day at the beach and soak up the sun or swim in the warm crystal clear water. If you are more adventurous it is a lot of other things you can do. A local fast ferry stops each day with connections to Harbor Island and Nassau. Golf carts and water boats are available for rent. Snorkeling, diving, deep sea fishing trips can be arranged at great prices because I do this my self. Excellent bone fishing to. If you like any kind of fishing this is the place to come. Spanish Wells is the Lobster fishing capital in the Bahamas.

Transportation

The island is easy to get to with daily air service to North Eleuthera from Ft. Lauderdale, Miami or Nassau, Bahamas airports. Flight time is approx. 1 hour. The airport is serviced by continental express turbo(silver air) prop service with 19 and 30 passenger aircraft, and American Eagle . A cab cost about 25 dollars to pick up the local water taxi, which is about 8 dollars per person. Arrangements can also be made with Pinder's Taxi who will do both land and water taxi for 15 dollars a person. The water Taxi will bring you to St. Georges Cay where the western View Cottage is located and the community is called Spanish Wells. A great place for relaxing and enjoying the Bahamas!

Other Activities: Boating, Rock climbing, Basket ball court, shopping, Kayaking, Reef Diving, Cliff Diving, Bone fishing, Cave exploring, Snorkeling, Deep sea fishing.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Owner
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

A month in Spanish Wells

Guest: Hilary (Ottawa, Canada)

Date of Stay: 01/05/12 Review Submitted: 01/31/12



I don't know if I like all these good reviews of Western View Cottage, as then it will become too popular and will be hard for us to rent again!! All of the above reviews are very true. We are just leaving after spending a month in this house and we were welcomed with the same delicious lobster dinner, and ride from the ferry, and we also had a great afternoon out with Tyson on his fishing boat. April made us a lovely banana cake as well as the lobster dinner, and we always felt very welcome and comfortable here. There were four of us here, all retirees, and Tyson and April call us "the Golden Girls"!! The house is literally only minutes from the beach shown in the photographs and we usually had it all to ourselves. Having the free golf cart and kayaks are a huge bonus, as we have been able to go wherever we wanted. The house was very comfortable and spacious, and is an excellent deal. Being able to made free phone calls to Canada was the absolutel best, as we all have families back home that we missed. The people of Spanish Wells are extremely friendly and everyone waves to you as you pass by. We tried to get to know them better and went to the Bingo night and the Karaoke which is held on a Saturday night. Many people insisted we come back the following week - so we did - and it was even more fun than the first time! We made friends with many of the neighbours on our quiet street, getting to know them and their pets, and came home one day and found some freshly picked tomatoes waiting for us on the doorstep! We also regularly visited a local fisherman who sits on a nearby wharf every day and he made us the best Conch salad we have ever tasted! Tyson took us on a great tour of Eleuthera one day, showing us all the famous spots like the Queen's Baths and some of the fancy new resorts. The day we went out on his fishing boat we caught four fish and he filleted the huge grouper right on the boat. We had it for dinner that night! We only ate out once or twice, but the food at the little restaurant on the wharf, is very good. We also had the opportunity to visit the island's museum one morning and hear about the fascinating history of the people of Spanish Wells and see all the photos and artifacts in an original house. We are sad to leave such a peaceful, friendly and beautiful island, and all its people.but hope to return very, very soon.
Jan 2012
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

5
based on 20 traveler reviews

Affordable Western View Cottage Free 4 Seater Golfcart 2 Kayak 2 bicycles 1sup
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
5

Fantastic home for a large family stay on Spanish Wells Island

  • 5 of 5

We have lived in The Bahamas for over 45 years and recently discovered the delights of Spanish Wells - in a way we'd like to keep them secret but that seems a bit selfish. The island is easy to get to on The Bohengy fast ferry from Nassau. You can fly to North Eleuthera and then take a taxi followed by a water taxi but the ferry has always been 100% on time and reliable and we like being on the water. We've rented other homes on the island but, personally, I thought this was the best yet. We enjoyed the quiet location, it was good to relax in the green garden as a change from the beach. April and Tyson made us very welcome.....loved the Mango cake, April, thank you so much. The house is very well appointed with everything one could possibly need and more. The big bonus for us was the use of the 4 seater golf cart included in the price and even more the use of the kayaks, SUP and bikes. For me the early morning paddles were the highlight of our stay. The house is close to the bridge that goes over to Russell island...great for groups jumps and the water is so clear than when one of our sons lost his wedding ring jumping off he was able to find it in over 10 ft of water. It was always easy to communicate with the Newbolds and we appreciated April being on the dock to greet us when we arrived and leaving us a second golf car to use so we could all get back to the dock when it was time to leave. Spanish Wells is a place where leaving a golf cart with the key in it is not a problem, no one seems to worry at all about theft or anything else for that matter. I would have no hesitation in recommending this property to anyone looking for somewhere to stay on Spanish Wells.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

What a wonderful stay we had at the House on Spanish Wells! Thank you Tyson and April!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our welcoming lobster dinner and having use of a golf cart, kayaks, paddle board, and 2 bicycles completed our perfect stay. Tyson also took us snorkeling and exploring in his boat for a day. The house is steps away from a gorgeous beach. A great vacation for sure!

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Plo Alto for 40 +years
5

Tyson and April are Stars of the Hospitality of Spanish Wells

  • 5 of 5

I chose to stay at Tyson and April's rental because planning this trip so late, it was available. It had kayaks, golf cart and could accommodate myself, my daughter, and two grandchildren. And the reviews of other people's experience was outstanding. I had no idea of what we signed up for. First, Spanish Wells is a non resort community with gracious welcoming people. The house is close to a town park and a beautiful beach where we made friends and the children never tired. The town's inclusive Christmas activities were a happy surprise. But the main pleasure was being cared for by Tyson and April with a greeting of a lobster dinner, the prearranged organization of getting to and from Spanish Wells, and having them as neighbors if we needed anything. Thank you both.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful getaway Western View

  • 5 of 5

Western View stay on Spanish Wells is a wonderful getaway from from a touristic vacation. My wife and kids loved the place and all the amenities that our stay came with. Everyone on the island were so hospitable and friendly. Tyson and April are fantastic hosts and their restaurant serves up some really good food. I recommend the anchor burger. To anyone else interested in vacationing to the Bahamas for a nice and relaxing vacation I would recommend Spanish Wells.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Matt, thanks very much for the kind words. Hope to see you soon. Tyson
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
We are..... Penn State!
5

Personal and Private little island Get-Away

  • 5 of 5

We are just about at the end of our stay in Spanish Wells, and we can't say enough about the island and the stay at Tyson and April Newbold's house in Western View. Even though the place isn't right on the water, it is only a 30 second walk away from the beach. Wow, what a beach. There is no place in the world where I have seen water as aqua-blue as this. The beach is perfect for little kids as there are no crashing waves. Every day was an adventure as we saw numerous large starfish, sea-biscuits, small starfish, sand dollars, huge skate, fish. For a very reasonable fee Tyson took us fishing for tuna. One of the many highlights of the trip. Lost a big tuna, but did catch strawberry grouper, yellow fin snapper, and a trigger fish. All fish we have never caught before. By the way did I mention that April had a lobster dinner awaiting us and the most amazing cole slaw and rice that we have ever had. You will not want to leave this place. You could spend a ton more money at a resort, or on a cruise, but you will never have the independence and the view as you do here. After being on multiple cruises and many islands (Sanibel-Fla., etc.) this is by far our favorite. From our nightly trip to Papa Scoops ice cream to dinner at Anchor Snack Bar for the best cracked conch you will ever have, we will definitely be seeing Spanish Wells again in our near future. Thanks Tyson and April for memories that will last a lifetime. Unfortunately it is back to reality for us in Penna.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Randy, very happy you had a great time here. Thanks Tyson
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Spanish Wells = Best kept secret on the planet !

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just returned on Oct. 4th from Spanish Wells. We spend our 10th Anniversary at Western View Cottage owned by the wonderful Newbold family. I truly can't say enough good things about them or the island! It was exactly what we were looking for....beauty, solitude and a safe, quiet, and CLEAN place to decompress from hustle & bustle of daily life at home. The house was VERY spacious (more than we needed really) but was nice to be able to sprawl out :) We plan to rent the Coral Cove next year. Wifi was perfect so that very nice as that was a concern for us. Tyson took us fishing/lobster spearing where we caught 4 lobsters, black fin tuna, barracuda and lost a couple wahoo! What a blast and the highlight of our trip...THANKS Tyson! We also went to the neighboring Russell , Harbour and Eleuthera Islands and we absolutely loved learning the history of each. The beaches are the best we've ever seen (and we've been to many islands) and we had them all to ourselves each day we were there. We had a blast snorkeling and kayaking each day. The people are as friendly and helpful as the come always greeting you with a smile and wave. I've been to 13 countries and not one has left such an impression on me as Spanish Wells did. It was truly a breath of fresh air in an ever darkening world full of wars, crime and hate. I pray to the Almighty that it remains preserved in such a manner that it is today. Until we meet again Spanish Wells.....Much love & many Blessings to you all !! Kim & Ian Smaagaard Fort Knox, KY (Go Wildcats) !!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Point of Interest
Western View Cottage
Nearest Point of Interest
Snack Bar
Nearest Point of Interest
Gospel Chapel
Nearest Point of Interest
Papa Scoops Ice Cream
Nearest Point of Interest
Food Store, Royal Bank of Canada

Photos

Rates & Availability

Spanish Wells Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
fall
Sep 1 2016 - Dec 14 2016
1 night minimum stay
$150
$995
$3,300
 
 
Christmas-Newyears 7 night min
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 5 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,395
 
 
winter 2017
Jan 6 2017 - Apr 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
$195
$1,295
$4,800
 
 
summer
May 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$185
$1,195
$4,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$185
$1,195
$4,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $95

you can lose your deposit if canceled 90 days before arrival. Over 6 guests its a one time fee of $50 per person

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Spanish Wells Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Child's Swing
  • Golf Cart
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • caves
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers