check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Mendocino Preferred Vacation Rentals

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Bluff House... wonderful home in an oceanfront setting just steps from town.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Mendocino House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

Bluff House... has two bedrooms, & two baths in the main house + a wonderfully-cozy cottage... and less than a mile from Mendocino. Bluff House is suitable for up to four people in the main house + 2 more in the cottage… for two, four or six people. It's the drama and magic of the ocean... in this lovely setting on the northern edge of Mendocino … up close and personal with the ocean .

The Gershwins were right ..." 'S Wonderful, 'S Marvelous".

Bluff House is charmingly cozy with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths in the main house PLUS a cozy cottage - Bluff Cottage just 10 steps away. In the main house, the master bedroom is downstairs

with a full ocean view; the 2nd bedroom is upstairs, along with a sitting-room loft. Bluff Cottage – just steps away and just on the other side of a stone patio - has a lovely bedroom with a queen bed, a generous bath, a dining alcove (with a terrific ocean view), a flat-screen TV, a gas fireplace and... on the patio just outside the door, a large hot tub

Back to the main house... The kitchen – with a dining area - is spacious and great for “gathering-round” at lunch time… or for the cocktail hour... or for the sunset hour.

Visitors come to Mendocino throughout the year and some make it a yearly trip in winter… just to live for the storms … to watch them roll in, wind-driven with huge, crashing waves. Storms can be awe-inspiring whether you're out walking along the Mendocino Headlands or standing on the bluff above the raging ocean at Bluff House … or warm and cozy inside, at the huge picture windows … or with a glass of wine in front of the fireplace. ahead... brave it out, out on the point just outside Bluff House… at the gazebo. That fresh rain on the wind does wonders for the complexion.

But you might have a better idea... you’re on vacation... settle back in the soft chairs, get lost in a movie on the large, flat-screen tv above the fireplace or - and maybe this is the best idea - take a wonderful nap

Out on the point there's a charming gazebo above the ocean… a great place to sit and stare westward towards Japan … out past the Mendocino Headlands. Watch the surf roll in… or, in the evening it's a great place to sip a glass of wine and glory in the sunset. Of course, once in awhile, a mysterious, magical fog will hang over the coast, whispering in from the sea, into the coves and up the rivers… making for a beautiful wonderland.

… and you’ll be humming that Gershwin tune, “… ‘S Wonderful, ‘S Marvelous…”

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Mendocino Preferred Vacation Rentals (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)
Bluff House... wonderful home in an oceanfront setting just steps from town.
average rating of 4.6578946 based on 38 reviews
5

Sublime 60th Birthday Celebration

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Finding the perfect spot to celebrate a milestone year in Mendocino was not an easy task, but the Bluff House exceeded expectations. The ocean views, spacious, clean kitchen, comfortable beds made our stay memorable. The location of the house is ideal - quiet, private with exceptional ocean and sunset views. Our only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer. If you want a restful and relaxing get-away - the Bluff House is where it's at.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Jose CA, CA
4

Can't ask for a better view!

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This home is just minutes (walking) from downtown Mendocino. The home is cozy and the view is breathtaking! Great kitchen and all the amenities you could ask for. This is our second time staying here. This will most likely be our go to place for our annual visit to Mendocino. With the above said, my only negative comments are this- -Someone needs to go in and do a thorough cleaning of EVERYTHING. Walls, doors, shelves, etc. They are very dirty -Picture windows do need a cleaning. They were very dirty which sometimes distracts from the view. -It doesn't seem like the place has had a handyman come by in years. Faucet handle on the sink was very loose. Bathroom towel racks were coming away from the wall. Lastly, -The hot tub was absolutely gross. Looked very cloudy and dirty. I'm a hot tub owner and know that's not how hot tub water should look. I reported the hot tub and loose faucet to the management office. They sent someone out to fix the faucet but he didn't have the proper tool to tighten. Not sure what happen with the hot tub since we never got in.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the review. First let us extend our apologies that everything wasn’t perfect for your stay. We are very happy that you were pleased with the home overall and have taken immediate steps to resolve the problems you mentioned. The kitchen faucet and towel rack have been repaired and the home thoroughly cleaned. We also had our hot tub serviceman come out to re-clean the hot tub during your stay, so we hope it wasn’t because of its initial appearance that you didn’t use it. We try vigilantly to maintain our homes, but they do require a lot of attention due to the nature of vacation rentals and we’d like to thank you again for bringing to our attention areas where we can make the home better. We look forward to your staying with us again and would like to assure you that your next visit will be clean, comfortable and worry-free. Thanks again from all of us at Mendocino Preferred.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Carmichael, CA
5

It's Great to Wake Up to a Beautiful View

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We have stayed in homes in Mendocino for many years. None had a better view than Bluff House which is right on the bluff. Even though close to HWY 1 there was no road noise. The sound of the ocean works like white noise & that is all you hear. Size of main house is great for 2 people. If there were 4 people, we would rent the cottage bedroom in addition. The upstairs bedroom in the main house is small & there is no bathroom on the second floor. The property was well maintained & the only thing less than perfect was the condition of the spa which needed attention. We will happily rent Bluff House again.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Elk Grove, CA
5

A perfect weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a lovely time at Bluff House. The views were unbelievable - the photos don't do it justice. The house itself was very nice, clean, comfortable beds, furniture and extremely homey. the Jacuzzi under the stars was a treat. We loved sitting out on the deck or gazebo and enjoying some wine. We would do it again in a heartbeat! One update could be a new coffee maker, but other than that - perfection!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ukiah, CA
5

Perfect 4 days!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

I sent a review prior to this request, must have gone astray. Lovely wonderful perfect 4 days . will come back.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fairfield, CA
5

Wonderfully relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

We booked this rental for it's proximity to Mendocino/Fort Bragg and it's private location on the bluff. It was such a wonderful place to stay for a long weekend! The view was amazing, the house was very clean and comfortable, and the property was beautiful. We enjoyed watching an osprey hunting in the cove south of the house during the day, and relaxing with a fire in the evening. It was a short walk into Mendocino, and a quick drive north to Fort Bragg. We will return!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Charter Boat Fishing and Abalone Diving

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes


  • PLEASE NOTE the rates shown above do not include all fees and taxes. You can also see full rate details by clinking on the Detailed Price link on this page. The rates are based on the number of bedrooms needed. Please call us at 800-942-6300 for any questions or to make a reservation and to avoid any additional online charges.

    SPECIAL RATES??? YES!... NOVEMBER THROUGH APRIL
    Stay 2 or more nights, get an additional night FREE. Not available during holiday periods. For online bookings please note once you have completed the booking we will adjust the rental amount to include the free night and contact to confirm your reservation.

Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Mendocino House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 2 King beds, 1 Queen bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties