check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kathryn Kawana

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Charming Cottage (Built 2009) Overlooking Blueberry Field on Mt Desert Island

30 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Southwest Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 8

Southwest Harbor, located on the quiet side of MDI, is a welcome alternative to bustling Bar Harbor! A winding driveway leads to a secluded lot surrounded by evergreens. From the back door you can connect with numerous hiking trails which are located in nearby Acadia National Park ! Enjoy the visiting wildlife through the wall to wall windows in the living/ dining area.

The first floor open layout includes a fully equipped kitchen, living /dining area, 1 queen bedroom , full bath and laundry. On the second floor you will find a queen bedroom, double bedroom, full bath and loft area with futon. Take in the tranquil scenery of the blueberry field and Beech Mountain as you cook your delicious Maine lobster on the outdoor grill!

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Kathryn Kawana (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

It had all the amenities we needed and we were very happy! We also really loved how we could continue on Long Pond Road to get to hiking trails and swimming holes.
Jun 2010
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.9
based on 30 traveler reviews

Charming Cottage (Built 2009) Overlooking Blueberry Field on Mt Desert Island
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 33 reviews
5

Blueberry Cottage was perfect.

  • 5 of 5

Second time staying at Blueberry Cottage and it was better than ever. Enjoyed looking out on blueberry field and wildlife. Very clean and had all ammenities that made our visit special. Hope to be back next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Home Away from Home!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful place to call home during our time on MDI! From the moment we arrived, I knew we had made an outstanding pick. Blueberry Lane Cottage felt like home with so many thoughtful details. It was incredibly clean, had every supply we could have needed and provided great space for our family to spread out and relax! I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect accommodation for family

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four stayed for three nights and were very pleased with the home. It was spacious, clean, tidy and offered a beautiful view out the back. We even had a large doe graze on the fresh leaves beside the house one morning. We ate most of our meals out except for breakfast but the kitchen seemed well stocked and it was so nice being able to wash a load of laundry before heading back on the road again. The owner Kathy was prompt and professional in responding to our emails. We would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Maine! You won't be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent place to stay on MDI

  • 5 of 5

This was an excellent place to stay for our group of 7 adults (all family members). The house is new, well maintained, spacious, very pleasant and simple but very tastefully decorated. The calm and quiet is stunning and we loved it. We saw deer almost every morning we were there. Its situated on the quieter side of the island and has wide open area in the back that leads into the hills. Everyone in my family loved it and they were sorry that our stay here was so short. We would love to return again.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect and calm

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I (3 adults, 1 toddler) had an amazing time at the cottage on Blueberry Lane. It is a new home with simple decor and beautiful furniture. Plenty of space for us to spread out, great views out to the blueberry hill, and everything you need to cook in the kitchen (though a little sparse in the oil/spice dept.). We spent 3 nights and would have stayed much longer if we could have! Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great home, immaculate

  • 5 of 5

This was a terrific place to stay. We brought our family (2 adults, 2 kids under 10) & my parents. There was plenty of room & the loft works great for kids. The owners take great care to set up lots of great resources to explore the island. We love SW Harbor. There were plenty of things to see and explore and great tips of favorite things from the owners. Having new appliances and a vacuum was a big plus! The house is isolated in the woods but close enough to town to get to parks, drugstores, and restaurants ....plus bike rentals, in a jiffy. Being able to pick blueberries was so much fun too. We had homemade pancakes and scones with....blueberries! Bring your toothbrush & have a great stay!

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Bar Harbor Regional Airport
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Causeway Club
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Echo Lake

The charming town of Bar Harbor is only 15 minutes away. Spectacular scenic drives through Acadia National Park and surrounding areas can be found in any direction! This beautiful island is definitely a photographers paradise!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Southwest Harbor Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
September 2016
Sep 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,350
 
 
October 2016
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$160
$1,000
 
 
May 2017
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$160
$1,000
 
 
June 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$230
$1,350
 
 
Peak Season
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
September 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$230
$1,350
 
 
October 2017
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$160
$1,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$160
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 9.0%

There is a $10 nightly charge per person for guests 7 and 8.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Southwest Harbor Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Graco Pack 'n Play provided
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties