check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Property Manager

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Easter Beach Villa on Melrose - Rate Includes Cottage Cart, Pool, Golf, & Ferry

2 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Melrose on the Beach Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Beautiful modern villa nestled in a quiet resort community with white sand beaches and warm ocean breezes.  Old southern charm surrounds you with beautiful moss covered oaks and large screened porches. Views of the marsh and ocean abound and there is plenty of sea life and nature to enjoy.

Your package includes the best of both worlds with Golf throughout your stay and a quiet escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Whether coming to Daufuskie for the first time, or a seasoned visitor you are sure to appreciate the unspoiled beauty Daufuskie has to offer. 

Cottage carts are the main form of transportation on the island, making the island quiet and safe for the entire family.  The villa includes a cottage cart for use throughout your stay.

The master bedroom features a king size bed, TV, DVD player and private access to the screened balcony.  The master bath features a jetted tub, dual sinks, and a large walk-in shower. The guest bedroom features 2 queen beds, TV, DVD player, private access to the screened balcony, and and en suite bath with tub/shower combination and dual sinks. All of this ... with an ocean view and less than 70 yards from the beach.

Short stays and alternate unit sizes may be available upon request. Please send us a message if you are looking for a rental during a date or time not showing up immediately for online booking.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Property Manager
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About The Owner

The owners are a family of four with 1 dog who love Daufuskie Island and go there as often as they can.

The Owner purchased this villa in 2005

Why The Owner chose Daufuskie Island

We enjoy the peace and serenity Daufuskie has to offer and enjoy golfing leisurely on the uncrowded courses on the island.  We also love the fact the island and beaches are pet friendly year round.

What makes this villa unique

Our guests enjoy an inclusive package that includes daily greens fees on the Melrose Golf Course, use of a cottage cart, free round trip ferry transportation to the island, access to the Melrose Beach Club, and concierge services while staying at our property.  These are unique and great features this rental has to offer.

Reviews

2 traveler reviews

Easter Beach Villa on Melrose - Rate Includes Cottage Cart, Pool, Golf, & Ferry
average rating of 3.0 based on 2 reviews
1

Easter Villa okay - Melrose Concierge "Team" worst

  • 1 of 5

This property listing was removed for a long time and I've been waiting for it to reappear so that I could write this review.

Worst experience ever had when traveling. The owner referred the entire transaction after receiving payment over to the Easter Villa Management team at Melrose. Communication with this team was tedious at best. We made it clear to them and every rental we checked with for this trip that we were looking for a rental that included the ferry portion of the trip. Time was short and we were bringing two waverunners with us and would have to navigate our watercraft with one on the ferry and one on the watercraft. Then return on the ferry for the second watercraft. A little complicated but it wasn't our first trip doing this. We knew what we needed to get it done. Very, very, long story short, Contact with the Melrose Easter Villa concierge team was difficult from the start but in all fairness, we didn't have months to plan this short trip. We finalized booking on 3/7 for arrival 3/13. We had been waiting for the rental and ferry information that was supposedly sent by the "team" that never arrived and I was sending inquiries for this info daily before payment had to be made. I finally received the info the next day after the non refundable payment was made on 3/7. At this time it became clear that they were not going to get us ferry service that would work for what we told them we needed. There was one single ferry that was included that left at 3 on Sunday. We looked through all the info and found a private charter that could have been booked if they had more notice. We found another Captain who was awesome and said he worked with the Concierge Team frequently.

Bottom line, the "team" treated us like we were crooks trying to get away with something. We were shorted a day on our rental, had to pay a Private Charter for transport adding $200 onto the vacation expense, and basically chased off the island by the "team" who thought we were going to steal their golf cart?? This is NOT the norm for Daufuskie Islanders and we have never encountered this type behaviour here.

The unit was OK clean. The door lock that was broken and would not lock when we arrived remained that way throughout our stay. The night before checkout, my husband used the washer and dryer and when he put his laundered item on, he broke out in hives and his breathing became obstructed so 911 call-ambulance to ferry to ambulance to hospital. No way.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lorri, we appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear you had problems during your stay. We have never taken our listing off VRBO since it was originally posted it years ago, but we were fully booked in advance this summer so it may not have shown up if you searched for available rentals during the summer months. We do provide all of our guests with our cell phone number and personal email in the rental agreement they sign at the time of booking. We do this to make it easy for guests to get in touch with us if they have any problems before or during their stay. The locks are European so you must lift the lever handle up while turning the deadbolt to lock the door. We would have had the on-site manager come by to show you how to lock the doors had you reached out to us while you were there. We only require a 10% refundable deposit to hold a reservation, and the remaining balance is not due until 2 weeks prior to your stay. This allows guests the confidence to book in advance and the flexibility to cancel up to 2 weeks prior with no penalty. Balances can be paid earlier, but are due at least 2 weeks prior to arrival so our concierge has time to make ferry reservations, set up grocery delivery, etc. prior to arrival. Ferry tickets must be purchased with the ferry company before any ferry reservations can be confirmed, so if a guest has not yet paid their balance, the concierge cannot pay for their tickets and confirm any ferry reservations on their behalf. The ferry service included with our rental is through the public ferry, Daufuskie Island Ferry. They currently make two round trips from Hilton Head to Daufuskie daily. Transportation of luggage, groceries, and standard sporting equipment including golf clubs/tennis racquets are included at no charge, but they do not transport watercraft like waverunners or kayaks on their boats. For special requests such as this, or for guests wishing to depart from Savannah rather than Hilton Head, our concierge will refer guests to private ferry companies in the area they may choose to use to meet their needs. However, guests would have to set up any private transportation and pay the associated fees on their own. Private transportation services and the transportation of large items to the island, like waverunners, are not included in our rate.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte
5

Great memorial day trip!

  • 5 of 5

My wife, my dog,and I had an amazing trip. We did quite a bit of research about Daufuskie given the issues at the resort. The owner answered every question quickly and honestly. Based on our research there was no better deal on the island. The facilities were great, I played golf most mornings, then we ate lunch and sat on the beach all day. On memorial day, we literally saw 6 people on the beach, 4 of which came from one family that stayed way down the beach. There are very few beaches in the states where you can have that experience. What a great getaway from the everyday life. Thank you for such a great vacation!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4.4 Miles
Hilton Head Island Airport
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Melrose Ferry
Nearest Golf
0.1 Miles
Melrose Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Melrose Beach Club
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Melrose Beach
Car: not necessary

Golf tee times, grocery delivery, restaurant reservations and other activities on Daufuskie or in Hilton Head can be arranged through the concierge.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Melrose on the Beach Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Spring/Summer
Sep 11 2016 - Sep 30 2016
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
 
Fall/Winter
Oct 2 2016 - Apr 29 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,750
 
 
Later Spring/Summer 2017
Apr 30 2017 - Sep 30 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
 
Fall/Winter 2017
Oct 1 2017 - Apr 28 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,750
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Thursday
3 night minimum stay
$275
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $165
Tax Rate 10.0%

All rates include roundtrip ferry transportation to Daufuskie on the Daufuskie Island Ferry, which departs from Palmetto Bay Marina. The current ferry schedule is posted on their website at daufuskieislabdferry.com. Additional trips may be made on the Ferry and booked through their website, but are not included in the rental rate. The rate also includes land transportation to your villa, use of a cottage cart throughout your stay, use of the pool at The Beach Club at Melrose, and greens fees for 2 rounds of golf per bedroom, per day on the Melrose course.

From October to April we offer shorter stays in Thursday/Sunday combinations - 3 nights from Thursday to Sunday, or 4 nights from Sunday to Thursday. The Sunday/Thursday check-in/check-out policy is to allow for coordination of all ferry, land transportation, bell service, housekeeping, and concierge service for your arrival and departure. The second bedroom can also be locked off to accommodate a 1 bedroom stay at a lower rate. Please contact us for details regarding availability for short stays and alternate unit sizes.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Melrose on the Beach Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Double sinks in both bathrooms. Master bath with large walk-in shower and jetted tub. Guest bath with tub/shower combination.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
The second bedroom/guest bedroom can be locked off to allow for 1 bedroom rentals upon request. All rentals include 2 rounds of golf (18 holes) per day, per bedroom rented. All rentals include use of a cottage cart throughout your stay, roundtrip ferry service, concierge service, and bell service. We have an on-site manger to greet you on arrival and handle any needs that may arise during your stay. There is a wine refrigerator for your use in villa. Groceries can be ordered and sent to your villa through the concierge. Baggage handling is provided from your car to your villa. Pet friendly in villa, on the beach, in the community, and on the ferry. Bikes are not included, but can be rented from the pro-shop via our concierge for approximately $65 per week. Golf carts on the Melrose course are also not included, and are approximately $25 per player for 18 holes, $15 per player for 9 holes.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties