check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Michelle

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Escape the Heat to Cold Water! Texas Hill Country Getaway!

34 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Texas Hill Country House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

Beautiful family sized home with easy and private Guadalupe River access. This is the perfect place to enjoy the beauty and serenity of the Texas Hill Country. We’re ten minutes west of Hunt along one of the prettiest stretches of country road in Texas – convenient to summer camps and off-season activities.

We're high enough on the hill to have tree top views of the Guadalupe River Valley and just a short hike down the trail to the home owner association river park with canoes, kayaks, barbecue and rope swing. There is a private dam just below the park so the water stays high even in the driest summers.

The house will sleep nine: There is a queen bed and private bathroom with tub in the master. The upstairs bedroom has its own balcony and private bathroom with shower. The middle two bedrooms have a trundle bed (2 singles - great for kids), a single and double bed and share a bath with laundry room.

The dining area seats eight – six at the table and two at the breakfast bar. The family room has a high beam ceiling and a large sliding glass window to enjoy the view. If you can’t leave your technology at home there is wireless internet and satellite TV. The house has every amenity needed for a comfortable stay (oven, fridge, dishwasher, fresh linens, etc). Nothing extra is needed; just bring some groceries, a bathing suit and free time to enjoy it!

Outside we have two spacious decks with Hill Country views. Drink your morning coffee on the side deck and watch the sun rise. Enjoy an evening glass of wine while star gazing on the front deck. Guests often see deer and fox passing through the yard. There is a hammock, a porch swing, and outside eating area with gas grill.

Small dogs considered individually: We understand that pets are a part of the family. At the same time, we have to keep in mind that guests with allergies cannot tolerate any trace of a pet in the house. Dogs weighing less than 20 pounds will be allowed on prior approval only with a pet charge of $10 per day per pet, $500 refundable pet deposit, and a non-refundable pet cleaning fee of $50. No cats.

We just got a wireless extender - Sprint & ATT calls cell service is good! No guarantee though, this is the country.

Keywords: Cabin, house, Guadalupe river access

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Michelle (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

About Michelle

Danny grew up in Del Rio and San Antonio and has family in and around Kerrville. He introduced Michelle to Texas Hill Country in Hunt. The area is a great reminder of Michelle's ranching roots in western South Dakota. We both fell in love with the Guadalupe River and it's beautiful cypress tree canopy on one of Michelle's first visits to Hill Country.

We live full time in Anchorage, Alaska and plan to spend more time each year at our home in Hunt.

Michelle purchased this house in 2011

Why Michelle chose Texas Hill Country

We love the Hunt area and the Guadalupe River! We stayed at many vacation rentals in the area before we decided we want to retire here. The accessibility of the river park without the riverside price was what drew us to this particular house. It feels so private - other riverside rentals we stayed in have neighbors right next door or multiple rentals on-site. Even though we're in a subdivision - it feels like we're out in the country. The previous owner's western decor made it feel homey right away and - did we mention - the Guadalupe River is just down the trail?

What makes this house unique

One of the things we most look forward to when staying at our Hunt vacation house is family gatherings on the huge deck. After all the years of living away and counting on someone else to hold a get together when we visit - we finally get to host them! Another favorite & practically nightly activity is star gazing on the front porch with a glass of wine. There is so little light interference out here that the stars are amazingly bright!

Reviews

4.8
based on 34 traveler reviews

Escape the Heat to Cold Water! Texas Hill Country Getaway!
average rating of 4.7941175 based on 34 reviews
5

Relaxing!!

  • 5 of 5

The stay was great! Plenty of room for everyone and got to take our four legged family member. A comfortable bed for everyone. Great breeze up on top of that hill, and the view was excellent! Nice deck, comfortable hammock, privacy, and a great time at the river.. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love hearing guests enjoy staying at the house as much as we do. Thank you so much for letting us know! We hope you come back sometime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice and quiet getaway!

  • 5 of 5

The property has pretty much everything you need for relaxing and entertaining. Plenty of room inside and nice shaded decks outside. All of the needed household items are there so just bring in yourself and your food is all yu need. The private river access is awesome, with 2 kayaks available as well. We had a great time and wI'll probably be using the Hunt Vacation home again next year.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Georgetown, TX
4

We really enjoyed your cabin.

  • 4 of 5

Our experience was nice. This was a perfect getaway. Very secluded and on top of a hill. The steps to the river were good exercise but the distance traveled only took a couple of minutes. I especially enjoyed watching a thunderstorm from the top bedroom I called the crows nest. It was a rainy week but the river was beautiful and we did enjoy catching and releasing a few fish.

We would recommend this cabin for an escape from reality. Out and away from town but not too far, which is what we enjoy.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

If I could rate it a -1 I would

  • 1 of 5

I was unable to stay at this location because the owner canceled, with out notice.

I was unaware that the owner canceled until I sent her a message asking her for the address. Payments were made on time. I called the owner and asked if there was a problem with the payment, to which she replied, "There was no problem, it just was not going to work out for us." She was "nice" to say don't worry I will refund your money. When I asked if she recommended anyone she said there are a lot of houses around here =/.We had made plans for this weekend months ago. I was going to celebrate my 33rd birthday. And, from the time she canceled to my birthday there were only 14 days left. When searching for more houses in the area guess who's house came up, yes this one. I was very upset and frustrated. Why rent it out, if it wasn't going to "work out for you" ?

Its okay I found another house, a much better home with a great owner. I will NEVER attempt to rent from this person again. I was disgusted with her customer service.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We cancelled this reservation after realizing that the person making the payments was not the same person who made the reservation, was not coming, had not seen the rental agreement and was not aware of the rental agreement terms or the number of people coming. The reservation was cancelled with full refund two weeks prior to the arrival date. We notified the guest immediately upon cancellation and scheduled repair work to be done on the house instead. I'm not certain why this person was allowed to review our property if they didn't in fact stay here. Our vacation rental property is targeted for families with a max of 6 adults and we will make that clear in the listing information from now on. We'd like to emphasize that this is our home and we want to rent to guests who we think will treat it with as much care and respect as they would if we were there hosting them.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3
5

A Hill Country Gem

  • 5 of 5

So comfortable with lots of room to relax indoors & out! There was something for everyone to enjoy--Teenagers loved kayaking & fishing, Grandma relaxed on the deck, overworked Dad spent quality time in the hammock, Mom loved the open kitchen! Owners Michelle & Danny were delightful to work with. Beds were super comfy. Towels were soft & fluffy. Kitchen well stocked with everything needed to cook a Thanksgiving meal. The shared neighborhood river access is easy to reach & a beautiful spot. Thanks for sharing your Hill Country Gem!

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

A wonderful family getaway

  • 5 of 5

It was a great weekend with family at cabin. All the kids, ages 2-9, had a great time swimming and enjoying each other and nature. The house has everything you need and the deck is so nice to enjoy your morning coffee as well as watch the sunset. The river access is a perfect depth for kids and we brought several floaties to relax and hang out in the river on. We will definitely be back. Great interactions with Michelle and great response time for any questions. We met several neighbors from the same street and all were very nice. We even figured out common people that we both knew. We spent a day at Mo-Ranch, where my family had been visiting for more than 35 years, so it was great to be back in the area.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Hunt Store
"The Hunt Store is part of the character of the community. Great BBQ sandwiches and chocolat..."
Car: recommended

Our home is west of Hunt along Highway 39 and the south fork of the Guadalupe River. The main attraction is the river, wildlife, and the peaceful setting. You can find dining, golf, hiking trails, dances and rodeos all within a half an hour drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hunt House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Labor Day - 2016
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 5 2016
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,770
 
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,800
 
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,800
 
 
New Years
Dec 29 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,800
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 6 2017
2 night minimum stay
$215
From
$265
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,495
 
 
Memorial Day 2017
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$340
$1,770
 
 
4th of July 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$340
$1,770
 
 
Labor Day 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$340
$1,770
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$275
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,475
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet cleaning Fee $50 + Tax
Pet Fee $10 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

If you don't have a pet, we will remove the pet fee and damage deposit. Please let us know in your inquiry. We can't add it after you submit an inquiry, only remove it. We only allow dogs under 25 lbs and charge an extra $10 per night for the pet, plus a $50 pet cleaning fee. Please note the the service fee VRBO/Homeaway is beyond our control. If you don't like it either, please go to the Feedback button on the main page and let them know. All new guests must go through VRBO system, which we use for our protection and yours, but guests we have had a long standing relationship with know how to contact us outside of the VRBO system and can avoid the fee by booking directly.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Texas Hill Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Main Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , with laundry room
    Master Bathroom - toilet , tub , private en suite bath off master
    Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower , private en suite bathroom off the upstairs bedroom
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , with private bath
    Upstairs Bedroom - 1 double , private balcony, private bath with shower
    Guest Bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Next to the main bathroom & laundry room
    Kids room - 2 twin/ single , Guests must pass through this room to get to the master
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (3)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
Private Guadalupe River park shared with only 20 or so families in the homeowners association with access to the park. A trail goes from the end of our driveway down the hill and across the road to our homeowner’s association river park. We affectionately call it “the goat trail” – it’s a little rough but completely manageable by most people. The river park has kayaks, picnic tables, a grill, and a rope swing.

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...