check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Melissa Beach

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Directly on the lake, newer CLEAN home, dock and loads of fun to be had! VIEWS!

11 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Manning House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10) - Private Dock

Enjoy all that Lake Marion has to offer during your stay at this Delightful Lakefront Home in desirable White Oak II off of Wyboo Creek.

Cozy, Custom Designed and Custom Built. This Brand New Lake Marion home with Private Dock was completed April 2010. Built with modern conveniences but having the old-world charm of cypress paneling and a whimsical, retro decor. Huge screen porch overlooks sunsets on the cove.

An excellent spot for Family Vacations, bring the kids and the grandparents. Relax on the rockers and eat at the large dining room table on the screen porch. Play ping pong and grill out in the underneath parking area complete with outside shower and fish sink. Put your boat in at the public landing around the corner and keep your boat tied up at the private dock for the duration of your visit. Swim, fish and kayak off the dock. Golf Courses (click links below) nearby and Historic Charleston is just a little over an hour away. Lake Living at its Best - You will have a Relaxing and Enjoyable visit.

Note: This Home is Nestled Amongst Permanent Residents. Renters Are to Be Respectful and Courteous.

No pets - No smoking!

Long-Term, Off-Season Rentals Available. EMAIL for pricing.

Keywords: Lakefront House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Melissa Beach (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

What makes this house unique

Excellent Spot for Wholesome Family Vacations. swimming, boating, fishing, kayaking, golfing

Reviews

4.1
based on 11 traveler reviews

Directly on the lake, newer CLEAN home, dock and loads of fun to be had! VIEWS!
average rating of 4.090909 based on 11 reviews
5

Red house on the lake

  • 5 of 5

What a grrrreat Home with all the convieneiences. I brought more than I needed, this house was ready for us to enjoy our time at the lake. We enjoyed the boat dock and the screened porch. We cooked a lot on both grills. Our Air Force reunion was a success. A return trip is a must. Thanks for a great place to stay and have fun by the water.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Ronald. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a few kind words. We are pleased to know that your group enjoyed Red House and we look forward to having you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Mini Family reunion

  • 2 of 5

Home was cute and in a great little cove on the lake. Be prepared to bring all pillows, linens, towels, toilet paper, hand soap, paper towels, dish tabs, ice, etc. Pretty remote location so definitely come with everything you need for your stay!! The need of all these items is not clarified on listing or in rental agreement.

Fridge was only turned on prior to arrival so had a strong odor. Front door was wide open upon arrival in Tropical Storm Hermine so foyer was flooded. Despite directions from home stay on grill use and cleaning, grill was disgusting and filled with coals. Couldn't get grates clean so just cooked on tin foil. We had to clean prior to use and then cleaned after. Fire pit was hidden by very large branches, had to be cleared and cleaned out before use. Biggest inconvenient was trash removal. Directions indicate to remove trash but it means away with you when you leave and there is no dumpster anywhere close. So you literally will be traveling home with 3 days of trash. Location provided by owner after a day of trying to contact her was 8 miles from house, dump location says no dumping. When paying for a cleaning fee, I can understand being responsible for removing trash from the inside of the home to a trash bin outside but not expected to travel 8 miles or farther with it. Again, cute home, nice location but some aspects of rental details could be improved.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Erica, thanks for your review; to clarify to our future guests. You certainly do NOT need to bring pillows, as all beds have pillows and spreads. You of course do need to bring your toiletries, and food etc. There are 2 grills at the property, one that is older and a newer one that was placed there in June ( I am assuming they must have used the old one, overlooking the new one). Also, please know that you are 15 mins from all the conveniences of "town: (Manning). So do not fret if you need to make a grocery or gas trip! The final information each guest receives, clearly states where to dispose of garbage-- and she did contact me, confused on what "Davis Station" is, and I clarified that for her; as well as sent her the other local recycling centers that were easily googled. This guest seemed very confused on how to navigate the area, and I tried my best to help her. Most people are accustomed to easily using their GPS or other navigation devices to explore areas. These guests did come in during Tropical Storm Hermine, and I am sure there were limbs down in the yard, as would be expected during such a storm. These would have made great fire wood for the fire pit had I been there. As for the fridge, of course the fridge is not unplugged between guests- #1, that would ruin it #2 we have back to back guests nearly year round. My guess is that due to the Tropical Storm, the house lost, and regained power before their arrival; which may have caused the "off fridge" smell. As always, we appreciate our guests reviews. You will see that we had a 5 star review from someone that stayed at Red House just after this guest. Unfortunately, I think the tropical storm just put a damper on things for them, and that is unfortunate; however we cannot control the weather.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Orangeburg
5

Fun

  • 5 of 5

Fun time had by all. Enjoyed the house and the location to the water is perfect. Hard to find nice houses right on the water like this one is. Kids especially enjoyed the dock, they are little swimmers. Truly a great value for a newer construction home right on the water. Thanks

Do yourself a favor and bring some kayaks, or rent some. So much fun to kayak around and fish!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Georgia
5

Great location, great price, great house!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous time at this home. We love the water, and we cannot always afford a beach house so the Lake provides us with a great time on the water, at a great price! Plus we get to enjoy all of our water toys! We rented jet skiis this time, and boy O boy the fun!

As for the house.. it was very clean and comfortable. The screened in porch is absolutely wonderful overlooking the water. The view is to die for! The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals, and the private dock is a luxury to have. Reservation process was super easy, check in was nothing more than driving to the house and letting yourself in. Very nice.

Thank you for a wonderful vacation, we look forward to coming back. This was the nicest home we have stayed in in the area.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Memorial weekend

  • 1 of 5

The neighbors are terrible. They called the owners just because we were outside grilling and laughing. The house is in a perfect location on the water but the neighbors made the experience terrible. The beds are also very uncomfortable.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sydney, I cannot believe after the kindness I showed you despite 1. Renting under false pretenses 2. UNDERAGE to rent, and lied on your contract 3. "5 adults" on your contract and you had a crowd of 20+ "kids" at the house 4. You all broke the master bathroom toilet 5. Your HUGE crowd was so loud on the sandbar that DNR was called and ran you off 6. One of the young men in your group FLASHED the neighbors and public urination was repeated the entire 3 nights. This is the FIRST time that I had EVER been contacted of such behaviors at Red House. Future Guests: I visited Red House after many neighbors (Including vacation renter guests from other homes) called and reported the many obscene occurrences happening at the home. Upon arrival, the yard was LITTERED with beer cans, bags FULL of beer cans were on the porch, and there were 15+ people at the home (not to include a boatload that pulled up while we were leaving). Almost everyone we encountered was smoking. Sydney answered the door, beer in hand and completely "out of it". She even told me she "Lived there"! After I explained to her that I am who she rented from... Long story short, I LET THEM STAY- because they were all hammered! I did not want to put them out on the road driving under the influence to harm themselves or someone else. , They were due to check out the following morning anyway. I was as kind as I could be, considering the situation. NO ONE ELSE would have let you remain in their home! - She was underage, and had she not LIED on her rental contract, I would have never rented to her; in an effort to avoid these types of things! We are still handling clean up and repairs, and it's been a few days since their check out! Our home stays rented back to back for the most part, and we have never had a 1 star review, our home is nice, and our neighbors are very friendly and stay to themselves... However when it's a huge party of close to 30 people, and underage, and vulgar... DNR and law enforcement had been called by other persons on this group.. of course the neighbors would then notify the owner!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

jackie c

  • 4 of 5

House was comfortable and clean only problem I found was dishes left in the dishwasher for the week before we checked in so I had to rewash them. Bed were comfortable. The water level at the dock is 4- 5 feet deep so its just right for kids to play in. Lots of pots and pans and cookware in the kitchen. I don't recommend house for someone with knee or back problems because of the stairs. Had a great week staying there.......

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Excellent Spot for Wholesome Family Vacations. swimming, boating, fishing, kayaking, golfing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Manning House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall Season
Sep 18 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$100
From
$120
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$695
$1,400
 
 
Winter Season
Dec 1 2016 - Mar 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$125
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$700
$1,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 2017
Mar 2 2017 - May 6 2017
3 night minimum stay
$110
From
$150
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$800
$2,200
 
 
Summer 2017
May 7 2017 - Sep 10 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$99
$700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Departure Cleaning $90 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation confirmed.

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. CLEANING FEE AND SECURITY DEPOSIT MAY BE ADJUSTED LOWER FOR SHORTER STAYS





Payments are processed via Paypal, where you can easily make payment online from your credit/debit or checking.

3% payment processing fee applies

Holiday rates differ- please inquire for rates

For a true total quote, please inquire for such.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Manning House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Living Area - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Bunk Beds (1), Queen Sleep Sofas (2).
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties