check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Matt King

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

Large and elegant canal home,Heated pool,fish from your backyard,walk to beach.

48 Reviews
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Anna Maria Island House Rental Photos and Description

House, 7 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 14-16)

Please copy and paste in your browser the web address below for Virtual tour of the property.

http://www.srq360.net/1data/zsri/275056

Many homes with a high bedrooms count sprung out on the island lately, designed to maximize rents, they are built on very small lots normally 50 ft wide and packed upwards in three levels .

This is a well reviewed house that I built for me and my family in 1998, it is the largest private rental house on the Island, 5000 sq split level on a 110 ft lot, it has 12 ft high ceilings, a very large common areas and 2 kitchens .

located on the best street in town, casually designed and stylishly decked-out.

A 7 bedroom waterfront , with 12 foot high ceilings, and a large heated pool, the home opens onto a 100 foot canal and with direct boaters’ access to the Gulf. ( and yes*** you can fish from your own backyard)..

You can relax by the pool while the kids fish from the dock, or kayak down the canal, and if you like to grill your fresh catch, you came to the right place.

The house is situated just a short stroll ( 3 blocks, 5 min walk) from some of the best Gulf beaches.

Located in one of the nicest neighborhoods on the Island, centrally located, close to restaurants, shopping, (FREE)trolley, yet it is very quiet and safe .

The pool, hot-tub, and the large screened deck that will seat 12 will complete the picture.

The large living room is filled with comfy furniture centered around a 50 inch flat screen TV, DVD player and a stereo, (cable channels included) it opens to a large kitchen that is well equipped with new stainless steel appliances, and has a counter that seats six in addition to the dining area that seats 8 for that large family accommodation.

The private master bedroom suit has it's own private bath,with an over sized tub and a shower, it's also furnished with a luxury king size bed, a desk, printer, and a 36 inch flat screen TV.

The guest bedroom suit is furnished with Another luxury king bed , has it's own bath for additional privacy.

Another guest room suit consist of two bed rooms, one is furnished with a queen bed and the other with two twin beds and a 24 inch flat screen TV, they share a full bath .

For the big family that needs more room there is a separate level that has 3 bed rooms, two are furnished with queen beds and one with two extra long twin beds, with a full bath room . the ground level living area opens directly to the pool and has a full size futon that sleeps 2 more guests, and a 36 inch flat screen TV (cable channels included) DVD player and a stereo.

The lower deck has a ping pong table for extra fun, a gas grill and additional casual seating area.

If that is not enough, you can rent a 22 FT deck boat that will seat 12 for your sight seeing and fishing pleasure, powered by a 115 HP Yamaha it will sure get you to where you need to go .

I also have a 33 FT off shore boat that you can charter for deep sea fishing, or sunset cruise, it will accommodate 8 fishermen or 16 passengers .

Please copy and paste in your browser the URL below for Virtual tour of the property.

http://www.srq360.net/1data/zsri/275056

Keywords:Two story split level 5000 sq ft, water front .

Home size 5000 sq ft

Bed rooms 7

Bath rooms 4.5

king suits 2

Queen 3

Twins 4

Heated pool yes

Hot tub yes

ping pong table yes

fishing poles yes

kayak yes

bikes yes

fishing from the dock yes

cable TV yes

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Matt King (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

I am glad that we picked Anna Maria Island for my wedding .we needed a large property to accommodate all my family members that came from Italy to attend the wedding.

We were lucky to find such a large, nice, well equipped, spacious property, every one had plenty of room, we opened the kitchen,dining room and the patio which was plenty of room for my large Italian family to sit and eat together .

we used the hot tub which was large enough for every one ..

Thank you Matt for making my family feel at home, and thank you for helping me make my wedding a great and an unforgettable experience ..
Oct 2010
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.3
based on 48 traveler reviews

Large and elegant canal home,Heated pool,fish from your backyard,walk to beach.
average rating of 4.2916665 based on 50 reviews
3

WORKED FOR US...BUT

  • 3 of 5

PROS: 14 in party, more than enough room, great location, reasonable rental price, pontoon boat (extra cost) (see CONS). Beautiful wood flooring & very nice living room furniture.

CONS: Described as "tired" in other reviews. This is a polite way of saying "THIS HOUSE NEEDS WORK"!Someone REALLY needs to look up the definition of elegant before using it in this description. I wish I could include the photos I took that provide validation of the following statements. Walls need painted & carpets need cleaned (big stain in master bedroom). One toilet seat not securely attached-able to slide right off. One drapery hook above window on 1 side only. Dusty lamps, (1 without shade)peeling wallpaper in pool level bathroom (smallest & shared by 3 bedrooms), flooring around toilet & sliding door disgusting. Diving board broken (only base remains-accident waiting to happen), splintered wood railings from top deck to pool. Told by owner that gas gauge in boat didn't work.No issue driving but we are not boaters. It was like Russian Roulette not knowing how much gas was left. Perhaps we should've been told BEFORE we made the additional payment. Also told not to take out at night as lights don't always work (again, told upfront/discount offered???). I would not rent this home again without proof that it was in better shape. Owner comments that he has one of the few large "consistently rented" homes on the island. NO excuse for the condtion of the house. He may as well admit to not caring because the money keeps rolling in. I understand that some renters are not considerate of others' property but the issues here are not the result of a few previous weeks" rentals. This home COULD be & SHOULD be beautiful. Again referring to the owner's comments, "It's a private home, not a resort", all the more reason to take pride in that ownership.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This house is user friendly, it is designed for families, with kids, teens, etc... we do not want our guests to walk on eggshells worrying about their kids touching a wall. This house is double the size of any other house on the island that is advertised with 7 bed rooms. We will guarantee that you will get a 5000 sq ft house that is clean, well furnished, fresh linens, plenty of towels and pillows, user friendly, 2 Ac units, 12 ft high ceilings, upper deck that will seat 20, dining area that will seat 14, water front, 3 blocks from the beach, beach parking, plenty of parking at the house, 110 ft waterfront lot, fish from your back yard, good mattress in every room, a full size ceiling fan in every room, fully stocked kitchen, 8 ft deep 16 x 34 swimming pool with hot tub that will seat 8 people . We never mentioned a perfect wall paper, you might see an imperfection here or there, the same with paint. However, we maintain the property on regular basis . and everything is in good working order . As for the boat, We discourage our guests to venture at night especially if they are not familiar with the waters . and the tide changes The gas gauge on the boat works fine . Again, this house is nice, large, well located, user friendly house, but it is not a resort. Matt
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellent location. Home works welll for large family group. Pool, jacuzzi and boat are big plusses

  • 4 of 5

We were a large family group and the house s large enough to accommodate us all with no feeling of being crowded. The pool and Jacuzzi were big hits with everyone. I would rec taking advantage of the boat. Lazy cruises around the area with the kids on board was fun. The situation is excellent. Easy stroll to the incredible beach. Same to the hop on hop off shuttle. Great local coffee hangouts. Matt is always available on phone and was able to trouble shoot an issue we had with heating the Jacuzzi. Negatives are that the house is "tired" It needs some attention to paint and carpet areas. Hand railing up the stairs from front door for example needs paint. The carpet in the main suite is tired. The wooden floor in the family area is loose and there are areas where the nails protrude. All that being said, with attention to some of these areas, the house works well and we had a fun time.

  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, your points are well taken .
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Family Thanksgiving at Anna Maria

  • 5 of 5

We had 9 adults and 3 kids in our party and found the house very accommodating. We cooked our Thanksgiving dinner, with plenty of room in the kitchen/dining area for more than one cook. We liked having the pontoon, but didn't get out in it much as it was pretty breezy the week we were there. The kids (as some adults) liked fishing off the dock. We liked getting on the trolley and sightseeing. We walked to the beach or rode the bikes. We all enjoyed the week away from the Midwest cold and snow. One downside, the cost of heating the pool and hot tub we felt should have been included in the rental price. The property lists a heated pool so we didn't feel another charge was warranted. Matt was very nice, he came to the house to show us around and to bring the pontoon, he did check on us mid week to make sure the pool was good & chemicals were added. He showed us the maps of where to go for good food and sights and we knew he was just a call away if we needed him. All in all, the week was fun for all, just too short!

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review, It was nice meeting you and your family, I am glad you had a nice vacation at my property, As for the pool heat it is an optional expense and it is listed on my rate sheet, sorry for the misunderstanding. Thank you for staying at my property and hope to see you again soon . Matt
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Anna Maria Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We have eight people in our family and needed a "bigger" house to vacation. We were looking for a place close to the beach. Ultimately we wanted it to be relaxing. This house gave us all of that and more. It is a bright open home with all the amenities one would need. This house has two levels & two kitchens, so my older children could make late night snacks in their own space. The kitchen upstairs was well-equipped for me to cook for my family. All the bedrooms were clean and had their own personality. Everything else we needed was in the house for us. The backyard was very private with a great pool. We enjoyed the hot tub in the evening as well. The house is on the canal and the kids fished right from the backyard dock. We took night walks to the beach as it was only a couple blocks away. The owner Matt was very responsive and a phone call or text away if you need him for any reason. We would most definitely consider going back and I highly recommend this home especially if you are a large family.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Holmes Beach

  • 2 of 5

I wish I had paid closer attention to the nuances in the few existing reviews. Simply said, after our experience here, we are soured on using Home Away or VRBO ever again. The property was adequate, but barely. Quite run down and many repairs needed. Had multiple conflicts with the owner and felt hung out to dry when things went south. When the boat would not start the owner said, "I live an hour away, I can't come over until tomorrow." Boat was in poor condition as was much of the property and appliances, etc. Dishwasher leaked, kayak had a pre-existing crack in it so it sank. Would never rent again from this owner. The only reason 2 stars are given is it was a decent value for the price. Otherwise, it would be a minus 1 star

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: My reviews speak for themselves, your party was just careless and too rough on the property, boat and kayak . Thank god we had insurance that repaired and replaced the items, too bad they don't have reviews for tenants . Matt
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We have been to the island on many occasions and usually rent a beach front home. This time we decided to try something different and rented this canal house and boat for 2 weeks. We had a great experience. The house is perfect for large groups and our teenagers loved having their own space downstairs. The kitchen was well stocked and the furniture was comfortable. The home is in a great location - a short walk to the beach and close to several trolley stops. Matt was there to meet us when we arrived and showed us around. He was also very responsive during our stay and actually contacted us to make sure everything was ok and to check if the pool needed to be cleaned after a storm (it did and he was out right away). The pool was great after days spent on the boat and was shaded during the afternoons. We used the boat nearly every day during our stay and all decided we loved staying on a canal with a boat. There are many great sandbars and lunch places along the intercoastal waterway that we discovered (FYI the sandbar off the northern tip of the island is "clothing optional" however families congregate near the south end. There is also a great sandbar just north of the Longboat passage near Jewfish Key). We highly recommend the grouper sandwich at Annie's bait shop just north of the Cortez bridge! We had a wonderful vacation and would definitely rent this house (and boat) again.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your vacation at my property, Thank you for being such a great guests, It was great knowing you, and hope to see you on your next vacation . Matt
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Sarasota / Bradenton
Nearest Barpub
0.02 Miles
Many Bars & Restaurants
Nearest Golf
0.02 Miles
Key Royal Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
HWY 75
Nearest Restaurant
0.02 Miles
Island Gourmet
Nearest Beach
0.02 Miles
Anna Maria
Car: not necessary

A 22 FT Deck boat is available to rent with the property, powered by 115 HP Yamaha, will get you to some of the best fishing spots in the nation, seats 10-12 .$ 1000 PER WEEK OR $600 FOR 3 DAYS.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Anna Maria House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Aug 20 2016 - Dec 16 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 14 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
spring 17
Feb 18 2017 - Apr 21 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$4,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 14 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 14 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $200 + Tax
Damage Ins $79 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Weekly rental is from Sat to Sat, check in is at 3.00 PM, check out is at 10.00 AM.
A deck boat is available for rental, $1000 per week or $600 for three days, PLUS GAS, rated for 12 people .
A 2 hour sunset cruise is available aboard a 33 ft boat for $400 .
The listed rate is for 14 guests, additional guests will be charged extra $70.00 each REGARDLESS OF AGE.
Pool hot tub heat $120.00 for the week .


Thank you
Matt

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Anna Maria Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master bedroom, Flat screen TV, Private bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , guest bedroom, share a bath
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 2 twin XL beds, flat screen tv, share a bath with BR #3
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , guest bedroom , private bath
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (4), one full size futon .
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers