check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Carol Rum

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, italian

St. Michael's premier in town summer vacation cottage!

43 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Saint Michaels Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 2 baths, sleeps 4

Harbor Hideaway's in town location is a rare find! HH's in town location is just steps away from everything that St. Michael's has to offer! A charming story and a half cottage that has been completely renovated with amenities that will help ensure a great time on your St. Michael's getaway. Walk or ride the furnished bikes to all the local sights and eateries. It's the perfect rental for a one or two couples, a girls weekend, a small family and those guests just needing a relaxing getaway for a few days. Sip drinks on the front porch, relax on the sofa and watch your favorite show on the flat-screen TV. Relax and take a well deserved nap on the one of the two queen beds with new and comfy mattresses, or for those with energy to burn, head out for a swim at the Bay One Hundred pool that is only a few blocks away. Ava's Pizzeria has OHMYGOODNESS delicious pizza. Or, cook in HH's well-equipped kitchen or on the outdoor grill. Afterwards, end your evening by the firepit making smores or play the beanbag toss game of 'cornhole'or pingpong, or take a walk down to the water that is only 4 houses away. Sm dogs considered with a pet fee / pet deposit.

Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Carol Rum (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, italian

About Carol Rum

Owner could not be happier as the property manager of Harbor Hideaway! She loves meeting people which this job is a perfect fit for. She has traveled extensively, living for two years in Japan while teaching abroad and three in Italy. Though education was her calling for many years, she has pursued her other artistic callings with each move. She worked in design in her years in NC and with the move to MD, she wanted to follow her heart into the hospitality industry. Taking note of all the things that she enjoyed as she traveled and then incorporating them into her own summer rental has been very rewarding to her, and hopefully to the enjoyment of her guests. Her ultimate goal is to try to give her guests a great getaway that is made easy by the things that she provides. (when she first bought this place, the management company made the guests pay extra for bedding and to have the beds already made up upon your arrival...who wants to do on your getaway?) Since she took over, she put in great mattresses with quality linens that are pressed and on the bed.That type of comfort and pampering brings many repeat guests year after year. Just as important to her as your comfort is the cleaniness of the cottage. When a property is not just a rental but the second home for the owner, which Harbor Hideaway is, you can be assured that you will always get the best of everything. She wants you to enjoy what she enjoys about it, the location, the comfort and the cleanliness, all things that are hugely important in choosing a place to stay.

Carol Rum purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Carol Rum chose Chesapeake Bay

The town of Saint Michael's has been one of my very favorite getaways from my very first vist back in the 90's. It felt like I was stepping back in time, safe and friendly. I love riding the bikes or walking around town, restaurants are great, shopping is fun, I feel like I'm back in my little hometown!

What makes this cottage unique

Our promise to our guests is that you will always find Harbor Hideaway to be extremely clean and fresh and comfortable. Our guests mention this fact over and over again in their reviews and as an owner I know that is over the top important to me when I look to stay somewhere.

Our guests also love our location, so close to town and also close to the water. When they aren't out exploring the town or their surroundings, they find it in enchanting to sit and relax in the rocking chairs on the front porch. Other visitors enjoying Saint Michael's pass by and their is always sweet banter going between guests about their stays. It just a lovely town and lovely neighborhood that we are fortunate enough to own and share a cottage in. I think you'll love it!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks again for an awesome play to stay!
May 2010
  • 1 of 7

Reviews

5
based on 43 traveler reviews

St. Michael's premier in town summer vacation cottage!
average rating of 5.0 based on 50 reviews
5

Labor Day weekend visit/wedding

  • 5 of 5

I don't typically post reviews, but felt compelled to after staying at this wonderful property!! Carol was an absolute joy to work with from the start of the booking process and throughout our stay. Once we pulled into town and up to the Harbor Hideaway, we fell in love with the town and the property...we couldn't have asked for a more comfortable, charming home to stay in. We truly felt at home, away from our own home!!! We definitely will be coming back to St Michael's and when we do, we will be contacting Carol to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eldersburg, Maryland
5

Satisfaction Guaranteed!!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we opened the door, we kew our vacation was going to be perfect:-) Your cottage is nicely decorated and comfy. It felt like home to us. The location allowed us to walk everywhere, and we did just that. The backyard provided enough privacy for grilling and enjoying a glass of wine.

If you are considering a getaway to Harbor Hideaway, please be sure to read the owners' story. Carol was wonderful to work with. When owners give attention to detail and take pride in providing travelers a great experience, everyone is happy. Thanks for helping us have a happy vacation!!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Harbor Hideaway for our first trip to St. Michaels and it was a perfect place for a weekend getaway. It's in a great location - just a short, pretty walk to the harbor or the main strip of shops and restaurants, but still in a quiet part of the neighborhood. The house is really cute, and well-stocked with absolutely anything you need. Plus, it's dog-friendly and our dog was so happy to be able to run around in the yard. We will definitely stay at Harbor Hideaway again!

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

"Perfect"

  • 5 of 5

Our first stay in St. Michaels and at the Harbor Hideaway was on Super Bowl weekend and we had a fantastic time! The house was very clean, comfortable and welcoming. Everything we needed was there, full stocked kitchen, nice TV's, two grills, bikes and a fire pit out back. The house is within walking distance to everything in town and to the harbor area. The shops were all open and had great sales this time of year--my sister and I took advantage of this while our husbands hung out in the pubs. We ate at Ava's Pizzeria for lunch one day and to Gina's Café (right at the top of our street) and the food and drink was fantastic at both places. We had dinner one night at Bistro--we thought it was just average (pricey)--should have gone to Theo's instead. One morning we drove over to Tilghman Island and had breakfast at Two If By Sea--fantastic! It was worth the drive! We did not make it to the museum so we are planning a trip back to St. Michaels to keep exploring and we will defiantly stay at the Harbor Hideaway!! Carol thank you for such a welcome and wonderful stay!!

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manchester, Maryland
5

PERFECT FROM A TO Z!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first stay at the Harbor Hideaway, but it definitely won't be the last! My daughters and I spent the weekend in St. Michael's for Christmas shopping, the parade and general rest and relaxation. This home surely helped with the rest and relaxation part!!! Very comfortable, CLEAN, decorated beautifully and well stocked with anything you can think of needing, ESPECIALLY COFFEE! Thanks, Carol, for the Starbucks coffee - what a treat!!! We enjoyed Saturday evening outside around the fire pit , sipping our pro-bono HOT COFFEE on a very Spring-like (temps in the 60's all weekend) night! The shower water was HOT and the beds were super comfy!!! We never used our car once we arrived, as everything is within walking distance! Truthfully, we did not want to leave!!! You will certainly not be disappointed if you stay here. Finally, did I mention how VERY CLEAN and COZY this home is?

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great House Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

HH has a perfect location. It is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, and a great coffee shop. We parked our car and never used it again during our stay. Instead, we took a number of wonderful bike rides. Over three days we biked 100 miles -- flat easy rides -- to Tilghman's island (home of the world busiest draw bridge and a great spot for lunch), Neavitt, Oxford and other small villages. Lots of water views, marinas to explore, and a number of great spots for lunch. At the end of the ride we could relax on front porch of HH or play corn hole in the huge back yard . It's a great house with all the amenities you could want!! Carol, thank you for being such a wonderful hostess. We'll definitely be back to HH!!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: recommended

Talbot County is host to over 10,000 miles of shoreline - and that means more breathtaking views of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries.

Many wonderful events come to St. Michaels in the spring and summer months! All season long, there are events at the Chesapeake Maritime Museum, Crab Days in Tilghman, great shops on Talbot St. The warm days and flowers and wildlife have returned and the best place to experience it all is right here in St. Michael's. If golfing is more of your hobby than shopping, checking out Hog's Neck Public Course and HarbourTown Golf Course. Need a massage while on your relaxing weekend, St. Michael's has several to choose from, all within walking distance from your Harbor Hideaway cottage. If you like the simple beauty of the water, you'll find that only four houses away. Enjoy a morning or evening walk to take in all the beauty of this enchanted town that you'll want to come back to time and time again.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Saint Michaels Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Sep 19 2016 - Jan 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$375
Fri,Sat
$1,700
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 10.0%

$100 pet fee/deposit

Guests should always check with owner/manager. This property and it's rental season do not always fit into the pricing software offered by system. Check with owner for true pricing. All pricing my not be shown in the correct format for this property. Owner has the right to set pricing which may mean that it may be different from what is seen in quote.

Rates are always subject to change. You may pay by personalized or bank check, or if you don't mind paying the extra 3% you can thru paypal.com.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Saint Michaels Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Baby Gate
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs - toilet , tub
    Downstairs - toilet , shower
  • Both bathrooms were included in the remodel and are very nice. The downstairs bathroom with a shower, toilet, and vanity connects to bedroom #1 and can also be entered from the LR. The upstairs bathroom includes a tub, a vanity, and a toilet. It's location is also part of it's charm, but one does have to watch your head when you exit the tub because of the angled roof line.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Upstairs - 1 queen
    Downstairs - 1 queen
  • Bedroom one is downstairs. Picture with blue duvet one the bed is bedroom one Bedroom two is upstairs. Ceiling is that of a story and a half cottage, angled roof lines. Bedroom with white/red duvet is bedroom 2. Both bedrooms have new Sealy thick and comfy mattresses for a great nights sleep. Living room sofa is extra deep and doubles as a twin size mattresses if you prefer your little one sleep close to you.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch Furniture
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Yard
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Small pets welcome/w/pet deposit

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers