Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Rates as low as $500 per week starting Nov - Canadians Ask for Discount

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)


We have been renting our beach villa to all travelers for 11+ years, we are original owners and have been on VRBO since 2005. The house is well equipped with everything you need for short or long stays. This exceptional villa is in a private and safe location near your own beach and a short drive to all amenities. There is an infinity pool that overlooks the beautiful ocean; you are just steps away from the beach. There is approximately 700 sq/ft of space with 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, 3 individual air conditioners, solid teak furniture, high end 600 count linens and a cozy kitchen. A large BBQ on the covered deck, a microwave, and gas stove. In 2013 we built an outdoor wet bar with BBQ and counter space with privacy walls. A perfect addition to enjoy your outdoor time late into the evening.

You can walk down to the beach and buy fresh fish from the local fishermen, watch the sunset, or go for a swim. The home is an easy 70 minute drive from Panama City on the Pan-American Highway. If you want to relax inside we a Flat Screen TV with cable and wireless internet.


There are a variety of restaurants and shops nearby with local prices, so don't be surprised if you and your companion have one of the best dinners ever for $12 total, including drinks. There are also two 24 hour grocery stores in nearby Coronado, a 7 minute drive or nice bike ride away. This is the perfect home base to take trips, go hiking, rain forest tours, zip lines, shop, & researching real estate.


The complex consists of mostly American and Canadian owners, There is an onsite caretaker and gated parking. This unit is fully stocked with linens and towels. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you might need, just bring your desire to relax and we have the rest. On the back deck there is a propane BBQ and outdoor kitchen. This complex is safe and just waiting for you to stop by for a rest. Call today to secure your rental. Cleaning services provided upon departure or periodically at your expense. All the amenities of North American living with the Latin culture and prices.

HOW BIG ARE WE? : **Note the villa is most suitable for 1-2 adults.

E mail me for bookings now... don't hesitate. Or call direct.

Ciao ...Buenos Viajes --

Your Canadian Hosts( Calgary AB )

More Details

Jason ( Canada)403807-2204 -Mayela Property Manager in Panama 6618-5002
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2017

About Jason ( Canada)403807-2204 -Mayela Property Manager in Panama 6618-5002

I am a Canadian Real Estate Agent with a passion for Freedom and knowledge - I love new things and Panama amazes me everytime I have been there , which is 15+ trips over 8 years

Jason ( Canada)403807-2204 -Mayela Property Manager in Panama 6618-5002 purchased this house in 2006

Why Jason ( Canada)403807-2204 -Mayela Property Manager in Panama 6618-5002 chose Panama

This area is very quiet and away from it all however very close to every amenity you could ever want including two 24 hour grocery stores, walking distance to a local fish market down the beach. It's not a tourist only town - it's a great mix of North Americans and people from around the world, each willing to share a story or two.

What makes this house unique

We have a welcome binder that we email to our guests upon payment of deposit that includes our 10+ years of wisdom about Panama and the area. It's amazing. Our guest also love to walk down to the local fish co-op in the morning to get the catch of the day , and you can ask the fishermen to fillet it for about 25 cents.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We love the fact that we have the best of beach living with a short drive to the city , the pool is refreshing and there is so much to do every day, from 30 min drive into the mountain town of El Valle to shop and cool off, to the 20 min drive on a Sunday to join locals @ Santa Clara beach, or just chill out at Gorgona Beach , it's a little piece of heaven , come stay we know you will be back
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 2


Panamá Oeste House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • churches
  • forests
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
**The property manager is bilingual and can help with most needs** Brand New huge high quality BBQ , propane gas located on the back deck, the rear deck is covered for shade. Beach View: Only minutes to the beach , you have a view of the ocean from the pool. It's only 500 steps to the beach, it's a short walk. View of the ocean from the main walkway/ front deck , and of course the infinity pool. Other activities: Relaxing on the beach / surfing / quadding on the beach / hiking / zip line in El Valle / excellent shopping for handicrafts / El Valle a 25 minute drive has one of the best local markets in the area. The internet here is as fast as it is in my office in Canada


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Rates as low as $500 per week starting Nov - Canadians Ask for Discount
average rating of 4.111111 based on 11 reviews

nice time at Costa Grande

  • 4 of 5

Had a nice 2 week stay in this villa. No problem reaching Mayela or Jason by phone anytime. The pool was great, house stocked with everything. Too bad the couches are not comfortable. After a few plumbing issues, all is fixed now. Suitable for one couple but not two. The refrigerator and stove are not full size, best to eat out. La Ruina restaurant owner speaks English. Would recommend brushing up on your Spanish cause no locals speak English. Would stay again.

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us- you are right it's a good space for one couple only and I have that in the ad as full disclosure. It's very local there - close to Coronado that has ALL the amenities - 24 hr clinic- 24hour stores etc , but it's authentically latino and if you know spanish you will indeed have a fuller richer vacation
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chicago, IL

Relaxing and away from it all

  • 4 of 5

Costa Grande was great. It was fantastic to have the grill and the back patio setup, where we cooked amazing dinners with the fresh catch from the fish market. We spent a lot of time in the pool and hanging out with the neighbors. The wifi was perfect. Mayela was very friendly and helpful in making sure we had everything we needed and everything in the house was working properly. Everything was clean, the listing was accurate, the pool was wonderful.

The one downside was that we didn't end up with a rental car, for a variety of reasons, and ended up feeling pretty stuck. We had a hard time getting cabs at the place. I know we had the phone from Mayela but many of the numbers didn't work so we typically just walked a ways until we found a cab or got to the main road for a bus. Coming from America, I forget that the speed of life in LatAm slows down so much, so we found it hard to find things to do.

Overall though, it was an incredibly relaxing get away and I would absolutely recommend working with Jason and Mayela for your next visit.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review - we do always suggest a car at the beach and have some suggestions in our welcome binder, and yes taxis are a bit hard to come by because it's not a high traffic area. We are also excited that the new water resevoir has been the solution for the last guests frustration. We appreciate your input , and look forward to having you again , remember repeat clients and referrals are always welcome and always rewarded.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Plumbing issues with no response from owner

  • 2 of 5

We just spent 2 weeks at this villa and I don't like to be that person that writes a negative review but as I rely heavily on other peoples reviews when selecting a vacation rental I feel I should share our experience so that others can make an informed decision. This is a nice little villa in a nice complex. The patio and BBQ are a nice feature and it is fully stocked with everything that you need. When we arrived the property manager met us and went over everything. As she was leaving she informed us that we would not have any hot all. She said that because it was dry season there was not enough water pressure for the water heater to work. And that it shouldn't be a big deal as the water isn't cold in Panama anyway. (Not true)After meeting several people in the complex and finding out that they all had hot water I contacted both the owner and property manager as we not only did not have hot water we also had nothing but a dribble of water in the kitchen and bathroom taps.We were given the runaround for 3 days that it was going to be checked. My last communication from the owner was welcome to life in Panama and if you stay long enough you learn to roll with it. After 4 days with no hot water and almost no water pressure at all I emailed requesting a refund so we could find other accommodations and was given no response. Never heard from the owner again.Also, this is advertised as a gated community. It does have a rolling gate that is unmanned and never locked. Anyone can come and go without question. Our first week there 2 of the units were broken into while the guests were sleeping. They had cash stolen and the intruders were in their bedrooms while they were sleeping. The roads to get into the property are terrible with huge ruts and there is garbage everywhere. Not litter, big piles of garbage all over the roadways that are lit on fire to burn at night. I like go for long walks and this is not an area where it is pleasant to do so.

Positives: nice little villa, nice complex, we'll stocked. Nice clean pool. Met lots of great people. Mostly Canadians and Americans. Had excellent seafood fresh off the boats in the morning.Good central location to explore Panama. Some good restaurants in the area but you certainly won't have dinner and drinks for anything close to $12. Most of the units in this complex are rented out. If you decide to stay here I suggest you get a written contract that the plumbing issues have been rectified.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We're sorry you were not satisfied with your experience. As we do not live in Panama, we rely heavily on our property manager to work directly with our guests. We were aware that there was a lack of water in the whole complex due to the weather being so dry over the past few weeks and had assumed that this was taken care of when we did not hear back from you or our property manager. That being said, we really should have followed up. We take all feedback very seriously and appreciate knowing how we can better the stay for all guests. As soon as you left, we have installed a reserve water tank so that this will not happen again in the future (as of Feb 6, 2015), even during the peak of dry season. Generally the neighborhood is very quiet and safe and I can assure you that our house is well equipped for security and has never been broken into. As for the roads in the neighborhood, we wish we could change this and agree that they are not fully paved like you would see in North America, this however is part of the Panama "charm" that you will find everywhere, not just our street. Thanks again for your feedback, we will continue to ensure to update our home so guests can continue to have a good experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Great view

  • 4 of 5

The villa is in a great location. The house is well equipped and the owners and manager go out of there way to make sure everything is working. We did have a problem with hot water pressure, but that's life on the beach. Everyone in the villa is friendly and helpful. The pool is kept very clean and there is a great view of the ocean from the pool area. The beach is about a city block away, but worth the walk. We went to the beach in the morning and watched the locals harvest oysters. If you like to meet the locals you can walk to the local beach bar. The first bar is for the partiers, the second smaller is more family oriented. VERY rustic! Sunday nights we would have beef on a stick and a beer for a dollar each!! Relax and watch the kids have a ball in the black sand. (If you prefer high end restraunts, this is not for you).

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us , we enjoyed having you - we have installed the new hot water heater and hope this will help , however you are right , it's beach life :). Great insight on the beach, it's always a new adventure, and of course if you would like high end restaurants all you need to do it make the short drive to Coronado- Look forward to having you again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect escape from the city.

  • 5 of 5

We only had two days to have a quick trip away from the City before flying home so the cottage was perfect, we all wished we could have spent a week. Mayela was extremely helpful and the location close to the beach was great. Unfortunately our rental car fell through so we couldn't rent boards and surf Malibu beach but the beach was great for body surfing and watching the locals with their fishing boats.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us , our goal is to provide a relaxing and comfortable experience for our guests vacation- we have an excellent Bilingual manager , Mayela, and are happy that you enjoyed he home and the great features nearby, we look forward to being part of your next vacation plan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

More than a few steps to the beach.

  • 3 of 5

The description says "you are just steps away from the beach." Not true. The picture makes it seem like you can walk from the pool straight to the ocean. It is a long walk or short ride to the beach. The road to this villa is several hundred yards long with huge potholes some filled with bricks. I poked a hole in my rental car gas tank traveling at 10 mph and had to have it towed the first day I was there. Max speed should be 5 mph.

There is on site maintenance to keep things clean. The pool is small but very nice. The microwave is on top of the refrigerator which makes it difficult to use. In my opinion, the kitchen is good for snacks, not meals. There are about 12 units all very close together and everyone is very friendly. Coronado is about 10 minutes away with all the shopping you will need.

Mayela, the manager, is very helpful with anything you might need. They require cash to be wired to them for the deposit, which I was hesitant to do, but they are trustworthy. I give it 3 1/2 stars but not 4. I would not go back mainly because of the bad, bad road to the villa.

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Scarlett Martinez
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
La Runia
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Gorgona Access Road and IntraAmerican
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Car: recommended

Gorgona, Panama, Central America (This is 70 miles from Panama near Coronado - divided highway) -- This area is called the ' Arco de seco ' or the dry arc and is the fastest most popular area near the city with hospitals, pharmacy, grocery, restaurants just minutes away in Coronado. They call this area the Gold Coast. It's a great spot to start off your many day trips that will bring you from Mountain tops to Rain forests to awesome beaches and local hangouts! Have this as your home base for day trip or overnight ventures to the rainforest , to the mountains of El Valle ( 45 mins away) and the beaches that dream are made of. The road is excellent to the villa rental as it's paved until the last few turns. To the lofts, the road is paved the whole way. Easy to find and easy to tell your friends where you are staying.There is a new surf shop nearby that is well equipped for surfers of all levels, they even teach lessons!

Other Activities: shopping, boating,quadding,horseback riding, day trips, birding


Rates & Availability

Panamá Oeste House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
2017 Dry Season
Jan 8 2017 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
April 2017
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $40
Refundable damage deposit $150
Pet Fee $100


Palpal payment accepted as well as wire. Wire Details, deposit of 50% is due to hold the booking, then 30 days prior to arrival , balance is due via wire transfer to property manager. Renter must confirm payment has been sent to hold booking. BOOKINGS ARE NON REFUNDABLE ONCE PAID- NO EXCEPTIONS-however credit for your stay may be used within one calendar year based upon availability.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties