Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Merritt in the Landing: Peaceful & PARTIAL WEEKS ENTIRE YR including SUMMER 2017

Bedrooms 2
Space sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • children welcome


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Location: Bald Head Island, Southern Coast, Coastal, North Carolina, USA (Killegray Ridge, 1 Mile from Point; Wilmington 35 miles)

Accommodations: Beach House, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths (sleeps 5)

Tired of arriving at your vacation destination only to find:

• towels are missing and you just stepped out of the shower?

• the springs in the chair sink to the ground and you were hoping for a cozy read?

• the hot water is cold and you’re covered with sand and shells?

• the freon has drained dry in the air conditioning unit and it’s 99+ and sunny INside?

• the kitchen equipment you took camping exceeded what you find in the cabinets?

• the promised transportation doesn’t work and your feet are tired?

20 Keeper's Landing, MERRITT IN THE LANDING, offers:

• Freedom from the “oh, no” of disappointments mentioned above

• A cheerful, meticulously maintained, well equipped island cottage for families/friends looking for a quiet, relaxing, care-free vacation rental.

• Across the street from the front porch enjoy a 200+ foot dock stretching into the marsh.....enjoy the stars at night, the peaceful warmth and views of the maritime forest, or try your hand at crabbing and/or fishing!

• Hardwood floors, freshly painted walls, colorful dinnerware, games, books, and more…..

• Home with inverted floor plan: UPPER floor with 1 BR (master w/queen and TV, bathroom including tub-shower), living/dining and kitchen; LOWER lever with bedroom with bunks and trundle, chest of drawers, TV and small sofa; small sitting room w/stuffed chaise and washer/dryer

• Porta-crib and high chair for your little one.

• Kitchen well equipped with spices, new appliances, hot pot holders, pizza pan, cook books and other items to enjoy during your stay.

• Outdoor, secluded patio with charcoal grill and shower

• One 4 person golf cart available (year round maintenance agreement)

* Hi speed INTERNET, secure sign on

• Two cruiser bikes for PAVED road use ONLY, 'as is' condition

* Experienced, private, caring housekeeper whose goal it is to help us insure that your rental is of gold standard quality

• East Beach, Maritime Market, BHI Club with access to golf, tennis and swimming pool and Shoal's Club each a bike ride or golf cart ride away

• 14 miles of running on the beach, roads for biking beneath trees in the forest or along the coast

• Temporary membership at one club is available to purchase (w/opportunity for golfing, tennis, croquet, swimming, exercise room and fine dining) if guests choose to include

Keywords: island cottage in maritime forest

More Details

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 29, 2017


Keepers Landing House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Bunk Beds (1) with single trundle below!
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shelling
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Merritt in the Landing is ACROSS the Street from Lovely Marsh.....100 Yard Dock Extends Into the Water...Great for Crabbing, Fishing, Watching Stars and Birds! Bicycle/helmet Rental, Golf Cart Rental, Surf Board Rental, Kayak Rental, Beach Chair/Umbrella Rental all available Call 910-457-6844 or 910-457-4944; Deep Point Ferry brochure available at


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Merritt in the Landing: Peaceful & PARTIAL WEEKS ENTIRE YR including SUMMER 2017
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews

Great trip to Bald Head Island

  • 5 of 5

We had a WONDERFUL first visit to Bald Head island. Merritt in the Landing was a perfect place for me, my husband and 2 kids. The home was in a great location-we enjoyed access to the beautiful marsh and we were close to the beaches. The home was clean, well maintained and had everything we needed for a quite, relaxing vacation. I would recommend this rental home to anyone and we hope to return again next summer!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So pleased that your 1st trip to Bald Head was positive and not surprised that you want to return! It is a pretty magical place. Your comments reinforce what I & my housekeeping team strive to provide: clean, well maintained and a everything you need for a quiet, relaxing vacation. Hope you are able to return soon---I certainly welcome you to return to Merritt in the Landing, Merritt in the Middle (vrbo 196856) or Merritt on Bramble (vrbo 178378)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

amazing long weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Merritt in the Landing was the perfect spot for our last get-away of summer! The property was spotless and well-stocked; it had everything we needed. The golf cart was in perfect working order as were the 2 bikes. The location is wonderful; close to the beach and across the street from the beautiful long dock out onto the marsh. We were so pleasantly surprised that there were NO mosquitoes (we expected them in August). We would certainly rent this property again in the future! The owner was wonderful to work with - all in all this was a perfect VRBO experience:)

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So nice to hear that Merritt in the Landing offered a long week-end getaway at BHI. For a few years now I have elected to rent and maintain my BHI properties independently allowing me flexibility to rent for for 3+ nights even during the high season. My goal and that of my home manager and housekeeping team is to provide clean, well stocked home with golf cart in working order. The location as you describe is lovely and provides a calm serenity that is special. Wish I could order 'no mosquito' visits for all but not an option so I always encourage clothes & insect repellent that discourages the little creatures. Finally, now that I appreciate your words complimenting me as an owner-manager. I do my best to provide the service and setting that I enjoy when I travel. Hope to have you visit again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

pleasant stay

  • 3 of 5

This house served us well for last minute booking. However, nightly rate is quite high compared to other nicer options and locations on the island. We were only staying for 3 nights and most accommodations require 7 night min stays. The biggest disappointment were the bathrooms which were dirty upon our arrival and bath towels smelled very bad. FYI, no beach towels provided. However, kitchen was well stocked and clean. Furniture was adequate but showing signs of wear. Beds had waterproof mattress covers that were loud and uncomfortable. We loved using the golf cart (though quite dated) and very nice to have beach chairs. Again, this home is a nice option for family for short stay, but needs some attention.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to provide review of Merritt in the Landing. I apologize that bathroom did not seem clean and that towels did not smell fresh. My intention is to have every aspect of my home clean and refreshing when guests arrive. I offer, not as an excuse but simply as one possible explanation for your observations, that leader of my 'on island team' had emergent neurosurgery the day before your arrival and despite everyone's best efforts it is difficult to train to the same level of expertise in such situations although we certainly tried. Fortunately, everyone on the team is back working at full steam to insure excellence. Indeed, mattresses in my homes all have waterproof mattress covers....hygiene for all is improved and the expense of replacing soiled mattresses is very costly. I rely on reviews when I purchase the covers and have done my best to purchase comfortable, high quality. Re the adequate furniture ("with wear") and the "dated" golf cart that you loved using---again I strive to have clean, comfortable, bright furniture and maintain contracts for routine upkeep for cart with Always Ready on the Island. As you noted, beach towels are not provided. You may remember reading in the letter of welcome/intro that I "provide all linens except beach towels"---i encourage guests bring their own if they enjoy. Additionally, guests always have number of my on island housekeeper and if a problem is encountered i would hope she would be informed because she is very prompt at doing what she can to remediate concerns. She had no record of hearing from you & wished she had given your comments. Pleased you enjoyed beach chairs, well stocked, clean kitchen & option for renting for less than 7 days. Being an independent owner/manager allows this flexibility which offers many an options that makes a visit to BHI possible. Would welcome you back to Merritt in the Landing but certainly understand you choosing another home if you find one that better suits your family. I want to provide a respite for folks who feel pleased with what I can offer doing the best I can~~smiles!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
north carolina

Peaceful and Fun Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful, well appointed, and relaxing house that we would go back to in an instant! It's great for a couple or a family. The house is excellently maintained, the kitchen has everything you need, the bikes are great, the furniture is lovely, and the beds are perfect! The house is on a peaceful road, a few steps from the serene marshes. It was very hard to leave!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for acknowledging the care shown by the housekeeper and housecleaning team--also nice to know that you found the beds comfy and the peaceful surrounds to your liking. Enjoy your summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great time in the marsh!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time on the island. Staying in the marsh was a great experience. It was quite and relaxing. Walking out on the walk way after dark was beautiful to see. The house exceptional as always. Everything that we expected and more. We had a wonderful time and are already looking forward to going back. We have stayed both times in a Merritt house. No disappointments. Everything was clean and there as promised. The bikes were great. Can not say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay! Working with the owner could not have been easier and more enjoyable. When we return we will contact her again!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Appreciate your comments: i am fortunate to work with housekeeper/housecleaning team who really care about the guests and work hard to provide the a fresh, clean home away from home. The dock that extends into the waterway across the street offers a very peaceful setting for fishing, bird watching, star gazing.....happy you enjoyed. Hope your trip home was uneventful. Look forward to having you return. kam
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego, CA

Great Vacation Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I went to Bald Head Island for the first time last week for a friend's wedding. We had a wonderful time and it was in great part due to our stay in Merritt in the Landing. It was charming, spacious, clean, and everything worked as it should! The property owner was very easy to work with and even had a welcoming gift bag waiting for us in the dining area upon our arrival. I highly recommend this property!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Rates & Availability

Keepers Landing House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Sep 17 2016 - May 19 2017
4 night minimum stay
Spring/Summer Shoulder 2017
May 20 2017 - Jun 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
Jun 10 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
Summer/Fall Shoulder 2017
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 22 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
departure clean $160 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Contracts AND Payment/Security Refund managed by privately hired accountant. NO associated FEES.

To RESERVE: 25 yr minimum age to rent; Deposit and half of total rental required, remaining amount due 45 days prior to arrival. CANCELLATIONS: forfeit deposit & if less than 45 days require re-rental to secure refund of monies paid toward rental! Encourage travel insurance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing


Bald Head Island Conservancy Has an Educational Museum and Summer Programs Available! Bald Head Island Sailing Club Offers Sailing Lessons!

Bicycle/helmet Rental, Golf Cart Rental, Surf Board Rental, Kayak Rental, Beach Chair/Umbrella Rental all available Call 910-457-6844 or 910-457-4944.


Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties