check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Chuck

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Secluded waterfront property with panoramic views and magnificent sunsets

21 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Mystic House Rental Photos and Description

A chef's paradise!! Incredible new kitchen, 6 burner gas stove, 12 ft ceiling.

Year Round Destination (More information at www.mysticrental.com)

Massive renovation just completed Spring 2016 with new kitchen designed by a local architect and a professional chef. Everything you need to create incredible meals. This is a chef's dream kitchen that also has a constantly updated guide of where to get the absolute best ingredients. There is a seafood market that features local fish and shellfish less than a mile away.

There are 9 professionally decorated rooms, with new hardwood, tile, and plank flooring throughout. State-of-the-art electronics are constantly upgraded and maintained.

Every season here has its own sounds, views and activities that are truly unique. Set on Mason's Island in a wooded, gated community, easily accessed by a short causeway. Situated between the historic seaside villages of Mystic and Stonington. Ideal for walking, biking and sightseeing. An active osprey nest is just off the back yard. Close to Mystic Seaport and Aquarium, Foxwood Casino, beaches, Newport Mansions, Block Island Ferry and Amtrak. Enjoy farmers markets, art festivals, outstanding shopping, great restaurants and local seafood. A dock is available for your small boat. The glassed in sun porch is surrounded on three sides by water; Perfect for viewing the breathtaking sunsets and enjoying the ocean breezes. The waterside beauty can be enjoyed year round at this home.

Location: The house is located in a protected wetlands area with many old growth trees on the property. The house was carefully designed to fit into the surrounding environment. Egrets, osprey, deer turkeys, red fox, swans, and ducks are frequent visitors. There are seal sightings in the winter months. The sun room is surrounded on three sides by water and is a phenomenal spot to relax, read a book, or dine and watch the constant parade of boats going to Mystic Seaport and the marinas. More information at www.mysticrental.com

Walking, running, cycling: Mason's Island is ideal for outdoor activities. Limited traffic and wide paved roads are ideal for bicycles, walkers and runners. More serious cyclers go venture off the island to experience historic, beautiful scenery and a great mix of flat and hilly areas. There is a fully equipped bicycle shop only 1.6 miles away.

Dining: There are many restaurants in the area. Numerous restaurants are within 1.6 miles in Mystic and also in Stonington Village about 5 miles away. Stonington is a tiny picturesque colonial whaling village with narrow streets, stately houses and a choice of many very good restaurants as well as wonderful shops and ocean views, museums and historic walks.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Chuck (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

About Chuck

***** E-Mail Owner@MysticRental.com****

My wife and I live out of state. We use the house when we can and eventually plan to retire here. Our dachshund is a devoted Steelers fan

Chuck purchased this house in 1942

Why Chuck chose Connecticut Shore

My grandparents built this house in 1942 when there were only a few people on the Island. They were able to get an absolutely ideal location. I have been coming here since the 1950s. We have continually updated the house and have had it professionally decorated. We don't put very much away, so our guests will feel that they are in a real home, not a rental

What makes this house unique

Everybody who walks into the house is taken by the views and the way that it fits naturally into the setting. It is very well decorated but has a relaxed feel that makes it very comfortable. The sounds of the water and wildlife are simply incredible. The coziness does not mean antiquated. The electronics are incredible and easy to use. Security is foremost with digital door locks, security system, driveway surveillance, smoke/carbon monoxide detectors, and thermostats are of which are integrated and computer controlled. Home theater, stereo, and internet are very reliable and easy to use. Very clear instructions cover all aspects of the house, and a large notebook contains an exhaustive compilation of things to do.

Reviews

5
based on 21 traveler reviews

Secluded waterfront property with panoramic views and magnificent sunsets
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
5

Incredible Property

  • 5 of 5

This is an incredible property with wonderful owners.

The property:

The pictures show a great, inviting house and location. The reality is even better! The location is easy to find if you follow the directions. The house is wonderful! It is quite spacious, with many areas to relax and be mesmerized by the water. The views from inside and outside the house must be experienced to truly appreciate. We had great weather, so were able to utilize the outdoor seating often. The seating areas inside are numerous, you will never feel crowded here. The kitchen is fabulous! It is roomy with great updates and is well stocked with anything you might need. The bedrooms are spacious with very comfortable beds....you will get great sleep at night. The house has three full bathrooms and each shower has great water-pressure.

The owners:

Wonderful people. Communication with the owners was fantastic. They sent information about the history of the house and its changes/updates (adds to the appreciation of the house), guidelines as to eating options (restaurants, take-out and grocery store options), suggestions of near-by attractions (though you may not want to leave the house once you arrive) and thorough instructions about everything in the house. You can feel the love they have for this house. Thank you to them for sharing this gem with us!

We look forward to renting this house again and do not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family who will give this house the appreciation and care it deserves.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Magnificent setting in a lovely home on the water

  • 5 of 5

This property exceeded our expectations as it was nestled in a private location but was equipped with everything you could possibly want or need for a wonderful vacation on the Mystic river. The dock and the small private beach enabled you to go boating or swimming right from the house.

The owners were amazingly responsive to any communication and were absolutely delightful. There are actually two master bedroom suites with bathrooms that are both very spacious with plenty of room for clothing and accessories. The kitchen is equipped with absolutely anything a person could desire. It was recently renovated and is beautiful and functional. My family hopes to stay here next year as I am sure we could not possibly find a better home for our summer vacation in this area. Stoning ton and Mystic offer so much to do and yet when you are at this home you feel secluded in your own world enjoying the birds and all that surrounds you.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Glorious Stay --- Feels like floating on the sea!

  • 5 of 5

This is our third year staying here and it is quite simply the most relaxing glorious place to stay. It keeps getting better. The first year we were captivated by the sun room --- the places sits atop a rock outcropping and you are quite literally surround by water. It is easy for the day to slip by until the sun sets directly over the dock -- stunning. This year we were amazed by the new kitchen -- it is a chef's dream and the glass fish display that sits atop is wonderful. You know this is a special home and are grateful Glori and family share it. There are so many kind touches -- gentle directions on where to find things, how to use things, where you might get a bite, take a walk or go to a farmer's market. Feels like an old friend or dear family members has let you use the place while they are away. Unlike other shore places -- you are not on top of your neighbors -- but surrounded by lush land, marshes, water and the osprey family. At times I do wish there was no internet connection! -- so one could be on the rocks and off the grid. You will not find a more peaceful, well equipped, beautiful place on the shore. My 90 year old mother who has dementia waked up every morning arrived on the sun porch and exclaimed -- 'what a beautiful spot" as if each day it was the first time she saw the ocean and blue sky.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Get Together

  • 5 of 5

Right on the water, beautiful views, lovely sunroom with dining table so we could enjoy the sunsets while we dined.

Beds were comfortable, the owners supplied information about restaurants and attractions nearby. They even provided a bottle of wine as a welcoming gift!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

What a neat spot; contemporary design on the outside and perfectly preserved 1950's bathrooms on the inside. The location is superb - the kitchen albeit small if more than 2 people want to be in involved, is a cook and entertainers dream. The house rambles on presenting quiet nooks and crannies where one can get away to take a nap or catch up with a good book, We were in town for a large family wedding in nearby Mystic just 5 easy minutes up the road and we couldn't have picked a better place to be. The guest computer came in handy when my laptop decided to take a short vacation of it's own. The high end Weber grill was sweet too. A couple of nephews that were staying elsewhere on Masons Island enjoyed the dock for crabbing and fishing - nothing could have been or gone better.

Some of the interior photos could use some updating, flooring has changed in the sun-room and there is a large dining table with good chairs. Carpet in the main living area has been replaced with easy to clean wood flooring and the 2 facing white couches have also been replaced. Nice upgrades all around.

Owner and manager when needed was great to deal deal with.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gansevoort NY
5

Beyond Lovely

  • 5 of 5

Best birthday/vacation with all the bells and whistles! We had picture perfect weather the entire time. Very private and words can't express the views. Very comfortable accommodation's, we both slept so well. I have so many beautiful pictures. Owners are wonderful and I hope to come back next summer. Thank you!!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

The Pita Spot
"Very good food, family owned. Took off one start because it is no longer BYOB"
Car: necessary

Other Activities: Shopping, Boating

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mystic House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 16 2016 - Jan 6 2017
3 night minimum stay
$460
$3,200
 
 
Winter
Jan 7 2017 - Apr 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,800
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 2 2017 - Jun 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$460
$3,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150

Posted rates are approximate. The actual rate will depend on factors such as party size, pets, special accommodations etc.

The SERVICE FEE of $211 is automatically generated by HomeAway. If we accepted payments by credit card, HomeAway would charge you this in addition to the rental fee. Like many owners, you pay us directly, so the service fee is a part of the rental fee.

.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Mystic House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Macintosh Computer
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Sitting Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Master - 1 queen , New flooring throughout
    Upstairs 1 - 2 twin/ single , Hardwood flooring refinished Feb, 2015
    Upstairs 2 - 1 queen , Brand new hardwood floor installed Feb 2015
    Sunroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Repainted, new tile, and new furniture, Feb 201
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Lots more information available at www.mysticrental.com. (Our own website) Wood, tile, slate, and luxury vinyl flooring throughout. Amazing sunroom with water on three sides. Provides incredible views and has a large table for dining

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties