Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Luxury Mountain Log Home -Hike, Bike, Ski, Sled, Snowmobile

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths2
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

5 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 7 Baths (Sleeps 12-20); $499-699/night

For a video tour of our home, please scroll through the chain of 23 photos. In the 24th picture slot, you will find the video "Rocky Ridge Lodge." It gives you an accurate perspective of our home, inside and out, as well as the surrounding countryside.

This spectacular, one-of-a-kind log house was built by us in 2003. The 18' Engleman Spruce logs are from Southern Utah and were designed and built specially for our home -- truly a work of art! Sitting on 17.5 acres, high upon a ridge, the views are nothing less than amazing, including the Continental Divide.

Each room in the house has been carefully designed and decorated featuring high-end furnishings and comfort at every turn. An individual theme has been given to each of the five master suites, including the Luxury Master Suite, the Bear Room, the Moose Room, the Fish Room and the Cowboy Room. If you are a movie or game buff, check out our movie/game room with the projector TV and 11-foot movie screen with surround sound for a movie theater experience.

We are a NON-SMOKING, NO ANIMAL home. The owner's children, as well as some of our guests, have severe reactions to these allergens, and in order to safeguard their health and well-being, these requirements are non-negotiable.

All four seasons are enjoyed and appreciated in this home. It is a great gathering place, whether for relaxation, fun, beauty, nature or to create memories of a lifetime. Our favorites are tubing down our road in the winter and building a fire to roast s'mores in the summer!

We hope to provide an unforgettable vacation for you and fulfill your dreams!

Weddings - If you are looking for a place to hold a small wedding or reception, this may be the place! Details are as follows: There is a fee of $10 per person for those not already listed in the rental contract as staying guests; the cleaning fee is raised to $300, and damage deposit is raised to $750. Caterers must haul out their own trash. There is a limit of 40 people on the property.

More Details

Property Manager
Nila Watterson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Oh my gosh.....we had the most amazing time in the lodge. Everything was absolutely perfect and we felt soooooo at home! We literally moved in and felt like we'd been there for years. was a very magical time for our family and we couldn't be more thankful that this property came available when it did. Truly, they did a fantastic job with everything in the house and didn't skip a beat! I would love to have a place like this to retreat to whenever I wanted!!!!

Thank you for everything. truly was a magical time for our family as this was the first Christmas without my dad. We embraced the holiday and filled it with love and memories. We would love to come back sometime! And the Christmas tree was beautiful!!! Thank you!
Dec 2016
  • 1 of 4


Nearest Airport
112 Miles
Denver International Airport
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Solvista Golf & Ski Ranch
Nearest Train
0.27 Miles
Granby Train Station
Nearest Motorway
4.5 Miles
Highway 40
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Several restaurants
Nearest Ski
4 Miles
Ski Granby Ranch

Our mountain home is located on 17.5 acres and sits on a ridge overlooking the Continental Divide and Byers Peak, as well as a vast valley view of Granby and Ski Granby Ranch Ski Area. We located 1.5 hours from Denver and 4 miles east of Granby on County Road 60. Hot Sulphur Springs is located 25 minutes away and is one of the nation's oldest, largest and finest natural hot mineral springs, as well as a swimming pool. Ute Indians once bathed there, healing mind, body and spirit. In the winter enjoy a horse-drawn sled ride in nearby Fraser. Ski Granby Ranch provides skiing and tubing -- very family friendly! Snowshoeing and ice fishing in the wintertime. Experience a rodeo over the weekends in Granby. An intriguing fossil bed near Kremmling. Alpine slide at Winter Park. Take Trail Ridge Road over Rocky Mountain National Park for a scenic drive to Estes Park, another fun mountain tourist town.

Other Activities: shopping, boating, kayaking, basketball court, racquetball, mini golf, health/beauty spa, snowboarding, snowmobiling, cross country skiing, horseshoes


Granby House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Master Suite
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Cowboy Suite
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , shower , Moose Suite
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Bear Suite
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Fish Suite
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , Main level
    Bathroom 7 - toilet , Lower level
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 5 - Bear - 4 twin/ single , Twin Adult bunk beds
    Bedroom 4 - Fish - 1 king , 2 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sleep sofa
    Bedroom 6- Loft - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sleep sofa
    Bedroom 3 - Cowboy - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sofa sleeper - sleeps 1
    Bedroom 1 - Master - 1 king , King Bed sleeps 2
    Bedroom 2 - Moose - 1 queen , 2 child bed , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Child bed is a crib sized bunk bed that sleeps 2 children
    Bedroom 7- Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Sleep sofa sleeps 2
  • The moose room also has a Single sleep sofa. The baby crib is a portable fold-away crib and there is also a bunk bed with crib sized mattresses. The loft is an open area on the upper floor between the moose and cowboy rooms. The den is a room with a door on the lower level of the house. The adult sized bunk beds, are twin width, not double.
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • autumn foliage
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
TV projector with 11-foot movie screen with surround sound; Space Duel arcade machine; two massage chairs; flat screen TV; 12-foot log picnic table and speaker system on rear deck; fire pit with log benches, horse shoe pits and child play system; adult tree swing; hammock; wildlife mounts; in floor radiant heat; 4 washers, 5 dryers; 5 Master Bedroom suites; 2 ovens, 1 warming oven; 2 dishwashers; grand dining table for 12 with separate kids' eating table for 10; Hot Sulphur Springs is 11 miles up the road: Winter Park Ski Resort (20 minutes away) has world-class skiing; other local amenities include horse-drawn sled rides, Skiing at Ski Granby Ranch, tubing in Fraser, rodeos in Granby, fossils, dude ranches, Alpine slide, Rocky Mountain National Park


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(69 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
1% Complete
Secluded Luxury Mountain Log Home -Hike, Bike, Ski, Sled, Snowmobile
average rating of 4.7391305 based on 73 reviews

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5

We adored this cabin. It was spotlessly clean, spacious, and had a million dollar view. It even came with a playground for the kids! The location was perfect--close to other fun places to play and hike, yet just isolated enough to feel like we were all alone. Winter Park is close by, as is Granby Lake. We gathered family from Oregon, Texas, Colorado, Utah, and Montana, and everyone was thrilled with our experience. The price was very reasonable, and I've been recommending to everyone I know. Thank you for providing us with the perfect place to gather. We won't forget our amazing experiences here!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great House

  • 4 of 5

Large house, lots of room. Great view. Needs better beds

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed our home and the scenery! We enjoyed having you as guests at Rocky Ridge Lodge. A note about the beds - they are Sleep Number beds, and can be adjusted to any degree of softness or firmness that our guests wish.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Hoornstra/Fredrich wedding

  • 4 of 5

We were very happy with the view, the accomodations, the proximity to the venue used by the wedding. Lovely home away from home. My only criticism is that the house will sleep 20 and should not be asking for $15 a day per person over the number of 12. I believe the cost of the stay is more than enough to compensate for the additional water and utilities that may be used. I am also a bit surprised that if you have jetted tubs but don't want them used, what is the point. Water being the issue.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Rocky Ridge Lodge, and that the home met your expectations. We are thrilled when our guests have taken home happy memories made while staying here. Regarding the fee for guests after the 12th: This is a common practice for homes able to accommodate larger groups. The more people there are using the home, the more it costs the owners. The water use increases, there is more wear and tear on the furnishings and appliances, the furniture and rugs need cleaning more often, more electricity is required, and the chances of something getting broken or damaged are increased. Owners charge extra for large groups to cover these expenses. Regarding the jetted tubs: Guests may use them any time they wish. The owner only asks that they not be filled all at the same time to avoid stressing the well. We are truly sorry for the confusion.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Family Trip !!!

  • 5 of 5

Accommodations were great for our family of 12 from Wisconsin!!!

The mt views, family deck times and evenings around the fire pit left us with lasting happy memories .

Great location for rafting, 4 wheeling and Alpine Sliding in Winter Park.

We would highly recommend this beautiful log home to anyone.

Ed Carla & Family

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Vacation Lodge

  • 5 of 5

We had a family reunion of 10 people. The Lodge was spacious, beautiful and tastefully

furnished with a breathtaking view. It had all the amenities and was well stocked with kitchen

and bathroom necessities. It has a beautiful fire pit outside as well.We would recommend the lodge for a vacation and would love to go back some day.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Disappointing experience

  • 2 of 5

We were disappointed in the accommodations, particularly for the amount of money we spent. I emailed my concerns to the property manager but haven't heard back so I am posting this review which is an edited reproduction of what I sent to them. I don't expect that this will decrease their number of bookings, but hopefully it will give you an idea of what to expect so that your experience will be better than ours.

-There is no A/C and so the house was approaching 80 degrees when we arrived. We used the windows and the few fans available but the house was regularly near or at 80 degrees.

There were many restrictive rules:

-There is a disposal in the sink but you aren't supposed to use it.

-There are whirlpool tubs, but you can't use them owing to a limited quantity of well water.

-There is a grill, but if you attach propane to it, it might explode so only use the small grill.

-One washing machine doesn't work.

-One dryer makes a horrible squeaking noise and doesn’t work well at all.

-There is a giant projector but you aren’t allowed to touch it or hook anything to it.

-If you want to hook up a video game system, you are allowed use the TV in the main floor living room but it is very old and has no HDMI input. The owner is apparently unaware that there is an HDMI port on the front of the receiver downstairs which requires no touching or moving of other cords.

-You’re not allowed to pop popcorn in the microwave.

-There is a big arcade game but it doesn't work.

-There is a ping pong table but it's in the hot, humid garage (which doesn’t vent the ancient dryer very well) and the net's falling down.

-Many other appliances are also very old.

-There is a beautiful antique organ but you can't touch it (so why even have it in the house?)

-The master bedroom has a sliding glass door leading to the balcony but you’re not allowed to use it.

-The wifi wasn't working when we arrived and we couldn't find it because it was hidden in a tree and that wasn't written down anywhere in the instructions.

There are constant reminders plastered all over the home of all the things we weren’t supposed to do, which led us to feel that we weren't really welcome in the home.

We have stayed in multiple vacations homes prior to this for family reunions as well as multiple private homes and apartments through other websites and this is one of the more restrictive, disappointing experiences we have had, particularly for the amount of money we paid.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The owner calls each guest before arrival to answer any questions they might have, and to explain how everything works at the lodge. To have a guest give this negative a review is disappointing. We only hope that future guests will take a moment to read all the other reviews, and draw their own conclusions. We would like to address the most serious issues below. Cost: The cost of renting our home is clearly stated on the quote we sent to this guest. This is a 5000 sq. ft., 1.5 million dollar home that sleeps 20 people, elegantly decorated, in a gorgeous area. The price is fair and comparable for what you get. AC: This home is at 8500 ft in the Rocky Mountains. When the house gets warm in the summer, most of our guests open the windows to get a good breeze, which generally keeps the temperatures in the home comfortable. Sink Disposals: Both disposals are available for guest use. Whirlpool tubs: These are available for guests to use. The owner asks only that they not all be filled AT THE SAME TIME so as not to overtax our well pump. Grill: There is a sign on one of the grills that says “Out of order. Please use the other grill.” Washing Machines: The housekeeper checked all the washing machines after this guest left. They all work. Projector: The owner spoke with this guest at arrival, gave permission to this guest to connect his gaming system, and had the owner’s son explain exactly how to hook it into the projector. Popcorn ban: We have NO IDEA what the basis of this statement is. Antique organ: This organ is a family heirloom. It is there because it is beautiful, looks elegant in the room, and has sentimental value for the family. Having non-musician guests attempting to play it seems an unwise move to maintain its beauty. Wifi: The owner explained to this guest at arrival that the wifi equipment is hidden in an artificial tree in the great room so that it isn’t noticeable. At arrival, the guest couldn’t get the wifi to work and called the owner, who had him reset the system, correcting the problem. The wi-fi is a little slower than what the guest wanted, but this house is, after all, in a remote area at 8500 feet in elevation. Signs: The owner does have a few signs in his home that explain expectations. They are designed to help guests preserve the excellent condition of the home and are not meant to be punitive. I’m sorry this guest found them objectionable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $225
Additional Guest Fee $15 per person per night
Damage Deposit $500

Cancellation Policy: Reservations cancelled less than 60 days before scheduled arrival date will be charged the entire sum unless we are able to re-rent the home. Any cancellations prior to 60 days will be charged a $75.00 service fee. Should you wish to cancel this reservation, notice of cancellation must be in writing or e-mail and received more than 60 days prior to your check-in date. Owner reserves the right to cancel any reservation on a 45-day advance notice. Payment for the full amount must be received at least 60 days prior to arrival date unless prior arrangements have been made because of a late booking.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.