check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Henry S Thompson

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french

The Little House on Hancock Point, Ocean Front, Acadia National Park View

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 14 nights

Overview

Hancock Point House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Charming house in Hancock Point summer community, right on Frenchman Bay with shared private beach, looking across to the mountains of Acadia National Park. Quiet location, yet only 20-minute drive to Ellsworth for groceries and shopping, walk to the Crocker House or drive 10 minutes to Salt Box or Chester Pike's for excellent food. Public dock, tennis courts and a library all within walking distance.

Please do not use "instant quote", or try to pay using the website: you will be charged a substantial fee by VRBO, which I don't get and didn't agree to: just fill in your dates and click "send email".

Keywords: House, view, oceanfront

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Henry S Thompson (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)
The Little House on Hancock Point, Ocean Front, Acadia National Park View
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 7 reviews
North Easton, Massachusetts
4

Rustic Cottage in a Perfect Location

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I (and 2 small dogs) are finishing up our 4th stay in the Little House. We love the quiet location with awesome ocean views and sounds. The cottage is definitely a dated, no frills sort of place, but works for us. It

is always spotlessly clean. Bring comfortable beach chairs to relax in while you enjoy your coffee or drink on the deck. Can't wait to come back again.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great location, needs work

  • 2 of 5

First of all, we had a great vacation in this area of Maine and this cottage was a perfect location for our explorations. The cottage itself was right-sized for two people. It was, however, dated and in poor condition in some places. The entry stairs were weathered with no railing. Once inside, the interior displays spotty maintenance and dated and worn furniture. I will say the cottage was spotlessly clean.

The back deck was in poor condition and my husband cut himself on a nail and I slipped down the steps due to moisture. No real harm done but yowza.

The "big house" is right next door -- 10' away. And the grill is shared. And it kind of doesn't work--roasts more than grills. Fortunately for us, the family next door was cool and not there that much. But it's definitely a shared property.

Stairs down to the beach about the same state as the wood everywhere. Not a swimming beach.

Views great and the place definitely has a feeling of "place" to it. But I hope some maintenance occurs soon. This little cottage deserves it.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

The prior reviewers of this property had to be Friends/Family

  • 1 of 5

As fellow VRBO owners, we were surprised at the condition of the cottage.....It is far from charming, the shower floor was covered in rust and mildew.....the windows only partially worked, the ceilings in the living room and bathroom wall were covered with mold. Unfortunately, we had to leave early after three days (we had booked a week) because of the mold situation. The bath towels were all stained, well worn and something that should not be at a homeless shelter. We tried to cook in the kitchen, but we were unable to manually light the stove, which is vintage 1920s. I used the barbecue one night and was lectured by someone in the adjoining large house, situated right next to this guest cottage, about how to turn off the tank, and clean up after myself. Just a word of advise, if you have small kids or pets, there is NO railing on the elevated rear porch, the bottom step down is broken out (my husband twisted his ankle), and approximately 15 yards off the rear deck is a 20' drop to the rocks below at waters edge.....It is partially blocked by a poorly placed 2x4 about 5' off the ground. The view is great......Both my husband and I were bitten by something in our sleep, my husband on his rt thigh and me behind the rt ear, which took several days to heal. Other than that the "The play was great Mrs Lincoln". My husband and I rarely complain about anything, but we sent digital images to the owner and he agreed not to charge us for the remaining days on our stay......

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry you were disappointed with the Little House. In fact, the prior reviewers were all renters unknown to us. The price, and the description on the website, reflect the fact that this cottage is not new and has been well-lived-in. It is, however, also well-loved by most of the people who stay in it, some of whom come back year after year. Very sorry about the mould, which we have since addressed. The shower base is stained, but clean and not slippery, and the 'stains' in the towel are bleach. Nonetheless, we'll make sure all the bath towels are unstained in future; we may leave some older towels for beach use. We're also sorry you had trouble with the oven (not the stove-top burners, which are working fine) - it appears that the pilot light had gone out: our local manager would have been happy to help if you had contacted her, as our welcome information advises.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Right next door to the Big House

  • 5 of 5

We rented both the Big House and the Little House for our family reunion. It worked out perfectly. Granddaddy and Grandmama stayed in the Little House which allowed for an earlier bedtime for them. Most of their time was spent next door with family in the Big House. The Little House is a cozy camp house with everything one would need, and it is all on one floor. The view and the sound of the water at night are beautiful and relaxing.This is a great location for day trips to Acadia and also for staying on the Point and enjoying pleasant walks. The owner could not be easier to work with. We highly recommend this home for a couple looking for a get-away on the coast of Maine.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pembroke, MA
4

Million dollar view

  • 4 of 5

A clean and cozy cottage with with an amazing view across the waters of Frenchman's Bay to the mountains of Acadia -- and the cruise ships visiting Bar Harbor! We loved the place, despite the fact that certain aspects have gone beyond shabby/chic to just plain shabby. This mid-century cottage needs some sprucing up, not to make it chic or luxurious, but keep it reasonably attractive and in good working order. I think the people who would rent this place would be, like us, interested in savoring the beauties of the place, and would not be using the cottage merely as a place to sleep. It's distance from the noise and crowds is one of its chief features, and so a little more attention to the upkeep of the cottage would guarantee that folks like us would rave about the place and we would make a point of returning.

I checked the box to recommend this cottage for those over 55 but should include the caveat that the lawn is treacherously uneven and that there's quite a drop from the first stair to the lawn. This comes as a surprise especially when one is going out. Otherwise the one-floor layout is ideal.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you liked so many things about the Little House, and will be doing so work to, as you suggest, "spruce it up" a bit over the winter
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Chicago
5

Perfectly located house, great for couples

  • 5 of 5

I've been coming to Hancock Point since I was a child and this was the first time I came without my family; my fiance and I did a road trip with Hancock Point as our destination, and were excited to find such a great affordable place that could accommodate a couple, especially since so many places on the Point are larger and more for families. The little house has a cute little porch--the view is not as amazing as the big house because of the trees, but the pictures are accurate, and it doesn't really matter when you have beach access (nice beach, good combo of rocks and beach area), and a wooden deck to be able to relax on during lunch or cocktail hour. The house itself is typical Maine; rustic cottage, so not for people looking for a luxury home. If you want that, you shouldn't be on Hancock Point. The bedroom is great, it has a nice view of Mt. Desert Island and windows for a breeze, and the house is perfectly located for walking to the library and everywhere else around the point. The owner is great, responsive, provides all the info you need, and is often next door during the season. We tried to rent again this year but waited too long; I would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Trenton
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Blinkbonnie
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Route 1
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Crocker House Country Inn
Nearest Beach
On the property
Car: necessary

Acadia National Park is 45 minutes by car

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hancock Point House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 18 2016 - Sep 17 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
Late
Sep 18 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$110
$700
 
 
My Standard Rate
14 night minimum stay
$600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $50

Please do not use "instant quote", or try to pay using the website: you will be charged a substantial fee by VRBO, which I don't get and didn't agree to. If in doubt, please contact me directly at ht@hppllc.org.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hancock Point House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size bed (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties