Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fresh unit - #328 $110 night 4/10 - 12/22 Overlooks pool & beautiful Maalaea Ba

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Condo 1 Bedroom + Futon, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4). Local agent Carlos Pacheco Pacheco


We have just finished extensive re-modeling, including new 18x18 Italian floor tile throughout, new kitchen and bath cabinets with granite countertops, and brand new teak plantation style furniture.

Our home away from home is located on the third floor, and has expansive ocean views from the bedroom and living room lanais. Our unit also faces the beautiful INTERIOR of the complex and/or overlooks the well manicured tropical landscaping and pool area (versus many other units overlooking the exterior and/or the mountain view/parking lot area).

Our condo is located in the Kauhale Makai Resort, and is also known as Village by the Sea. Our address is 938 South Kihei Road, #328, Kihei, Maui, Hawaii, and we are on the ocean side of Kihei Road. Our unit comfortably sleeps four with a brand new serta king size bed with luxurious 600 thread count sheets, and queen size futon in the living room.

Our condo complex features a manned lobby, concierge service for booking your outings, elevators, coin operated laundry rooms on every floor, newly remodeled pool area plus a kiddie pool and Jacuzzi, gas fireplaces adjacent to the pool, a putting green, a volley ball court, and shuffleboard. We also have the most incredible ocean side tennis courts immediately adjacent to our complex. And we have broadband high speed internet (the fastest speed on the island).

We are a 20 minute drive from Maui – Kahului Airport. We are 2 minutes from downtown Kihei with grocery stores, restaurants, and shopping aplenty. We are within 5 minutes of the world famous Kamaole I, II, and III beaches. And we are within 10 minutes of beautiful Wailea and the upscale 'Shops at Wailea' shopping center.

Maui is world famous for its beaches, and you will find that you can trek from the beach in front of our unit endlessly along the coastline.

We have an activity director in our lobby, which can assist you in booking endless fun, including: luaus, whale watching tours, sailing, horseback riding, snorkeling, golf, biking down a volcano, wine tasting, fishing, jet skiing, windsurfing, surfing, etc…, etc…, etc…

We take pride in our home away from home and hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

Aloha and welcome,

Jim and Debbie, owners since 1983

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Jim deDiego
Member since: 1999
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018

About Jim deDiego

We have owned this unit since 1983 and have remodeled our unit 3 times constantly bringing it up to meet the needs of our clients. We have been very involved in the property and on our six week stays, we make sure that everything meets our standards. We have been with VRBO since 1999, one of the beginning members. It is truly our home away from home.

Jim deDiego purchased this condo in 1983

Why Jim deDiego chose Kihei

We bought this property in 1983 because of its beautiful surroundings, great location on the water, close proximity to shopping, elevator, in unit air conditioning and beautiful view of the ocean. At night, the lights of Maalaea Harbor are lit up, and you can see the far away lights of cars coming and going to Lahaina. Whales are constantly seen from the lanai during whale season.

What makes this condo unique

Free whale watching from our lanai. A view of what is happening at the pool and BBQ area. Watching the sail boats stop in front of our complex to let their paying guests swim with the turtles. Watching sail boarders in the afternoon zipping to and fro from our lanai. Wading in and walking through hand made areas where fish reach maturity along our beaches. Letting go of life's complications and just relaxing and enjoying the birds and ocean views. Staying connected with love one's through our high speed wifi.


Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tile floor, shower.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • parasailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Elevators, Central Air Conditioning, Broadband High Speed Internet (fastest available on the island), 5 CD Stereo System, Wicker chairs and footrests on the balcony, Pool, Hot Tub, washers/dryers (coin-op), Refigerator, Stove, brand new serta king size bed, 600 thread-count Linens, Cookware & Utensils, Gas BBQ's, Queen-size Futon in Living Room


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(92 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
26% Complete
2% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Fresh unit - #328 $110 night 4/10 - 12/22 Overlooks pool & beautiful Maalaea Ba
average rating of 4.619565 based on 92 reviews

Great unit

  • 5 of 5

This is a nice unit with a great view of ocean and pool area. Everything you need to cook in if you want, comfy bed, nice tiled shower. We will stay there again.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your continued yearly renting of our home in paradise. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hood River, OR

The view was nice. Other than that I don't have anything nice to say.

  • 1 of 5

The condo was disgustingly dirty. Dishes in the kitchen cabinets were dirty. Cabinets themselves were dirty, floors were dirty. The futon in the living room was insanely uncomfortable. We pulled out the blender to make a mixed drink... the blades looked like they had never been cleaned. They were full of black gunk! Yuck! The shower floor looked so dirty we wore our flipflops in the shower.

The condo seriously needs a deep cleaning and updated.

Would NOT recommend.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I spoke with our cleaning crew who has been working for us for over 15 years. They disagree with your view of things. We have also not had any complaints from anyone else. Sorry you had such a terrible time. A phone call to me would have drawn a quick response as well, but you failed to do that. It is easier to work out problems as they are there instead of writing a terrible review with no prior call. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, comfortable, great location

  • 4 of 5

Well stocked, nice hot tub, comfy bed. All very clean. Super friendly and helpful reception. Right on nice beach for our young son to play. All very enjoyable

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed yourself. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Construction noise - bring earplugs

  • 2 of 5

We liked the pictures and artwork - very pretty and the grounds are well maintained. Great elevators. Be sure to bring earplugs you'll need them - We weren't told the complex was in full construction mode, jackhammers, saws, and noise - we were expecting a peaceful get away. We also experienced construction on the units above and adjacent to ours and needed to shut the sliding doors to keep the sawdust from coming in. Interesting discovery, the dining area conducts sound so that natural speaking echoes painful to our ears.

Bring your own cutting knives, proper wine glasses (plastic provided), wash cloths (1 provided). Be prepared to buy many kitchen essentials: salt&pepper, aluminum foil, plastic wrap, etc. Coffee filters are provided. The dishwasher is not plumbed properly (bypasses the air gap and the drain is not looped above the garbage disposal which could allow bacteria to enter dishwasher). Dishwasher needs wheel under the heavy lower tray.

The BBQ's were garbage and we ruined a few meals trying them out. They all need to be replaced. The toilet is old (not low flow) using much more water and takes a long time to shut off (flapper shot).

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You received a phone call from me and e-mail about the construction going on the whole complex, and you responded it would be fine. You failed to mention the construction was on the other building across the way. The bathroom was remodeled 3 years ago, and HOA said the toilet had to be the same flow because of the stack units. Not my call. I agree with you on the dishwasher needing to be replaced, but that will be dealt with once our HOA special assessment is taken care of. As to the knives, there were plenty on our stay in September and October. There were condiments when we left, but when people use them and do not replace, there could be a problem. Wash cloths and towels are provided and are in the baskets in ththe closet. They were replaced in October. You are the first person to complain about the HOA bbq area. Sorry you had such a horrible time, but it appears you are quite picky.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The location was perfect. The view was spectaluar. The actual condo could use some updating. .

  • 4 of 5

The owner was very accommodating to our late check out.

They are doing a major renovation to the exterior of the Building so during the week it was noisy.

The actual condo could use new furniture in the living room and dishwasher.

The view and location was perfect!!!!

I would recommend this unit..

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: New dishwasher is in the plans. Thank you for the kind words. We too love our view. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed stay. Rooms clean & well stocked.

Had lightning storm on last day & were without electricity otherwise the stay was great.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the storm, but glad you enjoyed your stay and the accommodations. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Kahalui Airport
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Piilani Highway
Nearest Beach
In front of Kauhale Makai
Car: recommended

On site activities include, Putting Green, Volleyball, Tennis Courts, Beach walking


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning/registration fe $140
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 13.92%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.