check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Richard and Sue

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Mountain Side On Hill Ski-in Cabin with Private Hot Tub - min. to chairlift

30 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

Fernie Townhome Rental Photos and Description

Townhome, 3 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 3.5+ Baths (Sleeps 8)

NOTE TO CANADIANS: VRBO.COM & HOMEAWAY.COM DISPLAY PRICES IN $US ONLY

Enjoy the best of both worlds - the seclusion of Polar Peak Lodges nestled among the tall pines while the convenience of ski-in accommodation. This mountainside town home is beautifully appointed, and has a well equipped granite kitchen ideal for large families.

The town home works extremely well for two families. Parents can enjoy privacy upstairs (3 bedrooms - master has queen bed with ensuite and walk-in; 2nd and 3rd bedrooms have king and double beds respectively, all decorated with True North pine furniture). The entertainment unit on the main floor features a flat screen TV, DVD and stereo. The lower level is great for the kids, with 2 sets of single bunks, a full private bathroom, and separate entertainment area with fireplace.

See also www.vrbo.com/776116

.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Richard and Sue (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Richard and Sue

We (Sue and Richard) hail from Southwestern Ontario and Trinidad respectively, and currently make Toronto our home. Our blended family of four children, all in their twenties, are now leaving the nest one by one. We are an eclectic group of avid skiers/snowboarders, swimmers, scuba divers, hikers, sailors, musicians, food and wine lovers!

Richard and Sue purchased this townhome in 2001

Why Richard and Sue chose British Columbia Mountains

We vacationed in Fernie in 2000, and fell in love with the hometown feel and friendliness of this small and historic mining community which offered the best powder skiing in Canada.

Polar Peak is a magical place for us, nestled amongst the pines and firs at the Fernie Alpine Resort. By day it is a great base for the many activities offered in Fernie and the Elk Valley. By night it is engulfed by a wondrous canopy of stars so bright that you realize that the universe has taken extra special care to create this unique and unspoiled mecca. It is a place to re-balance, to pursue the joy of life (and its real priorities!), and enjoy family and friends.

Our favourite outings – apart from fabulous skiing (Oh... what powder!!!), hiking the Lost Boys Pass along the ridge to Polar Peaks or the trails around Island Lake Lodge, and thereafter enjoying a BBQ with friends. Farther afield, hiking Glacier and Waterton National Parks.

Reviews

5
based on 30 traveler reviews

Mountain Side On Hill Ski-in Cabin with Private Hot Tub - min. to chairlift
average rating of 4.9666667 based on 30 reviews
Edmonton
5

Great Condo!

  • 5 of 5

Came to Ski Fernie for some awesome spring skiing with 5 people and we were pleasantly surprised how nice this condo is and the ski conditions were the best ever. Tons of room, well kept, great location, sun was shinning! With 3 couples, the condo can accommodate 10 people. Owner was great to deal with. Will be back for sure!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto
5

A perfect home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Visited with family which included a baby, and the space and layout were great. Living, dining, kitchen and a powder room on the main floor, three bedrooms upstairs with one ensuite and another three piece bath, and a lower level with four bunks, an additional living area with fireplace and a foosball table made this a place where everyone had lots of space to hang out. The condo was well stocked, beds comfortable with nice linens, in a great location and had a good sized hot tub looking out over the woods. We found it very quiet and away from the hub bub of the resort yet easy enough to get to and from the hills. We would have no hesitation in recommending this property and hope to return.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Happy Idaho Skiers

  • 5 of 5

We booked this condo for 8 people, not all couples. Sleeping arrangements are always challenging under this dynamic. We found the accomodations more than sufficient for our size group (bunk beds were a nice alternative and the boy's affectionally referred to it as the "bunkhouse") The condo was incredibly stocked, the location was awesome and the hot tub was a real plus! We found the employees at Fernie were incredibly helpful in any questions we had concerning the resort and the skiing was spectacular - never really had clear visibility but powder was outstanding! We ski a lot normally and try to take one epic trip a year, this was a very memorable experience and I would highly recommend this condo, and mountain!

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Ski Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Great home in an amazing spot to ski and snowboard. Very spacious with tons of room for our 7 adult travellers. Loved the hot tub and amazing scenery! Would book again.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
5

Fabulous multi family rental

  • 5 of 5

We rented this condo from Richard over the Christmas break and it was a fantastic experience! Right from the beginning Richard was great to deal with through e-mail and even called when we first got there to make sure everything was good. There were 2 families consisting of 4 adults and 4 kids staying in the condo and there was more than enough room for everyone.

The kids enjoyed hanging out in the basement which had everything they needed and the adults enjoyed the main level where there was plenty of room to relax. The huge windows were also very nice.

The kitchen had everything we needed. It was very well stocked with dishes, utensils, storage containers for leftovers and lots of different spices for cooking. I was very happy with everything that was provided.

The upstairs had plenty of space for everyone and the bedrooms were larger than I was expecting.

Loved having the hot tub right outside the basement door after a great day of skiing!

We loved the ski-in route through the trees that we took to get home but the walk up the hill to the ski lifts was a bit long for the younger kids.

We have stayed at several VRBO rentals over the years and this has been one of the best!! It was like a home away from home, the location was great and the owner really cares about your experience!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kim, Thank you for your excellent review. It was great having you and your family stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed using the facilities especially the hot tub, the kitchen, its appliances and spices. Please consider us again for your next stay in Fernie. You're welcome any time. Cheers Richard
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Very happy customers

  • 5 of 5

This was my first time booking through VRBO and I am super happy with the end results. The condo was exactly as described and was very clean and accommodated our group size perfectly. The condo owner was very nice and easy to work with. The location was superb for our group enjoying mountain running and downhill mountain biking. The hot tub was very nice and clean and really enjoyed after our daily activities.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Airports:

Cranbrook/Canadian Rockies International Airport, BC - 62 miles or 99 km

Calgary International Airport, Alberta - 193 miles or 311 km

Glacier International Airport, Kalispell, Montana - 110 miles or 177 km

Other Activities: Hiking, river tubing, white water rafting

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fernie Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Autumn
Sep 6 2016 - Dec 1 2016
3 night minimum stay
$226
$1,472
 
 
Early Winter
Dec 2 2016 - Dec 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
$324
 
 
Christmas Period
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 25 2016
5 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
New Year
Dec 26 2016 - Jan 1 2017
5 night minimum stay
$565
 
 
Early Winter
Jan 2 2017 - Feb 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$411
 
 
Mid Winter
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 25 2017
5 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
Late Winter
Feb 26 2017 - Apr 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$411
 
 
Spring Skiing
Apr 2 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$324
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $170
Refundable damage deposit $566
Tax Rate 5.0%

Payment:
Email transfer, cheques, wire transfer
Credit Cards Accepted: Visa, MasterCard (3% fee extra)
Applicable tax (5%) will be added to all rates above. Cleaning charges will apply. Rates will be higher for two day stays.
Damage Protection of $750 is pre-authorized upon arrival on a valid credit card

Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Fernie Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort
  • Ski-In ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Ski & Snowboard
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
After an incredible day of skiing, mountain biking, rafting or hiking, relax away the aches in your own private hot tub or challenge friends to a game of foosball. In the warmer months entertain on the spacious balcony complete with natural gas BBQ. (Note: Damage deposit required). Cooking Utensils Provided: The kitchen is fully equipped and just like home, complete with waffle-maker, blender, mix-master and crock pot. Kid Friendly: This unit is ideal for two families with kids, with games, foosball, and lower level bunk bed and entertainment area.

Partner Offers