check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

MERMAID'S WAKE - Oceanfront Cottage - Pet Friendly

16 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights


Corolla Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Perfect house for the single family!! Come to MERMAIDS' WAKE!

Rents weekly Sunday to Sunday. Escape the Saturday traffic!

THREE, FOUR, AND FIVE NIGHT STAYS AVAILABLE - Call or email for rates. .

Swim, surf, kayak, surf-fish, enjoy the beach driving experience! Unobstructed ocean views and great ocean breezes make 'Mermaid's Wake' a fabulous place to spend your precious vacation time. This three bedroom, two bath home is secluded enough to be on the path of the Corolla Wild Horses, yet only minutes away from the quaint town of Corolla. Single level home with 3 bedrooms (1 is a master), 2 baths, laundry, kitchen and great room. This home also offers oceanfront sundecks for relaxing in the sun and sound side decks for spectacular sunset views! DIRECT beach access is only steps away. Enclosed outside shower with hot and cold water and a changing room.

Great Room - TV, DVD, Stereo w/CD player, DVD library, Book library

Kitchen - Fully equipped kitchen, dining table, breakfast bar

Bedroom #1 - Queen Master (private bath w/shower - no tub) with TV

Bedroom #2 - Queen with TV/DVD

Bedroom #3 - Pyramid Bund (double on bottom, twin on top) with TV, Games

Hall Bath - Shower no tub

Decks - Oceanfront with deck furniture, soundside with gas grill

Starter Kit of paper goods provided, cleaning supplies provided, kitchen spices provided. Beach chairs and umbrella.

This property is managed by Carova Rentals which serves the 4WD area exclusively. We are a small local vacation rental company able to provide personalized concierge service, including a beach escort to your house if you are unfamiliar with driving on the beach and the off-road area. Bed and bath linens are provided in season, and you will find sufficient toilet paper, paper towels, soap, and drinking water to get you started.

Ten percent discount for Military/Law Enforcement.

Four wheel drive required. You must drive 3 1/2 miles on the sandy beach to access home. All wheel drive vehicles not recommended.

Keywords: Beach House, cottage, vacation rental, Mermaid's Wake, carova rentals, Carova Beach, Swan Beach, Four Wheel Drive

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Karen Gregory
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
October 24, 2016
Call Manager

Guestbook comments from the manager

Had a wonderful time at the beach. The dogs LOVED it, the weather was great, and it was the perfect getaway from our busy lives in DC. Everything was great for our 5 year wedding anniversary.

PS - Loved the selection of movies.
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 1


based on 16 traveler reviews

MERMAID'S WAKE - Oceanfront Cottage - Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.4375 based on 17 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We are enjoying out stay here. It's the closest to the beach you can get in this area for this price. The decor could be a bit better (have a more beachy feel), and it smelled like smoke when we first got here, but nothing a little cleaner can't fix. The location is perfect. The managers have been awesome. The house isn't too small for my husband, 7 month old and I. We were surprised with how roomy everything feels. WiFi is spotty, but we aren't here to browse the internet, so I can't really complain about that. Overall, we definitely plan to return many times. Definitely our new vacation spot.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Louisville, KY

Wonderful Get Away

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here in April of 2016. The owners were fabulous and checked in with us often to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The views of the ocean were spectacular. The house is not far away from the beach which makes taking a quick morning or evening walk easy and enjoyable. The amenities the house offered made it easy to relax and enjoy the stay. I would definitely return here for stay and can highly recommend it to anyone looking for a nice get-away.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Columbus, Ohio

Mermaid's Wake

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Mermaid's Wake was for a week. The owners were very hospitable and caring and provided everything necessary for a stress free vacation. The interior was well stocked and very clean. The exterior allowed for maximum enjoyment of both sun and beach with easy beach access and a deck that was spacious and allowed great views in all directions. The deck also had speakers attached and we were able to enjoy music through the sound system provided. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

summer stay

  • 2 of 5

House is situated close to beach but be ready for trucks runnig up and down the beach all day/night. We waited entire week for the internet wifi to be fixed, and we were told repeatedly that someone was coming to look at it, but it still wasn't working when we left on Suday. We were offered a small refund, but check was smaller than stated when recieved.

House is well stocked with suplies, and we had frequent wild horse sightings.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a terrible situation with the Internet. After trouble shooting all week long it was finally determined that the line was cut out by the road. I thought the owners were very generous to offer a $50 refund for something that was totally outside their control. ~ Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Wonderful Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We loved it!! It was a perfect vacation in a beautiful, cozy bungalow! Home was well equipped with everything we needed, comfortable beds, cleaning supplies to start with, a great variety of seasonings to cook with, plenty of space for a family. Home was clean and smelt like fresh sea air! It was very enjoyable! We had lots of visits from the horses right in the backyard, they loved the grass! Got some great pictures, can't wait to come back! We will definetly be staying at the Mermaids Wake again!!! Hopefully sooner then later!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, thank you for the kind words! Most folks do find Mermaid's Wake a terrific spot for a quiet family get-away.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

In response to Keweenaw (Michigan)

  • 5 of 5

In reference to the guests that stayed for Thanksgiving, we had been at the house for a couple of weeks tearing out both bathrooms, as they were damaged from the previous summer. The house was not, at the time, available for rent. We take great pride in our house and work very hard to provide our guests with a clean, affordable, well stocked house to vacation at. At the time that the guest wanted to come and vacation, our house was not ready and had only one working bathroom. We are a pet friendly house and typically we ask that people either pick up, hose down or cover the feces before they leave, sometimes, this is forgotten. However, it was an oversight on my part as we were trying to finish up the house for the guests arrival. I apologize for the inconvenience. As for the rugs, they were clean and we also have extra rugs in the hall closet if needed. As always, if you have a problem, questions or comments, please contact Karen or Dean, the managers and they will assist you immediately! Also, we always welcome any suggestions you might have in refernce to the house. These suggestions can be emailed to Karen and we will do our best to consider them and implement them if necessary/practical.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Point of Interest
Carova Beach Volunteer Fire Department
Nearest Point of Interest
End of Paved Road
Nearest Point of Interest
Currituck Beach Lighthouse
Nearest Point of Interest
Food Lion Grocery Store

Wild horses visit the dunes surrounding the house.


Rates & Availability

Corolla Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Late Fall (no linens)
Oct 16 2016 - Nov 19 2016
Changeover Day: Sunday
4 night minimum stay
Nov 20 2016 - Nov 26 2016
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
Winter (no linens)
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 17 2016
Changeover Day: Sunday
4 night minimum stay
Christmas/New Year
Dec 18 2016 - Dec 31 2016
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%


Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Corolla Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Queen Master - toilet , shower , Shower only, no tub
    Hall Bath - toilet , shower , Shower only, no tub
  • Large outdoor shower with hot water
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen Master - 1 queen , Private Bathroom Attached
    Queen - 1 queen
    Bunk Room - 1 bunk bed , Pyramid Bunk - Double on bottom, single on top
  • Queen size Beds (2), Bunk Beds (1) Double on bottom, twin on top
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Beach chairs, beach umbrella

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties