check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Oceanfront Beach House & Private Yard-Amazing Views/Hot Tub/WiFi/Stairs to Beach

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Halfmoon Bay House Rental Photos and Description

Oceanfront 4 Bedroom Beach House, Hot tub, 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 10)

The “Beach House” can be either a romantic getaway for 2 or the perfect spot to hold a family reunion for up to 10 on the completely private and extremely rare 95,000 foot fenced property...leave the stress of city behind with your own private retreat !

The “Beach House” is a charming post and beam home that was professionally remodeled and decorated. The old style dividing walls were removed to create a 'Great Room' for today's entertaining lifestyle. Then a country kitchen and wide plank old growth fir floors were installed, all new low e double pane windows were added for comfort, including (2) huge 8'x8' picture frame windows to encompass the amazing ocean, snow capped mountains and the lights of Davis Bay at night….

Outside, there are 3 different decks, hot tub, 2 dining areas ( one off the kitchen and the other under the gazebo at oceans edge), BBQ, fire pit (when allowed), Adirondack chairs and your own private 104 stairs to the beach.......if your too lazy there is a walk out beach access 2 minutes away at the Sargent's Bay Provincial Park.

Inside you can expect the comforts & luxuries you would find in a fine hotel. New furniture, 3 TV’s (50” in the great room) and the wood burning fireplace complete your luxury experience.

Sleeps 6 to 10:

Main home - (1) King Bed in the master (1) Queen Bed in the 2nd bedroom and (2) Twin Beds in the 3rd bedroom and 2 bathrooms. The attached guest suite has (1) Queen Bed and a double sofa sleeper with it's own bathroom and TV.

NOT SOMEONE'S GUEST HOUSE OR A SPARE BEDROOM. YOUR OWN PRIVATE 2 ACRE OCEANFRONT RESORT

The home is on a secluded street off historic Redroof’s Road just north of Sechelt in Halfmoon Bay. Sargent's Bay Provincial Park, the Welcome Woods Market, Halfmoon Bay General Store, the Upper Crust Gourmet Store and the government wharf are all just a short drive.

There are bicycles in the shed on the property, please bring an air pump use at your own risk

Nature lovers will enjoy watching bald eagles, blue herons and osprey share the sky. Closer to shore, you’ll see seals, otters and a great variety of waterfowl. Sunrise & Sunsets are spectacular and provide many photo opportunities. There is always something to see and there are many recreational activities for visitors.

Kayak in Halfmoon Bay or head over to Buccaneer Bay on Thormanby Island where you can enjoy one of the finest sandy beaches in the Strait of Georgia. Play golf at one of our many challenging courses or go hiking on the many trails. Drive up to Egmont (35 minutes) and enjoy the easy 45 minute hike into the famous Skookumchuk Narrows where you can view one of the largest and fastest tidal rapids in the world running at over 14 knots! Take an easy hike up Pender Hill in Irvine’s Landing and enjoy spectacular views of Pender Harbour (sometimes called “Venice of the North”), the Strait of Georgia and Vancouver Island.

Go fishing. There is excellent fishing with guides available in Secret Cove and other locations. Closer to home, you can try your luck right off the Halfmoon Bay government dock. Rent a boat from Buccaneer Marina in Secret Cove and explore the coastline and islands. Or, just enjoy the beach home and relax. The opportunities for your enjoyment are endless.

Booking Guest (s) are required to be at 30 years of age or responsible. The 'Beach House' is located in an upscale neighborhood of multi million dollar homes and guests are required to respect the neighbors' peaceful enjoyment between 9:00 PM - 9:00 AM. Fines will apply to anyone not respecting this request.

Monthly Rates and Longer Stays, Please Inquire.

Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

Cancellation Policy

If you cancel 90 days or more before your arrival date, you will be refunded the money you paid minus a $250 processing and marketing fee. There will be no refunds for cancellations within 90 days of your arrival date, including early check outs, no-shows, or stays shortened or prevented due to inclement weather. Travel insurance can be purchased and is highly recommended. Please ask for further information or contact your preferred insurer.

Deposit Policy

The fully refundable security deposit is $500.00. The security deposit will be charged to the credit card on file for the reservation and returned one week after the departure date.

Charges against the security deposit will occur if any action (or inaction) of the client, occupant, or temporary guest(s) causes direct or indirect monetary loss to the property owner. The decision as to what constitutes a breech, and the evidence associated with what constitutes an accessible breech, shall be entirely that of the property owner and/or the property owner's legal agent. In all instances whereby the exact amount of monetary loss is not able to be determined, the amount of the charge will again be entirely that of the property owner and/or the property owner's legal agent. Moreover, in instances whereby the exact amount of the loss cannot be determined, the minimum charge will in all cases be $100. The aforementioned minimum charge is in no way intended to limit the amount of the charge which may be made in instances whereby the owner and/or the owner's agent deem a larger charge is warranted.

Key Information:

- Private Luxury Rental Homes with 90,000 square foot usable yard available on the Sunshine Coast

- Children Welcome

- Pets Welcome

- Smoking allowed OUTSIDE Only

- Total Privacy - fenced backyard / oceanfront

Keywords: Oceanfront Secluded Romantic Beach House - 2 acre yard with majestic 300 year old cedar trees & available guest suite addition. All with incredible Ocean views.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
Robin
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2016
Call Owner

About Robin

We also own vacation rental properties in Scottsdale AZ and created an executive Beach House retreat with this one...

Robin purchased this house in 2004

Why Robin chose Sunshine Coast

A rare oceanfront property that was secluded and flat (took us years to find).

A place with private access to your own beach that was amazing and not 3 feet from your neighbors.

A place where our children and animals would be safe and roam freely and grow up with an appreciation for nature.

Not near a busy highway or road like most of oceanfront homes on the Sunshine Coast.

What makes this house unique

Peaceful tranquility in a private setting protected from the world by ancient fir and cedar trees.

With incredible scenic ocean / mountain views from the 2000 square feet of private decks with dining table for 6, firepits, private cedar gazebo with additional dining table for 6 at the ocean's edge and your own personal stairs to the private beach below. A perfect setting for family reunions or weddings.

Expensive, comfortable beds, flat screen TV's, soaker bath tubs & wide plank old growth fir flooring complete your getaway experience

Reviews

3.6/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

Oceanfront Beach House & Private Yard-Amazing Views/Hot Tub/WiFi/Stairs to Beach
average rating of 3.6470587 based on 17 reviews
Vancouver
5

Amazing Coast living!

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough good things about this property. From the moment we drove up it felt like our dream cabin!

We planned a summer vacation to the Sunshine Coast look at numerous VRBO and hotel properties and pics of the view clinched it for us. When we got there the pics didn't do it justice... The house is new with great amenities but has the feel and comfort of a cabin. Very comfortable and great for entertaining.

Dinner on the waterfront deck was amazing and the view is breath taking. I was pleasantly surprised when I walked down to the beach and there was no barnacles or seaweed. Just smooth rock and sand with warm water in the bay. The water was actually much warmer then the beach in Sechelt.

There is a very cute general store just up the street and its only 10-15 mins to town. Great private location but still close to everything.

I highly recommend this house and plan on coming back for sure.

Also the owner's paperwork and payment was very easy which is always a bonus.

I would be happy to make any recommendations for activities and sights in the area so please feel free to contact me.

Happy Vacationing!

OJ

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oneill, I am so glad you enjoy the place as much as us! Dining under the gazebo at the ocean's edge is something we just set up this year and everyone seems to be really enjoying it. We had a family gathering of 23 people this year and between that, the main decks and home we had room for everyone. Hope you felt as refreshed as we do when we are there. A- 4 Seasons experience with the privacy of what seems your own private island retreat. We would love to have you back! See you soon and thanks again for the lovely response... Robin
Did you find this review helpful?
14 1
Calgayr
2

TTHR

  • 2 of 5

We stayed approx 5 weeks so got to know area and the property well. On the positive side, great location (though property faces East so sun disappears early in late summer and Fall), friendly neighbours and lots to do - hiking, kayaking, biking). The biggest problem is lack of basic maintenance both in the house and the grounds. We spent our first day cleaning the house, making the BBQ useable and tidying up the grounds -including removing a bin of smelly garbage from a previous renter. Both bathrooms had slow running drains and we had a rodent and insect problem - especially in the annex room. Better sealing of pipes, doors and windows would have helped this issue a lot and clearly we are not the first to have encountered these problems. We managed a lot of this ourselves but I dont think renters should be expected to do have to do this.

Overall, house is more basic and cottage-like that you would expect at this price point but nonetheless it did have some charm and the space and layout suited us. However the maintenance and cleanliness issues are such i cannot give it more than 2 stars.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Nice Spot, Pity about the Maintenance

  • 2 of 5

I would guess the pictures for this property were taken at least 3 years ago, judging by the condition of the place. We have the same complaints previously made by reviewers "Renee" and "Stuart". I can add that both showers were draining at a very slow trickle, the bbq was filthy with a shredded cover, the vacuum was packed full of hair and dust, and the suite had evidence of a leaking roof and the walls had multiple smears of squished bugs. I could go on, but I think you get the idea. I will say that our family still had a nice stay - the view is wonderful, and our son spent his vacation finding crabs at the beach. With some attention, this place could be much improved.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sarah, Please realize we get large budget minded groups just like yourselves and have back to back bookings all summer long due to the weak Canadian dollar and incredibly reasonable price to have your very own oceanfront resort for 10 people. You paid a blistering $166.00/night or $16.66 each per night..... The cleaners only have 4-5 hours between vacationers and quite a few like you check in early and tell them to leave. The only complaint you really had was a $20 BBQ cover that was ripped and the 5 minutes needed to wipe the walls? We left the property on July 1st and it was spotless.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

For the cost ..i was not impressed..

  • 3 of 5

On arrival the cooker did not work properly ..although it got fixed the next day... but not good for 6 people unable to cook intended meal after travelling ... I think internal facilities need Upgrading / renewing... i.e. white goods and Bathroom.. in order to justify the charge for the property.

The Annex had no hanging space for clothes.... Nor did it have a shower..

I had a knee ligament injury... And the 140 steps to and from the beach were not a lot of fun...

the beach house is a comfortable enough property and it is a shame regarding the disappointments we met.

When speaking to the owner he described the property as Rustic... I would say it needs some investment to bring it up to date.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: GLAD YOU FOUND THE BEACH HOUSE COMFORTABLE. It is the best value of any of our 18 vacation properties and a 1950's post and beam home with old growth wide plank flooring is pretty rustic. Even though we spent over $150,000 on the renovation, the large groups we get like yours are pretty hard on the home! You simply had to plus the elements in the stove? Most men know how to do that but we still sent someone the next day to "help you out". There is also a walk out beach 1/2 minute from the home? We never mention a shower and there are 104 stairs to the beach, hence the amazing views.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointing, the house was dirty, dilapidated and not well maintained

  • 2 of 5

The outside suite had mouse droppings, spider webs and lots of spiders. No screens on the windows so unable to open. Mold around the sliding door, no blinds or drapes, no sheets or duvet for the pull out couch in suite.

The rest of the house was relatively ok, except the windows were so dirty one could not see through the smudge, the window tracts and screens have not been cleaned in years.

The hottub water was murky needed a new filter. Two plates on the range were not working either.

I strongly suggest the owners change their cleaning company it took the first 2 hours of our vacation to clean the place.

I phoned the owner who said it was clean the last time he was there, and there was a small duvet for the pull out couch. We found that duvet which was so dirty, full of dog hair and smelt really badly.

The owner offered to send cleaners again , we declined as we had already cleaned the place. Except the window frames.

We took lots of pictures of what we saw. Very disappointing. I would not recommend.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were there two weeks before you and it was completely spotless. A simply call to the cleaners and they would have spent the 10 minutes it really took you to clean up. Please remember you are in the wilderness surrounded by a 300 year old rain forest. Not a apartment in Surrey.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Delivered exactly the beach house experience we were looking for

  • 5 of 5

The beach house was simply perfect and was the cosy home from home feel we were looking for. The home had everything we needed all there to hand, including the absolutely stunning location, wildlife and weather :) would highly recommend to our friends and family for creating future family memories and experiences.

Tony Morgan and family

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tony & Family. So glad your lovely family enjoyed our lovely million dollar beach home as much as we do, just wish we could spend more time there. We spent 4 years finding one of the only flat secluded properties on the whole sunshine coast. We love to have guests like you and hopefully you are back soon. Robin & Natasha.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Sechelt - Harbour Air
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Gibsons / Pender Harbor
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Sechelt Golf & Country Club
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 1
Nearest Beach
At your footstep

Minutes from some of the nicest nature walks in all of British Columbia, maybe the world. Also minutes to Sargent Bay bird sanctuary for incredible bird watching. Catch the occasional seal in the harbor and watch the eagles catch Salmon from the deck...

Conveniently located minutes away from 2 government liquor stores with attached deli's and general grocery stores.

There is plenty of room to bring your boat or RV we are super close to Cooper's Green to launch your boat or various lakes nearby.

We also provide various bicycles / helmets for your use (bring an air pump just in case) at your own risk of course.

So many things to do....so little time!

Rates & Availability

Halfmoon Bay House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low Season
Oct 30 2016 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$147
From
$222
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,124
$3,004
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
May 1 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$222
From
$297
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$3,756
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
July 2016
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 27 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$3,004
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
August
Jul 28 2017 - Sep 4 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$3,756
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$222
From
$297
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,500
$3,756
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Cleaning & Linen Fee $301 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $376
Tax Rate 5.0%

ADDITIONAL $100 IF YOU WOULD LIKE A SUPER DEEP CLEAN BEFORE YOUR STAY. PLEASE LET US KNOW.

NO WEDDINGS / EVENTS ALLOWED.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Halfmoon Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Main Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Antique Claw Foot Tub
    Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Deep Soaker Tub
    4th Bedroom / Guest Suite - toilet
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , The Blue Room
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , The Red Room
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom / Full Ensuite / Flatscreen TV
    4th Bedroom / Guest Suite Addition - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Bathroom / TV as well
  • Master - King pillowtop mattress / full ensuite / TV Blue Room - (2) twin mattress sets Red Room - Queen pillowtop mattress 4th Bedroom / Guest Suite Addition - Queen pillow top mattress set - fold out sofa bed / 2 piece bathroom / tv
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 bicycles
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties