check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Pamela Trieu

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Stunning Private Oceanfront Cottage with View of Acadia

13 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Trenton Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, sleeps 4

Family owned and operated: Boasts 300ft of private ocean frontage situated on more than 2.4 wooded acres. Cottage at Russell Cove was purchased by my parents (the Russell's) in 1960 when they moved to Maine from Cheshire, Connecticut. Since then, it has been renovated a few times! New bathroom in 2012, new wide pine floors and new appliances 2013. And new appliances last year. Though smaller than a house, it has all the comforts and charm of a home. It is nestled in a cove on Western Bay overlooking the mountains of Acadia National Park.

Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pamela Trieu (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.5
based on 13 traveler reviews

Stunning Private Oceanfront Cottage with View of Acadia
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 13 reviews
4

Amazing views!

  • 4 of 5

We arrived later in the day than hoped and so did not have a chance to take in the outdoor setting until the next day. The inside of the cottage is as depicted and more than comfortable for a week's stay. The next morning showed us the amazing surroundings as we were woken by the sunrise (all but one morning was clear and beautiful!) over the mountain views. We did "lose" the mountains to one rainy, foggy day, but that has a beauty all its own!

Amenities are fine and we were able to cook without needing to use too much creativity. There isn't any wi-fi, which is generally a good thing for a vacation!

We did run into one small medical issue, but the owners were great, shared some advice about different medical locations in Ellsworth, and checked in with us the next morning. [On a side note, the medical clinic, Primary Health in Ellsworth, was wonderful. All of the staff were helpful and pleasant, the service was efficient and effective, and we were soon back into the woods for hiking.]

We would certainly recommend this place to others.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic Cabin!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful spot! Just outside Trenton and Acadia in easy distance to the park and a delightful lobster pound (Trenton Lobster Pound) which we visited almost daily. The setting, right on a cove, was so peaceful. Not a sound but the waves and the loons. Everything was in easy distance yet you were away from the bustle of Bar Harbor but close enough to enjoy the restaurants, shops and outdoor opportunities there. However, we found we just wanted to come back every evening with a bag of lobsters. The cabin has a wall of windows facing the cove and we spent every morning watching beautiful sunrises with coffee in hand and afternoons with wine. There is plenty of land so you do not feel crowded upon. The cabin is well stocked with anything you may need in the way of kitchen and bath supplies as well as many books and games. The owners were so helpful, accommodating and friendly. Definitely deserves a return visit and so glad we found it!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2
5

Perfect!!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful!! Our family fell in love with the cottage right away. It is exactly what we envisioned a cottage on the Maine coast to look like.

The friendly owners have taken great care of the cottage and grounds. The cottage itself is tastefully decorated with a great use of space.

We were amazed by the owners attention to detail. Well stocked kitchen, books on the shelf to read, lots of fresh towels. Even a bouquet of fresh wild flowers for our arrival.

My husband and I have two daughters (ages 9 and 5). Our girls found puzzles, games, and books in the cupboards to play with. My youngest daughter loved the toy lobster on her bed. She named him crab. :)

Pictures posted by the owners on this site are true! The view really is that beautiful!! We would watch seals swim outside our window in the am and early evening. Amazing.

Cottage was close to Bar Harbor and Acadia, but far enough away that you felt you had a secret hideaway. This was the first vacation our family looked forward to heading back to "home base" at the end of the day.

We will be back for sure.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 1
5

I Must be Dreaming

  • 5 of 5

correction to review to 5-star

  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Anne and Ken. We look forward to having you return each year. We know that you love it as much as we do!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
4

I Must Be Dreaming!

  • 4 of 5

We've been coming to Russell Cove for the last 6-7 years each June. The first season we came I couldn't speak because it waso beautiful and tranquil. It's been our way to welcome Summer . We've been blessed to know about this place.

We've always been treated like family and it makes coming here like "coming home". With our son in Bar Harbor, he too is able to enjoy this special place when we visit for that week, and we're close enough to him to visit each day.

Make it your "coming home" place!

Anne and Ken Murray

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

Absolutely WONDERFUL!!!

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say enough good things about our stay at Russell Cove. This is such a gem of a cabin. The owners truly have gone above and beyond to ensure that everything you could possibly need is there for you. The view is AMAZING, especially in the morning, with the sun rising beyond the mountains. It was so relaxing and special, I made sure to get up every day to enjoy.

The location of the cabin is great. Several lobster pounds nearby (we loved Lunt's), and make sure you go the IGA grocery store that's right there as well. I know that sounds crazy, but we could not believe how well-stocked this little store was, for meat, produce, bakery products. It's a a little gem!!! Only wish they had a Redbox, as we spent a lot of time driving into town to get movies at the Wal-Mart or Osco, of all places!!

Great location for Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. Fall colors were spectacular the week we were there. Saw no seals - that was our only disappointment. But it was somewhat made up for by the 12 wild turkeys that crossed over the cabin's driveway each morning. Being from Chicago? The only time we see turkeys is on a Thanksgiving plate, so this was fun!!

All kidding aside, this is a beautiful little cottage, in a truly serene and wonderful location, and we cannot wait to go back. Thank you Pam. Audrey and Sarah, for sharing with us!!

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words, Linda. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Russell Cove Cottage, and we look forward to having you return for another Acadia getaway!
Did you find this review helpful?
13 2

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Bar Harbor (Hancock County)
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Jordan River Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
3.5 Miles
Trenton Bridge Lobster Pound
Car: necessary

Other Activities: Kayaking, whale watching, sightseeing, deep sea fishing, glider and sightseeing planes, beach combing, relaxing!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Trenton Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Fall
Sep 3 2016 - Sep 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
Late Fall
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 5 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 8.0%

$300 security deposit is returned within 10 days of departure by check from owner. If any damage is incurred or excessive cleaning required, some or all of your deposit may (regrefully) be retained. Check in: After 3:00PM Check out: Before 10:00AM

50% of rental in advance + $300 security deposit (refundable)
Rental balance + tax due on arrival
90 day cancellation prior to arriaval = full refund of deposit

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Trenton Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • New bathroom/ tile floor, walls, and shower. New fixtures.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Single beds are built in bunks & most suitable for children
  • Bedrooms each sleep a maximum of 2 people
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch Furniture
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties