check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar * Hot Tubs * Minutes from Glass Beach

5 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage




Fort Bragg Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Cypress Cottage is an older remodeled charming fully furnished cottage on the Mendocino Coast. It has a fully furnished kitchen with all the amenities and a comfortable living room with a gas flame fireplace. There are two bedrooms one with a king bed the other has a queen bed. There is a small bedroom with a set of bunk beds. The attached sun room provides a cozy spot for morning breakfast or moonlight dinners. Just outside there is a hot tub surrounded by an abundance of flowers, shrubs and trees. Plus located on the same property for additional guests a unique restored water tower. Pictured above it features old restored redwood beams, a breakfast bar with in layed abalone shells and glass from Glass Beach. It also features a six foot jacuzzi tub in the same garden setting as Cypress Cottage.

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Dana Whitehead
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2016
Call Manager


based on 5 traveler reviews * Hot Tubs * Minutes from Glass Beach
average rating of 2.6 based on 5 reviews


  • 1 of 5

My family rented the Cypress Cottage over the Labor Day Weekend. First, we called the property manager twice upon check in (Friday night and Saturday morning) and never got a response. They stated "didn't feel/hear the urgency to give a ring back." We called three times over the weekend and did not get a response until we were home and I had emailed them all of my concerns. I guess they were on vacation as well and they had no one responding to issues on any of their properties. Really bad customer service, lack of communication and wrong information included on their instructions. The unit lacked any smoke or CO alarms. Windows were moldy. Broken furniture inside and outside. The old roof must be leaking because there was evidence of this in the one of the bedroom (water stain/peeling paint). Disclosure: Only small kids (under 100 lbs) should use the bunk beds (base appears to be cardboard). The list goes on and on like several dog feces that were left and not disposed. This cottage is old and rusty but it is evident that there is a lack of basic routine maintenance that is not occurring. Plus side: good, quiet location, beautiful flowers were in bloom during our stay. We have used VRBO for many vacations and this was the worst due to the condition of the unit and the interaction from the property manager. We would not recommend this rental to anyone and will not rent from this property manager again.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great time, Thank you for the stay.

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was great, what it lacked in newness more then made up in its charm. The interior was simple, and tasteful Yes it is older a bit run down but we found it to be very relaxing. The old siding is rustic. The gardens were great, and the humming birds it attracted were a treat. . And the house was stocked with everything you could ever need, or want. Relaxed in the hot tub after a long day site seeing, books and board games were there for the family to enjoy. We had a wonderful stay. So yes a bit older but that's part of what we loved about its charm. We will be back again :)

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Our stay at the cypress cottage was wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Yes it is older a bit run down but we found it to be very charming. The old sideing is rustic . the gardens were such a treat :) the interior was simple charming and tasteful. And the house was stocked with everything you need we made some amazing meals..relaxed in the hot tub after a long day site seeing. We had a wonderful stay. So yes a bit older but that's part of what we loved about its charm.. We will be back again :)

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

My husband, 8 yr old son, and I rented cypress cottage for the weekend. It was a last minute getaway out of the heat in the valley. When we showed up it didn't look much like the pics on VRBO...much more grungy. We were excited to use the hot tub and were very disappointed when we took the lid off and it was GREEN. It smelled horribly strong of chlorine like someone tried to shock it before we got there but it was still green. Needless to say, we could not use the hot tub. The house smelled over strong with chemicals and was still grungy. The lawn chairs and table outside were dirty and not even rinsed off for us to use. Cobwebs in lots of areas. Needs a facelift inside and out....lumpy pillows, hard bed, old towels, etc. We would not recommend it to anyone and will not rent here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Because of the drought I can not justify watering the lawns, so therefore the appearance will not look like the pictures. Sorry for the hot tub, it can easily be fixed if I know of the situation at time of check in and not when the guest has already left.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
Ashland, Oregon

Alder cottage review

  • 1 of 5

Four of us rented Alder Cottage in late September 2011. We were all equally disappointed and felt it was not up to VRBO standards. The cottage was grungy and utterly lacking in anything resembling "charm." In many respects it resembled what you might expect from a $30 per night motel room. We have utilized VRBO for rentals on a number of other occasions and have found previous rentals all met or exceeded expectations. This rental was in another class entirely. Not a good experience and we would not recommend it to anyone for any reason.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
97 5



Rates & Availability

Fort Bragg Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Oct 5 2016 - Oct 31 2016
1 night minimum stay
Nov 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
1 night minimum stay
Mar 1 2017 - May 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
1 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $10 + Tax
clean fee starting at .. $35 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

All rates are starting quotes based on 2 person occupancy, until confirmed.
Please call or email for an exact quote. Their rate calculator is not accurate.
Additional Adults $20 and children $10 per night.
Check in at 3:00pm – Check Out at 11:00am sharp
Stay 3 Nights for the Price of 2
Sunday through Thursday
Stay Any of the 3 Nights and Get the Third Night at 50% Off
Excluding Holidays, Festivals, Spring Breaks and 3 day weekends
October 1st through April 30th

Need a 50 % deposit to hold.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Fort Bragg Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
A short walk across the street leads to the Botanical Gardens. A short walk through beautiful gardens leads you to an ocean bluff with pristine views of the rugged coastline. Noyo Harbor is five minutes north where there are fishing and whale watching charters. There are several restaurants and many shops to browse through. Be sure to check out Captain Jacks and Ocean Mist also located in the Noyo Harbor.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties