Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Den, Sleeps 10

Free use of two kayaks - complete with paddles, vests, etc. Outside shower, Concrete under house, New Central Air and Heat System, New Windows, Lots of Upgrades...

Fantastic Location!!

Very quiet street with sandy beaches front and back of house. Gulf of Mexico is across the street and the Bay is a few hundred feet behind you. Great sunsets. Unique house that offers the best of both worlds. Beach or Bay - you decide. Roughly two hundred feet to the Gulf of Mexico or two hundred feet to Mississippi Sound. Water is in front and back of house!!


Owner
John Reeves
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 15, 2017

About John Reeves

I am married with two daughters. We all love the Island. My oldest daughter graduated from Auburn with a Masters degree and my youngest just graduated from Auburn as well. This is Rachael, Tommie and my wife Martha.

John Reeves purchased this house in 2009

Why John Reeves chose Alabama Gulf Coast

We have four vacation homes on Dauphin Island. This one has quickly become the favorite. Shallow water is great for kayaks and all other forms of water sports. The Gulf is across the street and the Bay is at your back door. The best of both worlds. I totally remodeled the house - new metal roof - new windows - new siding - new carpeting - new light fixtures - new doors - new decks - new stairs - new boardwalks - new appliances, etc.

What makes this house unique

Both the Mississippi Sound and the Gulf of Mexico at your door.

Amenities

Dauphin Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Wood Deck
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
15% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
average rating of 4.6538463 based on 26 reviews
5

Awesome !

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house and the location. There was 10 in our party and we had plenty of space to spread out. They have done lots of updates to the house (paint, bedding, new picnic table,grill ). We also had a blast with the kayaks and fishing in the Mississippi Sound. What a Great week on the beach!!!

Kithas/Arnold Family

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love it when our guests enjoy their stay. Thank you for your visit and review. John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love the location!

  • 5 of 5

This house is the perfect location. We enjoyed watching the dolphins play in the bay and the pelicans fish. The bay side was perfect for the kids. The beach is just a short walk across the street. We had so much fun minus the rain.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad y'all enjoyed your time on the Island. June was an unusual month for rain with a Tropical Storm, as well. Come back anytime. John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place, just needs a more thorough cleaning

  • 4 of 5

LOCATION: Great! Just a short walk to the beach on the sound side and right across the street from a public beach on the gulf side.

HOUSE: Perfect size for one family; several dead light bulbs; blinds fell off the wall in one room in the middle of the night; shelf in the master bath is about to fall off the wall; it was clean.

AMMENITIES: Two of the three kayaks had cracked hulls and took in water, there were paddles and life jackets for each; We found dirty dishes in the dishwasher and towels in the dryer; there is a large charcoal grill that's rusting out but still usable and a small, newer charcoal grill—both were totally full of ash and we had to clean them out before they could be used; the fridge was really nice, just needed a new water filter; the stove and oven was in good shape, but one of the burners isn't working; there were also available some sand toys, four beach chairs, three lounge chairs and a hammock on a stand.

These minor issues did not affect our stay—we had a lovely time. All-in-all, it's a nice property and an affordable price.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I've corrected a few of the items already. New cleaning crew, new grill, bulbs and blinds. I will take care of the others this week. I did not know about those. Thanks again for your visit and review. John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, beautiful scenery, quiet and serene.

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time in Dauphin Island. It's beautiful, quiet, relaxing and peaceful. We had my parents and my family including our 7 year old son and everyone enjoyed themselves. From fishing, walking on the beach, mini-golfing, hiking in Shell Mound park and the Bird Sanctuary, visiting the Estuarium, taking the ferry to Gulf Shores, and having coffee while reading a book on the porch...it was absolutely wonderful! The slogan of the island in 'how family vacations used to be' was spot on. We'll be back!! Thanks again for the wonderful hospitality!

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great view and location

  • 4 of 5

Sure this house has a honey-do-list a mile long but the view from the living room couch makes up for it. This was a great place for a spring break vacation that does not break the bank. We had our own personal beach on the Mississippi Sound side and there was only a short walk to a clean family friendly beach on the Gulf side. This house sleeps 8 comfortably and was clean. Dog friendly is a plus too. The stove had 3 out of 4 working burners, the water pressure in the master bath was weak and it had some light/electrical issues. Only one kayak was usable but luckily no one else in my group cared to paddle. For those reasons it gets 4 out of 5 stars. However, I will consider this rental for future trips because I'm all about that view and the beach.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

In need of repairs

  • 2 of 5

It was a cute house from the outside. I have spent many hours furnishing condos and cabins in Branson Missouri so I have some experience with rentals. I wouldn't call it updated for sure. Right away we had a problem getting the front door to lock and unlock properly. We arrived with 5 adults and 4 kids and it seemed tight on sleeping space. There was a blow up mattress in the closet but we couldn't use it because the house was infested with biting ants. They were everywhere. My 13 year old slept on the couch and came home ate up with ant bites. We couldn't sit in living room with out being bit and even found them in our food in the kitchen and in the bathrooms. We all had to shower in one bathroom because the hall bath wouldn't drain so that was a huge issue. When we arrived I messaged owned with some problems and he apologized but it didn't help our stay. There was a huge problem with the wood floor in the living room and the hall had a issue too. Owner said the ice machine had flooded the floor. It was buckled up big time and my 2 year old kept falling over it until we finally put furniture around it. Ice maker was broken so we got ice from ice machine in town everyday. Grass outside was so grown up you couldn't walk the around sidewalk or get in the cars without it getting your legs. Outside shower was broken so no way to clean sand off of kids or your feet and I spent the better part of an hour cleaning up under the house and the shower stall picking up trash, old rugs and broken toys. Radio didn't work. Best part of the house was the porch. Furniture was nice outside. House did have a fully furnished kitchen and lots of towels. Furniture inside was really used. Overall nice area and bay was awesome but house was a big let down. If we hadn't already paid in full I would have found somewhere else to stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, it is in need of floor repairs. The previous guests let the ice maker leak on the oak floors for a week without notifying me. You did let me know upon you arrival that the floor was buckled and we discussed the issue - as you did not want to be held responsible for the damages. That was the extent of our conversation. My flooring guy can't "unbuckle" the floor until mid August. It is scheduled to be fixed. The other concerns: The ice maker on the one year old Fridge does a great job. Grass - every house on the west end of the Island has grass. It is grass, not stickers. Furniture - TV is one month old, Couch is one year old, Fridge is on year old, etc., As things get worn out they do get replaced. I can't buy new every few months and keep prices down. Bedding - 5 Adults and 4 Kids, with a total of 5 beds there was always going to be an issue with where everyone would be sleeping. We do have inflatables there for your use. After your departure we spoke again. You said there were "biting" ants in the home and you felt like you paid too much...expected more...etc. I asked you why you did not let me know earlier in the week and I would have gotten my exterminator to come? No answer. It was pretty clear to me what you were looking to do. My cleaning girls could not believe the way you left my house. You left it far worst than other guest year (except for the physical floor damage). They spent almost three times as long cleaning it as it normally takes them. As you know, I don't hold damage deposits - but, if I did yours would not have been returned in full because of the way you left my house. I am a very trusting person - but at least twice this season has caused me to re-think my position on deposits.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Other Activities: Shopping, Boating, Kayaking

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dauphin Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Apr 1 2017 - Sep 20 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
Nightly Rate
Sep 21 2017 - Sep 21 2017
5 night minimum stay
$272
$1,900
 
 
Summer
Sep 22 2017 - Sep 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Pet Fee $105

$1200-$1900/wk US Dollars
Sept-Apr .. $1200/week.;
Apr-Sept .. $1900/week.;
$100 cleaning fee
Dates Available: Year Round

$500 upon booking

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties