check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
5 - 7 nights

Description

Dauphin Island House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Den, Sleeps 10

Free use of two kayaks - complete with paddles, vests, etc. Outside shower, Concrete under house, New Central Air and Heat System, New Windows, Lots of Upgrades...

Fantastic Location!!

Very quiet street with sandy beaches front and back of house. Gulf of Mexico is across the street and the Bay is a few hundred feet behind you. Great sunsets. Unique house that offers the best of both worlds. Beach or Bay - you decide. Roughly two hundred feet to the Gulf of Mexico or two hundred feet to Mississippi Sound. Water is in front and back of house!!

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
John Reeves
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 1, 2016

About John Reeves

I am married with two daughters. We all love the Island. My oldest daughter graduated from Auburn with a Masters degree and my youngest just graduated from Auburn as well. This is Rachael, Tommie and my wife Martha.

John Reeves purchased this house in 2009

Why John Reeves chose Alabama Gulf Coast

We have four vacation homes on Dauphin Island. This one has quickly become the favorite. Shallow water is great for kayaks and all other forms of water sports. The Gulf is across the street and the Bay is at your back door. The best of both worlds. I totally remodeled the house - new metal roof - new windows - new siding - new carpeting - new light fixtures - new doors - new decks - new stairs - new boardwalks - new appliances, etc.

What makes this house unique

Both the Mississippi Sound and the Gulf of Mexico at your door.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
average rating of 4.714286 based on 21 reviews
2

In need of repairs

  • 2 of 5

It was a cute house from the outside. I have spent many hours furnishing condos and cabins in Branson Missouri so I have some experience with rentals. I wouldn't call it updated for sure. Right away we had a problem getting the front door to lock and unlock properly. We arrived with 5 adults and 4 kids and it seemed tight on sleeping space. There was a blow up mattress in the closet but we couldn't use it because the house was infested with biting ants. They were everywhere. My 13 year old slept on the couch and came home ate up with ant bites. We couldn't sit in living room with out being bit and even found them in our food in the kitchen and in the bathrooms. We all had to shower in one bathroom because the hall bath wouldn't drain so that was a huge issue. When we arrived I messaged owned with some problems and he apologized but it didn't help our stay. There was a huge problem with the wood floor in the living room and the hall had a issue too. Owner said the ice machine had flooded the floor. It was buckled up big time and my 2 year old kept falling over it until we finally put furniture around it. Ice maker was broken so we got ice from ice machine in town everyday. Grass outside was so grown up you couldn't walk the around sidewalk or get in the cars without it getting your legs. Outside shower was broken so no way to clean sand off of kids or your feet and I spent the better part of an hour cleaning up under the house and the shower stall picking up trash, old rugs and broken toys. Radio didn't work. Best part of the house was the porch. Furniture was nice outside. House did have a fully furnished kitchen and lots of towels. Furniture inside was really used. Overall nice area and bay was awesome but house was a big let down. If we hadn't already paid in full I would have found somewhere else to stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, it is in need of floor repairs. The previous guests let the ice maker leak on the oak floors for a week without notifying me. You did let me know upon you arrival that the floor was buckled and we discussed the issue - as you did not want to be held responsible for the damages. That was the extent of our conversation. My flooring guy can't "unbuckle" the floor until mid August. It is scheduled to be fixed. The other concerns: The ice maker on the one year old Fridge does a great job. Grass - every house on the west end of the Island has grass. It is grass, not stickers. Furniture - TV is one month old, Couch is one year old, Fridge is on year old, etc., As things get worn out they do get replaced. I can't buy new every few months and keep prices down. Bedding - 5 Adults and 4 Kids, with a total of 5 beds there was always going to be an issue with where everyone would be sleeping. We do have inflatables there for your use. After your departure we spoke again. You said there were "biting" ants in the home and you felt like you paid too much...expected more...etc. I asked you why you did not let me know earlier in the week and I would have gotten my exterminator to come? No answer. It was pretty clear to me what you were looking to do. My cleaning girls could not believe the way you left my house. You left it far worst than other guest year (except for the physical floor damage). They spent almost three times as long cleaning it as it normally takes them. As you know, I don't hold damage deposits - but, if I did yours would not have been returned in full because of the way you left my house. I am a very trusting person - but at least twice this season has caused me to re-think my position on deposits.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Loved this place!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, grandma, grandpa, and I (plus 2 dogs) had such an amazing time staying at this house! It is equipped with everything you need to have a successful trip. With an open floor plan, it was more than enough space for everyone to spread out (we all even had our own bedrooms). The back porch is to die for--especially watching the sunrise and sunsets. We didn't use the kayaks but they seemed to be in good working condition. The home is clean and kitchen stocked with all the cooking utinsels you could possibly need. The kitchen had basics (salt, pepper, etc) but no condiments or anything in the fridge--which was fine. We did end up buying a small grill becuse the grill under the deck was pretty overdue. We left it there for others to use if they wanted--not sure if its still there or not.

The only complaint I would have of this house is the next door neighbors (if you are standing on the back porch facing the bay, to the right) were not friendly at all and made it uncomfortable being outside when they were. I only say that because I got the impression they owned the home so it seemed like they may be there quite often. We would say hi in passing and they would just stick up their noses and not even respond.

Aside from the neighbors, the location was perfect! We went to the beach a couple times but typically just went back to the bay. My grandpa has a difficult getting around so he spent most of the time sitting on the back porch (it has a great breeze) but he was able to walk down to the bay a couple times and sit in one of our beach chairs. My grandma liked that better because there weren't waves knocking her over and the dogs were able to swim back there comfortably. It was like having our own private beach! Overall, this is was one of the top trips I've ever taken and we definitely plan on going back!

I would definitely recommend this home for anyone of any age whether they have kids, dogs, older people, whatever!!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nashville, TN
5

Our New Happy Place!!!!

  • 5 of 5

My hubby, two dogs, and I had the most perfect vacation staying at this home on Dauphin Island. The house is very nice and comfortable and we had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. We actually over packed, but we will know better next time! We really enjoyed the calmer water of the sound to play in and my golden retriever pup took his first swim! He also dove for shells and found some really cool ones. Too bad we could not keep them as souvenirs, but we discovered they were inhabited by hermit crabs so he had to put them back. :) It was also nice walking across the street to the gulf and watching the larger waves roll in. We fell in love with this home and Dauphin Island and we will be returning soon! p.s. Skinner's Seafood is wonderful! We got almost all of our meals there and they packed us up some to bring home. Pirates Pleasure country club is really cool too and have a great menu! Very retro place! This is indeed our new happy place!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. My daughters pup loves the beach more than anything. She knows when its time to go for the day and will go "nuts". Boykin Spaniel breed, it is amazing how the water breeds react to the water. Anyhow, thanks again and please come back anytime. john
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

FABULOUS!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

I HAVE ZERO COMPLAINTS! I LOVE LOVE LOVED THIS HOME. WE HAD EVERYTHING WE NEEDED AND MORE. THE STORE ON THE ISLAND "SHIP AND SHORE" WAS PERFECT AND THE STAFF WAS AWESOME. AND YOU MUST EAT THE FOOD FROM SKINNERS, OH MY GOODNESS!!!!! I PLAN ON COMING BACK HERE EVERY YEAR......... THANK YOU JOHN AND FAMILY FOR SHARING THIS WITH US.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Wisconsin
5

Comfortable and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

The first thing we noticed when we got here is that you can stand in the hallway and see the bay out one side and when you turn your head 180 degrees, you can see the gulf. The house was clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Plenty of beach towels, nice appliances, comfortable furniture, and a really nice TV. Wifi worked the best of any VRBO rental we've ever had. Kayaks were available, which is a huge perk for our family. The owner was extremely responsive and accommodating. Everything has been smooth and low stress. The Dauphin Island Sea Lab was a great place to visit with our kids. We were looking for a nice, quiet beach vacation and we got it.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. Glad that everyone had a great time. Even in the Winter months you can have a great stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5

We've just returned from four generations of our family meeting here for a beach vacation. This was our first experience with VRBO but it won't be our last. The house was everything we could have hoped for. The owners thought of everything down to beach chairs and sand toys. Dauphin Island isn't as commercialized as other beaches but for us that was a plus. It was an extremely relaxing stay. We crossed the street one day to the ocean side, but the rest of the days we spent on the bay side which was perfect for our little ones. The house was extremely clean. We ate 2 meals every day at the house and the kitchen was well stocked with utensils, pans, etc. Thanks for a great vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Please come back anytime! Thanks again. John Reeves
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Nearest Beach
Car: not necessary

Other Activities: Shopping, Boating, Kayaking

Rates & Availability

Dauphin Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off season
Oct 1 2016 - Mar 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
Summer
Apr 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125
Pet Fee $105
Tax Rate 11.0%

$1200-$1900/wk US Dollars
Sept-Apr .. $1200/week.;
Apr-Sept .. $1900/week.;
$100 cleaning fee
Dates Available: Year Round

$500 upon booking

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Dauphin Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers