check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. ocean views/rancho

26 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights


Tres Rios House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms with suites (private bath), 4 Bathrooms,

This is a beautiful house with easy access, incredible views and close to many amenities. The Southern Pacific zone of Costa Rica is one of the most beautiful places on Earth. There is very little development in this area of Costa Rica and you can enjoy the relaxation and beauty of paradise.

This home has everything. Comfort. Views. Easy access (which is rare in the Southern Pacific zone of Costa Rica). Year round 2WD access is all that is needed. There are ocean views, ever changing mountain views and wildlife nearby. Scarlet macaws, howler monkeys, green parrots and toucans (to name the most common).

Activities nearby : Withing 20 minutes you can go on zip line tours, horseback riding, whale and dolphin watching, golfing, deep sea fishing, hike in national parks or simply relax.

Shopping, pharmacies and grocery stores are all close also.

  • Events Allowed
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible

Property Manager
Nicholas Halverson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 15, 2016
Call Manager

About Nicholas Halverson

We built this house in beautiful San Buenaventura, Puntarenas, Costa Rica in 2008. We love to watch the sunsets over the ocean and during the day the views of the mountains behind us are simply breathtaking. Our family uses this house throughout the year (we also own several other properties in the development) and we have made it our only 'home-away-from-home'. We hope you enjoy it as much as we do. We just started the landscaping so our prices are little bit less than they will be in the next couple of years. We've planted over 100 plants, flowers, fruit trees, etc on the 1.5 acre lot.

Nicholas Halverson purchased this house in 2008

Why Nicholas Halverson chose Puntarenas

We built this house with a swimming pool, hot tub, large master suite, on a lot with both ocean views and mountain views. We're from the Midwest USA and love looking at mountains as much as the ocean. The gentle breezes throughout the day are great. We have seen toucans and scarlet macaws flying by as we sit out on the patio. You never know what you'll see in Costa Rica.


based on 26 traveler reviews

Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. ocean views/rancho
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 26 reviews

Muy tranquilo y la casa espectacular

  • 4 of 5

La casa es espectacular, la vista hacia montañas y mar es increible.

LAs fotos que se muestran en la pagina son iguales a la propiedad.

Es un refugio donde las personas encuentran la paz y tranquilidad que andan buscando.

Los locales del pueblo son muy amables y generosos.

Aca ud puede andar en bicicleta, correr y caminar, ademas de ir a las diferentes playas. Preferiblemente ir en vehiculo 4x4.

Nick es muy agradable y se preocupa por el bienestar de sus huespedes. Recomiendo mucho el lugar, es una zona muy interesante.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Vacations

  • 5 of 5

I went to the house with some friends and we really had a great time... the house is gorgeous. It has everything you need for good vacations. We were 8 people and we fit very well, even when the house has just three rooms (the master bedroom is huge).

If you are looking for privacy and a good place for staying, this is definitely a good option to consider.

We went just two nights but we wished to stay even more.. hopefully next time.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Simply Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 were extremely comfortable in this home - plenty of space inside and out. The views from the home were breath taking, especially the sun setting over the ocean. We went zip lining, snorkeling at Cano Island, visited many beaches, swam in a secluded spring fed river with a waterfall, surfing - you name it, all with in 30 minutes of the Villa. The local restaurants were great, not one bad meal. Our property manager was extremely helpful - from setting up tours to telling us the best places to buy food and gas. My favorite part was sitting in the morning with a cup of phenomenal coffee while gazing at one of the most beautiful places in the world.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Our experience staying at this location was a nightmare since the day we booked! Communication with the owner is very poor, and even had an argument in an e-mail, as we were told we should stay somewhere else, two weeks before our departure!! When we did arrive in Quepos on Tuesday, we picked up a cel phone in Uvita and contacted the property manager, which in turn replied there was someone else in the house and we couldn't come stay until Thursday. What? you have to be seriously kidding! He ended up hours later in the day, finally accommodating us to our rental. The home itself.... outdated, dirty, and our sheets were not even clean, there was dirt and grit in the beds, interior of the home is in dire need of TLC The ants in the kitchen were insane, we had cereal on the counter, to find the bag was full of ants the next morning and not to mention no hot water in the kitchen, so don't use the dishwasher, the ants loved it though. The pool was filthy with green algae floating on the bottom.... and I don't mean a little, there was a lot. Hot tub doesn't work or should I say cold tub, no lights in the pools work.... don't let pictures deceive you, it looks nothing like it. The gardener was at our place every morning at 6:00 am...... for what reason...... we don't know, since our grass was never cut, but did notice our plastic pop bottles missing out of the recycle bin in the garage. One night his family showed up and toured up to the shed to pick up stuff...... so privacy.... hmmm, don't plan on skinny dipping, as you never know who might show up. We were then told by the property manager, we had no rush to leave during the last day of our stay, as we were leaving to another one of the owners homes just down the hill. Well, the gardener was bugging us to leave at 9:00am, as the cleaning ladies were waiting outside. We then packed up and went to the next home, which was cleaner except for the dishwasher full of dirty dishes. NO towels, or toilet paper to be found, washer and dryer did not work, no proper dishes or cooking utensils, another nightmare!! We have stayed in Costa Rica before and never have encountered a vacation, like we did with this one. Nick will keep saying to us, we got a deal, but seriously, it should have been free!! There are many other wonderful rentals in the area with much better accommodations and service!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I provided this client with a discount given that she had agreed to book well in advance. After communicating with the client that they would need to move houses midway through their stay, two weeks after they originally booked and 4 months in advance, I gave her another discount, and offered them a full refund at that time. The double booking occurred as we donate three weeks of our house every year to non-profit organizations (scholarships for students to go to elementary school, theater scholarships) and one of the org told me their winner had selected a date in February unbeknownst to both of us, there was an overlap. However, as soon as I caught it, I contacted the client, offered a full refund if she wanted or another discount on the home. In an e-mail 2 weeks before arrival she belittled me and accused me of 'scamming her'. I told her perhaps this isn't the right location for you. My team and I work hard to provide a great experience for all of our clients, as you can read by the 20+ positive reviews. She did respond via email: "I apologize for my actions" Her claim that someone was in the house and they were going to have to move in later in the week is simply untrue. There was no one in the home before they checked-in. We have the same experienced cleaning crew and we have not had that complaint before - however, if she was upset about the cleanliness we would have immediately come back and cleaned it to her liking. Chips on the counter - this home is in the middle of a tropical rain forest. It is NEVER advisable to leave food out on the counters. The beauty of the rainforest is the wildlife - toucans, scarlet macaws, howler monkeys, etc. If you leave sweet/salty snacks open on the counter you will attract ants into the home however. Our pool is professional serviced/cleaned 2x/ week (Wed/Sat) by an experienced company. Neither the cleaner nor our workers nor the clients ever complained about this. The pool lights are remote controlled LED lights. The remotes were placed on the outdoor table with “Pool” and “Jacuzzi” labels on them. Gardener there every day at 6 am to water the flowers/plants/grass. It is the dry season in Feb and the plants would die without TLC. Had the client requested them not to show up at 6 am we would have honored that (as we have done with others) Skinny dipping: I have private testimonials from several clients that this is indeed possible and common! This review is malicious, unfair and untrue.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing all around

  • 5 of 5

House was gorgeous, amenities were great and location/scenery was amazing !!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

I was privileged to stay at the Villa of Nick Halverson, as a potential investor for a home in the development. He was a gracious and wonderful host for the entire week, not to mention chauffer!!

Every day was an adventure! My week included beaches and markets, wonderful dining, the turtle refuge, hiking, howler monkeys at 4 am, fresh fruit smoothies, friendly natives, ziplines, a butterfly garden, macaws in the yard, the pool outside my door, lessons from Fran the gardener, little local grocery in the nearby village and the largest TOAD I have ever seen (every night on the patio). There was much more to do but I only had a week!!

The property was lovely, clean and well maintained.

If you are looking for a bustling one-stop tourist destination, this is not your choice!

IF YOU are looking for a native-like destination, quiet and tranquil, private and peaceful WITH CONVIENENT ACCESS to the tourist offerings then book your stay soon!!!

Better yet, look into having your own little Villa built-to-order right there and come back whenever you wish!! I am!!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Palmar Sur
Nearest Barpub
2.5 Miles
La Ponderosa
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
San Buenas Golf Resort
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Costanera Highway (Hwy 34)
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Seafood restaurant
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Playa Ventanas
Car: necessary

San Buenaventura is a charming Costa Rica pueblo with approximately 400 people. There is a convenience store in town and you are close (5-10 minutes) from great restaurants.

Next door to a golf course

5 minutes from a new hospital

1 mile from the highway

Two tilapia restaurants within 10 minutes

Close to deep sea fishing, whale watching, beaches, surfing, hiking, zipline tours,.

From the property you will see scarlet macaws flying overhead (lapas), toucans and parakeets. In the early morning and at dusk you will be able to listen to the howler monkeys.

This property has both incredible ocean views as well as ever changing mountain views.

Other Activities: Shopping, zipline tours, canopy tours, scuba, whale watching, nature hikes

Golf: San Buenas Golf Resort is located next door. It is a private club but access is available with this rental.


Rates & Availability

Tres Rios House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Low Season
Sep 25 2016 - Nov 19 2016
2 night minimum stay
High Season 3
Nov 26 2016 - Dec 17 2016
2 night minimum stay
Holiday 2016 2017
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 7 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cancellation Policy:
If there is a "no-show" 100% of the total of the reservation will be charged
If a reservation is cancelled 30 days or less prior to arrival date during Green Season , 60 days or less prior to the arrival date on High Season or 90 days or less during Holiday Season, 100% of the reservation will be charged.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Tres Rios House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Full 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Full 2 - toilet , shower
    Full 3 - toilet , shower
    Full 4 - toilet
  • Master bedroom has dual sinks (on mainfloor)
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Suite Main Floor - 1 king , Private bath, shower, closet
    Upstairs Suite 1 - 1 queen , Private bath, shower, closet
    Upstairs Suite 2 - 1 queen , Private bath, shower, closet
  • Extra twin bed and two couches available. A pack-n-play crib is also available. Master bedroom is handicap accessible
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • Events Allowed
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
All bedrooms have iPhone alarm clock chargers. 3G cell signal at the house.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers