About the property
- Cabin2700 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 - 7 nights
Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)
This chalet is a LUXURIOUS retreat with executive style amenities boasting over 2600 square feet on three full levels.
It is located on almost three acres and is extremely private. You have almost the whole side of a mountain to yourself! It is located in a private, gated community and has panoramic mountain views from every room in the house. You can view three states from our three levels of balconies.
The house is fully furnished with luxury amenities and tastefully decorated. It features 4 full bedrooms, 3 full baths along with two queen sleeper sofas for additional sleeping accommodations. The cabin offers a private master suite loft featuring a king size red cedar log bed with a custom 'Spa experience ' shower in the master bath as well as a private balcony off the master bedroom. The main level boasts two separate bedrooms with one featuring a queen bed and the other featuring two twin beds as well as a full bath. The basement level offers a fourth private bedroom with a queen bed as well as two queen sleeper sofas for additional sleeping accommodations. Additionally we have satellite television on all three levels of the home. We also offer a DVD movie library to choose from.
The basement is an entertainment level featuring a bar, pool table,air hockey table, foosball table, darts, board games, hot tub (unavailable in winter months due to freezing temps) and a book selection for both children and adults. We are a 10 minute ride to downtown Murphy and shopping areas with paved roads leading to the property.
House features unlimited free long distance calls within the U.S. and free unlimited high speed internet access on our computer or use the Wi-Fi setup on your laptop or wireless device!
PLEASE NOTE: THE MINIMUM RENTAL AGE FOR OUR HOME IS 25 YEARS OLD. NO PARTIES OR GROUPS OF 24 OR YOUNGER MAY RESERVE THIS CABIN. THE PERSON SIGNING THE RENTAL AGREEMENT MUST BE A MINIMUM OF 25 YEARS OLD AS THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE RENTAL PROVISIONS AND ARE SUBJECT TO FEES DUE TO DAMAGES OUTLINED IN THE RENTAL AGREEMENT.
Here are some 360 degree photos that you can pan around in. Copy and paste the link, once the picture opens click on it then you can drag the mouse around to rotate.
Keywords: Chalet-Style Cabin
Mike & Dawn Jankowski
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- May 25, 2018
About Mike & Dawn Jankowski
We are the owners and caretakers of this beautiful home. We enjoy this cabin as our vacation home as well and try to provide our guests with all the comforts and conveniences of home and then some!
Mike & Dawn Jankowski purchased this Cabin in 2007
Why Mike & Dawn Jankowski chose Notla
This cabin was built at this location for its convenience to downtown Murphy without compromising the unbelievable views and privacy available. All within a gated community.
What makes this Cabin unique
We love to sit on the deck and look out at the breathtaking views of the mountains. We always have a ton of fun with our family and friends because of all the amenities the cabin has to offer. There is plenty of room in the home and even if there is more than our family, we have lots of room to stretch out and not constantly be under each other's feet.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Beyond Awesome Experience!
Our family really needed a complete retreat and we found it in this beautiful home. Everything was perfect for our family. The horse-themed bedroom with 2 twin beds was something right out of a story book for our 2 girls=11 & 13 years old. Our 2 older boys (15 & 17) spent hours competing against each other on the variety of games in the basement.Our college-aged daughter was able to utilize the room on the main floor to find peaceful rest after studying for hours on the deck for an upcoming internship
How you were these owners able to find the decorative bears & moose that filled this cabin?
No detail was left unattended-from the paper towel bear-topper to those on the lamp shades and even the etchings on one of the windows—incredible!
We recapped our experience in one of the journals we found (what a great idea-to have a journal)
While we explored the surrounding area, even going out to Fire Creek Falls and then later to Joyce Kilmer, eventually viewing the lookouts on the Cherohala Skyway, nothing compared to the view at this home.
We are Midwesterner/flat-landers and had no issues negotiating the slopes and angles of the roads and drive-ways getting to & fro from this beautiful property with our 15 passenger-extended van. While there is some 'steepness' with this part of the USA, it's completely drive-able. Overall, dealing with the owners is great. Stop looking anywhere else. Reserve here. Hot Tub. Grill, Decks, Fire Ring & Plenty of room for a diverse group of multiple ages=perfection.
WOW! WHAT A REVIEW! THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH FOR YOUR KIND WORDS! WE ABSOLUTELY APPRECIATE OUR GUESTS AND TRY TO SEE TO IT THAT ALL NEEDS ARE MET FOR OUR GUESTS! IT REALLY MEANS A LOT TO US WHEN OUR GUESTS REACH OUT TO US TO LET US KNOW THEY ENJOYED OUR HOME! WE HOPE TO HAVE YOU RETURN AGAIN IN THE FUTURE!
The views are utterly amazing and the house was perfect for our family vacation. There's plenty of hiking nearby and it's far enough away from town that you're secluded but close enough to town that getting supplies like gas and groceries isn't a problem. The only way our stay could have been better is if there was more living essentials (toilet paper, paper towels, garbage bags) pre-stocked. The homeowners were very attentive as well. Thank you again, Mike, for all of your help and for letting us stay in your home!
Fantastic cabin to stay in. It met all of our needs and a very quiet place to stay. We are planning a fall ( October ) visit and we are going to rent it again if it’s available. I hope we left it in the condition you expected after our visit. Thanks again!
Beautiful view and the accomadations were great!
We enjoyed our stay very much. We had three couples and all we wanted was to relax and enjoy the atmosphere . We did both and enjoyed the blessings of God all around . We were thankful for sure . Thank you Mike and Dawn for being gracious owners who really showed they cared about our comfort.
Thank you so much, were glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again one day.
A true gem tucked away in NC mountains
If any of you (especially from northern states) are clicking through those pictures above and looking at the rates and wondering if there is a catch, well, I am happy to tell you, there is none. Yes, that is how much we paid. And yes, the propery is that immaculate and the views are that beautiful. (We even took photos that are much more amazing!) We are from DC area and usually limit ourselves to a 4-5 hour driving for our 'homeaway' vacations, but this time we decided to go crazy. Our 10-hour drive however was enjoyable and well worth it considering that the quality of experience we all had at this splendid cabin. If we had not have our kids with us, my wife and I would have been perfectly content with just staying in the house and not going anywhere for full seven days. (We did a couple of hikes and ventured into Atlanta one day (about 2.5 hour drive) and enjoyed the world-renowned aquarium and Stone Mountain, which was all great.) I however do have one regret from this trip though. If our week stay was little later just by a few days, we would have been able to catch the total solar eclipse of 2017 -- from the balcony of this house!! Murphy, NC was right in the zone!! That would have been truly something . . .
Thank you for the great review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Beautiful views and a cabin that left a lot to be desired
For years my family has been taking a semi-annual trip to the mountains and staying in rental cabins. Usually we shoot for the basics and as close to nature as possible. This time we decided to shoot for more luxurious accommodations and we were simply disappointed.
While the cabin is very spacious, has great outdoor seating, and offers truly beautiful views here are some things you should know before deciding to book:
First and foremost, you will not receive your check-in instructions and the cabins extremely lengthy list of rules until a week before check-in. These rules include the need to turn on and off the water supply to the home before departure which means you can not run the dishwasher as you are leaving and must hand wash your dishes. YOU are responsible for bringing your trash to the dump which has very limited hours. So you must load up all your trash (and that's a lot for 8 people) into your car and drive it to the local dump. If you're checking out on a day that the dump doesn't open until afternoon you have to load your trash in your car when you leave and try to find someplace to take it. If any trash is left behind you will be billed $75. We have stayed in much more remote cabins and never had to do this. The Wi-Fi network was never accessible to any of our many devices or the Nest thermostat in the home and the "house computer" would not turn on. Also there are other cabins within shouting distance of this one even though the description states it is isolated.
While most of the rules try to preserve the appeal and amenities of the cabin, the owner has missed the boat here and needs to either update them or at a minimum, his understanding of the condition of his property. All of the linens and furniture (including game tables) throughout the home are visibly worn and we were only provided 6 towels for 8 guest (luckily there was a Wal-Mart close by where we purchased our own) The kitchen was dirty with grime and hair on shelves and in the refrigerator and the provided pots and pans were so worn we couldn't use them without aluminum foil (we also had to provide our own trash bags for our stay even though the owner stated the trash bags would be provided) The hot tub was unusable in its condition and while the house rules talked about adding chemicals if needed, there were none provided. The downstairs shower was also unusable to us as the fixture was so clogged with buildup the water pressure was actually painful.
For us, t
I'm sorry that you were unhappy with your stay, as you can see by all of our other reviews most people are very happy with the cabin. I want to address some of your issues you had mentioned.
Check-in information is sent out 1 week prior so you have it in time to review before you leave for your trip. It is not sent out any earlier for security reasons as we are one of few advertised cabins that actually keeps our online reservation calendar up to date and as such it is very visible when the cabin is unoccupied, therefore a target for theft and vandalism. We ask that the water shutoff as it might be a few days till the housekeepers get there and do not like to leave the water on, especially in the winter time as we have had pipes break before completely flooding the basement. As such, that is why we recommend you run the dishwasher the night before. There is no trash service in the area and there is no community dumpster, and the housekeeper cannot be responsible for dropping off trash for 8 people. We have rented many cabins in the Murphy area and have always had to dispose of our trash. As for the Wi-Fi, if you had let us know, we could have rectified this quite simply. Apparently a guest before you had turned it off. There are other cabins located about 100 yards on the other side of a valley, the closest one is usually empty. The house is described as private, not isolated. As far as wear and tear, we try to replace things as they are needed. Unfortunately some guests are very hard on the kitchen items and we try to replace pots and pans about once a year. The game tables were all in good condition last time we were there a few months ago (yes they are worn, they have been used regularly for about 5 years). As far as the towels and condition of the kitchen, I will take this up with our housekeepers,and I apologize for that.
Once again, I am sorry you were not completely satisfied and we will work to remedy some of your concerns.
We are located just 12 minutes from the new Harrahs Casino. White water rafting in the Ocoee and the Nantahala are within a short drive as well as ATV trails.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
2 nights available-booked no earlier than 2 weeks from check-in $300. Cleaning fee:$100 & 4% Occupancy tax on rental amount Holiday weekends are add'l $50. $500 security deposit. Christmas and Thanksgiving week are $1000, THE WEBSITE MAY NOT CALCULATE THESE CORRECTLY