Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Family Retreat Near McCormick Place, Parks, Museums.

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 3,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • Fireplace

Overview

About the property

FOR YOUR PROTECTION, PAYMMENTS TAKEN ONLY OVER THE PHONE. NO WIRE TRANSFERS

This property is less then 10 minutes to Downtown Chicago, Museums, Parks, just a short walk to trains and buses. Also it is very close to the White Sox Stadium (U.S. Cellular Field), McCormick Place, China Town, Shed Aquarium, South Loop restaurants and stores, Loop night life and entertainment. It contains all amenities, including Dish Network cable, wireless Internet, large family room, sauna room for your relaxation and pool table in the basement. This house is perfect for a large family who is looking for perfect vacation in the superior, quality rental home or group of people who

are visiting Chicago with work purposes and need a short term comfortable stay.

The house sleeps up to 14. There are 4 queen size beds, sofa sleeper (full) in the Basement and 1-2 queen size air mattresses can be arranged to accommodate more guests.

Master bedroom is overlooking to a beautiful roof top deck. The deck has a grill, dinning table and 6 chairs for your perfect summer barbecue and entertaining.

2nd. Level:

1 Master Bedroom with Queen Size bed, dresser and a chest with 30"TV. Jacuzzi Tub, double vanity and over sized shower.

2nd Bedroom with Queen Size bed, Ironing board and Iron in the closet.

3rd. Bedroom with Queen/Full Size bed.

4th Bedroom with Queen/Full Size bed.

Second Bathroom with 6' soaking tub and double vanity.

1st.Level :

Living area with gas fireplace for your relaxation and 55” Plasma TV.

Dining Room seats 6+.

Powder Room on the same level.

Kitchen is fully equipped with SS appliances, basic cookware, serving plates and glasses.

It also has 24” flat screen TV.

WIFI information is on the file cabinet by the kitchen door.

Lower Level:

One very large family room with 55" screen Plasma TV, 3 sofas, Pool Table with all accessories,1-2 air mattresses.

There is 4 person Sauna room and full third Bathroom.

Laundry room contains

Washer/Dryer.

Keywords: 3 Story Single Family House.

More Details

Owner
Family Retreat Chicago
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, russian, Lithuanian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 16, 2017

About Family Retreat Chicago

I am a Commercial/Residential Real Estate Broker for Chicago area and a homeowner of the property. I started working in the Real Estate business 15 years ago and bought this house in 2006 as an investment property with hopes to flip it and make some money, but as the market progressed to the down side, I decided to start something new and join the vacation rental market. The house has a lot of heart and hard work in it. My family was working with the developer closely to have everything this house might need for our renters to feel like at home away from home.

Family Retreat Chicago purchased this house in 2006

Why Family Retreat Chicago chose Chicago

It is very close to any city attractions, Grocery store, public transportation, McCormick Place, US Cellular Field, China Town, South Loop, Grand Park, Lake.

What makes this house unique

Enjoy the sauna and pool table.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you Vaida ,



We enjoyed our stay and thankful for the home

owners for being understanding .



We will definitely consider staying there again if

we visit Chicago .



Regards,
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

South Side House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Queen size Beds (4), Sleeper Sofa or Futon (1)in the basement, 2 air mattresses might be available.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Family Retreat Near McCormick Place, Parks, Museums.
average rating of 4.3125 based on 18 reviews
5

We keep coming back for a reason!

  • 5 of 5

My company has rented this condo the past 4 years for an annual convention and are satisfied every year! The condo is clean and has an accommodating layout. Owner responds quickly and is very easy to work with. We'll definitely be back next year :)

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Miranda. We appreciate your group coming back every year. We will be waiting for you and welcome your group any time you will be visiting Chicago.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

I Just Love It!

  • 4 of 5

Me and my girls truly enjoyed this beautiful roomy property. We made some life changing memories. This home accommodated us very well and perfectly located to everything. When ever we visit again I will be contacting the owner who made us feel very welcomed.

Thank you!

Best Girls Night Ever!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
1

NOT HAPPY

  • 1 of 5

This unit is not worth your money or time. The pool table is broken down and missing pool ball. The downstairs remotes for cable batteries dead. There were mouse droppings in the downstairs bathroom. The carpet that mentioned in the add that is downstairs and made to sound so wonderful, has 3 seams with frays and is a darker color not light. Recepts in the kitchen not working and trying to keep the house at a comfortable temp. was impossible. The towels that i was taken out of my deposit because they had supposed stains is ridiculous! This unit is not 10minutes from downtown and not the best of neighbor hoods. The contract states that cleaners will be arriving directly after your strict check out time, untrue, they did not come until 3 days after so i did not get my deposit back for 6days after our checkout. The owners need to revisit the deposit what they charge and also new cleaning people. The island in the kitchen best thing about the house.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There is always that one person, who is not satisfied for the wrong reasons. I didn't know that you were coming to redesign my house. In your notes, it is obvious, that there was nothing wrong with the house, except the billiard ball was missing. I did visit the house before you came and changed all the batteries, just a week before your arrival. Mouse droppings??!! Are you kidding me? Just because I charged you for 2 towels that your party damaged ($20only) and I send pictures of it , you are ready to drag my businesses through the mud ? We don't have any rodents or ever had an issue with it. You should be glad I didn't charge you for using the air conditioner during freezing temperatures and putting the fan on constant run! You are complaining about the damage deposit not refunded to you with in 3 business days!? In the contract, If you looked at it, it says 3-5 business days for the refunds if there are no issues. Well there was an issue, we don't know if you burned or damaged the air conditioner trying to use it during the winter and I still refunded your damage deposit with in 3 days. So you should reconsider your complaint about the late refund. We all work during the week, and I give my self some time to process the refund. Some vacation rentals have 30 days to do the refund. So I assume some research would have helped you before you rented the property. You are complaining about the neighborhood. So new development and brand new homes built around the neighborhood says to you that it is not good!? I am in Real Estate for over 14 years and this house was bought as an investment 10 years ago. This neighborhood never has newer been better and more developed than now. I am sorry you had such a " horrible" time. I would have appreciated the text or phone call during your stay, to allow to fix the issues you were having. It seems you were not interested to communicating with me during your stay, but you decided to complain and lie about it on the website. So thank you for staying with us, but, I hope, you know, what you did, is not right. For the future renters, I really would like to apologize for my upset tone. That is coming from the disappointment, that for all the work I do, to have my vacation property as nice and updated, and welcoming for so many returning families, one unappreciative renter can destroy it, just because he can. I hope you know that I can rate you as a renter as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 2
5

Modern and Well-Maintained in Bridgeport

  • 5 of 5

This well-maintained, modernly decorated home is spacious and was very comfortable for our party of 9 adults. The home does not share walls with its neighbors, meaning there was less worry about our late-night conversations bothering anyone. The home has the feel of a traditional Chicago bungalow, while being multi-level and much bigger. While the neighborhood is somewhat isolated by the highway and rail line at the north end of Bridgeport and not really within walking distance of attractions, we found an excellent restaurant a very short car-ride away, and we can't imagine a taxi or ride-share would cost all that much. Overall we found the residence perfectly suited our needs and felt like home as soon as we walked in.

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chicago, IL, USA
5

Fantastic vacation home!!

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 14 adult runners doing Chicago half marathon on September 25th. This was a perfect place that accommodated all of us. Kitchen utensils, bathroom supplies, and bedroom linens were clean and plenty for our large group. The basement recreation room was fantastic. Our favorite spot in the home was open patio furniture in the back. A couple of improvements would be improved Wifi speed (it was horrendous) and a clean barbecue grill (this was rusted and disgusting).

Overall, we had a fantastic time at this vacation home. We'd love to stay at this retreat again in the future.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear traveler, Thank you for your generous review. We do appreciate any feed back. I will pay attention to your remarks about the grill and WIFI. Grill, will be on our list to replace for the next season. WIFI is very difficult to control. We have ATT in both of our properties and it can be unpredictable. We change the routers every year, We have updated speeds, but still some times loose the signal or have it very week, A specially if a lot of devices are connected. I thank you for your patience, because I loose it my self some times :). Please feel free to contact us if you are coming back to Chicago, for your accommodation needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
4

Girls Getaway

  • 4 of 5

We had a large group of ladies come into Chicago for an engagement party - 8 ladies spent the night here, but we hosted a gift exchange with 16 total people and everyone fit comfortably. This was perfect for us and our needs! The house was great and the bedrooms were comfortable. There is grocery store not too far away which was especially convenient when we discovered that there was no coffee provided! (Tho there was a coffee pot which was helpful.) There are some dishes/utensils, but I would recommend bringing your own as there is a random assortment and I wouldn't depend on something being there. Same goes for any cooking utensils/pots/pans/etc.

The location was fine - we were unsure about the area but we never felt unsafe. We stayed in January so were unable to use the outdoor space and spent most of the time inside anyways.

We had zero problems using Uber to and from the house.

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lisa, Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed the house and your stay in Chicago. We always leave more then 14 people would require of utensils, dishes, cups and glasses, but lately my cleaning lady complained, that it was massively disappearing. We found our forks in the garbage many times. My cleaning lady told me that she recommends to leave 14 of everything, so it would be easier to keep tract of it. I didn't realize, that she cleared it all :). I will ask her to take out more utensils and dishes. Thank you for letting me know. I just wanted you to understand, that this was never an issue before.
Did you find this review helpful?
13 1

Map

Millennium Park
Willis Tower
Art Institute of Chicago
John Hancock Center
Clarence Buckingham Fountain
Navy Pier Ferris Wheel
Chinatown
McCormick Place
U.S. Cellular Field
The Magnificent Mile
The Signature Room at the 95th
Grant Park
Architecture River Cruise
Adler Planetarium & Astronomy Museum
Chicago Bulls
Greektown
Greek Islands Restaurant
North Avenue Beach
Lollapalooza
Kingston Mines Chicago Blues
Chicago White Sox
Shaw's Crab House
Macy's State Street
Oak Street Beach
Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse
Goodman Theatre
Willis Tower
The University of Chicago
Giordano's
Navy Pier
Cloud Gate
John G. Shedd Aquarium
Lincoln Park Zoo
Chicago Skyline
Chicago River
Soldier Field
United Center
Lakefront Path
Skydeck Chicago
B.L.U.E.S.
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab
Alinea
Crown Fountain
Buddy Guy's Legends
Underground
Mike Ditka's Restaurant
Gold Coast
China Town Cafe
Connie's Pizza-Bridgeport
Ashland Orange Line Station
"Train and Bus."
Burnham Harbor
"Rental boat docking."
Mariano's Bucktown
Pops for Champagne
Little Italy Chicago
"Best Italian food and more."
Powell's Bookstores University Village
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Nearest Airport
7.2 Miles
Midway, O'Hare
Nearest Ferry
5.8 Miles
Navy Pier
Nearest Train
0.6 Miles
Ashland Orange line
Nearest Motorway
I55
Nearest Beach
2.8 Miles
31st street Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
China Town.
Nearest Point of Interest
McCormick Place.
Nearest Point of Interest
South Loop
Nearest Point of Interest
US Cellular Field
Nearest Point of Interest
Dominic's Food Store
Nearest Point of Interest
Connie's Pizza.
Nearest Point of Interest
Ashland Orange Line
Nearest Point of Interest
Burmham Park Harbor.
Nearest Point of Interest
University Village
Nearest Point of Interest
Little Italy
Nearest Point of Interest
Navy Pier
Nearest Point of Interest
Mag Mile
Nearest Point of Interest
Willis Tower
Car: recommended

Other Activities: Shopping, site seeing, night life.

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Side House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak season 3 night minimum
Mar 1 2017 - Dec 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$450
From
$550
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$550
$3,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $750
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Cleaning $175 + Tax
Tax Rate 16.5%

Off season rates do not apply for Christmas or New Year. 3 night minimum stay is required for discounted rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties