check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Emily Compton

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Sand Bucket Cottage - Price Guarantee

74 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pacific Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Online booking and payment, key pad entry, go directly to the cottage, instructions with entry code sent two weeks prior to check-in, fully stocked with all the supplies needed for your stay, just bring your clothes and food.

The Sand Bucket Cottage is the best equipped retreat for the money in Pacific Beach. We back this with a price match guarantee, that we will meet or beat any competitor's quote whose accommodation has comparable features.

We spent three years looking for the right property with great 'bones'. We purchased at a price lower than anybody else, undertook a major renovation to bring you the highest quality accommodation at the best possible price.

Consequently, you will find features in our cottage that our competitors do not have such as; hardwood floors, cozy gas fireplace, a full second bathroom in-conjunction with a premium cable package on a HDTV with integrated DVD and complementary Wi-Fi, Roku player with free Netflix account a gas BBQ, washer dryer, fire pit and all the comforts of home!

Others have sought to imitate us, but no-one can match the combination of features, quality and price.

Only 1/2 a mile to expansive sandy beaches on the most picturesque part of the Washington coast. Sleeps up to 8 people, great for families, with a focus on kid friendly activities with many toys and games.

The cottage features two bedrooms, the master has an attached private bathroom and it's own deck to enjoy the morning sun. The oversized front BBQ deck faces west, relax while enjoying the sunset. The kitchen is fully stocked and provides all utensils and gadgets to make your stay comfortable, ample linens and towels are provided for your stay.

A short stroll into the town of Pacific Beach, where you can enjoy an espresso while you browse the local gift stores. The town is nestled next to the beach which provides wonderful opportunities to enjoy the majesty of the Pacific Ocean.

Keywords: Cottage, wi-fi, gas fireplace, beach, cable tv, cozy, families, couples, dogs, best value.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Emily Compton (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Emily Compton

Owned and renovated by Emily and Rob in late 2008, we live and work in Seattle and try to escape to our ocean retreat on a frequent basis. We have two young children so this is a perfect distance from Seattle to get away.

Emily Compton purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Emily Compton chose Olympic Peninsula

Emily's family have been visiting Pacific beach annually since the mid 1980s. The beach never gets old, beautiful and warm in summer, the winter is often just as much fun with some great storms and clamming on certain weekends. It provides us with a relaxing respite from the stresses of city life.

What makes this cottage unique

We specialize in being both a family friendly and pet friendly location. To make your stay as easy as possible if you have young children we have made available many things you would need for small children, including a pack and play, high chair, small chair for 2 - 5 year olds, numerous toys and boards games for all ages. A full compliment of cable channels and DVDs help for those downtime moments.

We also provide dog towels and an outdoor hose to help clean your dog. For the chefs amongst you, the kitchen is fully stocked for your needs, including a griddle and food processor as well as some spices and olive oil. Complimentary Starbucks coffee and tea is provided for you to enjoy during your stay.

Guestbook comments from the owner

You have created a wonderful beach house environment that combines the fun funky atmosphere of the seashore with the comforts of home. As someone who has completed a restoration of an old house, I would be very interested in seeing the before and after photos. The weather was typical and atypical for November – rain fog mist rain and brilliant sunshine, exactly what we were looking for, thank you.
Nov 2010
  • 1 of 78

Reviews

4.7
based on 74 traveler reviews

Sand Bucket Cottage - Price Guarantee
average rating of 4.7027025 based on 152 reviews
5

Great weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5

What a great place to spend a weekend, even with the rain and wind going on outside almost all weekend it was great to relax in front of the fireplace. When the weather stopped in the evening you could hear the waves crashing in the distance. Bring your own groceries (dbl the price up the street). Plenty of supplies in kitchen. And even our dog enjoyed just hanging out. We hope to come back again!

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2
4

cute as a button

  • 4 of 5

Had a wonderful time. There to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary of friends and this cottage provided for a wonderful experience to add to the anniversary. Only one little small suggestion, nearly all the brochures need to be updated, some were several years outdated. Otherwise, perfect in all other ways

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great home. Well stocked kitchen. All the comforts of home. We loved it.

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house and all of its amenities. Had a great day at the beach and went bowling in the evening. Great location. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bellevue, Washington
5

Perfect family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

This was a trip of "firsts" for our small family. My husband and I have never been to the Washington coast, and as such neither had our 7 and 8 year old daughters. It was also our first time using Home Away, our first time road-tripping with our dogs, and our first time spending a week away from home without the lure of "Disneyland" to entice the kids. We have been focusing on "building memories" with our girls...and the time spent at the Sandbucket Cottage gave us some amazing memories that will last a lifetime.

This cottage was absolutely perfect for a family vacation. The 4 of us plus our two dogs loved the little house from the moment we walked in. It's got everything you could need for a week away from home. Our girls loved the full-size bunk beds in the kid's room. I loved the well stocked kitchen, the washer and dryer, the TWO bathrooms, and the adorable living spaces. The house is just the right size for our small family. There were lots of games, books and even some movies available had we not had enough to do, but as it was our days were quite packed with trips to the beach (so close by!) and into town for ice cream (the girls had saved up money just for this) and into Ocean Shores to ride horses on the beach. We stayed up late watching movies and eating popcorn, and we ate home cooked meals all week long.

Pacific Beach is a tiny little town with little to no "tourist" action, which makes it perfect in my opinion. The beach had people on it, but was not at all crowded. The town is quiet and tucked away, which is actually how I generally like to travel as you get more of a sense of "how the locals live". The distance from more well-traveled areas did become an issue when we needed a veterinarian and a pharmacy for our 12 year old dog who did not handle the road-trip well. Although inconvenient, it would not dissuade me from choosing this location again. I enjoy traveling "off the beaten path". Ocean Shores is only a 30 minute drive away...and it's a beautiful drive!

We took so many amazing photos of our first family vacation on the Washington coast and honestly, we hope to do it again and again and likely will stay at the Sandbucket Cottage every single time...it was just absolutely perfect. I hope the owners don't mind us making their cottage a part of our family tradition. I'm so grateful for a wonderful experience!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cheerful comfortable and beautifully decorated

  • 5 of 5

We loved the location and had a wonderful time. We will definitely be back again!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great time!

  • 4 of 5

Hello,

This was our 2nd stay at the sandbucket cottage. My family, composed of 2 adults and 2 children plus a cat and a visitor, enjoyed that comfortable feeling and the charm that this cottage has.

As our guest slept in the master bedroom, we, 4 of us, slept in the "children" room. It was specious enough for us, even with the cat! However, the mattress on the bottom of the bunk bed is challenging for 2 adults to sleep in. It is sinking in the middle so I had to hold myself on the bed frame to keep from rolling on my husband. We did not sleep well at all...

We loved your front deck! It is charming, and very useful when arriving from the beach! It is secluded enough to strip the children in the front before opening the front door and send them to shower. We use the barbecue a couple of time for cooking fresh salmon. It worked perfectly!

However, my husband had the surprise to find a big fat rat in the barbecue. It was in the grill! It ran away once we opened the lid.

We enjoyed playing board games, watching movies and the WiFi when it was raining outside. On sunny days we enjoyed your front deck, playing on the beach and visiting Seabrook. However, we were missing a sand shovel for sand castle building. It was very hard to find one in the local stores around us.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Seatac
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Seagate
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Ocean Shores
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 109
Nearest Restaurant
0.5
Paddies Perch
Nearest Point of Interest
Naval Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
Seagate
Nearest Point of Interest
Local Coffee Shop
Nearest Point of Interest
Kite Shop
Nearest Point of Interest
Emily's confectionery and bakery
Nearest Point of Interest
Post Office
Nearest Point of Interest
Beach Access
Nearest Point of Interest
Paddy's perch
Nearest Point of Interest
Falcon's Nest
Nearest Point of Interest
Wacky Warehouse
Nearest Point of Interest
Beach access
Nearest Point of Interest
You and I market
Nearest Point of Interest
Church
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pacific Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Autumn
Sep 5 2016 - Oct 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$115
From
$130
Fri,Sat
$760
 
 
Late Autumn
Oct 23 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$105
From
$115
Fri,Sat
$675
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$390
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$130
$835
 
 
Winter
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$105
From
$115
Fri,Sat
$695
 
 
Spring
Mar 17 2017 - Jun 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$115
From
$130
Fri,Sat
$760
 
 
Memorial Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$525
Flat fee
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 16 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$160
$1,040
 
 
Independence Day
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$700
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$105
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.5%

Memorial Day weekend, Independence Day, Labor Day - $165 per night Thanksgiving Christmas/New Years (Dec 23-Jan 3) -$125 per night All major holidays have a 3 night minimum, holiday rate charged for each of the minimum 3 nights. All major cards accepted. $70 cleaning fee, taxes 11.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pacific Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Tiled Stove
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties