check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mo Snell

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House

47 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hōlualoa House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2 adults)

Snell Kona Coffee Farm is located on the historic Mamalahoa Highway in the Kona Coffee Belt area.

The half-acre coffee orchard of four hundred trees surrounds two beautiful custom designed and built homes; the farm house and a cottage. The cottage is not for rent, so the farm house is very private.

The farm is 1200 feet above sea-level on the slopes of Hualalai Volcano (dormant) with breath-taking views of Kona and the vast Pacific Ocean. The farm house has a spacious covered lanai and sliding glass doors that open completely onto the lanai with unobstructed 180 degree views of the Pacific Ocean. A 4 foot deep lap pool adjoins the lanai.

The property is terraced with lava rock, landscaped with a variety of tropical plants and very private.

The homes were designed by renown Seattle architect, Chris Snell. The architecture mimics traditional Hawaiian hale (homes) and Japanese farm houses.

The building materials are unique to the Kona-area. He incorporated lava rock walls, hand milled Ohia trees for framing and paneling. The homes are constructed by the best carpenters and craftsmen on island.

The farm house is built of hand milled Ohia wood. The slider doors are teak. The kitchen cabinets are bamboo with black granite counters. The roof is galvanized metal and exposed on the interior of the home. The roof replicates the corrugated tin roofs seen on old coffee shacks. The home is exquisite in every detail. The bed room looks over the lap pool into the coffee orchard.

This a working farm and during coffee harvest from September to December, you can watch coffee picking and processing on the farm.

Snell Kona Coffee Farm is only a ten minute drive down the mountain to Kona Town for shopping, and beautiful white sand beaches for swimming and snorkeling. Holualoa is a quaint town located 3 miles south of the farm.

The town is an artist-community and home to numerous art galleries. Mamalahoa Highway is a historic road, the High Road, and runs through the heart of Kona Coffee Belt with many fascinating towns, galleries, farms and historical sites.

thank you

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Mo Snell (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Mo Snell

I enjoy farming Kona Coffee, swimming in the ocean and learning about 'old Hawaii.'

Mo Snell purchased this house in 1998

Why Mo Snell chose Kona Coast

The farm is a 15 minute drive down the mountain to Kailua-Kona for shopping and beautiful white sand beaches for swimming and snorkeling. Holualoa is a quaint town located 3 miles south of the farm. It is an artists' community and features numerous art galleries. Mamalahoa Highway is an historice road and runs through the heart of the Kona Coffee Belt with many fascinating towns, galleries, farms and historical sites.

What makes this house unique

The farm house is surrounded by coffee trees, palm trees, avocado and other fruit trees for privacy. The quiet beauty of the surrounding jungle, the tropical song birds and the verdant coffee orchard imbue health and serenity.

Reviews

4.7
based on 47 traveler reviews

Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
average rating of 4.7234044 based on 47 reviews
4

Tranquil getaway

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed the house and especially the lanai. The views were great and the property was the perfect getaway. The location is great to see the towns/villages in the kona belt. We loved going to the local restaurants. I also went diving in Kailua-Kona and the drive was 20 min or so. I would recommend the property if you're looking for something a little different in Hawaii.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, We love the coffee towns located along Mamalahoa Highway, too. We are lucky that the coffee belt road provides a look back into the history of Kona Coffee. Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply Paradise.

  • 5 of 5

This house is gorgeous, we felt it so well, it was paradise.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very impressive views, and the property is fantastic.

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from a 10 day stay on this property and it was phenomenal. As others have mentioned, there are roosters and frogs nearby that make some noise. We didn't find them disruptive at all however. We brought ear plugs but never used them. The frogs actually put us to sleep. The pool is great and the house is great as well. It was a very relaxing property and had everything that we needed for our 10 day stay. I would highly recommend this property to anyone traveling to the big island who wants privacy and a their own little piece of paradise.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at my small coffee farm. We worked for 15 years, landscaping and building the house and small cottage on the property. I especially love the cool breezes at the 1200 foot elevation; and 20 minutes away from the noise of Kona Town.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing architectural home! World class location!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay... the home is just incredible. Perfect indoor outdoor living. Location is great outside heat and bustle of Kona, view is EPIC! Pool is beautiful, and outdoor dining is world class. Beautiful architecture, and brilliant floor plan. We slept with the doors open every night and enjoyed the cool mountain air! Can't wait to go back! We really can not say enough good things about this house!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, unique.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of June, and were in love with the property. Can't wait to go back!

As mentioned by other reviews, the roosters and geckos can be loud. It almost sounded like they were competing with each other in the middle of the night, haha. But we brought earplugs and all was good, so wasn't an issue for us.

Overall, a wonderful view, beautiful property, and great value. It was a refreshing change from our first 4 nights in a upscale hotel while on Hawaii for a week.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, I am happy that you enjoyed the serenity and beauty of my farm house!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A picturesque and serene retreat from the world.

  • 5 of 5

This house is amazing in it's ability to whisk you away from the day to day troubles of the world. The farm house is beautiful, well detailed and extremely thoughtful in it's layout. We had an amazing stay here and were sad to leave. Next time we're in Kona I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The coqui frogs are loud at night, but it's not that hard to sleep through. The view over the pool as you go to bed and wake up is unforgettable!

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, I am glad you loved the house. The coqui frogs are now all over the island, sadly. They were brought over about 10 years ago, and just this year came onto my farm. Not much we can do to eradicate them because they have no natural predators. Come back and visit again. Mahalo, Mo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Keohola - Kona Airport

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hōlualoa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter Holiday rate
Nov 15 2016 - Jan 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.41%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hōlualoa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Large soaking tub, shower with view of coast line.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties