check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Winter Sonata at 7 Springs Resort - Ski In & Out - Prime Location and Serenity

71 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


Champion Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

FIRST BOOKING IN NOVEMBER-Be the first to book dates in the month of November and get two weekend nights for $400 if paid by personal check. That rate includes all taxes and the end of stay cleaning fee. Include in your inquiry "Book November". The rate is good for up to 4 guests.


This premium four seasons rustic 'getaway' is a beautiful place in a perfect location and offers such a great value that discerning guests return season, after season, after season, after season. Nestled directly on the Village Trail at Seven Springs Resort in the Laurel Highlands, this condominium comfortably sleeps 2 to 6 and is ideal for your family or a group of your friends to take a break from the hustle and bustle of daily life. From the sunken living room, gaze out the large picture window onto the Village Trail and the surrounding Laurel mountains. All living space is on the main level. We will consider a night stay on a case by case basis.

The Winter Sonata is a smoke free and pet free condominium featuring two tastefully decorated master bedrooms each with a queen size bed along with a private full bath. A third queen size pull-out bed is located in the living room. No need to climb-up or climb-down any bunk beds at the Winter Sonata.


The Winter Sonata's private entrance is less than 170 yards from the recreational center with hot tub, pool, tennis courts, basketball courts and children's playground. The condominium ideally located to easily access the recreational center to play, but far enough away to allow you to enjoy the peace and quiet of the mountains. You can just relax at the condominium or choose from other outdoor resort activities such as hiking throughout the picturesque local State Parks or playing 18 holes of golf on the beautiful Seven Springs Resort course. There is also horseback riding, zip lining, disc golf, alpine slide, chair lift rides, sporting clays, mountain biking, and so many others things to see and do. The Winter Sonata allows you to take a break without breaking your vacation budget.


For those who prefer the indoors, take the free shuttle to the lodge and select from a number of activities at the Seven Springs Resort including:

- Massage and Spa Services

- Formal/Casual Dining

- Miniature Golf

- Fitness Room

- Racquetball

- Roller Skating/Blading

- Hair Salon

- Entertainment

- Game Room

- Hot Tubs

- Bars and Nightlife

- Indoor Swimming Pool

- Bowling

- Shopping


Fallingwater (Designed by Frank Lloyd Wright - Year Round

Flight 93 Memorial - Year Round

Steeler Training Camp Latrobe PA - Summer

Caddie Shak Family Fun Park - Spring, Summer, Fall

White Water Rafting Ohio Pyle - Spring, Summer


The rear wooden deck is ON the Village Trail Slope. From the rear deck you can SKI-OUT to the Seven Springs Lodge then select the lift to the slope that best fits your experience level. After a few runs, you can SKI-IN to the Winter Sonata and enjoy a warm comfortable place to recharge, refresh and relax. Then when you’re ready, head out for more ski runs or catch the shuttle stop just outside the condominium to the Lodge to enjoy the many other amenities of Seven Springs Resort.



In addition to the room rate, a security deposit ($350 Spring/Summer/Fall and $450 for Winter) is due to hold the reservation. If there are no damages to the property, the security deposit will be mailed back 7 days after your check out date.

***Booking a date 3 or more weeks in advance? Avoid the VRBO service fee by booking via mail. Just include in your inquiry "Avoid the VRBO service fee"***

Keywords: Mountain Retreat, Ski-In Ski-Out, Slopeside, ski condo,

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, cantonese, mandarin, malay
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 4, 2016
Call Owner

About The Owner

We love the Laurel Highlands any time of the year. When looking to recharge, this is our getaway. We waited for a property of this quality to become available for three years. During those years we looked at over 25 two bedroom condominiums that were for sale. This condominium impressed us the most. The floor plan with the living room, dining room, kitchen, baths and bedrooms all on the same floor is what we wanted and the location on the Village Trail ski slope was perfect. This is a true ski-in ski-out condominium and a great place to spend time with our friends and family.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2009

Why The Owner chose Seven Springs

Seven Springs is a well known and top rated all seasonal resort. There are so many activities to enjoy no matter the season and the night time entertainment is great. In the Mid Atlantic Region, this resort received a #1 rating. It is also in close proximity to the world renown Fallingwater home designed by Frank Lloyd Wright as well as the Flight 93 National Memorial and the Great Allegheny Passage Bike Trail in Rockwood, PA that is part of the 335 mile hiking-biking trail connecting Pittsburgh,PA to Washington, D.C.

What makes this condo unique

The private front entrance of the condominium is just a short 2 minute walk to the recreational center with a pool, hot tub, tennis courts, basketball courts, and children's playground. Just off the rear wooden deck we often make the 15 minute hike through the open wooded area to the Seven Springs Resort complex. We especially like the hike in the fall when the leaves in the Laurel Mountains change color. It is truly awesome.

Guestbook comments from the owner

What we did? Bob skied and Bev fed Bob.

Thank you for letting us rent your comfortable condo.
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 22


based on 71 traveler reviews

Winter Sonata at 7 Springs Resort - Ski In & Out - Prime Location and Serenity
average rating of 4.7042255 based on 93 reviews
Pittsburgh, PA

Great place, great location

  • 5 of 5

My wife, son and daughter in law stayed at Winter Sonata for the Mother Earth News Fair and the place was outstanding. It's well kept and well equipped and the location can't be beat.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: With the ski season just around the corner, the Winter Sonata is located directly on the Village Trail slope. Just step off your private rear deck and you are on the trail.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

We had the pleasure of staying at the Winter Sonata condo for our yearly family reunion weekend. The unit was clean, comfortable and in a great location to pool and tennis courts for summer months and near slope for winter months. We had a bonus surprise on Friday night when we enjoyed watching fireworks from the patio. Kitchen and bathrooms were a little out dated but very clean and well stocked. The owner was very nice and prompt in returning emails or calls. We would rent this unit again but for a longer visit!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The location is a great one. We have a great cleaning and maintenance crew. We also appreciate your great review. We will consider additional updates next year. Within the last two years we replaced: the furnace, the air conditioner, windows, keyless entry system, bathroom fixtures, ski closet door, two televisions, a bluetooth stereo system, and the washer/dryer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Girls Wine Fest Weekend

  • 5 of 5

This one floor condo was very clean and updated. The new keyless entry was a great feature. The location is very convenient to the shuttle pick up that is right across the street and a very short walk to the pool. We had a group of five women and there was more than enough room for all of us to get ready in the morning with two bathrooms and a giant mirror in the dining room. The owner was very friendly and informative. We would definitely rent this property again!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We continually update the Winter Sonata. This year besides normal painting, carpet cleaning, and minor repairs, we installed a new blue tooth stereo system and a new keyless entry system. Our goal is to keep the property at peak performance where everything is working and to continually meet or exceed our guests expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Weekend summer getaway

  • 5 of 5

Condo is very clean and equipped. Plenty of storage space and the owner is very helpful in suggesting local restaurants and activities.

The pool is beautiful! Overall, it was a great weekend.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have a great cleaning crew and most of the guests are very gentle with the Winter Sonata. That combination assures a clean and well working condominium. There are some nice restaurants we have personally enjoyed over the years as well as interesting activities in the area. We are happy to make suggestions for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

awesome location

  • 5 of 5

This condo was clean, well stocked and a perfect location on the slopes! Owner was accommodating and helpful with information we asked! We will for sure rent again, but for longer than a weekend next time! :)

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank you for returning the property in great condition. Almost every guest takes very good care of the condominium. The location is one of the best for ski in and ski out access. Just step off the private rear deck and onto the slopes.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Easton MD

Wonderful Start Disappointing End

  • 1 of 5

Our family of 5 enjoyed our stay at Winter Sonata and were pleased with our experience through the day of check out. As an owner of a vacation rental management firm in another resort area I am a huge supporter and respectful of the industry for the value it provides guests to live like locals and gather as a family. Richard's pre-stay customer service in allowing flexibility for date changes due to snow conditions and a fee based late check out system reminded me of the service typically received only from a professional manager. However when presented with conflict post stay that level of customer service quickly disappeared. The property was not inspected until 2 days after our check out and we received an accusatory call from the owner identifying property damage that was not present at our departure. An incorrectly coded key card at arrival identified issues with the entry system and I suggested perhaps the property was unlawfully occupied post our stay. I suggested to the owner to file a police report and asked if the housekeeping team could provide pictures of the more concerning claims - urine in the bathtub and vomit throughout the house. Housekeeping was unable to produce these images but did provide an image of a bed frame with a middle rail missing and roller leg uncoupled. My inclination would have been to err on the side of customer service vs. accusation given the circumstances of time lapse between check out, our positive pre-stay interaction, key issues and lack of images of the stated damage. An apology would have been all that was needed post Richard's initial phone call. Rather, we received a partial concession to refund the balance of our security deposit only if we stayed at their property again. Unfortunate response which suggests the owner's customer service quickly disappears once all of the guest's payments are in his hands. While I am sure others may enjoy this property we are not inclined to rent again as the price per bedroom per night is higher than all other comparable units when assuming the security deposit is not a refundable variable.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Over the past six years, only two guests required us to consider withholding part of the security deposit to cover damages. This guest was one of the two. For this guest, the available deposit we had for damages was only $90 after accommodating this guest to use their security deposit to pay for an additional night plus a late check out. As Paul Harvey used to say “And now … the rest of the story…” 1) This guest had a late check out of 6pm Sunday and the cleaning crew arrived at 7am Monday and noticed the condition of the property was very dirty. While a guest returning the property in a very dirty condition is rare, we usually clean it up and do not deduct from the security deposit. In those situations where the cleaning crew has a very heavy schedule, especially on Mondays, the routine is to enter the condominium, throw the towels/linens into the washer and return later to place the wet laundry in the dryer. On Tuesday they will return to complete the cleaning. On returning early Tuesday morning, they discovered the condominium was more than dirty, it was damaged. 2) We utilize the key card security system managed by the Resort. Each year we pay for key cards that are specifically coded for our property. We and the cleaning crew are the only ones who maintain the key cards. When a key card goes missing, all key cards are immediately recoded to insure entry integrity. When this guest left, all the key cards were accounted for. What this guest claimed as an “… incorrectly coded key card …” was a key card that did not work. We believe most people have encountered a non-working key card, which does not mean the security system is compromised. This type of entry system is a standard in the hotel industry and known even by vacation rental professionals. 3) While we were very upset to find our well maintained property was left in a mess, it was hardly a reason to contact police, especially with no signs of forced entry and nothing stolen. When we requested photos of the conditions, the cleaning crew had cleaned up the mess. 4) We provided this guest with pictures of both the broken bed along with the damaged slate tile in the kitchen. The cost to replace the bedframe was $148. We offered the guest a credit towards a future stay as a gesture of goodwill. This guest responded by changing a previously submitted five star rating to a one star rating. and NOW … you know the rest of the story!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
27 Miles
Latobe Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Foggy Goggle
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Seven Springs Resort Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Ski
0.5 Metres
Rear Deck of the condo
Car: necessary

Zip Line, Disc Golf, Alpine Slide, Shooting Clays


Rates & Availability

Champion Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Christmas New Years 2017
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
Christmas New Years 2017
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
New Years
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Winter Season 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Apr 7 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
Martin Luther King 2017
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Presidents Weekend 2017
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $450
End of Stay Cleaning Fee $95

Cancellation up to 60 days before arrival - Full Refund
Cancellation 59 days to 45 days before arrival - Forfeit 100% of rental amount
Cancellation less than 45 days before arrival - Security deposit returned and all rental monies forfeited.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Champion Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1161 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen size bed converts from couch
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers