Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

SKI AND GOLF CHALET LARGE, COMFORTABLE AND CLEAN

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

First floor bed rooms for the ones who don't like stairs. 2 bed rooms are in the main floor and 3 bed rooms are in upstairs.

Each bed room has own TV and total of 7 TVs in the house. All your worries behind and run off to a relaxing getaway in the Poconos. An 1 1/2 hour from NYC, this cedar and stone house has five bedrooms, and 3 full baths. It is fully equipped kitchen and a washer and dryer in the basement. WiFi is available.

It features 1 King size bed, 2 queen size beds, 4 full size beds and 1 twin bed (sleeps 12- 14 comfortably with a maximum of 14). Linens and towels are furnished by specific request at a nominal fee. There is a stone fireplace running all the way to the top of the cathedral ceiling and a large deck outside for your enjoyment.

Recently the Mt. Airy casino has opened within 20 minutes of our house for your enjoyment.

The house is located within easy driving distance of the Delaware River (Delaware Water Gap) and Shawnee Lake and there are canoes and rafting/tubing available for rent along the river. Other activities nearby include hiking, biking, horseback riding, tennis, basket ball. swimming,skiing is across the street at the Shawnee mountain and the area boasts some of the largest golf courses in the Poconos. You also have access to a community spa, pool and health club, although the house has it's own private jacuzzi.

Discount on some activities are available to guests. Please call Kay and Bud Macnew in Maryland at 410-322-9605 or 9609 for rmore information.

The owners speak English, Japanese and German.

Keywords: Vacation Chalet

More Details

Property Manager
Bud and Kay Macnew
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2017

About Bud and Kay Macnew

I was born in Tokyo Japan. I met my husband when I was studying in Germany at the same university.

Bud and Kay Macnew purchased this house in 1994

Why Bud and Kay Macnew chose East Stroudsburg

My husband used to come here for golfing since he was attending Fordham University in NY. Our favor vacation place has been always Poconos.

Finally we decided to build one instead of renting.

That how we got this beautiful comfortable house here in Shawnee.

What makes this house unique

Most of guests enjoyed that we have 2 living rooms( one we call a family room or den), as their children could watch own TV shows although each bed room has a TV or playing games etc.. while the adults enjoyed chatting with family or friends or watch their own show. Also, they liked the idea of having 2 bed rooms and a full bath on the 1st floor as some times they had older people who do not like stairs.

Also the guests like to have a TV in each room. Wd have total of 7 TVs in the house.

Guestbook comments from the manager

I wanted to thank you for letting my friends and I use your amazing

house! It was by far the best house I've ever rented in the

poconos!!! Your directions were very clear and i appreciate you being

so available for all my questions. I will definitely be looking to

rent from you again in the future as it seems many of your guests have

become returning friends.



Thank you so much

-Emily
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 5

Map

Other Activities: Downhill/Alpine Skiing, Snowboarding, Tubing, Wildlife Viewing, Basketball Court, Miniature golf, shopping, and kayaking

Amenities

East Stroudsburg House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • NoFire works No Bonfires No on street Parking
  • No illegal substances No loud noises music after 10 PM
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (4), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

53% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
SKI AND GOLF CHALET LARGE, COMFORTABLE AND CLEAN
average rating of 4.266667 based on 20 reviews
4

Owners are very cooperative and available

  • 4 of 5

The house was very spacious and cozy aside from a coming to the house with a few damages there everything operated pretty well

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Val Thanks for staying . you were good guests, you left the house in a good condition, sorry your previous guests did some damages to the house. The handy man can come in this week to take care of repairs. Although they were not big one, I wished the guests notified us before they left so that we could get repair man in on time. Looking forward to hearing from you again. Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy Home! Perfect layout for our family.

  • 4 of 5

Great location. Convenient to our favorite pocono activities like the Village Farmer & Bakery, the Deerhead Inn & Bushkill Falls. There were 10 of us but the house could easily accommodate more. Kitchen well appointed to prepare meals and snacks. Home owners were easily accessible if we had needed anything. My 6 year old grandson said that the house is even nicer in person than in pictures!

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Outdated house and communication with owners not great

  • 2 of 5

My family and 2 other families stayed here about a month ago. No foosball table (description states there is), grill didn't work well at all, took over an hour to cook burgers, jacuzzi tub didn't work and weren't told ahead, shower curtain rod in upstairs bathroom is broken, downstairs shower door doesn't shut all the way, window shutters in bedrooms are broken. Should update the description of the house to include there is a Keurig machine. We think the owners should visit their house for a weekend and take a look at its condition and make some repairs/updates to make the house a better offer.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at our vacation house. I wished you called us right away, we usually respond and drive in to see the problems right away even though it will take 3.5 hours to get there from our house.That grill is a new one and purchased this year. It has been working and had no complains before you and after you. May be something went wrong before you came , I don't know. We had 2 more charcoal grills and one gas grill in the garage, we make gas grill almost every year new, as most of the time the guests pour charcoals in the gasgrill and break it totally The toy foot ball game table we set up was unfortunately was more problems for us. Whenever we go we find the balls were missing. we spend a long time to look for them, gradually guests started break players legs, hands, caps and many other parts. Finally we could no longer keep up the game and put it away. Sorry we forgot to take it from the list. Many things happen to be this way. We set up nice things, but some guests do not treat them with respect. Unfortunately the suggestions we received from other people were right. They said that we should not make place too nice. Just keep it simple ! We should have paid more attentions to them. However please don't take their comments seriously. there are a lot of nice guests we had, including you and a lot of people kept coming back year after year some of them are for 20 years. Jacuzzi was another mistake, what happened was someone drilled shower unit a screw in and stopped the shower working and messed up a entire system and we are looking for someone to redo all the system. or make a new jacuzzi. It is costly so we finally took it from the list for now till we fix it. Also window shutters have been problems, we thought wooden shutteres will go with the house nicely , but every time we go some of them have been broken and difficult to mend it. The master bed room one was terrible. one of the guests became so drank and broke open the window and puked from upstairs to down the deck, some guests puke in the drawers in the dresser.( Some times we don't know till late )so we finally decided to make simple covers and now working on it with window decoration company. we are going to meet them today, as I just had a big operation and could not drive long distance for a while. We added Keurig machine in the kitchen and Listed. Hope you enjoyed the deer family who live in our backyard, the birds, turkeys ( the disappear some how Thanks Giving time ?)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean

  • 4 of 5

Owners were very supportive

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Beautiful location. Nice and quiet.

  • 2 of 5

House needs updating. Some items listed under amenities were not in the house. Once addressed with the owners they made a special trip to help.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

love going to this house

  • 4 of 5

we've been going to this house for years - so we like it, but it probably needs some updating

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 7.0%

Call for any questions about the price at 410-322-9605 Kay.
We will be reasonable.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties