check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Owner/ Manager

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, spanish

Baker Avenue Short Term Executive Rental

28 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Northwest Bungalow Rental Photos and Description

Bungalow, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Both units of this Ballard bungalow are fully renovated and furnished in the heart of Seattle. Location is everything with this property, as the bungalow is a mere 4 miles from the University of Washington Campus, 15 miles from the SeaTac Airport, and conveniently located along Route #28 of the Seattle Metro. You'll have no problem getting around from the bungalow, whether you're traveling by foot, bicycle, or your own vehicle.

The upper unit is wonderfully finished in clear fir trim, pine hardwood floors and detailed cherry and alder cabinetry. There is a separate loft/study space above the kitchen and private sleep and TV watching areas on the main floor with a free-standing gas fireplace. Centri-vac, new appliances and quartzite counters make for elegance and comfort,as does the sleek Italian tile and bathroom cabinets. New windows and patio doors provides pleasant ventilation and amazing views of Seattle, the surrounding mountains and the locks of nearby Salmon Bay.

The garden unit apartment comes furnished with everything you'll want and need while staying in Seattle. The gourmet kitchen is equipped with state of the art appliances and beautiful custom wood cabinets. Modern oak cabinetry is featured in both the bed and bathroom. The amber-colored concrete flooring throughout the unit feels warm and cozy and the in-floor radiant Hydronic heat system works great. A unique japanese soaking tub adjacent to a large walk-in shower makes the bathroom quite luxurious. The huge undercover porch with gas grills, dining tables and comfortable seating provides more great view entertaining/living space for the occupant. A centri-vac system makes for very easy cleaning and the flat screen TV and Wi-Fi will make you feel right at home.

If you will have a vehicle while staying at the Bungalow, the on-street parking is very easy. Off street only offered for multiple month leases.

Keywords: Styled Bungalow

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
Owner/ Manager (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, spanish

About Owner/ Manager

Tom and Jody are longtime Alaskan residents with strong ties to Seattle. Tom has been actively involved in the commercial fishing industry in Alaska for over 30 years. After raising two boys Jody now spends her summers in Ketchikan, Alaska working for a kayaking company. Tom and Jody are outdoor enthusiasts who enjoy skiing, hiking, biking, kayaking and gardening.

Owner/ Manager purchased this bungalow in 2006

Why Owner/ Manager chose Northwest

The Ballard Bungalow is near the fishermen's terminal and located in one of the most vibrant neighborhoods in all of Seattle. It is located very close to the Burke Gilman Bike Trail and right along the Seattle Metro's Route 28. It's within easy walking distance to the zoo and a five minute walk to Fremont's shopping district and Ship Canal. Several coffee shops, Fred Meyer and Trader Joe's are all very near. It's an approximate 20 minute drive from SeaTac Airport, 10 minutes to downtown Seattle and 10 minutes from The University of Washington campus. Its location makes the bungalow a great option for people with or without a vehicle.

What makes this bungalow unique

The bungalow is an urban retreat in the heart of Seattle. Its located on a large lot that feels comfortable, and the bungalow itself has been completely remodeled. The friendly neighborhood and great neighbors will make you feel right at home, and the great southeast exposure provides plenty of sunshine.

Reviews

5
based on 28 traveler reviews

Baker Avenue Short Term Executive Rental
average rating of 4.964286 based on 28 reviews
Laguna Beach CA
5

A Truely Beautiful Retreat

  • 5 of 5

I spent three months at the Bungalow while transitioning from an adult lifetime of living in Southern California. House and grounds were impeccable and the landlords friendly and helpful. The bungalow came complete with all of life's necessities from towels and dental floss in the bath to a cupboard of spices and drawers with all sorts of cooking utensils in the kitchen. The peaceful view from the kitchen and deck were just what the doctor ordered. I put food in the fridge and plugged in my computer and I was completely at home. Thanks to Jody and Tom for thinking of everything. I will look forward to recommending the bungalow to my friends looking for a place to call home for a while.

Marcy

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Fremont Stay

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I enjoyed 9 weeks here in January-March of 2016. Enjoyed is an understatement. We still miss the warm comfort and incredible views. This house was the perfect combination of quiet residential with walking access to the interesting Fremont area (many great shops and restaurants) and a short drive or bus ride to downtown Seattle or nearby Ballard. You walk into the house at street level. Off street parking is not a problem. The windows and deck look over a beautiful back yard and over the distant rooftops to the canal area which is a beautiful waterfront walk with lots of scull activity and wildlife. The spectacular and interesting view takes in the Ballard Bridge, lots of sky and the Olympic Mountains to the west.

The TV/reading room was well stocked with books. The kitchen had everything we needed for a prolonged stay. The bedroom was very comfortable and quiet. The laundry facilities worked well. Lots of nice details--cabinets where they would be handy, original art on the walls, cozy gas fireplace. The ladder for to the upstairs loft and king bed was not for movement impaired or those who needed a bathroom in the middle of the night. We had several sets of older company and Jodi, our landlord, supplied us with very convenient blowup mattress. We are 70 and had no problem with the ladder. In fact I used the loft as an art design studio during our stay.

The landlords, Jodi and Tom, were always a phone call away and very accommodating. This house was everything we thought it would be and more. Great grocery stores 5 minutes away by car--Trader Joes, Fred Meyer, and a beautiful organic grocer downtown Fremont.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Richard and Penny. Great getting to know you and your work! Thanks T and J
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great longer term rental

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for a month with my wife while working at UW hospital on Pacific St. It was very comfortable and we had no issues.

The unit was plenty warm despite the 40 degree temps outside.

The unit has laundry, dishwasher, and plenty of items in the kitchen or a longer stay.

Street parking was never an issue.

The grocery store is a less than a 5 min drive away. Trader Joes is about 5-10 mins away.

UW hospital was about a 12 min drive in the morning around 6AM.

The neighborhood was very quiet.

I would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Terrific place!

  • 5 of 5

This is a terrific property. Would love to stay here again! Very quiet with all we needed. Public transport fairly easy to figure out, a car isn't a bad thing but you can get away without it. Jody was really easy to work with. Nice clean home. I'd recommend to anyone.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ideal location and beautiful property!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in the upper unit of this property for most of July 2015 and absolutely loved it. Every amenity we needed was available to us, and then some! We had very easy access to multiple bus lines, 2 large full-service grocery stores within easy walking distance, all the comforts of home, plus a fabulous back porch with great views, especially at sunset!

I was able to work remotely from the Bungalow and didn't have a single issue with internet performance issues or outages or any other obstacles to productivity.

The ONLY drawback was one that will not matter to visitors in most months. Like many commercial and residential buildings in Seattle, there is no A/C at the bungalow. Luckily, there are two fans (in addition to a ceiling fan) and when we returned home in the evening on the hot days, it only took 20-30 minutes to cool the house to a comfortable temperature. We simply had one fan drawing cool air in the front/east-facing window and the other fan sending air out a rear/west-facing window. We're accustomed to cooling our own New England home in the same manor so this didn't really bother us but is worth noting for anyone who feels they require A/C. It doesn't get too humid in Seattle, so the heat never felt oppressive, even at its worst.

You can really make yourself at home in this great little house. The other reviews and beautiful pictures of the property don't oversell it one bit. It's really that great a place. If you decide to stay there, you'll be very pleased with your choice!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The place is great

  • 5 of 5

The place is great, just like the photos. Only complaint is the Internet is slow and sometimes erratic.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Will try and get to bottom of this and call comcast as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fremont Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
August /September special
Aug 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
$2,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$175
$1,190
$2,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $75
Property Damage Protection $59

$75 cleaning fee for all stays

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Northwest Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1) in loft area, Queen size Bed (1) in bedroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties