check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Carl Lindell

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

The Hangout - Large Upscale Home with Dramatic Views in Highlands

5 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Highlands House Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms, 5 1/2 bathrooms, sleeps 10

Exquisite 5,500 square foot home located high in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina and encircled by 28,000 acres of National Forest. Abundant natural beauty, recently renovated in last two years with 5 bedrooms and 5-1/2 baths. Tremendous views, numerous fireplaces, outdoor fire pits, hammocks, separate office, game room, treehouse for children, billiards, wireless internet.

A four season climate offers glorious spring wildflowers, warm summer days and cool nights, a brilliant palette of ever changing fall foliage, and the occasional winter snowfall. Guests will have access to beautiful $2 million plus Wildcat Cliffs Country Club Fitness Center which includes heated indoor pool, full nautilus facility, golf, tennis, massages and spa. This vacation home offers plenty to do, or the opportunity to do nothing at all.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Carl Lindell (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.2
based on 5 traveler reviews

The Hangout - Large Upscale Home with Dramatic Views in Highlands
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
Georgia
5

Pure Bliss!!!

  • 5 of 5

We went to Highlands to celebrate the Christmas Holiday with family and friends. Never imagined that our stay at the Hangout would have been as amazing as it was. The home was so spacious and beautifully decorated. The kids spent all of their time in the game room playing pool and ping pong, which left plenty of time for the adults to sip coffee on the deck overlooking beautiful Whiteside Mountain. Who could ask for more? Loved it!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Bad Bookkeeping

  • 1 of 5

The property, house and view were beautiful. The property caretaker was helpful before and during our trip. My family rented the property in celebration of my parents' 60th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed our stay. That being said; I can not recommend renting this property. In fact, beware of renting this property. I have been waiting for the return of my security deposit for over seven weeks despite having received three different dates (there was no damage) for when the check was supposedly mailed. I've emailed and called repeatedly but have yet to receive the refund and was not offered an acceptable resolution. An additional problem I experienced was with the same booking agent. We paid the balance owed a month before our trip as requested by the booking agent. The check cleared immediately and yet I received an email reminder a few weeks later asking that I pay the balance!!! I offered proof of payment and the booking agent "confirmed" my payment then blamed the mistake on bookkeeping. It has been an extremely frustrating experience. I feel like I'm left "Hanging Out" to dry.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We would like to respond, that this one time incident was just that. Security deposits are normally refunded within a 2 week time period. In this particular case, the security deposit was refunded in that time period. Due to an address change, it was returned, but immediately reissued with the current address. We as the owners of the home, value our renters and their opinions.
Did you find this review helpful?
15 0
5

Wonderful long weekend!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I rented the hangout for MLK weekend in 2013. The views are magnificent! We had a group of 10 people and everyone slept comfortably. The house is close to both Highlands and Cashiers. Diane the caretaker was extremely helpful with our arrival. It was a perfect house for a family reunion. We would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you had a wonderful family reunion at The Hangout. That is precisely why we named it The Hangout. The home offers so many activities and can accommodate a big family gathering, comfortably. We would love to host another family gathering for you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

LOVED, The HANGOUT !

  • 5 of 5

We will be BACK ! The name THE HANGOUT describes this lovely home perfectly.

What a treat. We stayed at THE HANGOUT for a family gathering to celebrate my father's 80th Birthday. It was perfect. Having morning coffee overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains was dad's favorite part of the day. All his grandkids would sit with dad enjoying the views and fresh air. The kitchen was so user friendly, we made blueberry pancakes and omelets every morning. The hiking trails were perfect, we walked right out the door and was on a lovely trail in a few minutes. We picked fresh berry's while walking ! Very cool for us "city people" .

Playing golf was a real a treat , to played at Wildcat Cliffs and it was truly amazing. We visited the fitness center and had a fun time swimming in the indoor heated pool.

The house was perfect in every way. We loved the outdoor fire pit . Roasting marshmallows after the sunset a unexpected delight for the family. Having wireless internet was a blessing. We could all keep up with work and not miss a beat for the week while away from the office.

We would love to visit The Hangout again and enjoy all the different seasons. We live in Orlando, so it's an easy drive for our family. We are planning a spring trip back and look forward to cool nights. Thank you !!!

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It sounds like your family had a great time and celebration. Thank you for your feedback. We strive to help make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Please consider staying at The Hangout for another celebration or just for a long weekend!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5

My family had a terrific vacation at the "Hangout" in Highlands! The home was big enough for everyone to spread out and enjoy the scenery. The view from the great room was spectacular. One day we even looked DOWN on the clouds! Our kids enjoyed the pool and ping pong tables. We hiked, played golf and tennis and enjoyed Highlands main street. Just a relaxing get-away for all involved!

The property manager stopped by to see if we needed anything and also recommended nice hiking trails and restaurants. We found them to be quite helpful.

This is the perfect home for a family vacation in the mountains!

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great feedback and comments. We are pleased to hear that your family had plenty of activities to do, which The Hangout offers. We hope that you will consider staying at The Hangout for another relaxing getaway!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Macon County Jet Port Franklin, TN
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Wildcat Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Wildcat Cliffs

Guests will have access to Wildcat Cliffs Country Club Fitness Center which includes heated pool, full nautilus facility, golf, tennis and spa. Numerous golf courses located in Highlands/Cashiers area. Located near many fine restaurants, historic sites and is only ten minutes from Highland Groves.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Highlands House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $350 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.75%

3 night minimum stay required rates negotiable. Would love to hear from you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Highlands House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , 3/4 shower no tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower , 3/4 shower no tub
    Room 6 - toilet
    Half Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Indoor: 5 Bedrooms / 5 ½ Baths, Two Great Rooms with Glass Walls Offer Sweeping Panoramic Views, 3 Gas Fireplaces, Private Study/Library, Ping Pong and Billard Room, House Manager included housekeepers available daily for a fee Outdoor: 1 Level, Manicured Acre, hangout with 4,500 foot drop / million dollar view of mountains Playhouse, treehouse Brocade Course (Badminton/Croquet Court), Waterfall and Pond, gas fire pit, Gazebo and beautiful outdoor seating

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties