check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Dawn

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Impeccable Wooded Retreat on ¼ Mile Pristine Menominee River

17 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Amberg House Rental Photos and Description

Log Home, 5 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Baths (Sleeps 9-12)

Look no further for your escape from the pressures of everyday life than this impeccable wooded retreat. Our home away from home will take you from the hustle & bustle of daily life into the tranquility of the Northern Woods. Nestled among 29 acres of woods, with ¼ mile of private frontage each on the pristine Menominee River & Squaw Creek, you will immediately trade your phone and laptop for hiking shoes, a swimsuit and shorts! This open concept 3,000 square foot custom built log-home was designed with our family in mind, leaving no detail overlooked. You will find 4 bedrooms, a loft and 3 full baths. The master suite includes its own bathroom with a stunning field stone lined shower, and a private screened in 3-season room. A second deck off of the great room will allow you & your guests to enjoy the serenity of the outdoors. The well-appointed modern kitchen featuring stainless steel appliances with a large dinette allows your friends & family to gather for home-cooked meals.

The Great Room boasts 22 foot soaring ceilings, a field stone fireplace and magnificent floor to ceiling windows, giving you unobstructed views of the woods and river below.

Additionally, our home includes a walk-out game room where your family can enjoy board games and air-hockey, or kick back on the leather sectional for a movie on the big-screen. This cozy space is the definition of comfort, and provides additional room to spread out and relax.

Step outside and you will find a custom built fire pit with a surrounding patio and a brand-new private pier leading you down to the clear, sandy bottom Menominee River. Dock your boat here, go for a swim, throw a fishing line in or just sit back and watch the Bald Eagles soar over-head.

Upon arrival, please remember…”Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow?” Relax, enjoy and recharge. We hope you enjoy our home as much as our friends and family do!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Dawn (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Dawn

We searched for the perfect 2nd home for 2 years. Our first thought was to be on a lake until we found the 29 acres with 1/4 mile of frontage. We are able to go boating, fishing and 4 wheeling without being crowed on the lake. We all love to go tubing, you start at the Chalk Hill Dam and float for an 1 1/2 and end up right at our place, it's our own little lazy river. We also love to take nature hikes through the woods or just long walks through the trails. This has been a great place for us to create new memories with our family and friends.

Dawn purchased this house in 2001

Why Dawn chose Wisconsin

We found this property and fell in love with all the seasonal changes. We thought it was going to be a place we would visit mostly in the summer but found that there was something special each season we didn't want to miss. We found ourselves entertaining there more than we did at home. It is such a great escape.

What makes this house unique

We enjoy relaxing by the second fire pit down by the river watching the Bald Eagles flying by. When they fly low to the water, you can see their reflection while swooping down for a fish.

Reviews

4.8
based on 17 traveler reviews

Impeccable Wooded Retreat on ¼ Mile Pristine Menominee River
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 17 reviews
5

Bachelor/Bachelorette Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 11 stayed at this rental for a weekend for our bachelor/bachelorette party. We were blown away by how beautiful the entire property is. The pictures don't do it justice. Friday we arrived late at night but we loved how the rental was tucked away into the deep woods and close to the river. Saturday we set up bags by the fire pit and relaxed. There is plenty of firewood there! We spent a lot of time in the gorgeous main living room and we gathered everyone downstairs on the sectional couch to play games at night. For the 11 of us, there was more than enough space to be comfortable. FYI there is no Wifi or cell reception (enough to maybe send texts and maybe phone calls but not much.) Also, check out is 11 am, but we called/texted the rental manager and she let us extend our check out time which was very nice! It's better to ask than to not ask at all.

Some highlights not shown above:

- The master bathroom shower....just be surprised!

- The children's bedroom has a cute little bunk bed as well as a loft tree house with a small cubby hole underneath! All of us adults thought it was so cute and we wish we had kids to enjoy it.

We all would plan on returning to this rental in the future and make it a tradition of kicking back and relaxing in the wilderness. :)

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy you chose our house for your special occasion. We are very happy we exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much for expressing your feeling about your stay. Joseph Greenspan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent northern wisconsin retreat

  • 5 of 5

Excellent property and home. We all enjoyed our stay with plenty of space in the well maintained house as well as a fantastic outdoor space with no neighboring homes in sight. I would recommend to anyone looking for a secluded peaceful retreat in northern Wisconsin!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. The reasons you stated are exactly why we love the place. Nice and secluded with a 1/4 mile of private waterfront. Thanks for choosing our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great for Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Great spot for a family vacation, had both our married children and their kids there - home is large enough where everyone could have their own space yet offered great rooms where we could also gather. Deck facing the river was perfect, large fire pit was fun, and walk to the pier and canoe was also part of the whole experience. Be sure and visit Dave's Falls, minutes away and very scenic.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great winter weekend

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed this place. Beautiful cabin, well-appointed. Stayed with 7 people, including 2 couples. Sleeping arrangements were very comfortable--more so than many large cabins you'll find for rent. The main room with vaulted ceilings is a great hang-out spot. Property is pretty and secluded. Coordination with rental agent was painless. Wausaukee area is nice--not as hectic as Eagle River area, and was a manageable 4.5 hr-ish drive for us from Chicago.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You very much for choosing our home for your Winter Weekend. Glad you had fun! The Greenspan Family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Thanksgiving

  • 5 of 5

8 Adults. 2 girls. Wonderful time.

1. 18 acres of privacy.

2. Awesome place for Nordic skiing.

3. A lot of games, air hockey, darts, basketball etc

4. Fireplace

5. Clean kitchen, bathrooms,

6. Comfortable beds,

7. Sunny Living Room with gorgeous view,

8. enough room for four families with kids.

9. No phone and internet - a real peace of mind.

and many many more.

I would recommend to all my friends and family. Thank you Dawn.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy you had a wonderful Thanksgiving up in the north woods. We are always excited to hear people enjoying the property as much as our family does. We wish you and your family a wonderful holiday season and a very Happy New Year. Thank you for the opportunity to contribute to your memorable 2014 Thanksgiving.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Madison, WI
2

Nice place and location, poor service

  • 2 of 5

I stayed at this cabin with a group of graduate students for two nights. The property is as described, the cabin is nice and there are plenty of amenities. The location is remote and woodsy and the cabin has a cozy feel to it.

However, you do not meet with anyone regarding logistics of staying there. The place is run by a rental company and not the homeowners.

I accidentally left my Pendleton scarf (lovely and expensive!) behind after the stay. I contacted the company and asked if they could give me the name of the cleaning service or they could contact them to try and retrieve the scarf (and that I would pay to have it sent to me!)

I received a reply that they must be cleaning the day I contacted them because she hadn't heard anything. The following day, I received an email that simply said,

"Sorry but we won't be able to return the scarf. The cleaning crew disposed of it already. Articles of clothes they said they don't keep. Jewelry & electronics they do for a 1 week timeframe"

If you feel you may leave something behind be aware that their policy is to throw it away! If I return to the Northern Wisconsin I will not be staying here again!

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 8

Map

Waterfall Capitol of the Midwest, Skiing at Pine Mountain Resort or Norway Mountain MI aprox. 35 minutes.

Other Activities: Kayaking, Snowboarding, Boating, Snowmobiling, Shopping, Horseshoes, Canoeing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Amberg House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall Season
Sep 9 2016 - Oct 20 2016
2 night minimum stay
$265
$1,650
 
 
Winter Season
Oct 21 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$235
$1,450
 
 
Summer
May 5 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$295
$1,850
 
 
Summers End
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 8 2017
4 night minimum stay
$295
$1,850
 

Additional information about rental rates

$100 extra charge added to stay for Memorial Day weekend, 4th of July week, Labor Day weekend, Thanksgiving and Christmas weekend/week.
The New Years Eve holiday is an additional fee of $200 to stay and a copy of a drivers license will be needed on file.
Reduced winter rate will not apply for Thanksgiving, Christmas & New Years Eve week.
$295 down payment is refundable if notice of cancellation is given within 21 days of reservation (unless proof of emergency is given).
Must 25 yrs and older to reserve with valid credit card on file.
ABOVE RATES ARE BASED ON PARTY OF 4. ADD $10 CHARGE TO TOTAL FOR EACH ADDITIONAL GUEST.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Amberg House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • River
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties