Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Beach Home! Great Location!! Steps to Beach W/Priv Pool & Cabana!

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 12-16)

***Families welcome*** Minimum renting age 25 years old (We DO NOT RENT TO COLLEGE STUDENTS or chaperoned groups)

Enjoy great Gulf views while you relax on the porches or walk just couple of blocks to many restaurants and shops. With the gorgeous emerald waters and sugar white sand just a few steps away to sink your toes into, the location of Toes in the Sand is truly the best of both worlds! This 4-bedroom home features a 3-bedroom main home, private pool, and guest cottage. The main home includes a flowing floor plan with the family, dining, and kitchen areas in a large open space. The first floor also includes a bedroom with a full bath. The second floor features a large master bedroom with a sitting area and full bath as well as a lovely large balcony for your enjoyment. The second bedroom is exceptionally large and has two sets of bunk beds and a queen bed. Book now for a Fabulous Vacation Experience!

Private Pool & Guest Cottage!: The private pool features an outdoor shower and plenty of chairs to relax in after a long day at the beach. The guest cottage is a wonderful addition to this home and includes a king bedroom, living room (with a sleeper sofa), kitchenette area, and private bath. The porch is gated so small children cannot access the pool without your knowledge.

Shopping in Paradise!: Fabulous shopping at the Destin Commons is less than ½ mile away! The Destin Commons is an outdoor shopping mall, with stores like Bass Pro Shop, Abercrombie & Fitch, Victoria's Secret, Talbots, Books A Million, and a 14 movie stadium seating theater, along with countless fantastic restaurants! This home is walking distance to nearly everything you could want on your vacation including Camille's Restaurant for your morning coffee.

Additional info:

- Small dogs considered for an additional $200 per dog pet fee (30 lbs., max 2).

- The pool can be heated for an additional $35+/day.

LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED. Please bring your own beach towels.

No smoking.

Singles under 25 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian on premises.

More Details


Crystal Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bunk Room Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    First Floor Full Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Cabana Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed , Twin/Full, Twin/Full, and Queen Bed - sleeps 8
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Bunk Beds with full on bottom and twin on top (2), Queen Sleeper Sofa (1)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Beach Home! Great Location!! Steps to Beach W/Priv Pool & Cabana!
average rating of 4.740741 based on 29 reviews
St. Peters, MO

Family Fun Time

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I took our family on a trip to Destin this year as an early Christmas present. It had been along time since we could all go on a vacation together. Our group consisted of my son and his wife and their son, my daughter and her boyfriend, and of course my husband and myself. So, ages ranged from 3 years, to 20's to 30's and to 50's. There was something for everyone at this location. From hanging out at the pool, to a large kitchen table where we could all eat together, a wonderful front covered porch, where we could all fit around the table; to the beach within easy walking distance; bike rentals and a nearby playground. Great places to eat, and go parasailing, rent a boat, or just hang out. Chris & Janet Kiley, the property managers, were helpful and quick to respond on any questions. What a wonderful time we had and fantastic place to stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Toes in the Sand! The location is perfect being so close to the beach and so many things to do nearby. We hope you and your family will take another "Christmas present" vacation with us soon. Thanks again for staying with us!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great house and awesome location.

  • 4 of 5

Very nice , clean and well equipped home, but could use some new pots and pans. Does need some TLC on the exterior of house, fence and yard around the pool.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Carmel, Indiana

Great house, fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

Our family really enjoyed the house, and it was perfect for our young kids. The location was perfect, just a quick walk to the beach. The view on a map doesn't do it justice - it's literally right there. We had a couple issues with the pool during the week, and the property owners were right on top of getting it addressed as soon as possible. Absolutely no complaints!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the review, Mike! We're glad you enjoyed Toes in the Sand - especially the very close location to the beach - making it super easy for your little kids! We hope to see you on your next vacation to our area! Thanks again for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Wonderful Thanksgiving Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family and I (my husband, myself, and two grown sons) had a truly wonderful vacation in Destin. The house was very comfortable and my son loved the privacy and separation of the pool house. We all took advantage of the beach and the heated pool. We were joined in the fenced in back yard by our pet grandbaby Ozzie. The highlight of the trip was eating a traditional Thanksgiving Feast on the patio by the Pool. My husband and son both manned the grill (turning it into a smoker at one point). Throughout the week we went go carting, shopping, saw a movie, and ate out several times. I recommend Dewey Destin and McGuires. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your Thanksgiving holiday at Toes in the Sand. The setup is great for extended families with the guest cottage just like your son enjoyed! We’re happy you enjoyed the beach and heated pool. We’re glad the weather cooperated so you could enjoy an outside Thanksgiving Feast! We hope you’ll come back and see us on your next trip to Destin. Thanks again for staying with us, Laura!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Port Sulphur, LA

Toes in the Sand is Sensational

  • 5 of 5

This was our 3rd time staying at Toes in the Sand, and it was as great as the other 2 stays. We loved that our fur babies could come along on vacation with us. Booking the trip was so easy thanks to Janet & Chris Kiley. The beach was a quick walk away and having restaurants real close was a bonus. The heated pool was great especially since there were a few days cool weather. No complaints to offer... PERFECT vacation. Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're delighted you enjoyed your stay again and look forward to see you all, including your sweet fur babies next fall! And thanks so much for taking the time to write a review!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Spacious house with nice decor and close to the beach. Rental company willing to help with issues.

  • 3 of 5

The location was great and we liked the layout. We understand that this is a rental property but some of the cookware is in rough shape and it would have been nice to have a first aid kit that was stocked with essentials and flashlights that worked. We were informed that they only check these things once a year, so hopefully you don't need any of these items.

Cockroaches are a major issue with this house. Huge ones were all over the kitchen and in the bathroom downstairs. We felt like we needed to sanitize everything before we used it because of that and there wasn't really anything provided for us to do that. Evidently this is currently a common problem in the area. There was an offer to reclean the areas the roaches were seen but resistance is futile in roach world.

Another issue are the majority of the beds are rock hard which led to a lot of cranky people who were trying to enjoy their vacation. Curtains in the bedroom would also be appreciated since the blinds do little to keep light out of the room. The bedrocks were identified and they might be changed out before the next renters come in.

The internet was spotty at best.

The cable connection in the cabana didn't work. The people who stayed there couldn't watch anything. We've learned that this has been problematic since the boxes were installed.

We all loved Destin and appreciated the rental company coming out to check the issues we contacted them about. I'm sure we have a return trip that we'd like to do in the future but it will probably not be to toes in the sand.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m sorry you encountered issues during your stay. We can quickly resolve most issues - and did as we were at the house less than an hour from your phone call. To clarify to our future guests, you asked about more band aids for the first aid box, to which I responded those haven’t been checked in a while and offered to drop some off (you declined). Kitchen essentials are obviously checked frequently between rentals. A large section of bushes was removed along the side of the house a week before you arrived, and the exterior was treated for the palmetto bugs you mentioned. We had guests shortly after who did not mention seeing any bugs. Both of us walked through the home at separate times within 24 hours of your arrival and did not see any indication of the palmetto bugs. The interior of the house has now been treated as well as the exterior retreated. We have checked the house daily since then and have not seen further activity. We will certainly continue to monitor carefully. The beds you identified in your email were in the bunk room. The bunks were replaced last year and the queen bed mattress is two years old. The modem was changed out in early August in response to another guest, and the internet has been working properly. We changed out the wireless router the day after you departed to be sure there are no issues in the future. One quick text could have provided TV service to the cabana (in addition to having a new router installed) as the cable remote simply needed reprogramming. We call or visit all of our guests within a few hours of arrival to be sure everything is perfect for a stress-free, relaxing vacation. A quick text or phone call would have solved the majority of these issues in a timely manner. We hope you will give us another try for your vacation needs!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Property Manager

Janet Kiley
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

What a great place! We were here for Thanksgiving, but most of all, to celebrate our Mom, Grammy, Gigi's 85th Birthday! We rented Skipper's Escape (the house across the street) as well to house our family from IL, NC, South FL, and TX. Thanks to Kiley Beach Resorts! The weather was yucky the first 3 days but got better and we had a great day at the beach today (11/30)!

We hope to be back!
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 2


Nearest Point of Interest
Destin Commons
Nearest Point of Interest
Camille's Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Crab Trap Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Harborwalk Village
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional