Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

* Special* CALL HOME OWNER to book any May - Dec. 3 night stay Sun-Thu only $999

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Please contact owner with any questions about our property, or to check on any rental specials. DARLA: 740-407-1059

Check In: 3:30PM or after on arrival date

Check out: 11AM or before on departure date

SORRY, WE CAN'T AUTHORIZE COMMERCIAL USE OF OUR VACATION HOME OR LAND FOR WEDDINGS, OR OTHER TYPES OF CELEBRATIONS THAT EXCEED EIGHT GUESTS PER STAY, INCLUDING DAY TIME VISITORS.

Come and experience the best eco-friendly high quality green certified lodging in Hocking Hills!

There is so much to see and do in Hocking Hills! Zip lining, ATV riding, horseback riding, yoga at the caves/ waterfalls, in-home catered meals for special occasions can be arranged, bon-fires, cave exploration, hiking, Segway tours, canoeing, kayaking, fishing, in cabin spa treatments to pamper yourself and so much more!

The first place 'The Best of The Best Green Home Design' award went to The Eco-Glass House this year! The Glass House is the first of it's kind in the Hocking Hills region. Is sure to please Winter, Spring, Summer and Fall Hocking Hills travelers! Custom built in '10, The Glass House is GREEN and in the heart of the beautiful Hocking Hills! The unique and desirable vacation home sits on 50 prime forest acres that is just two miles from Old Man's Cave. Just a short drive to many other natural attractions such as Ash Cave, Conkle's Hollow, The Buckeye Trail, Zip Lining, ATV tours, waterfalls and so much more.

Note: Please ask us about corporate, family, church retreat, multiple couple retreat discounts for 3 or more stays each calendar year!

UNIQUE PROPERTY HIGHLIGHTS:

Large indoor fish pond suspended into the Great Room floor! Beautiful water feature for relaxing atmosphere close to 2 full body massage chairs!

Huge tempered glass and high end energy efficient windows throughout for the most amazing views in every direction of the scenic hillside forest the Eco-Glass House sits peacefully on.

2 sided glass fireplace.

Professionally decorated by 1st place award winning interior design team.

Custom nature inspired hand painted wall murals by local artist.

Large 2nd story LED lighted deck overlooking beautiful hillside. Family size large grill, hot tub and deck furniture. Fire Pit for roasting smores and meaningful quality time together!

GREEN FEATURES AND ECO-FRIENDLY BUILDING MATERIALS:

Geo- thermal heating (300% more energy efficient than conventional heating)

Green Metal Roof

Bamboo floors throughout

Custom Bamboo kitchen and bath cabinets

All energy efficient lighting

All energy efficient appliances

LED new technology TV's

Top of the line eco-friendly energy efficient tempered glass windows

Eco-Paint

2 tankless water features

Water saving toilets, washer and dryer

Environmentally friendly cleaning solutions, including during construction.

On-site recycling encouraged. We can all make a difference working together to protect our wildlife and earth we all share in common!

BEDROOMS:

Fully furnished and all professionally decorated, nature inspired bedding and pillows, eco-friendly decor throughout.

#1 King in master bedroom

#2 Queen (upper floor with attached bathroom)

#3 2 Queen beds in 3rd bedroom

Sleeps 8 in beds and we will allow up to a maximum total of 10 guests if sleeping bags or on-site air mattress.

BATHROOMS:

2 beautiful deluxe full baths with extra large rain shower heads suspended from the ceiling, along with additional hand held water features. 1 jacuzzi bath with jets, waterfall spicket and nature stone pebbles wall surrounding tub. Custom made bamboo cabinets, water saving toilets, towels, hand towels and wash clothes provided.

Keywords: Glass House, Old Man's Cave area lodging rental, hot tub, WIFI, Hocking Hills State Park area lodging rental, hiking trails, Cedar Falls, Ash Cave, Canopy Tours Zip Lining, Lake Logan, Hocking Hills State Park, travelling spa services, Cedar Falls, The Rock House, Cantwell Cliffs, Ash Cave, ATV trails.

More Details

Owner
Darla: 740-407-1059
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2017

About Darla: 740-407-1059

My husband Dean and I live and work in Columbus, Ohio. We are just a short one hour drive to our property in Hocking Hills. Since childhood, I have always enjoyed the scenic Hocking Hills region, and enjoyed camping there and occasionally staying in cabins. Our family enjoyed retreating to Hocking Hills as often as we possibly can. We love to hike, cave exploration, canoe, kayak, zip line, and just have some rest and relaxation as a family. We have two adult sons and one daughter-in-law. Our hope is our guests enjoy their time at the property as much as we do. We purchased the Glass House land in 2009 and built the home with the help of a Columbus based architect in 2010. It's been our home away from home ever since then, and we hope it feels like home to our guests too!

Darla: 740-407-1059 purchased this house in 2010

Why Darla: 740-407-1059 chose Ohio

The beautiful natural forest land, the peace and quiet, the local wildlife visitors and the short distance to local attractions in the region!

What makes this house unique

The Glass House has every possible option available for the highest energy efficiency and constructed of the best earth friendly materials.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our stay over Thanksgiving was wonderful! From the moment we stepped in the door, we felt right at home. The amenities were top notch, as you know I inquired about them. The extra toiletries on hand was nice, we brought some but didn't end up needing so left for the next guest.



The surroundings and hiking were BEAUTIFUL! We could have done without the snow, but made the best of it at the caves and hikes. We cooked here everyday, even our Thanksgiving turkey. Ate out only once and packed our lunches when on hikes.



Thank you again for the beautiful glass house!



Jerry, Jennifer, Kayla, Lauren & Molly
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Hocking County House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Both bathrooms have extra large rain showers!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Open loft bedroom with 3 walls, overlooks lower living room.
  • Bedroom #1 King bed (on main floor) Bedroom #2 Two Queen beds (on main floor) Bedroom #3 Queen bed- open loft bedroom with three enclosed walls, open by a railing system that overlooks the main floor
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • spelunking
Notes:
Green Certified! 1ST of it's kind in Hocking Hills! Green metal roof, Geo-thermal heating, all energy efficient appliances, 2 sided fireplace, concrete countertops in kitchen and baths, vessel sinks, bamboo flooring and gorgeous custom bamboo kitchen and bath cabinets. Large greatroom indoor pond suspended into the floor with fish and water feature! Indoor plants and 2 full body massage chairs!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(73 traveler reviews)

* Special* CALL HOME OWNER to book any May - Dec. 3 night stay Sun-Thu only $999
average rating of 4.7260275 based on 75 reviews
5

Great relaxing getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful property, nicely furnished, great location close to the state park. Relaxing and tranquil environment. We'll be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We appreciate it, and hope you can make it back again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Area! Relaxing and Amazing Home!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, our two teenagers and myself enjoyed an awesome getaway at The Glass House and the Hocking Hills. The home was clean, peaceful, luxurious, and had everything that we needed! The owner, Darla, was very detail oriented and kind. We had an issue with one of the appliances and she took care of it immediately! The setting for the house was beautiful and we enjoyed the outdoor spaces (hot tub, patio, fire pit) as well as the indoor. We all adored the fish and my son even gave them all names. We fought over time in the massage chairs! We cooked family dinners, played lots of games, watched movies (and loved the surround sound system), and hiked many of the local attractions!! Worth every penny!! We will certainly return!!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

DIRTY, Mattresses and pillows have disgusting stains.

  • 1 of 5

Filthy, beds have been urinated in, house has not been kept up by the amount of dust. Pillows have yellow stains. The fish make the whole house smell. Hot tub was soooo dirty we couldn't even get in it. Couch is dingy, massage chairs are very worn and old. The remote control is even caked in filth. Worst experience, left early because this house was so nasty.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Respectfully, we politely have to respond to the enormous inaccuracies of this review. To start, the hot tub treatment company service did a great job three hours before this guest check in, including drain and complete re-fill, it was pristine clean, sanitized and in excellent condition, they send a date/ time stamped photo on each invoice describing PH level, how much sanitation etc. When the guest called the morning AFTER check in, she said there was a pee stain on one of the beds so we immediately sent housekeeping, as that should not even be possible with the investment we have in mattress covers. The cleaning crew of two took a fresh picture of WET bed from overnight stay and they weren't accusatory, but felt it was from the younger child possibly having an overnight accident. The guests had the original bedding etc in the washer and pulled out the extras to replace them. She referenced different home owners trying to collect damage deposit from her many times before at other rentals, because of stains on mattresses etc., I found that statement interesting. Furthermore, the interior pond is on professional contract with Aquarium Adventures, has reverse osmosis water system, and our records show the treatment was just 4 days prior to arrival. It looked very clean and no abnormal fish smell hours prior to check in. Lastly, the massage chairs are nearly brand new the month before arrival, and show no signs of wear and tear. However, we do agree that the leather sofa next to the sun shining in large floor to ceiling windows gets dry and we condition it monthly, but it doesn't look brand new anymore. However, with a glass wall of windows, no tears, no rips etc., we thought it was ok, use it comfortably for our stays at the home, but are glad evaluate again to see why it's described dingy. We do try our best to ensure every guest has a great lodging experience, and we personally spoke to this guest several times and she said "no big deal, we just didn't want charged for damage because we've been charged before" , so this review is somewhat surprising. We thought we did everything possible to provide high level of service. She also stated via phone call that the internet was not working, it took over "30 minutes" to get a connection. However, when we paid for an immediate service call to trouble shoot that for her, we were told there was absolutely nothing wrong with the connection, it was fast, working properly etc.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
4

Really great house, great hiking

  • 4 of 5

We recently spent 4 nights at the Glass House in Hocking Hills. The house was great.. the furnishings are all updated and everything you need is there. The hot tub and location in the woods were wonderful. The owner was responsive to questions as they came up. Although we had wifi, there is no cell service in the area, and we were unable to use the internet for the first couple days. We generally had to drive into Logan (10 min) for food. That being said, the burgers and soft serve at Old mans Cave Store (at bottom of driveway) were pretty good. The hiking is great, we had 2 kids with us, and they were able to do most of the trails. We particularly enjoyed Ash Cave. Definitely a break from the norm. Also enjoyed Hocking Hills Winery and Hocking Hills Moonshine.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, and for the nice comments about our property. In '16, the internet provider options expanded in our house area, so we upgraded to the best package available. There are times when the power (electricity) flickers off / on and most people do not even notice. If we had known you were having trouble with the internet, we could have came out to re-set the router next to the living room sofa, or explained to someone in your group if you chose. Thank you for lodging with us, we really appreciate it :) Darla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful getaway for the family!

  • 5 of 5

The location and the property were great. We had a wonderful time. Loved the chairs for relaxing, beds were very comfortable and had a great time doing a little hiking.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Beavercreek, OH
5

Great winter getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this property. It rained the first day, but we were able to play games and watch a movie.

The place was clean and very well stocked.

We felt almost outdoors due to all the windows.

We would certainly consider returning to this home.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Hocking Hills State Park
Hocking Hills Canopy Tours
Hocking Peaks Adventure Park
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
Hocking Hills State Park Rock House
Wind Chime Shop
Wind Chime Shop
Hocking Hills Dining Lodge
Old Mans Cave General Store
Grandma Faye's Grocery
Millstone Restaurant Smoked BBQ
Conkles Hollow
Old Man's Cave
Cantwell Cliffs
Ohio University
Car: recommended

Close to world class zip lining, ATV riding, canoeing, horseback riding, nature trails, cave and waterfalls to explore and just 1.8 miles from Old Man's Cave!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hocking County House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season
May 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$449
From
$549
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,499
 
 
Peak Season
May 1 2018 - Oct 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$449
From
$549
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,499
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$369
From
$469
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,799
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.0%

Lodging cancellation policy:

Full refund minus $100 processing fee for cancellations 60 days prior to arrival.

50% refund for cancellations 30 days prior to arrival.

Cancellation less than 30 days prior to arrival, no refund.

Check in: 3:30PM on arrival date
Check out: 11AM on departure date

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties