check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Tom Wunder

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Enjoy The Rockies in a Luxury Cabin!

91 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Granby Lodge Rental Photos and Description

Lodge, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-14)

Come celebrate Rocky Mountain National Park in style! Experience this treasure by seeing the mountains, hiking the trails, exploring peaks and valleys, and enjoying first hand the abundance of wildlife.

Wonderview Cabin is a spectacular Appalachian style log home nestled between the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park and Winter Park Ski Resort.

Built of hand-hewn logs, this luxurious mountain retreat is famous for the 'best views in Grand County' as you look out over the Continental Divide and Lake Granby. Its long wrap-around porch allows for excellent wildlife viewing in all seasons. You will enjoy a five-star kitchen with granite countertops, Viking, GE Monogram and Bosch appliances while cooking for a small party or a large family.

Your dining room table seats 10 people. It is generously positioned overlooking Lake Granby and the Continental Divide. And when eating outside, the covered picnic table for 12 looks over Lake Granby and is steps away from the large stainless steel grill.

From every window in the house you will enjoy a wonderful view. Original contemporary art and antiques fill your home. Quality linens and soft goods are provided throughout. In cool weather, two fireplaces and in-floor radiant heat help you stay cozy as well as a sauna. And, when you are outside there is a large fire pit facing the Continental Divide and Lake Granby.

The elevation is 8800 feet so you really are on top of the world!

Keywords: Private Luxury Log Lodge

More Details
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Tom Wunder (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Tom Wunder

Wonderview Cabin has been Tom's labor of love since overseeing its construction, and Sarah has helped him make it a unique setting for their families, as well as friends and renters alike. Both longtime Coloradans, they live in the mountains and love the snow, spectacular summers, fantastic climate, and the breathtaking vistas from the porch at Wonderview Cabin. When it comes to hosting guests at Wonderview we work to ensure our guests make fond memories while having the stay of a lifetime on high!

Tom Wunder purchased this lodge in 2009

Why Tom Wunder chose Rocky Mountain National Park

Rocky Mountain National Park (RMNP), wildlife, fishing, hiking, canoeing, skiing, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, horse back riding, golfing, snow shoeing, lakes, and sledding are a few of the reasons we chose to build in Grand County. There is aggressive hiking for the adventurous, beautiful less strenuous hikes along the Colorado River, and, at dusk, some of the best animal watching on the planet. Grand Lake is an unpretentious western town with the deepest lake in Colorado. We would say Grand County is a true reflection of what Colorado is all about!

What makes this lodge unique

The views transport you and it is easy to spend hours on the porch or looking out the windows watching the colors, the sky, and the animals come and go. This lodge realizes all the images we hold of what a 'lodge' is: the hearth, the warmth, the beauty, the serenity, the comfort, the quiet, nature finding her way into the home. The windows are abundant allowing guests to enjoy all the views.

Cooking at the lodge is a communal experience with the kitchen producing meals that everyone proudly takes ownership of--crepes are a lodge favorite. On the wraparound covered porch is a large grill and a picnic table for 12-16 people. There are plenty of rockers on the porch for everyone to sit outside--chipmunks and hummingbirds are regular visitors.

If puzzles and games strike your fancy, there are dozens from which to choose. If you are a film buff, we have a serious collection of DVD's you can enjoy on our large screens. A beautiful llama and alpaca farm can be visited across the road.

Reviews

4.9
based on 91 traveler reviews

Enjoy The Rockies in a Luxury Cabin!
average rating of 4.923077 based on 91 reviews
5

Truly a wonderful Getaway and EVERYTHING you need!

  • 5 of 5

What a gorgeous home. We had a lovely time resting, relaxing, and adventuring around Wunderview! The owners were so informative and gracious. We had three couples and three small children and the home accommodated us perfectly. It was SO nice to not lug pack-n-plays, highchairs, and outdoor necessities across three state. Everything we needed was provided at the home. As a family we normally go and adventure all day, tirelessly seeing as much as possible in the area. But Wunderview was DIFFERENT! For the first time we all just hung out as a family! We cooked in the AMAZING kitchen almost every morning and night. We sat together at the table and played games and watched the hummingbirds. The Kiddos took long naps, and most afternoons we adventured into the National Park or down to the lake. Grand Lake is a great little town. Our kids loved the town park and playground! I'm so glad we got to enjoy the 100th Birthday of Rocky Mountain National Park. Trail Ridge Road opened the last day of our stay. It was awesome to visit during what the locals call "mud season" and enjoy the budding spring and lasting winter snow! We even tried out the snow shoes provided at the house :) We loved the West side of RMNP being quiet and less busy. We will be returning to Wunderview sometime later in the summer months to enjoy everything as it greens up! This is a beautiful home that is well equipped and very well cared for. I highly recommend a long relaxing week at Wunderview!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Pueblo, Colorado, USA
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

You do the research, you pick a place, and you hope it turns out to be half as nice as it looks. Well this place was everything we had hoped it would be and then some. Any apprehension we may have had when booking the home quickly faded when dealing with the homeowners, Tom and Melinda Wunder.

We found them to be friendly, honest, and generous with their time and knowledge of the area. They enthusiastically answered every question we had and did exactly what they said they would do when they said they would do it. It was as though we were dealing with old friends from the very first contact to the moment we walked into the home to find a most warm and gracious welcome note on the countertop. Although three pages in length and full of any and all of the information we may have needed to manage the property, the essence of the note was “welcome home, what’s ours is yours, please enjoy.” And enjoy we did.

And the home, the Wunder Cabin, couldn’t have been more perfect. A beautifully appointed home, exquisitely finished and unbelievably comfortable. Quiet, secluded yet quite accessible, and with views from the home and wrap around deck that are nothing short of breathtaking. Perfect.

There were ten of us. Five couples from across the Midwest and Southwest, gathering as we do nearly every year to celebrate our friendships that go back to our college days circa 1967-73. We enjoyed food, wine, laughter, golf, hiking, shopping…and all from the comfort of our beautiful home, courtesy of the Wunders. We can’t thank you enough. It was all too PERFECT!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
19 0
United States
5

Fabulous Family Vacation Stay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in early August for a week with our children and grands, 8 in total. All the arrangements were handled expertly (even when we wanted to change our arrival and departure by a day each!) The home is well-appointed and well-kept. We wanted for nothing. We appreciated having many staples in the kitchen, including paper products and non-perishables. The dishwasher is so quiet, I had to put my ear to it to make sure it really turned on! Our grandchildren loved watching the hummingbirds, the pair of foxes and numerous chipmunks. There were so many hummingbirds we bought a second one. There were as many as 15 at a time wanting to eat! The location was perfect for our purposes. We were just out of the hustle-bustle, yet very handy to the lakes, towns and Rocky Mountain National Park, so we could be tourists ourselves! The grands had their own bedroom/bath/suite downstairs while the adults utilized the bedrooms on the main and upper floor. We were thankful to be able to do laundry, allowing us to not pack so much and to take home clean clothes! We spent a lot of time on the porch, both mornings and evenings, enjoying the views, animals and each other. The gas grill, as with all appliances, worked great and gave us cooking options. I highly recommend this home as a get away...it feels like home...without the pressures of "real life." When we come back to the Granby/Grand Lake area, we will certainly stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fully-stocked, exceptionally nice and comfortable cabin

  • 5 of 5

This was probably the best family vacation home we've ever rented!

Set in a good location, within a 10-15 min drive to RMNP and Grand Lake, the cabin is a beautiful gem of a home. Ten of us comfortably shared the space - enough room to be able to hang out all by yourself or enjoy some family time playing games in the living room, at the large dinner table or on the deck. Bedrooms were a special treat with comfortable beds and beautiful bathrooms.

The cabin is complete with everything you can think of and more: fully-stocked kitchen, including spices, oils and vinegars; tons of board games and a ping-pong table in the garage; hiking and recreation equipment, such as kayaks, trekking poles, fishing rods and so much more!

We loved sitting on the deck and watching hummingbirds at the feeder and chipmunks scurrying around. The neighborhood fox came by a couple of times too... he was friendly enough to let us take as many pictures as we wanted.

Staying at Wonderview was truly a pleasure!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home in the Rockies!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Wonderview cabin for five nights and had a great time. We were a family with members from 70 to 2 months. I was hesitant to go because traveling with a newborn isn't easy. They are used to their surroundings. I am glad we ended up going. The house has so much room that it did not feel crowded at all. We loved hanging out in the wrap around porch enjoying the views. The kitchen accomodated all 14 of us without any problem. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare any meal. We enjoyed grilling on the porch and having our meal outside as well. There were so many things that were provided, like kayaks, mountain bikes, fishing gear, life jackets, board games, air up mattresses (which we didn't need since there were plenty of beds). The house is just great it is perfect for families or large groups. It has everything you could possibly need. It gives you enough space to enjoy each other and have family meals together, and is big enough to also give you privacy if needed. Would love to return in the future.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Gorgeous! Just magnificent!

  • 4 of 5

My 8 friends and I would just like to thank Wunderview Cabin for letting us enjoy their wonderful gem in the mountains for an all girls getaway! We are all city girl's from all around the U.S., and when we 1st pulled up to the cabin we were all shouting and pointing at the 10 elks hanging out behind the cabin on the mountainside. It was a sight to see! Beds were great and comfy, appliances were great, kitchen was fully stocked with staple food items and cookware, sauna was amazing, and that balcony view with the rocking chairs- WOW! We saw the sun rise and set perfectly. But more magical, we saw the moon rise and set everyday from there too! We got lucky and had a full moon during our stay 4/21-4/24.

Only reason why I didn't give Wunderview Cabin 5 stars is because their wifi was obsolete. It was satellite internet- and we were never able to get any decent signal. City girls struggle without their social media! Lol. But overall, we got over it due to the gorgeous backdrop of where we were. It was an amazing stay!

Thanks again Wunderview!

Tina

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback! Just FYI on the internet access; we have CenturyLink at the cabin, which is the only internet available. It is DSL, but only minimal speed is available. That's the cost of being in the mountains. Hope to have you guys back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
121 Miles
Denver International Airport
Nearest Golf
9.2 Miles
Grand Lake Country Club
Nearest Train
9.2 Miles
Granby, CO
Nearest Motorway
2.1 Miles
Highway 34
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Lone Star
Nearest Beach
9.5 Miles
Downtown Grand Lake
Car: necessary

Right between Grand Lake and Granby, with spectacular views of the lake and mountain range. Golf, boating, fishing, snowmobiling, skiing--it's all right out your door!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Granby Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall, 2016
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$349
From
$379
Fri,Sat
$2,443
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $24 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Winter, 2016
Oct 31 2016 - Dec 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$289
From
$309
Fri,Sat
$1,899
$6,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $24 per night, per additional guest
 
Holidays, 2016
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
$569
$3,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $24 per night, per additional guest
 
Ski Season, 2017
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$379
From
$399
Fri,Sat
$2,499
$8,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $24 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring, 2017
Apr 1 2017 - May 24 2017
3 night minimum stay
$279
From
$299
Fri,Sat
$1,800
$5,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $24 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer, 2017
May 25 2017 - Sep 4 2017
5 night minimum stay
$489
From
$519
Fri,Sat
$3,400
$12,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $24 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall, 2017
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$359
From
$385
Fri,Sat
$2,513
$8,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $24 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Winter, 2017
Nov 13 2017 - Dec 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$289
From
$309
Fri,Sat
$1,800
$5,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $24 per night, per additional guest
 
Holidays, 2017
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
$579
$3,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $24 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $260 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.7%

Wonderview is available for rental to people 25 years of age or older. $1000 damage deposit required prior to occupancy, provided by check. Thanksgiving week rates increase $60 per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Granby Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Baby Gate
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Printer
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • First floor master - toilet , shower
    Upstairs master - toilet , shower
    Bunk bathroom - toilet , tub
    Lower level bath and sauna - toilet , shower , sauna
    Front hall powder room - toilet
  • European showers, granite counter tops, and a soaker tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Lower Bedroom w. fireplace, sitting room, sauna & TV - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bunk Room w Full Bath & Soaker Tub - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Master Bedroom w. Full Bath Main Level - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Master Bedroom w. Full Bath Loft - 1 king
    Loft TV Room w Queen Sofa Sleeper & Large Sectional - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Shares bath with bunk room. This room does not have a door.
  • King Size Beds (2), Full (1), Queen (1), Singles (3), sofa sleeper/queen (1) and inflatables (king, queen, full), single futon, 3 large couches. All linens provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • MP3 Dock
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Porch Furniture
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Breathtaking views of the continental divide, adjacent to BLM land, two miles from Lake Granby, great wildlife viewing, log structure is hand-hewn, fantastic gourmet kitchen with commercial appliances, European glass showers, radiant heat, best views in Grand County! The nearest property is about 1/3-1/2 mile away--Wonderview Cabin is not in a subdivision where there are many homes: 25 acre parcels is the average lot size.

Partner Offers