Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Fabulous Oceanfront Home

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


Minimum Stay
1 - 2 nights

About the property

3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 12

Welcome to SeaQuest! Located just 5 miles west of High Island near Roll Over Pass with unobstructed views of the beach and ocean this beautiful and spacious home is perfect for 1, 2 or 3 couples or a family or two.

The beach and ocean are a short, flat walk (about 200 feet from our door to the sand) from our home. Or pack up the car with coolers, beach towels and chairs, boogie boards and the grill and drive right up to the beach. Spend the day walking the beach, shelling, building sand castles or just watching the dolphins frolic in the waves. Enjoy it-its your beach! Sip your first cup of coffee on the upper deck while watching the sun come up over the bay and return from the beach in time to enjoy a glass of wine while you watch the sun set.

Please note that this house is Oceanfront (the ocean is clearly visible with no other houses in between it and the ocean). It is not Beachfront (directly on the sandy beach). The beach is across the street just 200 ft from our front door. You can walk or drive right to the beach.

This is not a party house and is reserved for our more discerning guests who will appreciate and respect it.

Again: Welcome to SeaQuest where a life time of fond memories begin.

More Details

Property Manager
Sharon Smolensky
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 13, 2017

About Sharon Smolensky

Our beach home is owned by two couples from Burlington Wisconsin who have been life long friends and business partners. We particularly enjoy spending time in Texas with our children and grandchildren and really feel like the Bolivar Peninsula is our home away from home.

Sharon Smolensky purchased this house in 2005

Why Sharon Smolensky chose Texas

While visiting my sister in Beaumont a few years ago we decided to spend the afternoon in Galveston. As we drove through Crystal Beach we fell in love with the area. We had SeaQuest built in 2005 and have been enjoying the fun, sun and warm hospitatlity of the Texas coast ever since.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Sharon, just a quick note to let you know how much we enjoyed SeaQuest. My group is still talking about what a perfect spot it was. We hope to stay there again next fall if you’ll have us.

I thought I’d share a representative picture of our fishing adventure. This is a photo of me off the beach near High Island, one of THIRTEEN fish like this that the 3 of us caught there last Friday morning! These big fish were all released, but we also fished in Rollover Bay and the marsh near Stingaree, and ended up enjoying 2 fish feasts there and still had redfish fillets to bring home to our families. It was a great trip, thanks for sharing your home with us!


Thanks Ken; Thanks for sharing that awesome picture; Please see Ken's picture on the main page under "photos". And yes! Please come again, anytime!
Sep 2012
  • 1 of 3


Bolivar Peninsula House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , 2 twin/ single
  • The bedroom configuration is as follows: The master bedroom has a queen sized bed with a pillow top mattress and a private bath. The second bedroom also has a queen sized bed with pillow top mattress. The bath-with washer and dryer-is right outside the door. The 'kids' bedroom has two bunk beds with single beds on top and doubles on the bottom. It also has a private bath.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
The back deck overlooks a 450 acre Audubon sanctuary with a large variety of migratory birds. The lower deck offers 1500 square feet of outdoor living space with great views of the ocean and the Audubon Sanctuary. Enjoy the cool breeze out of the sun here or on the concrete patio below. And the fishing at Rollover Pass is a major attraction. The fully equipped kitchen has a breakfast bar and a large table for entertaining. The great room has a TV and a DVD player plus a game table and wet bar.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

Fabulous Oceanfront Home
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 36 reviews

Great for multi- family

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house, across the busy highway was not a problem...super clean, super comfy, great memories made!!!♡♡♡

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

We were very impressed with this property. House had everything we wanted/needed and more. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

This is a great place. Very clean and comfortable. Beach access was easy. Nice views and quiet.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family get together

  • 4 of 5

I have just read some of the reviews from the past and totally DISAGREE with them all. This was one of the best times that I have had. We had all our kids and grandkids and the house was awesome. The weather didn't exactly cooperate. It was cold and windy but what do you expect for January. We were able to walk the beach one day with coats, gloves and toboggans which was great. We played card games and just had great family time. There was ample room so that everyone wasn't having to crowd around the tables. Everything was clean and plenty. I was concerned that I would need more pots and pans to cook with and probably over packed for the trip. I now know and hope to plan another trip. Maybe when it is warmer. Not sure about the ferry trip during the summer but will have to compensate for the wait either way.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ben Wheeler, TX

Convenient and Homey

  • 5 of 5

The Gulf was not pleasant to us - the weather was cold and wet all week! Which made the home that much more comfortable! There was plenty of space for our family of five, and we could easily have had a second family stay with us. The property manager was quick to address some issues we had. The beach was right across the street, and the ferry to Galveston (which we rode several times) was a short drive. The area was extremely quiet, no subdivision of crazy spring-breakers - very peaceful. The kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans and cooking utensils, but be prepared to buy some cooking staples (flour, sugar, oils, condiments, etc) if you plan on cooking.

The beds were super-comfy, and the house was neat and clean. We'll be back - and hopefully next time we'll see the sun for more than 2 hours :-)

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely area, house didn't quite match!

  • 2 of 5

We had a nice family time over Christmas staying in this house: me and hubs, his parents, sister and her hubs and their tiny baby.

The house was moderately clean - there were grubby marks on the walls and floors, and dusty baseboards. The bathrooms were old but clean. Some of the bedding was old and stained but seemed clean enough. All our pillows were very old, lumpy and sad. The floor looked like it could have done with a good polish. There were old stained rugs on the wooden floors in the living room so we had to put something on the floor to keep the baby off them.

Some of the kitchen utensils were dirty and we didn't want to use them. The kitchen contents were strange - blunt knives and veggie peeler, more frying pans than we could count, 2 old bent saucepans (the lids do not fit) and one huge useable saucepan, a couple of very old and tired chopping boards. In fact old and tired pretty well describes the house furnishings and contents. It was like someone went to a thrift store and bought a bunch of ugly old crockery and utensils. I agree with the previous reviewer who said that the whole house needs a deep clean.

There were several busted light bulbs around the house and the lighting in the living room was so feeble we had trouble seeing our board games! There are very strict rules about moving furniture around, but if more than 5 of you stay then you will have to, as there are not enough places for everyone to sit on the couches in the living room.

The plastic blind in our bedroom had several broken slats and strings. The toilet in my sister-in-laws bathroom was broken although I did arrange for someone to come and fix this. I did think the owner would have dealt with this, but it was left to me to arrange the maintenance with a local manager. The waste disposal in the kitchen sink broke and flooded everywhere - you could see this had happened before from the water damage to the cupboard underneath the sink. The plumber looked at this when he fixed the toilet. He was going to come back and replace the waste disposal, I have no idea whether or not he did. We were out - well we were on vacation.

So although we had a lovely time seeing each other and really enjoyed staying on the Bolivar peninsula, I would not come back and stay at Seaquest or recommend the house to anyone when there is so much choice on the coast. For just under a thousand dollars for 5 nights stay, I expect a better standard of cleanliness and less grungy facilities.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First let me say I'm sorry that your stay was less than anticipated. I wish you had let us know while you were there-we would have addressed your needs immediately as we did with the broken toilet. I live in Wisconsin which is why we have a property manager (Sharon) who arranged for the repair the same day despite the fact that it was Christmas Eve. The garbage disposal had a crack in it but he wasn't able to find a replacement until after the holiday. It has since been replaced. We did go down there in October and spent 3 days cleaning the house top to bottom: we washed all the baseboards, doors and jams, ceiling fans, window sills and cupboards inside and out. I washed every dish, glass, pot, pan and all the silverware. We fixed blinds, replace light bulbs (broken light bulbs? not when you arrived!) and smoke alarm batteries & made sure everything was in good working order. The kitchen is well appointed with cupcake and muffin tins, cake, sauce & frying pans, an oyster pot as well as every utensil you could possibly need. Not brand spanking new but very useable. And yes, the couches have accommodated many butts however they are, as you noted, clean and comfortable. The "strict" rules about moving furniture simply ask that you put it back where you found it: Sharon has arrived to find INSIDE furniture left OUTSIDE! There is seating for 5 in the living room, 4 in the dining room and 8 in the kitchen. Should be more than adequate for a home that rents for 12 people. I don't understand the comment about the baths being "old" and just for the record, the flooring is stained pine, designed for heavy traffic and easy cleaning but not supposed to be high gloss. At under $28 per person per night for 3 bdrms, 3 baths, a spacious living area, a well appointed kitchen and laundry room as well as 2 spacious decks with unobstructed views of the ocean I think it's a great deal! Most of our guests are repeat customers year after year and rave about the cleanliness and the prompt service Sharon provides-she's the BEST!
Did you find this review helpful?
12 4


Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Galveston Ferry

Galveston Island is a short drive and a ferry ride away and offers every kind of entertainment imaginable: shopping on the Strand, amusement and water parks, museums, fine or casual dining, antique shops, golfing, biking and water sports to mention a few. Take a boat or segway (those really cool personal transportation devices) tour of the historical district or visit the Aquarium Pyramid, rain forest pyramid and the I-Max theater at Moody Gardens. The Schitterbahn Indoor/Outdoor Water park was voted #1 in the nation and is open year round, rain or shine, hot or cold.

Other Activities: Shopping, boating, miniature golf


Rates & Availability

Bolivar Peninsula House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Off season
Oct 2 2016 - May 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
Peak Season
May 15 2017 - Oct 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Tax Rate 6.0%

Check in 4:00 PM check out 11:00 AM
Winter rates (Oct 2nd through May 14th): $975 per week (7 nights) or $480 per weekend.
Summer rates (May 15th through October 1st) $1950 per week (7 nights) or $950 per weekend. This price includes linens and towels (not beach towels). Minimum Age for Renters
The prices quoted on this website are deemed accurate but not guaranteed. For an accurate quote, please call or email the owner.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties