Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Charming Log Cabin w/Hot Tub, Deck, Ping Pong, Wifi

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

This cozy yet spacious Log Cabin is located right in the town of Winter Park. It sits on the mountain side, and there is a ski shuttle pickup stop right at the end of the driveway.

The cabin is fully furnished and feels cozy and inviting. The wood logs are all original and it's very cool and campy but has modern conveniences including free WIFI, cable TV/DVD,VCR, a private outdoor hot tub, gas fireplace, washer and dryer, dishwasher, all kitchen cooking accessories, linens, everything.

The main floor/living room area is open and spacious. Great for playing board games in front of the fire, watching movies, hanging out and reading. The bedrooms are upstairs and include a Master bedroom with queen bed, and a guest/kids room with wood bunk bed plus a double bed.

There is a sunny game room downstairs with a ping pong table (paddles and balls included), and this room leads to the outdoor porch which includes a gas barbecue and well maintained outdoor hot tub and the porch is surrounded by a 6 foot privacy fence. Wonderful view of the night sky from the hot tub. Very relaxing, quiet, private and comfy and available year-round. We installed a deck on the back which now offers a great space to relax surrounded by aspen trees. This property is professionally managed/maintained and is very clean and well kept!!

More Details

Property Manager
Beki Vigil
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 23, 2017

About Beki Vigil

My name is Beki, and and I am currently managing Bear Claw Cabin for the owner Scott. I live in Colorado Springs, but can answer any questions that you may have about the town or the ski mountain, or provide any assistance that you or your guests may need. We hope you will choose our cute and comfortable cabin for your next vacation getaway!

Beki Vigil purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Beki Vigil chose Winter Park Area

Scott purchased this cabin because it was unique and charming and offered a vintage cabin feel yet was updated and comfortable to hang out in. There's a ski shuttle stop at the end of the driveway with free pick ups. You can walk into the town of Winter Park with restaurants, coffee shops and retail stores within 10 minutes. We chose Winter Park because it's close to Denver (about 1.25 hours drive) and the affordable, down-to-earth, family-friendly Colorado mountain town vibe.

What makes this cabin unique

I love to come up to WP to enjoy the outdoor activities during the day; mountain biking and hiking in the summer and skiing in the winter. It's great being able to come home and relax at the cabin at night playing cards, jumping in the hottub, cooking, watching movies, hanging out. We especially love playing ping pong during the day in the always warm/sunny game room.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Spent 4 nights during the last weeks of March 2013 and was absolutely pleased in every way with these accommodations.

Found the cabin clean and even more spacious than the pictures appeared.



The location is convenient to Winter Park and Frazier and we had no trouble navigating to where we needed to go.



A big Kudo's to Kaylee who was very helpful and pleasant to work with in setting everything up and answering many questions for me.



Philip - Shreveport, la
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

Charming Log Cabin w/Hot Tub, Deck, Ping Pong, Wifi
average rating of 4.3913045 based on 48 reviews
4

As pictured - great location and hot tub

  • 4 of 5

We just wrapped up a mid-season skiing trip and enjoyed staying at the cabin.

The good:

* Hot tub was well maintained and awesome after skiing

* Cabin was clean with plenty of towels

* Great common area for games/chilling

* Shuttle is super convenient

* Internet was solid

The meh:

* Very few kitchen staples basics available - not a gourmet kitchen (though it wasn't advertised as such).

* No music connection (one speaker with no auxiliary cable)

* A bit dated look and feel

Overall, it was a great location and pretty hard-to-beat private hot tub. Great value.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review Tim! We are happy that you enjoyed the cabin and hope you will come stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome Mountain Cabin

  • 5 of 5

Everything about the cabin was awesome and as described on the website. It was very cute. Very close to the town and to the ski resort. The property owners were very helpful and quick to respond if we had an issue arise. We loved everything about the cabin, and would love to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Lindsay! You were a great guest to host! We hope you (and your dogs) come stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful long weekend at Bear Claw Cabin. Clean, comfortable, fully equipped with everything you could possibly want. This is our new favorite place and we will definitely be returning.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Peta! You were a great guest and we hope you come to stay again! Happy Holidays!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Our 10 Year Annivarsary !

  • 5 of 5

Bear Claw cabin is the perfect place for a romantic getaway. My wife and I decided to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary with a weekend in Winter Park, CO. The cabin is conventiently located very close to "downtown". But as we enjoyed our morning coffee on the back deck, surrounded by aspen and pine, we felt like we were in the middle of nowhere. I actually had to get some work done (shhh! don't tell wifey) so when she was in the shower, I was able to log on using the cabin's WiFi and catch up on a few things from Friday morning. Although we could ride our bikes to a restauaraunt on Main Street or even out to Fraser, there was no need. We grilled some steaks, had a ping-pong tournament (I lost) and soaked in the hot tub. We left the kids at home, but we're bringin' em next time; two bedrooms (one with bunk beds) would have provided plenty of room. The place was clean, well stocked, and the owner left a lot of information on nearby hikes and other activities. A very fun, charming log cabin in the Colorado Rockies. We'll be back for sure. Thanks, Bear Claw!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and spacious

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at Bear Claw cabin. The place was very nice. Lots of games to play with the family. The hot tub was great for relaxing at night. Winter park had many summer hikes and fun activities for families with young kids. Would defiantly come back.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

WELL........ NOT EXACTLY WHAT PHOTOS PORTRAY

  • 2 of 5

THE CABIN IS VERY DARK, THERE WAS TRASH ON SIDE ON FENCE AND IN BACK ON DECK.. NOT A PRETTY SITE. THE KITCHEN

FAUCET SPRAYS YOU IN THE FACE DUE TO A LEAK...REALLY.... A FAUCET COSTS 18 BUCKS AT HM DEPOT. WATER HAS BEEN

LEAKING UNDER THE KITCHEN SINK FOR SOME TIME. THE GRILL HAD DISGUSTING ASPARAGUS LEFT OVER FROM GOD KNOWS

WHEN, SO DIRTY... WEEDS ALL OVER THE BRICK AREA WHERE GRILL IS.. A BEAR SHOWED UP AND DRUG THE TRASH CAN TO THE

FRONT PORCH AND WAS ABLE TO OPEN ONE SIDE, BCAUSE LOCK WAS BUSTED, AND HE PULLED OUT A TRASH BAG FULL

OF GARBAGE THAT WASNT EVEN MINE... IT HAD NOT BEEN EMPTIED BEFORE MY ARRIVAL I GUESS.. SO I HAD TO CLEAN THAT UP

TO AVOID A 100 CHARGE... FUN FUN.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Jeannine! I'm so sorry your stay at the Bear Claw Cabin was less than you expected! We would like to take some time to address your concerns and reassure our future guests that we take guest feedback very seriously! We sincerely encourage guests to notify us about problems right away so we can have maintenance performed immediately! When the cleaning company came in after your stay, they did notice that the sink was leaking and promptly replaced the faucet and sprayer. You also mentioned that the grill was dirty, I wanted to let you know that I have brought this to the attention of our cleaning company and this has been addressed. Thank you for also bringing it to my attention that the lock on the trash can was not functioning properly. Being a property in the mountains, there is always a possibility that the local bears will visit. It’s unfortunate that the bear was able to get into the trash and we will ensure that the trash can lock is working for future guests. Finally, I am sorry that you felt the cabin was dark. We do have insulated shades on all of the windows to help keep the temperature comfortable within the cabin. There are windows on all sides of the cabin as well as in the sun room right off of the den and with the shades drawn there is quite a bit of natural sunlight to brighten up the inside of the cabin in addition to the interior lights. Again, I am sorry that you were less than satisfied with your stay. At the Bear Claw Cabin, we strive to provide our guests with a relaxing and enjoyable getaway. I do appreciate that you have brought the issues to my attention and I hope we have addressed your concerns! We appreciate hearing from you so that we are able to take action immediately and hope that our response also reassures our future guests that we do address concerns right away!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Fraser Tubing Hill
Wolf Park
Winter Park Pub
Nearest Airport
150 Miles
Denver International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
The Library
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Frasier, CO
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Sushi House
Nearest Ski
4 Miles
Winter Park Ski Resort
Car: recommended

Bear Claw Cabin is conveniently located in the Town of Winter Park on the ski mountain side. This cabin is a 2 minute drive into town/10 minute walk, and 5 minute walk to Wolf Park (playground, tennis courts, bbq's/gazeebo). The cabin is on a 1/2 acre lot and has a beautiful deck in back with private views of aspen trees and the mountain. It has a 6 foot privacy fence around the hottub. This cabin is very conveniently located close to town yet is a quiet, private home.

Other Activities: The rec center is just down the hill. (Swimming, fitness center, yoga classes, water slide etc.)

Wolf Park is a 5 minute walk away. (Tennis courts, basketball courts, children's playground, picnic area/gazeebo).

There is fishing along the fraser river. Contact Mo Henry outfitters in the town of Winter Park for all details!

There is ample hiking in the area. There is fantastic mountain biking throughout winter park.

Golf: There is golf in the area but I'm not sure on details. Please consult the Winter Park Chamber of Commerce for additional information on golfing in Winter Park!

Ski: Bear Claw Cabin has a ski shuttle stop right at the end of the driveway! The shuttle runs all day and will take you/your loved ones to and from the slopes so you don't have to drive anywhere.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Winter Park Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Winter
Feb 11 2017 - Apr 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$279
$1,799
 
 
Spring/Summer
Apr 16 2017 - Jul 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$229
$1,399
 
 
Late Summer
Jul 23 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$239
$1,499
 
 
Fall
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 18 2017
2 night minimum stay
$199
$1,299
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 19 2017 - Dec 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$279
$1,849
 
 
Pre-Holiday
Dec 17 2017 - Dec 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
$339
$2,199
 
 
Winter Holidays
Dec 24 2017 - Jan 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
$509
$3,299
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$199
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $115
Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 11.2%

Payment methods accepted: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check. Pet fee is for one pet (dogs only). Will allow up to 2 pets per visit, please notify the property manager if planning on having a second pet. Additional $40 nonrefundable fee will be required.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Winter Park Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom is fully updated and spacious.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeper Sofa in Den
  • The Master Bedroom has a Queen size bed. The Guest/Kids Bedroom has a log frame bunk bed with two twins, and a Double bed as well. There is an additional sleeper sofa in the den.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There are several movies to watch including: Comedies, Documentaries, Thrillers, Drama, TV Series, Children's Films (Cartoons). There are two plug-in old school video game consoles. (You may need some extra double A batteries - kids wear these things out! Private Outdoor Hot Tub on deck with 6' privacy fence. Professionally maintained and cleaned after every stay.

Partner Offers