check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Steve & Toni Qualls

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Slope Side Fantastic Views~ Warm Cowboy Style, Pool & Hot Tub

42 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Southwestern Colorado Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

Come Relax in the coziness of our “Cowboy Comfortable Interior” with Gorgeous Mountain Views, just a 2 Minute Walk to the Lifts. Members hot tub, heated pool overlooking the slopes & Fitness Center use Included!

A stone wood-burning fireplace greets you as you enter our spacious open loft style mountain lodge. The magnificent views of the Needles Mountains, the quality western furnishings and the warm lodge style of our vacation home will make you feel like you have escaped to your own cowboy cabin with all the comforts of home!

Ski down to the bunny slope not more than 25 yards walk to the tunnel, or a 2 minute stroll to the main lifts. Enjoy fresh morning coffee or BBQing on your private Mountain View deck. From the living room, large glass doors gaze over the bunny slopes and the Columbine ski run and the glorious mountain views. The upstairs loft area shares these same views. Even the bathroom has a view of the slopes!

Enjoy the HEATED POOL, HOT TUB and FITNESS CENTER with your Durango Mountain Members Association (DMMA) Guest Membership which is included with your stay.

Our 'Cowboy Comfortable' condo is filled with beautiful woodwork and sleeps 6-7 guests. It is very comfortable for 4 adults and 3 children. Sleeping options include one private queen bedroom downstairs, 1 upstairs open loft with a queen bed and views of the Columbine slope and Needles Mountains, and a sleeper sofa in front of those gorgeous mountain views. We also have a full size futon perfect for cuddling in front of the fireplace. Our upstairs bathroom features a walk-in shower, double sink and views of the ski lifts and slopes. The downstairs bath has a bathtub/shower. Both bathrooms have been updated.

Enjoy rich slate flooring in the entry and kitchen. The stainless refrigerator has an icemaker and our cabinetry is solid wood. Ample spices and cooking tools are stocked in the open kitchen where family can gather round and swap slope stories!

The Village is just a minutes’ walk, and the lodge, Mountain View pool with slide, hot tub and well-equipped fitness center are seconds away. In summer, spring and fall the DMMA privileges also include use of the tennis courts across the road, by the lake.

There is wonderful hiking and fly fishing a few minutes’ drive up the resort road to Hermosa Creek, with horseback riding also available. In late October and November Elk Hunting is also popular on the mountain. We are a short and scenic 30 minute drive North of Historic Durango and the Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Durango boasts 'Music in the Mountains held each summer at the resort: festivals in the fall, chili cook offs, art galleries, darling boutiques and ample restaurants. Thanks to Ft. Lewis College in Durango there is a strong theatre, visual arts and music scene as well. If you still have energy, try some mountain biking, river-rafting, and kayaking or always free, rock hopping!

Winding down, take a family drive to explore the old mining towns of Silverton and Ouray. The mountain drive is easy and goes past waterfalls and amazing red mountains affording endless opportunities for budding photographers and professionals alike! Regardless of age or activity, if you love the great outdoors you will love the Durango area and your stay at Durango Mountain Resort!

Keywords: Cowboy Comforts, Ski Condo, Durango Mountain Resort, Slope side, Steps to Lifts, Views , Durango Train, Mountain Views

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Steve & Toni Qualls (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

About Steve & Toni Qualls

Back in the 70's we (Stephen & Toni) shared Durango family fun and the Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad with our son and his Grandma Margaret. Little did we imagine our son and his wife would 're-discover' Durango and bring it back into our lives. We loved their East Rim Condo and fly-fishing on the mountain so much, we decided to get our own! We are excited to create new family memories with our 3 daughters & son, their wonderful spouses and our 9 beloved Grandchildren. We also look forward to our Guests enjoying the ambiance of mountain home that we are blessed to have. We fell in love with the interior charm right away (we've always dreamed of a log cabin)and the location makes it easy to play.

Steve & Toni Qualls purchased this condo in 2010

Why Steve & Toni Qualls chose Southwestern Colorado

Too many things we love about Durango to fit into a little paragraph! Just to name a few: Ample places to explore for Fly fishing (how much gear do you have Steve???), wonderful walks along Hermosa Creek, the refreshing mountain air with morning coffee, superb selection of restaurants, BBQing on the mountain view patio, Great selection of Churches and downtown activities, the old cowboy mining towns of Silverton and Ouray (is that more than a few?)

What makes this condo unique

We are so wonderfully close to the slopes, lodge and village. Down our steps, and a few meters across the brave can ski right down to the bunny slope and transit lift area. 'Rule-followers' Ha Ha, have just a 2 minute walk right to the main lift area. We joined the DMMA, and pay an additional 8% that we include in our rates so our guests can also share in the enjoyment of the outdoor pool (heated in cool months, hot tub, well-equipped fitness center, tennis courts and valet ski check & Spa (the last two are optional and do have additional fees for us as well, however the DMMA key you receive at check-in gives you access to the areas).

Guestbook comments from the owner

This was a wonderful condo, nicely appointed, very welcoming, and very accessible to lifts and mountain village. Jim loved that he had Direct TV "just like home" with record feature so we could follow our usual routine of taping Jay Leno and watching it over breakfast. I loved the availability of condiments, spices and basic cooking needs. I brought my own because I'm used to that, but it's a real plus to have them available and just replace what you use.All in all we give C24 an A+. We probably won't be back in Durango this winter/spring, but with the first snowfall next season we will look forward to checking in with you again. We will definitely recommend your rentals to our friends, as well.
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.9
based on 42 traveler reviews

Slope Side Fantastic Views~ Warm Cowboy Style, Pool & Hot Tub
average rating of 4.8809524 based on 44 reviews
5

Great place!!!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was every thing that they said it was. Beautifully decorated and a great location. Would definitely recommend this location.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Indeed, a home away from home.

  • 5 of 5

Very welcoming environment inside and out. The property description accurately reflects the actual unit. With all of our needs met, it was natural to relax and enjoy SW Colorado. A very pleasant stay. Will certainly recommend this unit.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and set up!!

  • 5 of 5

Team Texas was there to make memories! The condo was great. It has all the comforts of home. Beds were warm and comfortable. Arrival and departure information was received in a timely manner. The owners made the process a personal experience. Had a most excellent stay!! Thank you and God Bless

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Ski Vacation

  • 5 of 5

A warm cheerful location with great views and a personal touch with cowboy decor. Easy to lifts and activities with great viewing of the kids skiing from the balcony. What a great vacation with fun for all my family.

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

3rd year in a row. Great home away from home.

  • 5 of 5

Small enough to feel cozy yet large enough to lounge around by the fire in comfort or have two cooks in the kitchen. Steps from the slopes. Great view. Everything you need to feel at home, even stuff you didn't know you needed on vacation (cheese grater, blender, crock pot, espresso machine, grease screen, etc). Feels like home away from home. We joke that we have a time share in CO. Love this place!

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great Location

  • 3 of 5

The property has a fantastic location and is situated right across from the Purgatory Lodge entrance and is a short walk to the ski lifts. The property is well maintained, well furnished, and cozy. There were Christmas lights, a decorated Christmas tree, and also decorations along the bannister, which made it very festive and welcoming! The owner is very good about sending you information about the unit, parking, access, and amenities prior to your arrival. We were, however, slightly disappointed to find a dryer full of still damp towels when we arrived (there were no towels in the downstairs bathroom). There was also a musty odor which we noted right away upon entering the unit, but the odor improved as we kept a fire going in the fireplace. There was only an electric candle, so we couldn't use that to help with the musty smell. The master toilet started running during our stay, but when we called the owner to notify him of the problem, he contacted maintenance and there was a repair man who came within a few hours to fix it. We were also locked out prior to the designated departure time, and when we called the owner to gain access to the unit again, he got us back in, but it was a bit of a hassle to have to call to sort through that. He said he probably had to change adjust the time on the timer. Additionally, the dumpster to take the trash out to has a very heavy lid, which is a bit difficult to lift (particularly for an average size female), especially if there is a layer of snow on top of the receptacle. There also was not a recycling option for cans, plastic, etc, that we found in the area. Overall, great location for skiing/snowboarding, great access to Purgatory Lodge fitness center/pool, and attentive customer service from the owner. I would have given it 3.5 stars if I could, but getting locked out prior to our designated departure time was definitely a negative.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow Shelly, I don't know what to say. I can't imagine a musty smell in the house because the unit had been occupied earlier in the day by departing guests and cleaned immediately after that. I am wondering if the odor might be from the fresh paint in the bedroom and bathroom or perhaps the new carpet throughout the home. After the new carpet was installed, we decided not to keep real candles around since at one point in the last year there was a burning candle accident that damaged a portion of the old carpet and we did not want a repeat of that. We had hoped that the artificial candle would be enjoyable. As for towels still in the dryer, we apologize. I hope that you weren't too inconvenienced by that. I have notified our caretaker about it. I appreciate you mentioning that our maintenance man responded right away about the running toilet. He indicated that all he had to do was lift the lid and move the float to get it to stop. He did however, replace the whole mechanism after you checked out. You are correct about the lid to the dumpster being too heavy to lift. That type of dumpster is required in the mountains to keep bears and other animals from breaking in and eating garbage. If they do get the garbage "habit" and have to be removed, but eventually come back to the dumpster dining table, they are destroyed. This is why they put the human access to the dumpster through a sliding door on the side. I am sorry you didn't notice that. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Fortunately, you are the only review we have ever received below 4 stars so hopefully we are able to "get it right" almost all of the time. We will keep trying even harder in the future. Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
DRO
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Metres
Nearest Golf
3 Metres
Tamarron
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Silverton Durango Narrow Gauge Railway
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Highway 550
Nearest Restaurant
25 Metres
Purgies at Purgatory Lodge
Nearest Ski
25 Metres
Purgatory/ Durango Mountain Resort
Car: recommended

New Zip Line opened at Resort June 2011, World Famous Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, Alpine Slide open during summer activities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Durango Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Fun
May 23 2016 - Sep 10 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 
 
Awesome Autumn
Sep 11 2016 - Nov 19 2016
4 night minimum stay
$150
$900
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 20 2016 - Nov 27 2016
4 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 
 
Early Ski
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 22 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 
 
Christmas Holiday
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 29 2016
7 night minimum stay
$2,100
 
 
New Year Holiday
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 5 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,100
 
 
Ski Season
Jan 6 2017 - Mar 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,350
 
 
Spring Break & Easter
Mar 4 2017 - Apr 1 2017
5 night minimum stay
$325
$1,800
 
 
Spring Renewal
Apr 2 2017 - May 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
$900
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Departure Cleaning Fee $128
Pet Fee $53
Tax Rate 14.8%

Rates displayed are for a maximum 6 guests.
Departure Cleaning Fee ($128.16) and Pet Fee ($53.40) includes Colorado Lodging Tax. Tax quote includes Resort Fee - 8% and Colorado Lodging Tax - 6.8%. Refundable Security deposit $300.00 which is due with final payment.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Southwestern Colorado Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1123 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Queen Sleeper Sofa
Entertainment:
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...