check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ed Pollock

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Hawaiian Tropical Spiritual Hideaway. Hawi / Kapaau

24 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kapaau Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 Bed / Living room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2. Book with ED, save 10% Service Fee

Guests love the cottage...

The Big Island's North Kohala is a travelers' delight, off the beaten path, it makes the area one of Hawaii's best-kept secrets. Experience ''Old Hawaii'' in the charming historic towns of Hawi and Kapaau, with artists' shops, galleries, and delightful cafes. Historic sites in walking distance to the famous statue of King Kamehameha, and to the Kamehameha State Park. Pololu Valley - with its majestic views, black sand beach, and scenic hiking trails is a ten minute drive. Or just chill out, and enjoy some of the island's best beaches. Whale watching is seasonal (December through April), but the sea turtle and dolphin sightings occur all year-round.

The cottage contains a private kitchen including a full double sized sink, medium sized refrigerator, stove. The kitchen is complete with pots/pans & cutlery for preparing meals and a full compliment of dish ware.

The home is innovatively designed and features custom workmanship, fine art pieces, cathedral ceilings with an open-concept design, comfortable furniture, and an indoor glass wall shower.

The tropical garden makes this reasonably priced hideaway a pleasure for travelers to hang out, simply relax and enjoy, away from the outside world.

Yoga studio just a few minutes walk away. 8.30 am. small classes Mon Wed & Thurs, plus a evening class 6 pm. Friday.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Ed Pollock (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Ed Pollock

Retired Photographic Advertising campaign producer. I enjoy life.

Ed Pollock purchased this cottage in 2001

Why Ed Pollock chose Kohala Coast

People love staying in this cottage. Look at the reviews.

What makes this cottage unique

Clean, comfortable, pleasing cottage set is a delightful tropical garden. Located in North Kohala, which is a diverse community of about 6000 people. A treasure in the Hawaiian Islands. Clean air, great walks and swimming in a green and verdant setting. You can explore the whole island from here, and know that in the evening you are going to return to this most pleasant area.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Eddie,

Thanks for providing such hospitality during our short, but magical stay. We love you cottage hideaway. Thank you again for the late checkout today.

Enjoy the two remaining beers in the fridge : )
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.7
based on 24 traveler reviews

Hawaiian Tropical Spiritual Hideaway. Hawi / Kapaau
average rating of 4.7083335 based on 25 reviews
5

Friendly , clean and well lit-

  • 5 of 5

We were so happy to meet Ed and stay at his beautifully built cabin -

Felt like home away from home !

Thank-you Ed!

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Tiare and Daniel I loved having you both staying in the cottage, seems like we ran into each other quite often, and you felt like old friends. Also, thanks for leaving the cottage so together. Happy new year. Mahalo Ed
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Experience!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stay at Ed's Cottage for the last two nights of our holiday & had a great time. Ed was extremely welcoming and gave us wonderful recommendations for places to eat/things to do!

The Cottage was nice with lots of natural light and colorful artwork - a very happy vibe. The tropical landscape created privacy and we enjoyed being able to see the sun & palm trees thru the windows when we woke up.

We would definitely stay here again. Ed is the man and really hooked us up with a lot of good local info and made us feel very comfortable and relaxed.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You guys are great, a true delight to have staying in the cottage. Thank you for taking the time and effort to review your stay in the Cottage. Even though it was a short stay we bumped into each other a lot, and I was happy to point you in the right direction. Aloha and congratulations, Ed
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

disappointing

  • 2 of 5

There was rubbish and trash in the carport and there was a bit of an infestation of gnats and mosquitoes in the cottage when we arrived. disappointing at best.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Kimberly, I am so sorry that you had a disappointing experience, I wish that you had mentioned the issues to me when I connected with you and Jeff, and I could have addressed your concerns face to face. A negative review is so damaging. I have to admit that I dislike waste of any sort, and I confess the carport does act as a green recycling center. Cardboard, bottles and Hi 5 Hawaii bottles all cleaned and stockpiled before entering the recycling stream. I am sorry it looked like trash, and I will consider your concern. The gnats and mosquitoes, I will look into breaches where they might be getting in. Generally it is when the door are left open, and I mention in the "need to knows" about keeping the doors closed. This is the tropics and insects can be a nuisance, I will look to see if one of the screens is out of place. I know you came a long way to be disappointed, I will do my best to correct your concerns. Thanks for bringing this to my attention. Ed :-(
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Are you a nature lover? Do you have plans to explore as much of the Big Island as you can? Do you hate paying a lot for accommodations when any good adventurer spends most of his/her time outdoors anyway? If you answered ‘Yes’ to one or more of these questions, this is the place for you!

Ed is a great host and the cottage is a perfect little piece of home. We had everything we needed during our stay and fell in love with a number of new sights while traversing Kapa'au. Pololu Valley, King Kamehameha’s Fish Pond, and lovely ‘Main Street’ Hawi are all within a 5-10 minute drive. Takata grocery store and Gill’s Lanai are two charming, convenient stops for toiletries or a bite to eat.

We have stayed in Kona in the past and, while it is wonderful, you miss out on the incredible variety and awe-inspiring views of staying in Kohala. Our morning drives out and our evening drives back to Kapa'au were some of the most scenic moments of our vacation and we saw countless beautiful sunrises, rainbows, and sunsets this way.

I would recommend this cottage to anyone searching for a comfortable home base for a Hawaiian getaway. From Kona, to Hilo, to the top of Mauna Kea, you can get anywhere without driving too far and you can relax without the hustle-and-bustle of a hotel atmosphere. We have many great memories of our stay and would certainly return here for a future trip to the Big Island.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow..... Now this is the kind of review that an owner like's to read. Aloha and Mahalo....
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
olga, washington, usa (san juan islands)
5

loved our stay here

  • 5 of 5

our time here was delightful. the studio was lovely, clean and very comfortable. we were here for a month and very sorry to leave. i would recommend this to a friend and definitely would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Very clean and compact.

  • 4 of 5

This is a special cottage build by the owner and tucked behind his home. We arrived to beautiful flower arrangements in the small cottage. It was very clean and comfortable. The bed was very firm.

The kitchen even came stocked with a few items needed for basic cooking and filtered water in the fridge.

The yard was pleasant and quiet even though it sits just a block form the main road. It is relatively private if no one is staying in the new Airstream next door. It could use some comfortable outdoor seating.

Eddie was very friendly and gave us some great suggestions for unpublished access to the beautiful coast.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Nearest Golf
500 Metres
Kamehameha Park Small 6 hole
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Mini's
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Kapaa Beach Park
Car: necessary

Walk to Yoga Studio in Kapaau village. Small delightful classes with various different teachers. : ) I enjoy yoga there myself twice a week.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kapaau Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$130
$910
$2,730
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Tax Rate 13.25%

Hawaii TAX I D NO W01293252-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kapaau Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Stereo ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties