Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 12

(See gorgeous video below) Incredible, unique estate located off a long private driveway! Charming, modern 'Swiss Chalet' on 4 acres of serene trees and views, with private cove and inviting beach on a wooded all sports lakefront lot! Stunning waterfall/pond feature is inspirational! You'll think you're dreaming! Granite full service kitchen with stainless fridge, range, dishwasher and microwave! Living room with fireplace and hardwood floors! 3 new full bathrooms! Finished walkout lower level leads to shaded relaxing patio next to stream/waterfall with a four foot fall! You stress will be washed away. Great sunsets off the giant deck! Lakefront fire pit with lots of tree stump seats just like at camp for roasting marshmallows! Closest neighbor is 200 feet away from house! Did I mention that you'll think you're dreaming? No drive-bys without appointment!

Please note: The standard rate does not apply to the peak season which is May 15 to September 6.

Peaceful, Serene, Great Views and Amenities: People head north so they can find beauty, mature trees, a feeling of peace and to feel like they're far from the city. With this exceptional home on four forested and waterfront acres, you're already there. The waterfall makes you feel like you're in the mountains or out west! The beautifully designed and landscaped lot is big enough that you can take a walk or find a quiet peaceful spot all to your own! Enjoy the view of the lake and the house from the tip of the peninsula or sun yourself on the inviting beach and private sun/swim deck. Have a seat on the huge deck that looks down over the lot and enjoy the sunset on the other side of the lake! Watch for Deer, Raccoon, Blue Heron, Beaver, Otter, Ducks, Geese, Swans, Birds, Frogs, Fish. There's good fishing (please catch and release). You're not going to want to leave!

Local Fare & Access to World Class Entertainment!: If you like relaxing, skiing, golf, horseback riding, boating, swimming, shopping or great eating you're in luck. You'll love the Highland House, with a varied menu and great pizza. Walk through neighboring Milford's restaurants and shops. There's great golf at Dunham Hills. 25 minutes away is Twelve Oaks Mall that offers shopping including Nordstroms, Macy's, Lord and Taylor and great boutiques.

Catch major concerts at DTE Energy Theater, while the city and suburbs of Detroit offer world class dining, prime entertainment and classic museums. There is gambling at one of Detroit's casinos like the Motor City, Greektown or the MGM Grand. With a passport you can cross over to Windsor, Canada which is known for fine dining, great views of Detroit, gambling and shopping.

Clean Updated and Cozy!: All the beds are new, plush and supportive. There's plenty of room to spread out, even it is rainy. There's a living room with fireplace and and a roomy family room with second entertainment area. View the lake from many rooms. There's cable TV, videos library, book library, playing cards, board and video games and included free WI-fi. Note: The Waterfall feature may not be running during cooler weather due to possible freeze conditions.

Get inspired! This property and it's majestic trees inspired the website Note: Our video was taken in the morning, when it's shady. Property is not as shaded in the afternoon for fun in the sun!

More Details

Owner
Jenna or Marshall Mandell
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

About Jenna or Marshall Mandell

Privately and family owned. Friendly, loving, understanding, family people with four kids. We'd love to hear from you and accomodate anything we can for you. Note: We're in the real estate business, so we have a pretty tight contract to make sure no one can harm our home, but we're really friendly and never have had an issue with an Occupant.

Why Jenna or Marshall Mandell chose Southeast Michigan

Welcome to our home, which is place of serenity and beauty rarely found anywhere. The home is well cared for, clean, has modern amenities and a location close to town where you can get whatever you need with a short car ride. If you're looking for a place where you feel like you're on a private estate and like to relax surrounded by beauty and not other neighbors or occupants, then this is the place for you. Everybody loves this unique site.

What makes this house unique

On four acres

Private quiet cove

Waterfall running during the warm season

Giant view deck

Towering mature trees

Lots of parking

Closest neighbor is 200 feet away

Large private beach

Private road leading to house

Amenities

Highland charter Township House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 32 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Quiet time outdoors is 10pm. Wildlife must not be disturbed. Guests must use Chevron Drive only/never Pepper Trail. Neighbors must not be disturbed.
  • Children/pets to be supervised at all times. Guests must vacuum pet fur. Signed rental agreement w/valid ID required. No boats, RV's,campers allowed.
  • Guests must discard trash on time in cans under carport for Friday pickup. All trash must be bagged. Recycle - loose. Lids must be closed - animals.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Town ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main Floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Lower Level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , 2nd Floor
  • All New!
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 2 floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 2 floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Main Floor
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Lower Level
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , fold out couch located in the lower level
  • The fold out couch is located in the lower living area.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
-Relax on the huge deck, patio or beach. -Great swimming area. -Take a walk on the peninsula and watch the boats go by or enjoy the sunsets -Have an awesome campfire experience in the evening at the lakefront campfire set up. -Main dining table seats 6, but more chairs can be added to seat 8, plus people can eat outside on the deck and in the living room. There is also breakfast bar seating and additional dining for 4 in the lower level. -Great lower level family room that walks out to patio and waterfall with TV, videos, games. -Granite kitchen is remodeled with new appliances. -Laundry room with washer and dryer in lower level. -Forced air heat and central air. -Sorry, there is no crib or playpen. -We cannot accommodate weddings or events (no matter how small). Owners pontoon is NOT available

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

56% Complete
37% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!
average rating of 4.5 based on 16 reviews
4

We had a great time! The kids LOVED playing in the sand and riding in the canoe.

  • 4 of 5

The kids had FUN making Smores. Close to a lot of parks and orchards.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South Pasadena
5

Peaceful Lakehouse in the Woods

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this lakehouse. Having grown up in Michigan, my sister and I, who now live in CA and AL wanted a place for our families to relax, be together on vacation located near our family and friends' homes in MI. This house provided exactly that.

The property is tucked away in a wooded area. It feels very private and secluded. I felt like we were in beautiful northern Michigan. This place has the best of both worlds; it's a private wooded retreat, but just 20 minutes or so from great restaurants, grocery stores and a cute little towns like Milford & Clarkston

My family & I spent several evenings out on the large deck eating & enjoying each other's company while we took in the lake view, the sunset and the peaceful sounds of the waterfall. A couple of nights, we ended our gatherings by enjoying s'mores around the fire pit.

During the day, we explored the lake and the canals with the canoe that was provided for us to use at the house. We had a great time floating on the lake too!

I enjoyed the quietness of each morning swinging on the rustic oak log porch swing, drinking a cup of coffee while watching the sand cranes near the shore or on the end of the dock.

The house is extremely clean & very inviting. I felt immediately at home. The interior is cozy with lots of throw pillows and a farm table that invited us to sit down, catch-up, play games, make crafts & unplug. The beds are comfortable. There was more than enough space for our two families to sleep & hangout without feeling like we were on top of each other. The kitchen has all the cooking necessities you may need. We grilled almost every night on the charcoal grill located on the stone driveway. The lower level family room served as a perfect space for all the cousins to hang out, watch movies & play games while the adults socialized on the upper level. There is wifi so some of us who had to check in for work were able to do so, no problem.

Jenna, the owner was really great to work with throughout the entire rental process. She is very nice & communicated all the details about the property clearly & she was always quick to respond.

I would absolutely love to stay at this lakehouse again on my next visit to Michigan. I highly recommend staying here, in fact, I've already recommended this house to some CA friends of mine who have family in MI. Great house! Great property! Great stay!

Thanks so much Jenna & Marshall!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely, relaxing, packed with amenities.

  • 5 of 5

If you rent homes often you know that each comes with it's own quirks and that most are a very bare bones experience. These owners are above and beyond generous with sharing their amenities with renters. The boats, life jackets, toys, children's books, spare towels, pool noodles, firepit, hammock, etc. are all excellent additions to a beautiful and serene location. The pictures are completely accurate. The only space that is a little tight for the amount of people the house holds is the kitchen. Plan low maintenance meals - you're on vacation! And, make a point to take your coffee outdoors every morning; you won't regret it. :)

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Dallas, TX area
4

Peaceful and tranquil setting

  • 4 of 5

The property is very remote, quiet and relaxing with awesome nature and lake views! My wife and I enjoyed the peaceful mornings with our coffee next to the water feature while we watched the natural habitat around us. The fire pit area was huge and we used it almost every night - perfect for s'mores and evening cocktails. The inside was updated and not a typical Michigan lake house feel. The only drawback being only a half bath

upstairs. I am giving it a 4 because the swim area was very murky and not ideal for Tweens and teens, as you can't go in much passed your waist. I also think a place like this should have a gas grill and not just a charcoal grill option.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
Vancouver
4

Michigan weddings

  • 4 of 5

Very nice location to family in area. Worked well to have people over in between two weddings. Grounds have lots of space. Paddle boat and canoe were great options. We wish the grill was a higher quality, it did not work as we hoped. Lots of chairs to seat on outside and weather cooperated.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Truly sorry that you didn't enjoy the grill. I typically used it quite successfully.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
3

Christmas Family Getaway

  • 3 of 5

Our family of 12 stayed in this rental over Christmas. The home was set on a nice lot on the water in a small cove. It was winter so we did not use the outdoor toys and water access but it looks like it would be beautiful in the summer months. The home was smaller than we thought but it was fine for our 4 day getaway for presents and family games. We expect the home to feel larger when you can use the outside deck areas during warmer months. Expectations and communication with the owners was very well done and they were very easy to work with. The fireplace was a great feature with beautiful granite. With that said, there are a few things worth noting about this location. At the time, the home had a strange odor- we couldn't figure out if it was sewer or animals- which led to us leaving a night before our scheduled departure time. This was very upsetting to us since one of our children was allergic and reacted to whatever the smell was in the home. It seemed the odor came from the basement so we shut the basement door and stayed out of there. This made the usuable space even smaller but we dealt with it. We did not want to upset our vacation. The home is very neat and well painted but bathroom faucets sprayed everywhere, the dishwasher was not secured and difficult to use, there was minimal water pressure and a couple times the water went out completely for about 10 minute durations. The beds were pretty with nice linens but the mattresses were awful. Most of us slept on the floors. While this home is adorable, it is relatively small for winter gatherings and needs maintenance.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review and your stay! It is gorgeous in the Summertime. The odor you were referring to was probably from excessive moisture at the well pump and a small amount of mildew, which has been cleaned. Of course, we don’t like to hear about an ill child, but there could be multiple reasons why your child wasn’t feeling well and our hundreds of guests have never complained about getting ill from the home or the water going out. Maybe there were many people taking a shower at once? No one has ever complained about the mattresses. They are premium mattresses purchased new from Art Van.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Detroit Metropolitan or Flint, MI Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Many bars, restaurants in the area.
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Dunham Hills (Gorgeous)
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
US 23/Highland Road (M-59) or I-96 and Milford
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Many, Many!
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Alpine Valley
Nearest Beach
15 Metres
Out your front door!
Car: recommended

10 minutes from restaurants, 24 hr. Meijer, horseback riding, Diehl Cider Mill, fine golf courses and Alpine Ski Resort. 30 minutes to a Twelve Oaks Mall, Ann Arbor, Flint Airport, DTE Energy concerts. One hour from Detroit Metro airport, Downtown Detroit, Frankenmuth and Windsor, Canada. Experience major shows, festivals, concerts, restaurants, or gambling. The home offers an 'up north' private estate setting, in a safe, suburban area. You'll love driving off into the woods to your private retreat, yet being close enough to great shopping and restaurants. Indeed a rare property and location!

Other Activities: Winter: cross-county skiing, ice skating, snowmobiling, ice fishing, ice hockey, hunting, skiing, sledding, make a snowman, bowling, board games, read a good book.

We are not able to accommodate weddings (no matter how small), large gatherings or events. The house is located in a quiet neighborhood and parking is limited. Please know that we wish you luck on your search and consider us for another time or quiet, relaxing family vacation. The Owners pontoon is not available for guests.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $150
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 6.0%

- Winter rates are $100 per week night & $150 per weekend night. 3 night minimum. The waterfall is winterized mid fall to late spring.
- Cleaning fee is $150 for 6 or less people. Additional charges may apply for more than 6 people.
- Use of the canoe is included at no extra charge.
- The owners pontoon is not for rent and is not available for use by guests.
-We are no longer allowing guests with boats. Guests may not use the subdivisions private launches.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties