Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Jenna or Marshall Mandell

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!

13 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

Southeast Michigan House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 12

(See gorgeous video below) Incredible, unique estate located off a long private driveway! Charming, modern 'Swiss Chalet' on 4 acres of serene trees and views, with private cove and inviting beach on a wooded all sports lakefront lot! Stunning waterfall/pond feature is inspirational! You'll think you're dreaming! Granite full service kitchen with stainless fridge, range, dishwasher and microwave! Living room with fireplace and hardwood floors! 3 new full bathrooms! Finished walkout lower level leads to shaded relaxing patio next to stream/waterfall with a four foot fall! You stress will be washed away. Great sunsets off the giant deck! Lakefront fire pit with lots of tree stump seats just like at camp for roasting marshmallows! Closest neighbor is 200 feet away from house! Did I mention that you'll think you're dreaming? This estate inspired Heartbark.com, a website based in a virtual forest where you can make positive messages on the trees causing them to grow! Log on to Heartbark for free. No drive-bys without appointment!

Peaceful, Serene, Great Views and Amenities: People head north so they can find beauty, mature trees, a feeling of peace and to feel like they're far from the city. With this exceptional home on four forested and waterfront acres, you're already there. The waterfall makes you feel like you're in the mountains or out west! The beautifully designed and landscaped lot is big enough that you can take a walk or find a quiet peaceful spot all to your own! Enjoy the view of the lake and the house from the tip of the peninsula or sun yourself on the inviting beach and private sun/swim deck. Have a seat on the huge deck that looks down over the lot and enjoy the sunset on the other side of the lake! Watch for Deer, Raccoon, Blue Heron, Beaver, Otter, Ducks, Geese, Swans, Birds, Frogs, Fish. There's good fishing (please catch and release). You're not going to want to leave!

Local Fare & Access to World Class Entertainment!: If you like relaxing, skiing, golf, horseback riding, boating, swimming, shopping or great eating you're in luck. You'll love the Highland House, with a varied menu and great pizza. Walk through neighboring Milford's restaurants and shops. There's great golf at Dunham Hills. 25 minutes away is Twelve Oaks Mall that offers shopping including Nordstroms, Macy's, Lord and Taylor and great boutiques.

Catch major concerts at DTE Energy Theater, while the city and suburbs of Detroit offer world class dining, prime entertainment and classic museums. There is gambling at one of Detroit's casinos like the Motor City, Greektown or the MGM Grand. With a passport you can cross over to Windsor, Canada which is known for fine dining, great views of Detroit, gambling and shopping.

Clean Updated and Cozy!: All the beds are new, plush and supportive. There's plenty of room to spread out, even it is rainy. There's a living room with fireplace and and a roomy family room with second entertainment area. View the lake from many rooms. There's cable TV, videos library, book library, playing cards, board and video games and included free WI-fi. Note: The Waterfall feature may not be running during cooler weather due to possible freeze conditions.

Get inspired! This property and it's majestic trees inspired the website Heartbark.com, which is based in a virtual forest where the user can make positive messages on the trees, causing them to grow higher! Join us on Heartbark to get a feel for this inspirational home! Note: Our video was taken in the morning, when it's shady. Property is not as shaded in the afternoon for fun in the sun!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Jenna or Marshall Mandell (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Jenna or Marshall Mandell

Privately and family owned. Friendly, loving, understanding, family people with four kids. We'd love to hear from you and accomodate anything we can for you. Note: We're in the real estate business, so we have a pretty tight contract to make sure no one can harm our home, but we're really friendly and never have had a in issue with an Occupant.

Why Jenna or Marshall Mandell chose Southeast Michigan

Welcome to the Hearbark Home, which is place of serenity and beauty rarely found anywhere. The home is well cared for, clean, has modern amenities and a location close to town where you can get whatever you need with a short car ride. If you're looking for a place where you feel like you're on a private estate and like to relax surrounded by beauty and not other neighbors or occupants, then this is the place for you. Everybody loves this unique site.

What makes this house unique

On four acres

Private quiet cove

Waterfall running during the warm season

Giant view deck

Towering mature trees

Lots of parking

Closest neighbor is 200 feet away

Large private beach

Private road leading to house

Reviews

4.5
based on 13 traveler reviews

Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!
average rating of 4.4615383 based on 13 reviews
Dallas, TX area
4

Peaceful and tranquil setting

  • 4 of 5

The property is very remote, quiet and relaxing with awesome nature and lake views! My wife and I enjoyed the peaceful mornings with our coffee next to the water feature while we watched the natural habitat around us. The fire pit area was huge and we used it almost every night - perfect for s'mores and evening cocktails. The inside was updated and not a typical Michigan lake house feel. The only drawback being only a half bath

upstairs. I am giving it a 4 because the swim area was very murky and not ideal for Tweens and teens, as you can't go in much passed your waist. I also think a place like this should have a gas grill and not just a charcoal grill option.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Vancouver
4

Michigan weddings

  • 4 of 5

Very nice location to family in area. Worked well to have people over in between two weddings. Grounds have lots of space. Paddle boat and canoe were great options. We wish the grill was a higher quality, it did not work as we hoped. Lots of chairs to seat on outside and weather cooperated.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Truly sorry that you didn't enjoy the grill. I typically used it quite successfully.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Christmas Family Getaway

  • 3 of 5

Our family of 12 stayed in this rental over Christmas. The home was set on a nice lot on the water in a small cove. It was winter so we did not use the outdoor toys and water access but it looks like it would be beautiful in the summer months. The home was smaller than we thought but it was fine for our 4 day getaway for presents and family games. We expect the home to feel larger when you can use the outside deck areas during warmer months. Expectations and communication with the owners was very well done and they were very easy to work with. The fireplace was a great feature with beautiful granite. With that said, there are a few things worth noting about this location. At the time, the home had a strange odor- we couldn't figure out if it was sewer or animals- which led to us leaving a night before our scheduled departure time. This was very upsetting to us since one of our children was allergic and reacted to whatever the smell was in the home. It seemed the odor came from the basement so we shut the basement door and stayed out of there. This made the usuable space even smaller but we dealt with it. We did not want to upset our vacation. The home is very neat and well painted but bathroom faucets sprayed everywhere, the dishwasher was not secured and difficult to use, there was minimal water pressure and a couple times the water went out completely for about 10 minute durations. The beds were pretty with nice linens but the mattresses were awful. Most of us slept on the floors. While this home is adorable, it is relatively small for winter gatherings and needs maintenance.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review and your stay! It is gorgeous in the Summertime. The odor you were referring to was probably from excessive moisture at the well pump and a small amount of mildew, which has been cleaned. Of course, we don’t like to hear about an ill child, but there could be multiple reasons why your child wasn’t feeling well and our hundreds of guests have never complained about getting ill from the home or the water going out. Maybe there were many people taking a shower at once? No one has ever complained about the mattresses. They are premium mattresses purchased new from Art Van.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Macomb, MI
5

Birthday Weekend

  • 5 of 5

My husband and our two little boys rented this cottage to celebrate my birthday. With small children we were looking for a nice getaway, still surrounded by all the city amenities, and only an hour from our home, this was perfect for us. The cottage is very private and secluded in it's own little lagoon area of the lake, exactly what we were looking for. It has the full "up north" feel, without actually being "up north". The boys loved playing on the sandy beach and wading in the water. The canoe and paddleboat were enjoyed by all. We fished, we relaxed, we built sandcastles, we had a great time. The amount of chairs and different areas to sit on the property almost seems like you are at a resort. I greatly appreciate this house being pet free and seemingly free of scents/fragrances allergens with the little ones. We look forward to returning to this home, we had a wonderful three days but we could have easily enjoyed an entire week. The owner was extremely accommodating, inviting, professional, and a joy to work with. I am someone who reads reviews and but typically does not take the time to write them, but this property deserved to having another great review written.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Danielle, Thank you so much for taking the time to write those kind words. Come back and visit soon! Marshall and Jenna
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Ladies Retreat

  • 4 of 5

The Ladies from the church chose to stay here to have our Womens Retreat and we enjoy ourselves. The home had plenty of space for 10 women. We were able to use the paddle boat and canoe and use the firepit. Overall a great experience plenty of towels and blankets. Most of the ladies were from the city so spending the weekend in a wooded area was different but relaxing.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Adorable, cozy, peaceful, and unforgettable!

  • 5 of 5

My family chose this property for our extended family get-together - we had 9 adults and two kids (four generations!) in this house, and we absolutely loved it!! We would stay there again in a heartbeat. Jenna was a fabulous resource for amenities in the area, was super friendly and answered every one of our many questions, and we felt very well taken care of. I admit that before we got there I was nervous about all of us fitting, but upon arriving I was amazed at how roomy it was. The two living areas, combined with the decks, the beach, the swing and the numerous other places to go and relax on the property meant that we never felt cramped, but we were also close enough to enjoy our family togetherness. We were all very impressed with the updated and luxurious feel of the kitchen and bathrooms. The kitchen was perfect for the family dinners we cooked every night, and all the outdoor amenities kept everyone busy. The house was so well stocked with supplies and activities, it was so comforting and relaxing and truly like a home away from home - but with a waterfall, a beach, and a tranquility we don't get at home!

We had a ton of fun going to local restaurants, a mom&pop ice cream place, the enormous outlet mall nearby, and the kids loved the neighborhood playground. It was so relaxing on the property, and there was always someone on the swing, sunbathing on the beach, reading in the hammock, or having a cup of coffee on the deck. The landscaping was gorgeous and the little personal touches around the entire property lets you know this place is loved and cared for. I'd totally recommend this for people wanting to relax and enjoy nature, but still be close to shopping, restaurants, and in-town living. Great for families!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time for the kind words and for staying at our home. We hope you visit again. Best wishes. Jenna and Marshall
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Detroit Metropolitan or Flint, MI Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Many bars, restaurants in the area.
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Dunham Hills (Gorgeous)
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
US 23/Highland Road (M-59) or I-96 and Milford
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Many, Many!
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Alpine Valley
Nearest Beach
15 Metres
Out your front door!
Car: recommended

10 minutes from restaurants, 24 hr. Meijer, horseback riding, Diehl Cider Mill, fine golf courses and Alpine Ski Resort. 30 minutes to a Twelve Oaks Mall, Ann Arbor, Flint Airport, DTE Energy concerts. One hour from Detroit Metro airport, Downtown Detroit, Frankenmuth and Windsor, Canada. Experience major shows, festivals, concerts, restaurants, or gambling. The home offers an 'up north' private estate setting, in a safe, suburban area. You'll love driving off into the woods to your private retreat, yet being close enough to great shopping and restaurants. Indeed a rare property and location!

Other Activities: Winter: cross-county skiing, ice skating, snowmobiling, ice fishing, ice hockey, hunting, skiing, sledding, make a snowman, bowling, boardgames, read a good book.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Highland House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Peak/"Summer" 2015
May 15 2016 - Sep 4 2016
5 night minimum stay
$485
From
$550
Fri,Sat
$3,500
$13,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$185
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,265
$3,520
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 6.0%

- Winter rates are $100 per week night & $150 per weekend night. 5 night minimum. The waterfall is winterized late fall to late spring.
- Cleaning fee is $150 for 6 or less people. Additional charges may apply for more than 6 people.
- Boat fee is $35. Pontoons with a lowered bimini will fit under the bridge.
- Use of the paddle boat and canoe are included at no extra charge.
- The owners pontoon is not for rent.
- Guests must use the private launch on the property. Guests may not use the public launches.

We accept checks. We are not set up to take credit card payments at this time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Southeast Michigan House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain ...
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Town ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main Floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Lower Level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , 2nd Floor
  • All New!
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 2 floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 2 floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Main Floor
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Lower Level
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Lower-Fold out
  • The fold out couch is located in the lower living area.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
-Relax on the huge deck, patio or beach. -Great swimming area. -Take a walk on the peninsula and watch the boats go by or enjoy the sunsets -Have an awesome campfire experience in the evening at the lakefront campfire set up. -Main dining table seats 6, but more chairs can be added to seat 8, plus people can eat outside on the deck and in the living room. There is also breakfast bar seating and additional dining for 4 in the lower level. -The living room couch would also be suitable for sleeping or napping, especially for kids with sleeping bags. -Great lower level family room that walks out to patio and waterfall with TV, videos, games. -Granite kitchen is remodeled with new appliances. -Laundry room with washer and dryer in lower level. -Forced air heat and central air. -Sorry, there is no crib or playpen.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Request to Book

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote